$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
133 reviews
Perfect Hotel

Very clean rooms, nice view and good location. Beach parasol, chairs and board are usefull. Washing... See full review

  • Sea Lover Mom
  • Jun 2, 2014
Perfect affordable stay

We were delighted by our time at this oceanfront condo, would stay again. See full review

  • Clownbaby
  • Jun 2, 2014
Condos with full kitchen and private balcony on the Kailua oceanfront
An "under the radar" condo along Kailua-Kona's sunny beachfront, Castle Kona Reef makes Island living affordable for families and couples. With only 57 rooms on four floors, guests enjoy peace and privacy at the oceanfront swimming pool and around the property. Each condo includes a fully equipped kitchen and some have views of the ocean. Sandy beach mixes with a rocky black lava shoreline in front of the hotel, and a full sand beach -- one of only a few in the Kailua area -- is just next door.
Highlights
  • Multi-bedroom units are ideal for friends and family vacations and cooking in the kitchen
  • Walk from the condo into charming downtown Kailua to shop, dine and explore
  • Enjoy one of the coastline's few sandy beaches, next door to the property
Location
Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort is located right on the oceanfront and less than a mile south of Kailua-Kona's main shopping and dining district. Explore the Kona region, popular for its coffee and macadamia nut farms and snorkeling sites.
Rooms
The 4-story Castle Kona Reef features 1-, 2- or 3-bedroom, individually decorated condo suites. These air conditioned units are homey with fully equipped kitchens, washer/dryers, TVs and VCR/DVD players, and private balconies may offer views of the pool, garden or ocean. Oceanfront units offer remarkable Pacific views, with the possibility of whale sightings in winter. Local calls are free.
Features
Castle Kona Reef offers guests an oceanfront swimming pool, sundeck, jet spa and barbecue area. Restaurants and cafes are available along Alii Drive and throughout Kailua-Kona.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.5 mi/15.2 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.3 mi/31.1 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)
Policies and fees
Castle Resorts will provide mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are 7 days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than 7 days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
Two Bedroom 2 Bath Oceanfront
Spectacular view overlooking the Pacific Ocean; 1 king, 2 twins, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
Standard One Bedroom
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
One Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.6302 -155.9884
Area served
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kona Airport-KOA

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oahu girl
Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii
Aug 1, 2012

Wonderful stay

Our stay at this hotel was just wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our dishwasher wouldn't turn on, within 10min of telling the front desk about it, maiteance was in our room working on the problem. We loved our stay here. The hotel was close to everything in Kona! Will definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seatte,wa
Nov 11, 2010

Average lodging well situated

Best thing is the waterfront location with good surf sounds. Also walking distance to town is a plus. The place is dated though, and the slamming of heavy screen doors was a negative. Also my WiFi connection was poor apparently varies room to room according to staff. There are other hotels in the very immediate area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huggos for sunset dining right on the water with live music.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Will, Hawaiian Getaway Addict
Salt Lake City
Oct 25, 2010

A Great "Under the Radar" Option

Great condo unit with full/nice kitchen, flat screen TV in living room, and amazing view from balcony. I realize that units likely differ based on ownership, but our unit was much nicer in person than on generic internet photos (usually you find the opposite!). Nice pool and hot tub area. Gorgeous sunsets every night from the grounds. Just a short walk to the main Kona strip. The only things keeping this from 5 Stars were the check-in and the noise at night. While the staff there were incredibly nice, they botched our check-in big time--leaving us sitting on a couch outside the closed leasing office for 45+ minutes at sunset after we had spent the whole day traveling. The noise was an issue because to avoid using the AC, we kept the windows in our bedroom open, which meant we could hear traffic all night on Alii. If I stayed there again, I would avoid booking in building F for this reason, despite its amazing views from balcony. Of interest, it turns out this is a place that many locals stay when they have events around Kona. We met some very generous Hawaiians around the pool and grilling area during our stay. Highly recommended, and would rate it 4-4.5 Stars with only the issues above keeping it from a 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

My wife and I had a wonderfully romantic dinner our last sunset at Lava Java's. They have a great outdoor patio, and while prices were mid-range (we usually ate in at condo), the view is amazing, the food was great, and the staff were very friendly.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Will, Hawaiian Getaway Addict
Salt Lake City
Oct 25, 2010

A Great "Under the Radar" Option

Great condo unit with full/nice kitchen, flat screen TV in living room, and amazing view from balcony. I realize that units likely differ based on ownership, but our unit was much nicer in person than on generic internet photos (usually you find the opposite!). Nice pool and hot tub area. Gorgeous sunsets every night from the grounds. Just a short walk to the main Kona strip. The only things keeping this from 5 Stars were the check-in and the noise at night. While the staff there were incredibly nice, they botched our check-in big time--leaving us sitting on a couch outside the closed leasing office for 45+ minutes at sunset after we had spent the whole day traveling. The noise was an issue because to avoid using the AC, we kept the windows in our bedroom open, which meant we could hear traffic all night on Alii. If I stayed there again, I would avoid booking in building F for this reason, despite its amazing views from balcony. Of interest, it turns out this is a place that many locals stay when they have events around Kona. We met some very generous Hawaiians around the pool and grilling area during our stay. Highly recommended, and would rate it 4-4.5 Stars with only the issues above keeping it from a 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

My wife and I had a wonderfully romantic dinner our last sunset at Lava Java's. They have a great outdoor patio, and while prices were mid-range (we usually ate in at condo), the view is amazing, the food was great, and the staff were very friendly.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Green Bay, WI
Oct 6, 2010

