$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Crescent City, CA
Jun 24, 2009

superb view!

We stayed in D-35, oceanfront. It as very clean and felt very private. We never heard the guests next to us. All we could hear were the breaking waves. Parking was covered and free. Kitchen had everything we needed to cook meals and the BBQs were nice and clean. The breeze from the ocean made the air conditioning only neccesary at night. We enjoyed the close location to town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy fresh fruit local fruit at the Farmer's Markets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
By
Business
UT
Jul 21, 2009

An unexpected find

Our room, B24, had the perfect Hawaiian room decor and furniture for my wife and I to know that we were relaxing in paradise. All of the dishes had beautiful hawaiian print on them and the room was filled with 4 or 5 Hawaiian flower arrangements placed throughout the condo; very beautifully located. The room was quiet, and air-condiditioned, but the ocean breeze filled the room when the windows and balcony door was opened. The size was perfect for my wife and I even though there was a sofa with a queen sized bed in the living room with a TV, satelite, dvd and video player in it and another smaller TV mounted on the wall in the bedroom. This room provided all of the conveniences and much more; a medium size and a small hand size ice cooler, boogey board, hawaiian mat to go and sit on the beach, etc. Our room had a small washer and a dryer in it, with soap for the dishes and for washing clothes, an iron and ironing board. This room was listed in the category of ocean view rooms, not rooms with ocean fronts, but all of the rooms on the left side of this condo complex had a balcony that overlooked the beach. A treat fo us was that they were holding a boogeyboard contest for the youth with a lot of lessons about Hawaii taking place in between the meets. What a treat to watch all of this going on from our balcony on the second floor. I also loved cooling off in the pool at about 10 AM. There are also 2 barbecue pits at the pool also for guest to use. Simpy amazing condo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We are from Hawaii originally and love the local foods; the Hawaiian luau foods, and fruits of Hawaii which we purchased at the grocery stores in Kona and at Costco. Nothing like having cold sliced papayas or mangoes anytime, and at your finger tips chilled in your refrigerator, the advantage of a condo over a hotel. There were no parking fee of $10 per day like they have at many of the larger hotels in Kona. We also frequented the different Japanese, Chinese, and Hawaiian fast food shops. A lot of these shops are within walking distance and also within a short drive. You can tell that eating in Hawaii is one of our top priorities. Wal-Mart and Kmart are all within a short driving distance. Costcos and Wal- Mart both accepted our out of state Utah checks without any problems. Like in Utah, gas is the cheapest at Costcos which is located 1 mile from the Airport where all of the car rental businesses are located. Great place to top off the gas of your rental also. If you spend some time in Hilo on the other side of the island, gas in Hilo was significantly cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jaydeep
Business
Los Angeles CA
Aug 4, 2009

Excellent Location for Family

This is a great place to spend a week or so with your family, Location is one of the best in Kona and staff is very friendly. I would go back next vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Farmners' Market, Best fruits and vegetables in the Kona

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
have the Hat
Business
Greenville, SC
Sep 1, 2007

convenient beach side location

Would have liked to stay longer, kitchen was well equiped with utilsels. Loved ocean sound from back porch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Passaic
Dec 18, 2008

Great value-great location

We were at the Kona Reef Condos for 4 days. The resort was a great value. The apartment was beautiful, overlooking the ocean. It was comfortable. One immediately felt at home. The location was great. It wasn't far from the airport. It was within walking distance to town. The staff was friendly and helpful. We hope to return in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seal Beach, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Beautiful Views

Everything was wonderful. I would definitely recommend an ocean front room. We saw spinning dolphins, turtles, and had fabulous views everyday!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit the Farmers Market for fruit and vegetables. Food prices are high in Hawaii, so shop wisely!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay, WI
Oct 6, 2010

Hawaii's Big Island

Kona Reef was a perfect place to spent our 46th anniversary. The hotel is well-mainained, and kept very clean. Even the grills in the patio area were cleaned regularly, as well as the pool and the rooms. The weather was perfect - 70's at night and 80's during the day. Downtown Kona is walking distance, and there are beautiful flowers all along the walk. The cruise ships dock within sight of the condo, and there were often surfers that could be seen from our lanai, too. We had an ocean view condo, overlooking the pool and the ocean, and it was very pleasant. Our unit had many extras, including an ice chest to take along on our day trips, and lawn chairs that we could put in the car for sitting on the beach or by Kealakekua Bay. I would definitely recommend Kona Reef.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within a short walk of Kona Reef are some good restaurants - Lulu's, Lava Java,Tantes, UTopit, Fish Hpper and others.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandpa Ed
Business
Palo Alto
Aug 7, 2010

Good location and close to town.

Went there to join daughter family on vacation. Had a wonderful time at pool and room was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario, CA
Mar 11, 2008

Can't wait to go back

The Kona reef was an excellant choice, The room was clean and comfy and the views were awesome. We plan on going back to the Big Island next year and will definetly stay at the Kona reef. We had condo A35, the location for watching the whales, dolphins, turtles as well as the boats was ideal, not to mention being within walking distance of anything you may need or desire. These condos had gotten some neg reviews in the past by others for noise, but during our stay it was quiet. I highly recommend this hotel, and let me tell you I can be picky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio
Jun 27, 2008

Great location

I was very satisfied with the room and it was GREAT because it is a NON-SMOKING property. The grounds are very pretty and well taken care of. A big Plus is that they do not charge for parking you car. The location was excellent within a short walk to shopping, dining, and other activities. I would stay at the Castle Kona Reef Condominium agian on next visit to the Islands.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to shopping, dining and other activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top