$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
81 reviews
Perfect Hotel

Very clean rooms, nice view and good location. Beach parasol, chairs and board are usefull. Washing... See full review

  • Sea Lover Mom
  • Jun 2, 2014
Perfect affordable stay

We were delighted by our time at this oceanfront condo, would stay again. See full review

  • Clownbaby
  • Jun 2, 2014
Condos with full kitchen and private balcony on the Kailua oceanfront
An "under the radar" condo along Kailua-Kona's sunny beachfront, Castle Kona Reef makes Island living affordable for families and couples. With only 57 rooms on four floors, guests enjoy peace and privacy at the oceanfront swimming pool and around the property. Each condo includes a fully equipped kitchen and some have views of the ocean. Sandy beach mixes with a rocky black lava shoreline in front of the hotel, and a full sand beach -- one of only a few in the Kailua area -- is just next door.
Highlights
  • Multi-bedroom units are ideal for friends and family vacations and cooking in the kitchen
  • Walk from the condo into charming downtown Kailua to shop, dine and explore
  • Enjoy one of the coastline's few sandy beaches, next door to the property
Location
Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort is located right on the oceanfront and less than a mile south of Kailua-Kona's main shopping and dining district. Explore the Kona region, popular for its coffee and macadamia nut farms and snorkeling sites.
Rooms
The 4-story Castle Kona Reef features 1-, 2- or 3-bedroom, individually decorated condo suites. These air conditioned units are homey with fully equipped kitchens, washer/dryers, TVs and VCR/DVD players, and private balconies may offer views of the pool, garden or ocean. Oceanfront units offer remarkable Pacific views, with the possibility of whale sightings in winter. Local calls are free.
Features
Castle Kona Reef offers guests an oceanfront swimming pool, sundeck, jet spa and barbecue area. Restaurants and cafes are available along Alii Drive and throughout Kailua-Kona.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.5 mi/15.2 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.3 mi/31.1 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)
Policies and fees
Castle Resorts will provide mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are 7 days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than 7 days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.6302 -155.9884
Area served
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kona Airport-KOA

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
Two Bedroom 2 Bath Oceanfront
Spectacular view overlooking the Pacific Ocean; 1 king, 2 twins, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
Standard One Bedroom
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
One Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kona Lovers
Rockville MD
Aug 26, 2012

Great location and amenities

Location is great, walking to shop and restaurant. The outdoor is great with pool and tub and BBQ. Amazing location to watch the Sunset.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xenia2
Texas
Aug 22, 2011

Very nice accomodations on a budget

Nice amenities, the condo had all imaginable kitchen gadgets and other things - very comfortable. Friendly staff, efficient check in and check out. Great location in downtown Kona. Overall, a great experience. Not a fancy hotel but very comfortable and a good value for the price. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Watertown, Wisconsin
May 21, 2009

Kona Reef Condos Reveiw

Toured many of big island sites. close to downtown. great ocean veiw,yet very quiet and layed back. Great place to stay,but don't expect a swimming beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave and Naomi
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Mar 9, 2014

Nice area of Kona

Not being a timeshare person, we stayed in one that was given to us from a friend. Keep in mind that Timeshares do not operate like a Hotel where you can manage your unit that you are staying. At least that was the impression I had. We wanted a view of the ocean but when I asked the second day, the lady at the counter acted like I was asking her to pick up the building and move it. That may be the case so we accepted what was provided. The grounds were very nice and clean and we liked that we had a private garage and no gates to deal with everytime we came home, we just drove up and parked. The location is very close to snorkeling spots and also to grocery stores and drug stores that allowed us to shop as if we were at home. It was a nice clean and beautiful location in Hawaii. Just don't ask to be given another unit. It is apparently very difficult to accomplish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go out the main entrance and turn right and at the immediate light, just drive straight and there is the entrance to the shopping center. Very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno, California
Aug 10, 2010

Wonderful escape

Really loved the location of this hotel....a short walk to downtown & the pier. Room was clean & staff very helpful. We upgraded when we got there from an ocean view to a ocean front room. Excellent choice....I wanna go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had an excellent dinner at Huggos on the Rocks. Lobster Bisque, with Sliders....so yummy. You cannot beat the view....everything about the evening was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ruboss
central massachusetts
Apr 26, 2010

you get what you paid for

Overall we were OK with the place, great location, good pool. However, there was one negative moment: we get some discount on "garden view appartment". I expected it to be just that-appartment the same as all other,just with garden view instead of ocean view. Appartment was essentially in the basement and was clearly inferior in terms of furnishing to "ocean view" accomodations. While it was dissappointing, this was not a vacation killer. Appartment was quite livable. Just keep this in mind: in this resort "garden view" means accomodation inferior in more that just "view".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J & I
Spokane, WA
Feb 24, 2010

Great Location

Easy Check in/out. Great location and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clownbaby
Kailua Kona
Jun 2, 2014

Perfect affordable stay

We were delighted by our time at this oceanfront condo, would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Spinners Dolphin quest, amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slingster
Houston, TX
Jul 22, 2010

Nice place with good value

Great location, very close to Kona shopping centers and beaches. Stayed on 3rd floor so it was very quiet. Carpet needs cleaning but every thing else was clean. Have all the kitchen amenities such as fridge, microwave, coffee maker, dishes, forks, oven range, etc. No extra fees such as parking of cleaning fee like other places. Will certainly come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

For good hawaiian food with great prices, go to LL BBQ. It's a restaurant chain on the Island where locals eat. You'll get lots of food for a very decent price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mother/Animal lover
Kohler, WI
May 3, 2010

Last Minute Vacation

I have stayed at this place several times before and have been relatively satisfied. This time was no exception. The office staff was very helpful and friendly. The cleaning staff was thorough. I had no complaints on this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many eating places very close to the Kona Reef. Also there is a grocery store not too far away if you perfer to eat at home.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jim&Della
tolleson,AZ
Jun 5, 2011

kona Big Island

First we stocked the fridge with groceries. And then settled in and rested. We hit the beach for half the day and walked about 1/8 mile to downtown Kona. Had a rental car so we drove to the volcano and Hilo.We also took in a Lu'au at the Marriott Hotel. Drove to a nice state park beach {Hapuna} and had a time. On the last day we laid and overed from our sun burns. We took a short Dinner Cruise that wasvery romantic! Had a good time1

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search