$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
81 reviews
Perfect Hotel

Very clean rooms, nice view and good location. Beach parasol, chairs and board are usefull. Washing... See full review

  • Sea Lover Mom
  • Jun 2, 2014
Perfect affordable stay

We were delighted by our time at this oceanfront condo, would stay again. See full review

  • Clownbaby
  • Jun 2, 2014
Condos with full kitchen and private balcony on the Kailua oceanfront
An "under the radar" condo along Kailua-Kona's sunny beachfront, Castle Kona Reef makes Island living affordable for families and couples. With only 57 rooms on four floors, guests enjoy peace and privacy at the oceanfront swimming pool and around the property. Each condo includes a fully equipped kitchen and some have views of the ocean. Sandy beach mixes with a rocky black lava shoreline in front of the hotel, and a full sand beach -- one of only a few in the Kailua area -- is just next door.
Highlights
  • Multi-bedroom units are ideal for friends and family vacations and cooking in the kitchen
  • Walk from the condo into charming downtown Kailua to shop, dine and explore
  • Enjoy one of the coastline's few sandy beaches, next door to the property
Location
Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort is located right on the oceanfront and less than a mile south of Kailua-Kona's main shopping and dining district. Explore the Kona region, popular for its coffee and macadamia nut farms and snorkeling sites.
Rooms
The 4-story Castle Kona Reef features 1-, 2- or 3-bedroom, individually decorated condo suites. These air conditioned units are homey with fully equipped kitchens, washer/dryers, TVs and VCR/DVD players, and private balconies may offer views of the pool, garden or ocean. Oceanfront units offer remarkable Pacific views, with the possibility of whale sightings in winter. Local calls are free.
Features
Castle Kona Reef offers guests an oceanfront swimming pool, sundeck, jet spa and barbecue area. Restaurants and cafes are available along Alii Drive and throughout Kailua-Kona.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.5 mi/15.2 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.3 mi/31.1 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)
Policies and fees
Castle Resorts will provide mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are 7 days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than 7 days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
Two Bedroom 2 Bath Oceanfront
Spectacular view overlooking the Pacific Ocean; 1 king, 2 twins, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
Standard One Bedroom
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
One Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oahu girl
Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii
Aug 1, 2012

Wonderful stay

Our stay at this hotel was just wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our dishwasher wouldn't turn on, within 10min of telling the front desk about it, maiteance was in our room working on the problem. We loved our stay here. The hotel was close to everything in Kona! Will definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jwhite
Business
Az
May 10, 2012

On the ocean

This hotel was better then the one in Hilo. We could see the ocean, getting the room was not easy. Hotel staff does not deviate from there check in time whether the rooms are ready or not. Will not even consider it. Hotel is noisy, because of its proximity to the road and the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tri Family
Business
Southwest Florida
Jun 6, 2012

Excellent Location, Tired Decor

When we first arrived it was late, so we could not get a good look around. It was hard to find the room, confusing layout when you have been traveling for 20 hours! The condo was clean, but the furnishings have seen better days. We were disappointed, but exhausted. In the morning we walked on to the balcony and it was like looking at paradise!!! The view was incredible, just what you imagine when you think of Hawai'i! It made up for the tired and shabby decor. Added pluses were great washer dryer in unit and free parking. Walking distance to Kailua

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great fresh market with delicious fruit from locals just down the road!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ian stop being so fussy
Business
Melbourne, Australia
Jul 12, 2012

Kona Holiday

The automatic watering system came on at 4am and woke us up. I would have preferred that it waited until say 6am. In Room B14 the sprinkler seemed to be just above my head. Maybe you could alter the timing, please. Everything else was perfectly acceptable. Ian Cayzer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sun seeker Mom
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
Mar 12, 2013

Great location

Within walking distance to town and nightlife. Pool and hot tub very nice. Smaller establishment so not crowded at any time of day. Traffic noise a bummer from the bedroom. But the views from patio were great! Not enough parking, car parked on side street a few nights as no spaces available when we returned to hotel. Most guests were older and no kids for my son to play with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

On The Rocks Happy Hour Mai Tai's are fabulous! Especially when the band is playing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bank of Grandpa
Business
Chicago, IL (suburban)
Jun 15, 2011

