$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
81 reviews
Perfect Hotel

Very clean rooms, nice view and good location. Beach parasol, chairs and board are usefull. Washing... See full review

  • Sea Lover Mom
  • Jun 2, 2014
Perfect affordable stay

We were delighted by our time at this oceanfront condo, would stay again. See full review

  • Clownbaby
  • Jun 2, 2014
Condos with full kitchen and private balcony on the Kailua oceanfront
An "under the radar" condo along Kailua-Kona's sunny beachfront, Castle Kona Reef makes Island living affordable for families and couples. With only 57 rooms on four floors, guests enjoy peace and privacy at the oceanfront swimming pool and around the property. Each condo includes a fully equipped kitchen and some have views of the ocean. Sandy beach mixes with a rocky black lava shoreline in front of the hotel, and a full sand beach -- one of only a few in the Kailua area -- is just next door.
Highlights
  • Multi-bedroom units are ideal for friends and family vacations and cooking in the kitchen
  • Walk from the condo into charming downtown Kailua to shop, dine and explore
  • Enjoy one of the coastline's few sandy beaches, next door to the property
Location
Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort is located right on the oceanfront and less than a mile south of Kailua-Kona's main shopping and dining district. Explore the Kona region, popular for its coffee and macadamia nut farms and snorkeling sites.
Rooms
The 4-story Castle Kona Reef features 1-, 2- or 3-bedroom, individually decorated condo suites. These air conditioned units are homey with fully equipped kitchens, washer/dryers, TVs and VCR/DVD players, and private balconies may offer views of the pool, garden or ocean. Oceanfront units offer remarkable Pacific views, with the possibility of whale sightings in winter. Local calls are free.
Features
Castle Kona Reef offers guests an oceanfront swimming pool, sundeck, jet spa and barbecue area. Restaurants and cafes are available along Alii Drive and throughout Kailua-Kona.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.5 mi/15.2 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.3 mi/31.1 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)
Policies and fees
Castle Resorts will provide mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are 7 days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than 7 days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
Two Bedroom 2 Bath Oceanfront
Spectacular view overlooking the Pacific Ocean; 1 king, 2 twins, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
Standard One Bedroom
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
One Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kona Lovers
Rockville MD
Aug 26, 2012

Great location and amenities

Location is great, walking to shop and restaurant. The outdoor is great with pool and tub and BBQ. Amazing location to watch the Sunset.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
California Geoscience Nerds
Business
Turlock, CA
Apr 30, 2011

Just What We Needed

As geologists and teachers we were looking for a place that would be a great base camp to explore the Big Island for the first time. Castle Kona Reef turned out to be a great choice. We had an upper level condo with a slanted view of the ocean that provided us with several wonderful sunsets, spinner dolphin sightings and the occasional cruise ship mooring off the coast. We chose Kona Reef because the condos provided a full kitchen and patio dining table which we knew would help offset food costs. We bought breakfast and lunch supplies at Safeway and Costco that lasted us nearly the entire week. By eating breakfast in-house everyday and creating a picnic lunch we were able to save over four-hundred dollars in meals. (There are also gas grills for use next to the pool if you feel the urge to BBQ). Our specific condo (C32) was a little dated in terms of decor, but that was the individual owner's taste and the overall layout was nice. The bedroom was in the back of the condo away from the ocean and was very small (barely fitting the king-bed). However, the high window vents in the room opened into the atrium which allowed us to have many pleasant mornings waking up to the sounds of birds and rain showers. We ended up using the living room as a staging area for our suitcases because we chose not to unpack our cases into the closets and dressers. In terms of beach-access, the Kona Reef has awesome tide-pooling areas with a 10'-wide strip of grass that runs between the complex and tide-pools. The old pahoehoe lava flows are teeming with life and there are usually sea turtles eating breakfast there in the mornings. There are no sandy areas to speak of, presumably washed away by the March tsunami. Dinning options were abundant about 600 yards down Ali'i drive. The Kona Reef is a perfect distance for a pre and post-dinner stroll which we took advantage of nearly every night. Lastly, several units of the condo were still under renovations after the March tsunami from the Japan earthquake. There were constant construction noises from 8am to 3pm but it didn't bother us because we were always headed out to explore the Big Island. Besides, noise is a necessity when bouncing back from a large natural disaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a Jeep if you have experience driving rough-roads, love exploring and want to maximize your time on the Big Island. The Jeep got us to places normal folks would have to pay big bucks to get to using a tour operator. We drove to the Green Sand Beach (you must have extensive 4X4 driving experience), down to Waipio Canyon and up to the Mauna Kea Observatories.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Will, Hawaiian Getaway Addict
Business
Salt Lake City
Oct 25, 2010

A Great "Under the Radar" Option

Great condo unit with full/nice kitchen, flat screen TV in living room, and amazing view from balcony. I realize that units likely differ based on ownership, but our unit was much nicer in person than on generic internet photos (usually you find the opposite!). Nice pool and hot tub area. Gorgeous sunsets every night from the grounds. Just a short walk to the main Kona strip. The only things keeping this from 5 Stars were the check-in and the noise at night. While the staff there were incredibly nice, they botched our check-in big time--leaving us sitting on a couch outside the closed leasing office for 45+ minutes at sunset after we had spent the whole day traveling. The noise was an issue because to avoid using the AC, we kept the windows in our bedroom open, which meant we could hear traffic all night on Alii. If I stayed there again, I would avoid booking in building F for this reason, despite its amazing views from balcony. Of interest, it turns out this is a place that many locals stay when they have events around Kona. We met some very generous Hawaiians around the pool and grilling area during our stay. Highly recommended, and would rate it 4-4.5 Stars with only the issues above keeping it from a 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

