$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birthday Celebrating Couple
Business
Tempe, AZ
May 28, 2009

Awesome Room!

The condo was really in a great location and we had an ocean front view with a surf breaking all the time so the roar of the ocean was awesome! We were told by other guests that they got "a heck of a deal" and we did not get a break at all so felt cheated. I guess I signed up for the trip too early. Plus we upgraded to 2 bedroom and were going to be charged $80.00/night for 10 nights until I called an 800 number and found out that it was too much, so Kona Reef charged $60.00 more instead. Overall though, we cannot complain, the condo was clean, well equipped and area great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travel happy
Business
Eureka, Ca
May 26, 2009

Great location, will be back again

We love to go and experience the food and culture, we also like to cook some of our own meals. Kona Reef offers a great location to walk into town to shop, eat, or get some great food at the farmers market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travel happy
Business
Eureka, Ca
May 26, 2009

Great location, will be back again

We love to go and experience the food and culture, we also like to cook some of our own meals. Kona Reef offers a great location to walk into town to shop, eat, or get some great food at the farmers market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boo
Business
Longmont, Co.
May 23, 2009

Kona Reef Review

The Castle Kona Reef Condo's are a mid-range value for your money. Price is mid-range for some of the other hotels in the area. I have stayed at the Kona Reef condo's 3 times now and would do so again. Rooms are old but clean. Because of the closeness of the ocean a lot of the metal in the unit shows signs of rust and corrosion. Ocean view rooms have an excellent ocean view. Condo's are walking distance to the shopping area of Kona. Pool and BBQ area are very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The heart of the Kona tourist area is about .5 miles down the road. Long walk but you have many shops, restaurants, and nightlife. Not much parking downtown so the walk works

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boo
Business
Longmont, Co.
May 23, 2009

Kona Reef Review

The Castle Kona Reef Condo's are a mid-range value for your money. Price is mid-range for some of the other hotels in the area. I have stayed at the Kona Reef condo's 3 times now and would do so again. Rooms are old but clean. Because of the closeness of the ocean a lot of the metal in the unit shows signs of rust and corrosion. Ocean view rooms have an excellent ocean view. Condo's are walking distance to the shopping area of Kona. Pool and BBQ area are very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The heart of the Kona tourist area is about .5 miles down the road. Long walk but you have many shops, restaurants, and nightlife. Not much parking downtown so the walk works

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Watertown, Wisconsin
May 21, 2009

Kona Reef Condos Reveiw

Toured many of big island sites. close to downtown. great ocean veiw,yet very quiet and layed back. Great place to stay,but don't expect a swimming beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA, Calif.
May 18, 2009

good price, great location

I stayed 1 week at the Kona Reef, garden view. I highly suggest upgrading to ocean view though, you won't regret it. The hotel doesn't look like much on the outside, but the room was clean and had everything you would need. It had washer/dryer, stove, microwave, coffee maker, dishwasher, utensils etc. Each "apartment" is individually own so the condition of the room depends on the owner. I believe the complex is shared with a timeshare co. The office closes early, which is an inconvenience if you need to get a hold of somebody to complain about load neighbors, as such was the case with us. Overall Its a great place to stay, you can't beat the location, you are a few steps away from the ocean, lawn chairs are provided so you can enjoy the view day or night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

there really isn't night life so to speak most places close early.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Arlington, WA
Jan 2, 2009

Good location

The room at the Castle Kona reef was in pretty good condition overall. AC came in handy; the kitchen was well equipped, and overall large and comfortable for 3 people. The location was terrific for walking to restaurants and shopping and there is a small (less than 50 yards long) sandy beach just south of the property. The TV in the bedroom had tuner issues and would work for 20-30 minutes before dying. We missed having 2 bathrooms, 1 was just not enough for two adults and a teenager. The unit we were in really needed new patio furniture, although the ocean view from the 2nd floor was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had great food at Bongo Ben's and The Outback steakhouse was good as always!

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Arlington, WA
Jan 2, 2009

Good location

The room at the Castle Kona reef was in pretty good condition overall. AC came in handy; the kitchen was well equipped, and overall large and comfortable for 3 people. The location was terrific for walking to restaurants and shopping and there is a small (less than 50 yards long) sandy beach just south of the property. The TV in the bedroom had tuner issues and would work for 20-30 minutes before dying. We missed having 2 bathrooms, 1 was just not enough for two adults and a teenager. The unit we were in really needed new patio furniture, although the ocean view from the 2nd floor was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had great food at Bongo Ben's and The Outback steakhouse was good as always!

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Passaic
Dec 18, 2008

Great value-great location

We were at the Kona Reef Condos for 4 days. The resort was a great value. The apartment was beautiful, overlooking the ocean. It was comfortable. One immediately felt at home. The location was great. It wasn't far from the airport. It was within walking distance to town. The staff was friendly and helpful. We hope to return in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top