Some good, some not so good

I took my family and my son's toddler to Kona at the beginning of June. I booked two 1BR condos with ocean view at the Kona Reef. Both rooms were clean and the views were wonderful. One of the rooms was sorely in need of maintenance, while the other was obviously recently updated. The keys given to us were not electronic and included separate keys for the room and for the pool. They are small traditional metal keys that are quite easy to lose and quite expensive to replace ($75 per key). Kona Reef is a short walk from Kailua Town, and that was a real nice feature as lu'au, restaurants and bars are all convenient. The pool was small but very nice and clean. There is no real beach since it is almost covered with lava rock, but there is a beach nearby and we did enjoy watching the surfers every day. They start around 5:30AM and go all day long. Kona Reef has no restaurant, gym or any other facility that you may find at a hotel, but we knew that in advance and we were not troubled by it. I have seen other reviews of the Kona Reef and can only say that for the most part they are accurate. It is a fine place to stay for budget concious families who don't require luxury accomodations, and I would certainly stay there again. While in Kona, we ate at Bianelli's Pizza at the Keahou Shopping Center (excellent); Quinn's (not very good); Bongo Ben's (good); LuLu's (OK), Huggos on the Rocks for breakfast (wouldn't reccomend); Bite Me at the Honokohau Marina (good); and Pacific Keniche at the Keahou Center (ridiculously expensive,but good food). My sons and I also went scba diving with Big Island Divers and I highly recommend them. All in all we had a wonderful vacation and I look forward to going back some day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Bianelli's Pizza. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mother/Animal lover
Business
Wisconsin
May 7, 2011

Convenient Comfort

We enjoyed our time at Kona Reef, but the traffic noise was a bit much. Also, I believe there was garbage pick at aorund 5:00 in the morning. I do believe the construction crew would start early around 6:00. I do wish that there would be a better cleaning of condos as we had someone come in only once to collect garbage and change linen. there was no other cleaning available and no decent cleaning supplies available. I did not like this as I did not feel that our unit was as clean as it could have been kept. We had much better service in the past.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining and shopping were only a short walk away. Grocery shopping and walking trail only a short dive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jim&Della
Business
tolleson,AZ
Jun 5, 2011

kona Big Island

First we stocked the fridge with groceries. And then settled in and rested. We hit the beach for half the day and walked about 1/8 mile to downtown Kona. Had a rental car so we drove to the volcano and Hilo.We also took in a Lu'au at the Marriott Hotel. Drove to a nice state park beach {Hapuna} and had a time. On the last day we laid and overed from our sun burns. We took a short Dinner Cruise that wasvery romantic! Had a good time1

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seatte,wa
Nov 11, 2010

Average lodging well situated

Best thing is the waterfront location with good surf sounds. Also walking distance to town is a plus. The place is dated though, and the slamming of heavy screen doors was a negative. Also my WiFi connection was poor apparently varies room to room according to staff. There are other hotels in the very immediate area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huggos for sunset dining right on the water with live music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle,WA
Jun 9, 2010

sleep on the pull out sofa

There are some great things about staying in a condo, and this ones no exception, unit was spotless, loved the art the owners selected for the wqalls, all the amenaties of home, cleaning guy came in twice during the week, the pool and hot tub were always clean, barbeque grills were fantastic and saved us some money on dining out. Downside: our unit was too close to the street and the AC didn't reach the bedroom so we either roasted with the windows and fan off, or were serenaded by passing traffic al night and an intermittant but wobbly ceiling fan. The last night we slept on the pull out couch with the sliding glass door open, heavenly nights sleep with surf in the background, but we couldn't move the next day due to little aches and pains that creeped up from the sofabed. Ask for a unit in the back of the complex that faces the beach, or bring ear plugs and open all the windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Locate the Ali'i market on the south end and find the woman who sells fish tacos and shave ice, ask her about fresh fish. It's pricey @ 10 bucks a lb and 2 lb minimum, but worth every cent once it hits the grill. Recommend buying teriyaki sauce at the grocery store to keep your fish nice and moist on the grill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kona hawaii
May 17, 2010

nice place

well the first night we got robbed, but all the persons took were are digital camaras. The people at the hotel night security came to the door at 3 am stating the seen someone out side our room on ground floor and when i went and looked the slider door was open a crack. someone lifted it and broke in. The security guard working that night was fired we were told so make sure you put a stick in the door way when you go to bed. but the hotel was nice. Its under going lots of renos by the pool. new fences but good location place is right on the strip and good surfing and nice ppl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top