$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
81 reviews
Perfect Hotel

Very clean rooms, nice view and good location. Beach parasol, chairs and board are usefull. Washing... See full review

  • Sea Lover Mom
  • Jun 2, 2014
Perfect affordable stay

We were delighted by our time at this oceanfront condo, would stay again. See full review

  • Clownbaby
  • Jun 2, 2014
Condos with full kitchen and private balcony on the Kailua oceanfront
An "under the radar" condo along Kailua-Kona's sunny beachfront, Castle Kona Reef makes Island living affordable for families and couples. With only 57 rooms on four floors, guests enjoy peace and privacy at the oceanfront swimming pool and around the property. Each condo includes a fully equipped kitchen and some have views of the ocean. Sandy beach mixes with a rocky black lava shoreline in front of the hotel, and a full sand beach -- one of only a few in the Kailua area -- is just next door.
Highlights
  • Multi-bedroom units are ideal for friends and family vacations and cooking in the kitchen
  • Walk from the condo into charming downtown Kailua to shop, dine and explore
  • Enjoy one of the coastline's few sandy beaches, next door to the property
Location
Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort is located right on the oceanfront and less than a mile south of Kailua-Kona's main shopping and dining district. Explore the Kona region, popular for its coffee and macadamia nut farms and snorkeling sites.
Rooms
The 4-story Castle Kona Reef features 1-, 2- or 3-bedroom, individually decorated condo suites. These air conditioned units are homey with fully equipped kitchens, washer/dryers, TVs and VCR/DVD players, and private balconies may offer views of the pool, garden or ocean. Oceanfront units offer remarkable Pacific views, with the possibility of whale sightings in winter. Local calls are free.
Features
Castle Kona Reef offers guests an oceanfront swimming pool, sundeck, jet spa and barbecue area. Restaurants and cafes are available along Alii Drive and throughout Kailua-Kona.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.5 mi/15.2 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.3 mi/31.1 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)
Policies and fees
Castle Resorts will provide mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are 7 days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than 7 days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
Two Bedroom 2 Bath Oceanfront
Spectacular view overlooking the Pacific Ocean; 1 king, 2 twins, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
Standard One Bedroom
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
One Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kona Lovers
Rockville MD
Aug 26, 2012

Great location and amenities

Location is great, walking to shop and restaurant. The outdoor is great with pool and tub and BBQ. Amazing location to watch the Sunset.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
By
Business
UT
Jul 21, 2009

An unexpected find

Our room, B24, had the perfect Hawaiian room decor and furniture for my wife and I to know that we were relaxing in paradise. All of the dishes had beautiful hawaiian print on them and the room was filled with 4 or 5 Hawaiian flower arrangements placed throughout the condo; very beautifully located. The room was quiet, and air-condiditioned, but the ocean breeze filled the room when the windows and balcony door was opened. The size was perfect for my wife and I even though there was a sofa with a queen sized bed in the living room with a TV, satelite, dvd and video player in it and another smaller TV mounted on the wall in the bedroom. This room provided all of the conveniences and much more; a medium size and a small hand size ice cooler, boogey board, hawaiian mat to go and sit on the beach, etc. Our room had a small washer and a dryer in it, with soap for the dishes and for washing clothes, an iron and ironing board. This room was listed in the category of ocean view rooms, not rooms with ocean fronts, but all of the rooms on the left side of this condo complex had a balcony that overlooked the beach. A treat fo us was that they were holding a boogeyboard contest for the youth with a lot of lessons about Hawaii taking place in between the meets. What a treat to watch all of this going on from our balcony on the second floor. I also loved cooling off in the pool at about 10 AM. There are also 2 barbecue pits at the pool also for guest to use. Simpy amazing condo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We are from Hawaii originally and love the local foods; the Hawaiian luau foods, and fruits of Hawaii which we purchased at the grocery stores in Kona and at Costco. Nothing like having cold sliced papayas or mangoes anytime, and at your finger tips chilled in your refrigerator, the advantage of a condo over a hotel. There were no parking fee of $10 per day like they have at many of the larger hotels in Kona. We also frequented the different Japanese, Chinese, and Hawaiian fast food shops. A lot of these shops are within walking distance and also within a short drive. You can tell that eating in Hawaii is one of our top priorities. Wal-Mart and Kmart are all within a short driving distance. Costcos and Wal- Mart both accepted our out of state Utah checks without any problems. Like in Utah, gas is the cheapest at Costcos which is located 1 mile from the Airport where all of the car rental businesses are located. Great place to top off the gas of your rental also. If you spend some time in Hilo on the other side of the island, gas in Hilo was significantly cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
USPS
Business
Newark Delaware
Jul 15, 2009

