$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
133 reviews
Perfect Hotel

Very clean rooms, nice view and good location. Beach parasol, chairs and board are usefull. Washing... See full review

  • Sea Lover Mom
  • Jun 2, 2014
Perfect affordable stay

We were delighted by our time at this oceanfront condo, would stay again. See full review

  • Clownbaby
  • Jun 2, 2014
Condos with full kitchen and private balcony on the Kailua oceanfront
An "under the radar" condo along Kailua-Kona's sunny beachfront, Castle Kona Reef makes Island living affordable for families and couples. With only 57 rooms on four floors, guests enjoy peace and privacy at the oceanfront swimming pool and around the property. Each condo includes a fully equipped kitchen and some have views of the ocean. Sandy beach mixes with a rocky black lava shoreline in front of the hotel, and a full sand beach -- one of only a few in the Kailua area -- is just next door.
Highlights
  • Multi-bedroom units are ideal for friends and family vacations and cooking in the kitchen
  • Walk from the condo into charming downtown Kailua to shop, dine and explore
  • Enjoy one of the coastline's few sandy beaches, next door to the property
Location
Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort is located right on the oceanfront and less than a mile south of Kailua-Kona's main shopping and dining district. Explore the Kona region, popular for its coffee and macadamia nut farms and snorkeling sites.
Rooms
The 4-story Castle Kona Reef features 1-, 2- or 3-bedroom, individually decorated condo suites. These air conditioned units are homey with fully equipped kitchens, washer/dryers, TVs and VCR/DVD players, and private balconies may offer views of the pool, garden or ocean. Oceanfront units offer remarkable Pacific views, with the possibility of whale sightings in winter. Local calls are free.
Features
Castle Kona Reef offers guests an oceanfront swimming pool, sundeck, jet spa and barbecue area. Restaurants and cafes are available along Alii Drive and throughout Kailua-Kona.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.5 mi/15.2 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.3 mi/31.1 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)
Policies and fees
Castle Resorts will provide mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are 7 days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than 7 days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
Two Bedroom 2 Bath Oceanfront
Spectacular view overlooking the Pacific Ocean; 1 king, 2 twins, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
Standard One Bedroom
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
One Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.6302 -155.9884
Area served
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kona Airport-KOA

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 133
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clownbaby
Kailua Kona
Jun 2, 2014

Perfect affordable stay

We were delighted by our time at this oceanfront condo, would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Spinners Dolphin quest, amazing.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave and Naomi
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Mar 9, 2014

Nice area of Kona

Not being a timeshare person, we stayed in one that was given to us from a friend. Keep in mind that Timeshares do not operate like a Hotel where you can manage your unit that you are staying. At least that was the impression I had. We wanted a view of the ocean but when I asked the second day, the lady at the counter acted like I was asking her to pick up the building and move it. That may be the case so we accepted what was provided. The grounds were very nice and clean and we liked that we had a private garage and no gates to deal with everytime we came home, we just drove up and parked. The location is very close to snorkeling spots and also to grocery stores and drug stores that allowed us to shop as if we were at home. It was a nice clean and beautiful location in Hawaii. Just don't ask to be given another unit. It is apparently very difficult to accomplish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go out the main entrance and turn right and at the immediate light, just drive straight and there is the entrance to the shopping center. Very convenient.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bebacksoon
NM
Apr 10, 2013

Super Deal

Units are individually owned, so amenities may vary, but had a great experience here, esp. for the price. Pros: got a one bedroom condo (+ sleeper sofa) in April for ~$150/night. Included in our unit were a zillion movies and games, a boogie board, golf clubs, snorkel gear, cooking spices, 2 coolers and a beach chair, and on and on. Also included- soap/shampoo/lotion, starter pack of coffee, dish and laundry detergent, and in-unit washer/dryer for no cost. We got plush pool towels from the office to use during our stay and we had an amazing ocean/beach view for only $10 extra per night. Downsides: very dated decorating/furniture, non-fitted sheets on bed, the one A/C unit is in the living room, so you really need to sleep w the bedroom door open. That said, we easily overlooked all of those for the many benefits at this amazing price for HI. Stayed at the large hotel next door years ago-- so glad we chose a condo at the KRR this time instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kona Joe 110
Chicago, IL
Oct 30, 2012

