$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelbuggster
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 6, 2009

Great location!

The condo was a perfect fit for us as an active couple who wanted to spend minimal time in a hotel, while still having the convenience of a full kitchen which allowed us to be able to make our own "to-go" breakfasts and lunches. The one bedroom was comfortable and clean, although not updated. The location is within walking distance to restaurants and shopping, as well as the Kailua Pier from which many of the boating, fishing, snorkeling, parasailing trips depart. A local farmers market is also within walking distance and was a great place to buy fresh local fruits!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MM
Business
Aurora, CO
Jul 23, 2009

A great value for your money!

Neither my husband or I had ever been to Hawaii before and we loved our trip! The condo at Kona Reef was "Oceanview" #F22, a one-bedroom, which was clean and comfortable, nothing fancy. I didn't see any others to compare this one to. We only booked this vacation with 2 days notice, so we were pleasantly surprised. The condo had a washer/dryer and all the necessary appliances to cook meals there instead of eating every meal out. The bathroom, bedroom and pool weren't huge, but big enough. Just one person behind the office desk, which must be all they need, and there is a computer in the office to check emails ($5 for 30 min, $10 for 60 min, etc) if you don't bring a laptop. They give you new towels on the 4th day (but you do have a washer/dryer if that's not enough)or you can pay more to have them come by more often. Many small, fun eating places were just a walk away (there is no dining place onsite) and loved the fish tacos at Lulu's! There is a great farmer's market down the street (5 papayas for $1) and little shops. This area is more laid back and less resort-like than Waikoloa, and we would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The Oceanview is about $45 cheaper a night than Oceanfront, so I would choose the oceanview because no one stays in the condo all the time anyway and there is still a great view!

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travel happy
Business
Eureka, Ca
May 26, 2009

Great location, will be back again

We love to go and experience the food and culture, we also like to cook some of our own meals. Kona Reef offers a great location to walk into town to shop, eat, or get some great food at the farmers market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, California
Aug 10, 2010

Wonderful escape

Really loved the location of this hotel....a short walk to downtown & the pier. Room was clean & staff very helpful. We upgraded when we got there from an ocean view to a ocean front room. Excellent choice....I wanna go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had an excellent dinner at Huggos on the Rocks. Lobster Bisque, with Sliders....so yummy. You cannot beat the view....everything about the evening was excellent.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Arlington, WA
Jan 2, 2009

Good location

The room at the Castle Kona reef was in pretty good condition overall. AC came in handy; the kitchen was well equipped, and overall large and comfortable for 3 people. The location was terrific for walking to restaurants and shopping and there is a small (less than 50 yards long) sandy beach just south of the property. The TV in the bedroom had tuner issues and would work for 20-30 minutes before dying. We missed having 2 bathrooms, 1 was just not enough for two adults and a teenager. The unit we were in really needed new patio furniture, although the ocean view from the 2nd floor was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had great food at Bongo Ben's and The Outback steakhouse was good as always!

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hung
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 27, 2007

Great location

The location is great, it is close to everything, beaches, attraction, and shopping. The place is old, but clean and very well mainteance. We were supposed to check in @ 2pm but our plane got a 8hours delay and went went we get to the hotel it was midnight. The room that was giving to us was very old, a bit smell, I was so disappointed after a long flight, I was expecting a nicer room. The manager is very nice, we did not like the room in A-building, and he immediate take us to the D36 unit without hesitation. I am so happy that he move us to this unit. The room was very nice and clean. It is completely different from the A unit. This is very well worth it for the money, if you are not in to all the resort like amenities. The view is breathtaking, we stayed at the oceanfront. Also, parking is free, it is a bargain!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

if you have kids the beach near the pier is great for a nature wave pool. Snorking is just a mile down from the resort.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
USPS
Business
Newark Delaware
Jul 15, 2009

great place to stay. One of the best

the location was great and very easy to get around in a car. It was a nice peaceful condo. We had ocean front and a ground condo. No more then 10 steps and you were at water edge. The condo had everything you needed for your stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

travel at your own pace or take the tours. There is plenty to do on the Big Island.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NikoSD
Business
San Diego, CA USA
Nov 11, 2011

All the comforts of home, but at an exotic location.

Had a great time in this ocean front condo. It was on the fourth floor with a terrific view. Could walk to town, had convenient underground parking, easy access to major road. Ceiling fans were appreciated, did not have to use AC. No bugs of any kind, inside or out. Beach next door, not really easy to get into water, lots of rocks and with surge (not for beginners). Numerous beaches short drive away, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to town using back alleyway that starts behind condo complex, it avoids walking on main road with traffic. Only takes 10 minutes.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
James T
Business
Orange County, CA
Dec 29, 2011

Just Like Home!

What's not to like? A condo with all the amenities that allows you to vacation with all the comforts of home. A fully stocked kitchen, comfortable living room, a lanai with a beach view and free wi-fi made us want to stay forever. (Although our unit was designated "garden view" we had a fantastic view of the beach.) The only drawbacks were the street noise during the day and the general unfriendliness of the front office clerk. But a small price to pay for paradise. That all being said,as all units are individually owned any specific one may not be as nice as unit B35, so check out the reviews for bad units first. Also, they have a cool program where you leave any unused food behind and it is donated to local food kitchens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oahu girl
Business
Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii
Jul 20, 2012

Wonderful place to stay

This hotel was GREAT! The staff were very friendly and helpful! Our dishwasher wouldn't work, and within 10min of telling the front desk, maiteance was there to fix the problem! There were washer and dryers in our room too which was great! We had a great view of the ocean, the room was very clean, a few bugs here and there, but its HAWAI'I, so that is expected. I originally am from Oahu, and we fight bugs there all the time too, best thing to remember if you are from the mainland, keep dirty dishes in the dishwasher and cover your food if you leave it laying out, that will help tremendously with the bugs (ants and cockraoches). The condos were within walking distance to everything in downtown Kona! Our only issue with the place was that everytime the office would go on lunch break, they always came back late, other than that we had no complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huggos on the rocks! They have live music every night, happy hour, the best kalua pork nachos and they have the best view of the sunset!

Back to menu Return to top