$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 9, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelbuggster
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 6, 2009

Great location!

The condo was a perfect fit for us as an active couple who wanted to spend minimal time in a hotel, while still having the convenience of a full kitchen which allowed us to be able to make our own "to-go" breakfasts and lunches. The one bedroom was comfortable and clean, although not updated. The location is within walking distance to restaurants and shopping, as well as the Kailua Pier from which many of the boating, fishing, snorkeling, parasailing trips depart. A local farmers market is also within walking distance and was a great place to buy fresh local fruits!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MM
Business
Aurora, CO
Jul 23, 2009

A great value for your money!

Neither my husband or I had ever been to Hawaii before and we loved our trip! The condo at Kona Reef was "Oceanview" #F22, a one-bedroom, which was clean and comfortable, nothing fancy. I didn't see any others to compare this one to. We only booked this vacation with 2 days notice, so we were pleasantly surprised. The condo had a washer/dryer and all the necessary appliances to cook meals there instead of eating every meal out. The bathroom, bedroom and pool weren't huge, but big enough. Just one person behind the office desk, which must be all they need, and there is a computer in the office to check emails ($5 for 30 min, $10 for 60 min, etc) if you don't bring a laptop. They give you new towels on the 4th day (but you do have a washer/dryer if that's not enough)or you can pay more to have them come by more often. Many small, fun eating places were just a walk away (there is no dining place onsite) and loved the fish tacos at Lulu's! There is a great farmer's market down the street (5 papayas for $1) and little shops. This area is more laid back and less resort-like than Waikoloa, and we would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The Oceanview is about $45 cheaper a night than Oceanfront, so I would choose the oceanview because no one stays in the condo all the time anyway and there is still a great view!

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travel happy
Business
Eureka, Ca
May 26, 2009

Great location, will be back again

We love to go and experience the food and culture, we also like to cook some of our own meals. Kona Reef offers a great location to walk into town to shop, eat, or get some great food at the farmers market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, California
Aug 10, 2010

Wonderful escape

Really loved the location of this hotel....a short walk to downtown & the pier. Room was clean & staff very helpful. We upgraded when we got there from an ocean view to a ocean front room. Excellent choice....I wanna go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had an excellent dinner at Huggos on the Rocks. Lobster Bisque, with Sliders....so yummy. You cannot beat the view....everything about the evening was excellent.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Arlington, WA
Jan 2, 2009

Good location

The room at the Castle Kona reef was in pretty good condition overall. AC came in handy; the kitchen was well equipped, and overall large and comfortable for 3 people. The location was terrific for walking to restaurants and shopping and there is a small (less than 50 yards long) sandy beach just south of the property. The TV in the bedroom had tuner issues and would work for 20-30 minutes before dying. We missed having 2 bathrooms, 1 was just not enough for two adults and a teenager. The unit we were in really needed new patio furniture, although the ocean view from the 2nd floor was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had great food at Bongo Ben's and The Outback steakhouse was good as always!

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hung
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 27, 2007

Great location

The location is great, it is close to everything, beaches, attraction, and shopping. The place is old, but clean and very well mainteance. We were supposed to check in @ 2pm but our plane got a 8hours delay and went went we get to the hotel it was midnight. The room that was giving to us was very old, a bit smell, I was so disappointed after a long flight, I was expecting a nicer room. The manager is very nice, we did not like the room in A-building, and he immediate take us to the D36 unit without hesitation. I am so happy that he move us to this unit. The room was very nice and clean. It is completely different from the A unit. This is very well worth it for the money, if you are not in to all the resort like amenities. The view is breathtaking, we stayed at the oceanfront. Also, parking is free, it is a bargain!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

if you have kids the beach near the pier is great for a nature wave pool. Snorking is just a mile down from the resort.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boo
Business
Longmont, Co.
May 23, 2009

Kona Reef Review

The Castle Kona Reef Condo's are a mid-range value for your money. Price is mid-range for some of the other hotels in the area. I have stayed at the Kona Reef condo's 3 times now and would do so again. Rooms are old but clean. Because of the closeness of the ocean a lot of the metal in the unit shows signs of rust and corrosion. Ocean view rooms have an excellent ocean view. Condo's are walking distance to the shopping area of Kona. Pool and BBQ area are very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The heart of the Kona tourist area is about .5 miles down the road. Long walk but you have many shops, restaurants, and nightlife. Not much parking downtown so the walk works

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jwhite
Business
Az
May 10, 2012

On the ocean

This hotel was better then the one in Hilo. We could see the ocean, getting the room was not easy. Hotel staff does not deviate from there check in time whether the rooms are ready or not. Will not even consider it. Hotel is noisy, because of its proximity to the road and the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tri Family
Business
Southwest Florida
Jun 6, 2012

Excellent Location, Tired Decor

When we first arrived it was late, so we could not get a good look around. It was hard to find the room, confusing layout when you have been traveling for 20 hours! The condo was clean, but the furnishings have seen better days. We were disappointed, but exhausted. In the morning we walked on to the balcony and it was like looking at paradise!!! The view was incredible, just what you imagine when you think of Hawai'i! It made up for the tired and shabby decor. Added pluses were great washer dryer in unit and free parking. Walking distance to Kailua

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great fresh market with delicious fruit from locals just down the road!

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ian stop being so fussy
Business
Melbourne, Australia
Jul 12, 2012

Kona Holiday

The automatic watering system came on at 4am and woke us up. I would have preferred that it waited until say 6am. In Room B14 the sprinkler seemed to be just above my head. Maybe you could alter the timing, please. Everything else was perfectly acceptable. Ian Cayzer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top