$155 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 2, 2014 Check-out: May 4, 2014

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
78 reviews
Nice area of Kona

Not being a timeshare person, we stayed in one that was given to us from a friend. Keep in mind... See full review

  • Dave and Naomi
  • Mar 9, 2014
The condos are pretty good

The place was clean and had all the amenities expected. We had a partial ocean-front view and the... See full review

  • aureate
  • Sep 20, 2013
Condos with full kitchen and private balcony on the Kailua oceanfront
An "under the radar" condo along Kailua-Kona's sunny beachfront, Castle Kona Reef makes Island living affordable for families and couples. With only 57 rooms on four floors, guests enjoy peace and privacy at the oceanfront swimming pool and around the property. Each condo includes a fully equipped kitchen and some have views of the ocean. Sandy beach mixes with a rocky black lava shoreline in front of the hotel, and a full sand beach -- one of only a few in the Kailua area -- is just next door.
Highlights
  • Multi-bedroom units are ideal for friends and family vacations and cooking in the kitchen
  • Walk from the condo into charming downtown Kailua to shop, dine and explore
  • Enjoy one of the coastline's few sandy beaches, next door to the property
Location
Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort is located right on the oceanfront and less than a mile south of Kailua-Kona's main shopping and dining district. Explore the Kona region, popular for its coffee and macadamia nut farms and snorkeling sites.
Rooms
The 4-story Castle Kona Reef features 1-, 2- or 3-bedroom, individually decorated condo suites. These air conditioned units are homey with fully equipped kitchens, washer/dryers, TVs and VCR/DVD players, and private balconies may offer views of the pool, garden or ocean. Oceanfront units offer remarkable Pacific views, with the possibility of whale sightings in winter. Local calls are free.
Features
Castle Kona Reef offers guests an oceanfront swimming pool, sundeck, jet spa and barbecue area. Restaurants and cafes are available along Alii Drive and throughout Kailua-Kona.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.5 mi/15.2 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.3 mi/31.1 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)
Policies and fees
Castle Resorts will provide mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are 7 days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than 7 days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
Two Bedroom 2 Bath Oceanfront
Spectacular view overlooking the Pacific Ocean; 1 king, 2 twins, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
Standard One Bedroom
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
One Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.6302 -155.9884
Area served
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kona Airport-KOA

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
Travelbuggster
Wisconsin
Jul 6, 2009

Great location!

The condo was a perfect fit for us as an active couple who wanted to spend minimal time in a hotel, while still having the convenience of a full kitchen which allowed us to be able to make our own "to-go" breakfasts and lunches. The one bedroom was comfortable and clean, although not updated. The location is within walking distance to restaurants and shopping, as well as the Kailua Pier from which many of the boating, fishing, snorkeling, parasailing trips depart. A local farmers market is also within walking distance and was a great place to buy fresh local fruits!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Crescent City, CA
Jun 24, 2009

superb view!

We stayed in D-35, oceanfront. It as very clean and felt very private. We never heard the guests next to us. All we could hear were the breaking waves. Parking was covered and free. Kitchen had everything we needed to cook meals and the BBQs were nice and clean. The breeze from the ocean made the air conditioning only neccesary at night. We enjoyed the close location to town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy fresh fruit local fruit at the Farmer's Markets.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Pt Towsend Wa
Jun 5, 2009

Don't act like a child

the owners of these time shares do not like childern that behave as childern. they are to be seen and not heard. whats the point of bringing kids if they must act as adults!?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
Birthday Celebrating Couple
Tempe, AZ
May 28, 2009

Awesome Room!

The condo was really in a great location and we had an ocean front view with a surf breaking all the time so the roar of the ocean was awesome! We were told by other guests that they got "a heck of a deal" and we did not get a break at all so felt cheated. I guess I signed up for the trip too early. Plus we upgraded to 2 bedroom and were going to be charged $80.00/night for 10 nights until I called an 800 number and found out that it was too much, so Kona Reef charged $60.00 more instead. Overall though, we cannot complain, the condo was clean, well equipped and area great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
travel happy
Eureka, Ca
May 26, 2009

Great location, will be back again

We love to go and experience the food and culture, we also like to cook some of our own meals. Kona Reef offers a great location to walk into town to shop, eat, or get some great food at the farmers market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
Boo
Longmont, Co.
May 23, 2009

Kona Reef Review

The Castle Kona Reef Condo's are a mid-range value for your money. Price is mid-range for some of the other hotels in the area. I have stayed at the Kona Reef condo's 3 times now and would do so again. Rooms are old but clean. Because of the closeness of the ocean a lot of the metal in the unit shows signs of rust and corrosion. Ocean view rooms have an excellent ocean view. Condo's are walking distance to the shopping area of Kona. Pool and BBQ area are very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The heart of the Kona tourist area is about .5 miles down the road. Long walk but you have many shops, restaurants, and nightlife. Not much parking downtown so the walk works

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Watertown, Wisconsin
May 21, 2009

Kona Reef Condos Reveiw

Toured many of big island sites. close to downtown. great ocean veiw,yet very quiet and layed back. Great place to stay,but don't expect a swimming beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
LA, Calif.
May 18, 2009

good price, great location

I stayed 1 week at the Kona Reef, garden view. I highly suggest upgrading to ocean view though, you won't regret it. The hotel doesn't look like much on the outside, but the room was clean and had everything you would need. It had washer/dryer, stove, microwave, coffee maker, dishwasher, utensils etc. Each "apartment" is individually own so the condition of the room depends on the owner. I believe the complex is shared with a timeshare co. The office closes early, which is an inconvenience if you need to get a hold of somebody to complain about load neighbors, as such was the case with us. Overall Its a great place to stay, you can't beat the location, you are a few steps away from the ocean, lawn chairs are provided so you can enjoy the view day or night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

there really isn't night life so to speak most places close early.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
black barbie
Arlington, WA
Jan 2, 2009

Good location

The room at the Castle Kona reef was in pretty good condition overall. AC came in handy; the kitchen was well equipped, and overall large and comfortable for 3 people. The location was terrific for walking to restaurants and shopping and there is a small (less than 50 yards long) sandy beach just south of the property. The TV in the bedroom had tuner issues and would work for 20-30 minutes before dying. We missed having 2 bathrooms, 1 was just not enough for two adults and a teenager. The unit we were in really needed new patio furniture, although the ocean view from the 2nd floor was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had great food at Bongo Ben's and The Outback steakhouse was good as always!

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Passaic
Dec 18, 2008

Great value-great location

We were at the Kona Reef Condos for 4 days. The resort was a great value. The apartment was beautiful, overlooking the ocean. It was comfortable. One immediately felt at home. The location was great. It wasn't far from the airport. It was within walking distance to town. The staff was friendly and helpful. We hope to return in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top