$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 9, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DNA
Business
Houston, Texas
Oct 19, 2009

Good Location for the Price

The condominium resort was right on the edge of the Kona tourist center. My unit had washer/dryer, fully equipped kitchen, and could have easily accomodated 4 people (one bedroom with a pullout couch).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I didn't realize until the last day that it was located behind the beach with the best surfing waves in the immediate area.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quad Mom
Business
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Feb 8, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

The resort was close to all amenities. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Security staff patrolled the complex and made us feel safe at all times. Quiet times were kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The resort provided adequete brochures on all recreation, shopping and dining activities.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John from Alaska
Business
Anchorage, AK
Mar 18, 2010

Very enjoyable stay.

Very enjoyable stay. It would have been nice with more towels in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Terrific location.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J & I
Business
Spokane, WA
Feb 24, 2010

Great Location

Easy Check in/out. Great location and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diver Girl
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 27, 2009

Good value and great location

Great location near restaurants, next to small beach; ocean views and 2 doors down from the Royal Kona Tennis Club; easy walking distance into town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ghetto
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 18, 2007

nice location

Great to have a full kitchen. The place was nice although too close to the screaming kids at the pool. Very close to town, but removed from the craziness. A/C was indispensable. Nice deck with beautiful view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good restaurants, but with a kitchen we didn't need to go out much. Sushi Shoyu was good, but expensive. Be careful to ask about the price of the saki you get...

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peetz
Business
Insane Diego
Sep 11, 2011

Kona Komfort

Good location, affordable rates, great view, hard to find at night, office closes at 5 pm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA, Calif.
May 18, 2009

good price, great location

I stayed 1 week at the Kona Reef, garden view. I highly suggest upgrading to ocean view though, you won't regret it. The hotel doesn't look like much on the outside, but the room was clean and had everything you would need. It had washer/dryer, stove, microwave, coffee maker, dishwasher, utensils etc. Each "apartment" is individually own so the condition of the room depends on the owner. I believe the complex is shared with a timeshare co. The office closes early, which is an inconvenience if you need to get a hold of somebody to complain about load neighbors, as such was the case with us. Overall Its a great place to stay, you can't beat the location, you are a few steps away from the ocean, lawn chairs are provided so you can enjoy the view day or night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

there really isn't night life so to speak most places close early.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Watertown, Wisconsin
May 21, 2009

Kona Reef Condos Reveiw

Toured many of big island sites. close to downtown. great ocean veiw,yet very quiet and layed back. Great place to stay,but don't expect a swimming beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birthday Celebrating Couple
Business
Tempe, AZ
May 28, 2009

Awesome Room!

The condo was really in a great location and we had an ocean front view with a surf breaking all the time so the roar of the ocean was awesome! We were told by other guests that they got "a heck of a deal" and we did not get a break at all so felt cheated. I guess I signed up for the trip too early. Plus we upgraded to 2 bedroom and were going to be charged $80.00/night for 10 nights until I called an 800 number and found out that it was too much, so Kona Reef charged $60.00 more instead. Overall though, we cannot complain, the condo was clean, well equipped and area great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top