$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 9, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kona Lovers
Rockville MD
Aug 26, 2012

Great location and amenities

Location is great, walking to shop and restaurant. The outdoor is great with pool and tub and BBQ. Amazing location to watch the Sunset.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MM
Business
Aurora, CO
Jul 23, 2009

A great value for your money!

Neither my husband or I had ever been to Hawaii before and we loved our trip! The condo at Kona Reef was "Oceanview" #F22, a one-bedroom, which was clean and comfortable, nothing fancy. I didn't see any others to compare this one to. We only booked this vacation with 2 days notice, so we were pleasantly surprised. The condo had a washer/dryer and all the necessary appliances to cook meals there instead of eating every meal out. The bathroom, bedroom and pool weren't huge, but big enough. Just one person behind the office desk, which must be all they need, and there is a computer in the office to check emails ($5 for 30 min, $10 for 60 min, etc) if you don't bring a laptop. They give you new towels on the 4th day (but you do have a washer/dryer if that's not enough)or you can pay more to have them come by more often. Many small, fun eating places were just a walk away (there is no dining place onsite) and loved the fish tacos at Lulu's! There is a great farmer's market down the street (5 papayas for $1) and little shops. This area is more laid back and less resort-like than Waikoloa, and we would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The Oceanview is about $45 cheaper a night than Oceanfront, so I would choose the oceanview because no one stays in the condo all the time anyway and there is still a great view!

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jul 22, 2009

All that you need at a great price.

The location of our unit was perfect for us; we could watch birds in the palm trees and the grass in the park next to us AND see and hear the ocean. The location of the resort was within walking distance to town, which was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you go over to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (which you should), leave early in the morning (before 8:00). There's a lot to do there and it's about a 3 hour drive, especially if you take the Hilo/Saddle Road back.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
By
Business
UT
Jul 21, 2009

An unexpected find

Our room, B24, had the perfect Hawaiian room decor and furniture for my wife and I to know that we were relaxing in paradise. All of the dishes had beautiful hawaiian print on them and the room was filled with 4 or 5 Hawaiian flower arrangements placed throughout the condo; very beautifully located. The room was quiet, and air-condiditioned, but the ocean breeze filled the room when the windows and balcony door was opened. The size was perfect for my wife and I even though there was a sofa with a queen sized bed in the living room with a TV, satelite, dvd and video player in it and another smaller TV mounted on the wall in the bedroom. This room provided all of the conveniences and much more; a medium size and a small hand size ice cooler, boogey board, hawaiian mat to go and sit on the beach, etc. Our room had a small washer and a dryer in it, with soap for the dishes and for washing clothes, an iron and ironing board. This room was listed in the category of ocean view rooms, not rooms with ocean fronts, but all of the rooms on the left side of this condo complex had a balcony that overlooked the beach. A treat fo us was that they were holding a boogeyboard contest for the youth with a lot of lessons about Hawaii taking place in between the meets. What a treat to watch all of this going on from our balcony on the second floor. I also loved cooling off in the pool at about 10 AM. There are also 2 barbecue pits at the pool also for guest to use. Simpy amazing condo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We are from Hawaii originally and love the local foods; the Hawaiian luau foods, and fruits of Hawaii which we purchased at the grocery stores in Kona and at Costco. Nothing like having cold sliced papayas or mangoes anytime, and at your finger tips chilled in your refrigerator, the advantage of a condo over a hotel. There were no parking fee of $10 per day like they have at many of the larger hotels in Kona. We also frequented the different Japanese, Chinese, and Hawaiian fast food shops. A lot of these shops are within walking distance and also within a short drive. You can tell that eating in Hawaii is one of our top priorities. Wal-Mart and Kmart are all within a short driving distance. Costcos and Wal- Mart both accepted our out of state Utah checks without any problems. Like in Utah, gas is the cheapest at Costcos which is located 1 mile from the Airport where all of the car rental businesses are located. Great place to top off the gas of your rental also. If you spend some time in Hilo on the other side of the island, gas in Hilo was significantly cheaper.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
USPS
Business
Newark Delaware
Jul 15, 2009

great place to stay. One of the best

the location was great and very easy to get around in a car. It was a nice peaceful condo. We had ocean front and a ground condo. No more then 10 steps and you were at water edge. The condo had everything you needed for your stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

travel at your own pace or take the tours. There is plenty to do on the Big Island.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
USPS
Business
Newark Delaware
Jul 15, 2009

great place to stay. One of the best

the location was great and very easy to get around in a car. It was a nice peaceful condo. We had ocean front and a ground condo. No more then 10 steps and you were at water edge. The condo had everything you needed for your stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

travel at your own pace or take the tours. There is plenty to do on the Big Island.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kentucky
Jul 7, 2009

Great location, so-so quality

This is a condo complex, and so your experience may be different from ours, as the units are individually owned and decorated. Ours (B27) was outdated in decor and somewhat dingey, but had a great view and some nice conveniences. The location is very convenient to walking "downtown", and there is covered free parking. The adjacent beach is not acceptable for swimming for kids, but is nice to look at and explore. The condo's lanai has a great view, facing eastward, of this beach. The pool is small but well-kept, and the adjacent grilling area is covered and nice, with tables. All in all a good deal for the modest price, but it ain't the Ritz. Be sure you want a condo, with a kitchenette, and not a hotel with all the amenities. Ours was a one bedroom with a sleeper couch. There is also a significant difference between this part of Kona and the Kohala coast. This part of the island has a much better 'night life' and restaurant scene, and night life. The Kohala coast is isolated, but the hotels are very luxurient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of choices.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelbuggster
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 6, 2009

Great location!

The condo was a perfect fit for us as an active couple who wanted to spend minimal time in a hotel, while still having the convenience of a full kitchen which allowed us to be able to make our own "to-go" breakfasts and lunches. The one bedroom was comfortable and clean, although not updated. The location is within walking distance to restaurants and shopping, as well as the Kailua Pier from which many of the boating, fishing, snorkeling, parasailing trips depart. A local farmers market is also within walking distance and was a great place to buy fresh local fruits!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelbuggster
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 6, 2009

Great location!

The condo was a perfect fit for us as an active couple who wanted to spend minimal time in a hotel, while still having the convenience of a full kitchen which allowed us to be able to make our own "to-go" breakfasts and lunches. The one bedroom was comfortable and clean, although not updated. The location is within walking distance to restaurants and shopping, as well as the Kailua Pier from which many of the boating, fishing, snorkeling, parasailing trips depart. A local farmers market is also within walking distance and was a great place to buy fresh local fruits!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Crescent City, CA
Jun 24, 2009

superb view!

We stayed in D-35, oceanfront. It as very clean and felt very private. We never heard the guests next to us. All we could hear were the breaking waves. Parking was covered and free. Kitchen had everything we needed to cook meals and the BBQs were nice and clean. The breeze from the ocean made the air conditioning only neccesary at night. We enjoyed the close location to town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy fresh fruit local fruit at the Farmer's Markets.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pt Towsend Wa
Jun 5, 2009

Don't act like a child

the owners of these time shares do not like childern that behave as childern. they are to be seen and not heard. whats the point of bringing kids if they must act as adults!?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top