I've seen better

We were looking specifically for a condo rather than a hotel for our trip to Hawaii and decided stay here. These are all privately owned condos, and the one we were in needed some updating (although staff claimed at checkout that the owner would be updating it soon). It had tile throughout, which was kind of strange. The living room was a little bare with just a futon, coffee table and small table with chairs. There is a wall AC unit in the living room but no ceiling fan. The living room leads out to the oceanfront lanai which seemed dirty - I mean I know it's outside but it was just dirtier than other places we had stayed - maybe because it was only about a half story up off the ground. We had to brush dirt off the bottom of our feet any time we went out there. But it had a nice view overlooking the rocky shoreline, where people were regularly surfing. So there is not a beach at this resort, but there is one immediately to the south of the resort that you can walk to. The bedroom had a ceiling fan, but no AC. Bathroom was old and was showing some rust and mildew. Kitchen was average. On the positives, the staff was friendly, and it is only a short 5-minute walk from the restaurants and shops of Kona. It also has a nice pool. Overall, it worked out for us since we spent most of our days out exploring, and mostly just ate breakfast and slept there. So if that's what you're looking for, it will work. If you're looking for a more luxurious place to stay, I'd recommend looking elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants, within walking distance - recommend LuLu's and Humpy's. Also recommend Kona Brewing Co. Brew Pub - had excellent food, and a short drive away.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan the Electric Man
near Louisville, KY
Sep 3, 2012

Comfortable room, great view and location

We had a late check-in, so no staff was available should something be wrong with the room, etc. We shouldn't have worried! The room was clean and the view out the lanai looked directly over the pool / cabana area right out to the ocean (it couldn't have been better!#. It is within easy walking distance along the main road in Kona, where several restaurants, bars, and shops are located. Rooms are individually owned, but ours #in F building# had micro, full size refrigerator, washer and dryer, stove and all utensils, including for the grills in the cabana. #This building is closest to street and has some traffic noise, but nothing too bad.) Getting to sandy beaches requires short drive, as do most hotels / condos in this area. Already planning return trip....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oahu girl
Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii
Aug 1, 2012

Wonderful stay

Our stay at this hotel was just wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our dishwasher wouldn't turn on, within 10min of telling the front desk about it, maiteance was in our room working on the problem. We loved our stay here. The hotel was close to everything in Kona! Will definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oahu girl
Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii
Jul 20, 2012

Wonderful place to stay

This hotel was GREAT! The staff were very friendly and helpful! Our dishwasher wouldn't work, and within 10min of telling the front desk, maiteance was there to fix the problem! There were washer and dryers in our room too which was great! We had a great view of the ocean, the room was very clean, a few bugs here and there, but its HAWAI'I, so that is expected. I originally am from Oahu, and we fight bugs there all the time too, best thing to remember if you are from the mainland, keep dirty dishes in the dishwasher and cover your food if you leave it laying out, that will help tremendously with the bugs (ants and cockraoches). The condos were within walking distance to everything in downtown Kona! Our only issue with the place was that everytime the office would go on lunch break, they always came back late, other than that we had no complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huggos on the rocks! They have live music every night, happy hour, the best kalua pork nachos and they have the best view of the sunset!

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ian stop being so fussy
Melbourne, Australia
Jul 12, 2012

Kona Holiday

The automatic watering system came on at 4am and woke us up. I would have preferred that it waited until say 6am. In Room B14 the sprinkler seemed to be just above my head. Maybe you could alter the timing, please. Everything else was perfectly acceptable. Ian Cayzer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Searching for paradise
Seattle, WA, USA
Apr 27, 2012

A taste of paradise!

Our unit was ground floor, newly remodeled and beautiful. Can't beat the sound of the ocean waves when you open your patio door!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kelapa
Thousand Oaks, CA, USA
Apr 19, 2012

Great Location--Poor Property

The location was excellent. The Castle Kona Reef is on the ocean and near enough to walk into Kona. Unfortunately, the unit and staff did not live up to the setting. The unit was fairly newly painted, but the very large brown stain on the ceiling over the sink was unattractive. The rugs were not clean, and there was mould growing in the shower. The airconditioner was on, but made no appreciable difference in the room temperature. The ceiling fans worked well, but the unit became stuffy at night when the lanai door was closed. The bathroom was so small the toilet paper roll extended ovet the toilet seat. Boith of the receptions were indiffernt and uninterested in helping. I would not stay at Castle Kona Reef again. In fact the property was so poor, I would not stay at a Castle propery in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lemongrass Cafe was very pleasant and great food.

Back to menu Return to top