great place to stay. One of the best

the location was great and very easy to get around in a car. It was a nice peaceful condo. We had ocean front and a ground condo. No more then 10 steps and you were at water edge. The condo had everything you needed for your stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

travel at your own pace or take the tours. There is plenty to do on the Big Island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kentucky
Jul 7, 2009

Great location, so-so quality

This is a condo complex, and so your experience may be different from ours, as the units are individually owned and decorated. Ours (B27) was outdated in decor and somewhat dingey, but had a great view and some nice conveniences. The location is very convenient to walking "downtown", and there is covered free parking. The adjacent beach is not acceptable for swimming for kids, but is nice to look at and explore. The condo's lanai has a great view, facing eastward, of this beach. The pool is small but well-kept, and the adjacent grilling area is covered and nice, with tables. All in all a good deal for the modest price, but it ain't the Ritz. Be sure you want a condo, with a kitchenette, and not a hotel with all the amenities. Ours was a one bedroom with a sleeper couch. There is also a significant difference between this part of Kona and the Kohala coast. This part of the island has a much better 'night life' and restaurant scene, and night life. The Kohala coast is isolated, but the hotels are very luxurient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelbuggster
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 6, 2009

Great location!

The condo was a perfect fit for us as an active couple who wanted to spend minimal time in a hotel, while still having the convenience of a full kitchen which allowed us to be able to make our own "to-go" breakfasts and lunches. The one bedroom was comfortable and clean, although not updated. The location is within walking distance to restaurants and shopping, as well as the Kailua Pier from which many of the boating, fishing, snorkeling, parasailing trips depart. A local farmers market is also within walking distance and was a great place to buy fresh local fruits!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Crescent City, CA
Jun 24, 2009

superb view!

We stayed in D-35, oceanfront. It as very clean and felt very private. We never heard the guests next to us. All we could hear were the breaking waves. Parking was covered and free. Kitchen had everything we needed to cook meals and the BBQs were nice and clean. The breeze from the ocean made the air conditioning only neccesary at night. We enjoyed the close location to town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy fresh fruit local fruit at the Farmer's Markets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pt Towsend Wa
Jun 5, 2009

Don't act like a child

the owners of these time shares do not like childern that behave as childern. they are to be seen and not heard. whats the point of bringing kids if they must act as adults!?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birthday Celebrating Couple
Business
Tempe, AZ
May 28, 2009

Awesome Room!

The condo was really in a great location and we had an ocean front view with a surf breaking all the time so the roar of the ocean was awesome! We were told by other guests that they got "a heck of a deal" and we did not get a break at all so felt cheated. I guess I signed up for the trip too early. Plus we upgraded to 2 bedroom and were going to be charged $80.00/night for 10 nights until I called an 800 number and found out that it was too much, so Kona Reef charged $60.00 more instead. Overall though, we cannot complain, the condo was clean, well equipped and area great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travel happy
Business
Eureka, Ca
May 26, 2009

Great location, will be back again

We love to go and experience the food and culture, we also like to cook some of our own meals. Kona Reef offers a great location to walk into town to shop, eat, or get some great food at the farmers market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boo
Business
Longmont, Co.
May 23, 2009

Kona Reef Review

The Castle Kona Reef Condo's are a mid-range value for your money. Price is mid-range for some of the other hotels in the area. I have stayed at the Kona Reef condo's 3 times now and would do so again. Rooms are old but clean. Because of the closeness of the ocean a lot of the metal in the unit shows signs of rust and corrosion. Ocean view rooms have an excellent ocean view. Condo's are walking distance to the shopping area of Kona. Pool and BBQ area are very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The heart of the Kona tourist area is about .5 miles down the road. Long walk but you have many shops, restaurants, and nightlife. Not much parking downtown so the walk works

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Watertown, Wisconsin
May 21, 2009

Kona Reef Condos Reveiw

Toured many of big island sites. close to downtown. great ocean veiw,yet very quiet and layed back. Great place to stay,but don't expect a swimming beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top