My wife and I had a wonderfully romantic dinner our last sunset at Lava Java's. They have a great outdoor patio, and while prices were mid-range (we usually ate in at condo), the view is amazing, the food was great, and the staff were very friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shu
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 23, 2011

Kona Reef Review

The condo was clean and well appointed. The pool and grill area were very nice. Location is excellent- walking distance to downtown Kona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Middle aged traveler
Business
South Chicago suburbs, Illinois
Aug 21, 2010

Overall a very good place

This was our first time staying at the Kona Reef. We checked in late and easily found our room by using the courtesy phone outside the office. They verified our identity and provided verbal and mapped directions to the unit where the keys were stored in a combination lock box. An extra set of keys was available from the office the next day. The unit was completely furnished with a washer/dryer that was very helpful since we arrived without our luggage. We were able to wash our newly purchased nightclothes and then our street clothes for the next day. We made arrangements for the missing luggage to be sent to the office the next day. The office closed at 5 p.m. but the counter staff told us to contact security to gain access to the office. We opted to return early to get our luggage but later realized that we could have just as easily gotten it from the friendly security staff in the evening. The outside maintenance was excellent. The staff washed the outside grounds during the morning. The poolside, outdoor grills and cabana were cleaned thoroughly by the friendly staff. Access to the oceanfront and the adjacent beach was easy and convenient. We enjoyed and the ocean view from the balcony. There was ample free parking just outside our unit and in the covered garage. The unit was very conveniently located - close to the Kona farmers market and the Alii market - but far away from the crowded strip on Alii drive to allow for peace and quiet in the evening. As mentioned above, the unit was fully furnished with just about everything you would need including a stove, refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, blender, two televisions, sound system, table games, books, pool and swimming gear. We used the dishwasher to clean the (older) dishes, glassware, knives and the (newer) cutlery before use. As the units are individually owned, some units may be better furnished and updated than others. What we had was adequate for our needs since we opted to take day trips around the Big Island during our stay. The unit could have been dusted better. There was some dust in the corners of the bathroom and flecks on the bedspread. Everything else was clean. We were pleasantly surprised by the location and convenience of the place and the friendliness of the staff. We would definitely stay here again and would alternate day trips with lounging time in the complex in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The Kona farmers market (Wednesday to Sunday) had a good variety of fresh fruit and handicraft. The Alii market was also close by but did not have as many vendors during the "slow" season in August. The Hilo farmers market (Wednesday and Saturday) is generally cheaper and had more variety for fruits and prepared ethnic food but is a whole day trip's drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slingster
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 22, 2010

Nice place with good value

Great location, very close to Kona shopping centers and beaches. Stayed on 3rd floor so it was very quiet. Carpet needs cleaning but every thing else was clean. Have all the kitchen amenities such as fridge, microwave, coffee maker, dishes, forks, oven range, etc. No extra fees such as parking of cleaning fee like other places. Will certainly come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

For good hawaiian food with great prices, go to LL BBQ. It's a restaurant chain on the Island where locals eat. You'll get lots of food for a very decent price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 20, 2007

Great ocean views

Great ocean views from the balcony. Very nice pool area with hot tub. Nice touch with the four gas grills available to all guests. You can cook your steak, and have a great view of the ocean at the same time...or take a dip in the pool during the cooking process. Very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown shopping areas are all along the ocean front, and within a short walk of the hotel. There are many places to eat as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xenia2
Business
Texas
Aug 22, 2011

Very nice accomodations on a budget

Nice amenities, the condo had all imaginable kitchen gadgets and other things - very comfortable. Friendly staff, efficient check in and check out. Great location in downtown Kona. Overall, a great experience. Not a fancy hotel but very comfortable and a good value for the price. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mother/Animal lover
Business
Kohler, WI
May 3, 2010

Last Minute Vacation

I have stayed at this place several times before and have been relatively satisfied. This time was no exception. The office staff was very helpful and friendly. The cleaning staff was thorough. I had no complaints on this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many eating places very close to the Kona Reef. Also there is a grocery store not too far away if you perfer to eat at home.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ruboss
Business
central massachusetts
Apr 26, 2010

you get what you paid for

Overall we were OK with the place, great location, good pool. However, there was one negative moment: we get some discount on "garden view appartment". I expected it to be just that-appartment the same as all other,just with garden view instead of ocean view. Appartment was essentially in the basement and was clearly inferior in terms of furnishing to "ocean view" accomodations. While it was dissappointing, this was not a vacation killer. Appartment was quite livable. Just keep this in mind: in this resort "garden view" means accomodation inferior in more that just "view".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
USPS
Business
Newark Delaware
Jul 15, 2009

great place to stay. One of the best

the location was great and very easy to get around in a car. It was a nice peaceful condo. We had ocean front and a ground condo. No more then 10 steps and you were at water edge. The condo had everything you needed for your stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

travel at your own pace or take the tours. There is plenty to do on the Big Island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top