Hawaii's Big Island

Kona Reef was a perfect place to spent our 46th anniversary. The hotel is well-mainained, and kept very clean. Even the grills in the patio area were cleaned regularly, as well as the pool and the rooms. The weather was perfect - 70's at night and 80's during the day. Downtown Kona is walking distance, and there are beautiful flowers all along the walk. The cruise ships dock within sight of the condo, and there were often surfers that could be seen from our lanai, too. We had an ocean view condo, overlooking the pool and the ocean, and it was very pleasant. Our unit had many extras, including an ice chest to take along on our day trips, and lawn chairs that we could put in the car for sitting on the beach or by Kealakekua Bay. I would definitely recommend Kona Reef.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within a short walk of Kona Reef are some good restaurants - Lulu's, Lava Java,Tantes, UTopit, Fish Hpper and others.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Green Bay, WI
Oct 6, 2010

Hawaii's Big Island

Kona Reef was a perfect place to spent our 46th anniversary. The hotel is well-mainained, and kept very clean. Even the grills in the patio area were cleaned regularly, as well as the pool and the rooms. The weather was perfect - 70's at night and 80's during the day. Downtown Kona is walking distance, and there are beautiful flowers all along the walk. The cruise ships dock within sight of the condo, and there were often surfers that could be seen from our lanai, too. We had an ocean view condo, overlooking the pool and the ocean, and it was very pleasant. Our unit had many extras, including an ice chest to take along on our day trips, and lawn chairs that we could put in the car for sitting on the beach or by Kealakekua Bay. I would definitely recommend Kona Reef.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within a short walk of Kona Reef are some good restaurants - Lulu's, Lava Java,Tantes, UTopit, Fish Hpper and others.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hari Om
Chicago, IL
Aug 24, 2010

Mediocre property

We were there for three days for vacation. The location of the property is generally nice, and is by the oceanfront. The Kailua downtown is nearby and has much to offer. WWe had rented a one-bedroom unit. However, the condo unit assigned to us the first night was very bad ... it stank as if with mold, the floor was dirty, the furniture was old and broken. The office had closed at 5 pm, so there was no one to serve/help us when we arrived at the property at 5:15 pm. The key was in a lockbox and we had to sleep in a stinking condo. The next morning we asked for a change in unit. They gave a better unit by middle of the day, but did not in any way even attempt to make up for our wasted time and inconvenience of the previous night. There was no help available to move our baggage from one unit to the other; there is very limited service overall. The A/C unit did not work in the second unit. There are better properties in the neighborhood at better prices, so I would recommend to a visitor to look around for options. thanks for reading.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Jet skiing is nearby. Many beaches are nearby.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hari Om
Chicago, IL
Aug 24, 2010

Mediocre property

We were there for three days for vacation. The location of the property is generally nice, and is by the oceanfront. The Kailua downtown is nearby and has much to offer. WWe had rented a one-bedroom unit. However, the condo unit assigned to us the first night was very bad ... it stank as if with mold, the floor was dirty, the furniture was old and broken. The office had closed at 5 pm, so there was no one to serve/help us when we arrived at the property at 5:15 pm. The key was in a lockbox and we had to sleep in a stinking condo. The next morning we asked for a change in unit. They gave a better unit by middle of the day, but did not in any way even attempt to make up for our wasted time and inconvenience of the previous night. There was no help available to move our baggage from one unit to the other; there is very limited service overall. The A/C unit did not work in the second unit. There are better properties in the neighborhood at better prices, so I would recommend to a visitor to look around for options. thanks for reading.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Jet skiing is nearby. Many beaches are nearby.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Middle aged traveler
South Chicago suburbs, Illinois
Aug 21, 2010

Overall a very good place

This was our first time staying at the Kona Reef. We checked in late and easily found our room by using the courtesy phone outside the office. They verified our identity and provided verbal and mapped directions to the unit where the keys were stored in a combination lock box. An extra set of keys was available from the office the next day. The unit was completely furnished with a washer/dryer that was very helpful since we arrived without our luggage. We were able to wash our newly purchased nightclothes and then our street clothes for the next day. We made arrangements for the missing luggage to be sent to the office the next day. The office closed at 5 p.m. but the counter staff told us to contact security to gain access to the office. We opted to return early to get our luggage but later realized that we could have just as easily gotten it from the friendly security staff in the evening. The outside maintenance was excellent. The staff washed the outside grounds during the morning. The poolside, outdoor grills and cabana were cleaned thoroughly by the friendly staff. Access to the oceanfront and the adjacent beach was easy and convenient. We enjoyed and the ocean view from the balcony. There was ample free parking just outside our unit and in the covered garage. The unit was very conveniently located - close to the Kona farmers market and the Alii market - but far away from the crowded strip on Alii drive to allow for peace and quiet in the evening. As mentioned above, the unit was fully furnished with just about everything you would need including a stove, refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, blender, two televisions, sound system, table games, books, pool and swimming gear. We used the dishwasher to clean the (older) dishes, glassware, knives and the (newer) cutlery before use. As the units are individually owned, some units may be better furnished and updated than others. What we had was adequate for our needs since we opted to take day trips around the Big Island during our stay. The unit could have been dusted better. There was some dust in the corners of the bathroom and flecks on the bedspread. Everything else was clean. We were pleasantly surprised by the location and convenience of the place and the friendliness of the staff. We would definitely stay here again and would alternate day trips with lounging time in the complex in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The Kona farmers market (Wednesday to Sunday) had a good variety of fresh fruit and handicraft. The Alii market was also close by but did not have as many vendors during the "slow" season in August. The Hilo farmers market (Wednesday and Saturday) is generally cheaper and had more variety for fruits and prepared ethnic food but is a whole day trip's drive away.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Middle aged traveler
South Chicago suburbs, Illinois
Aug 21, 2010

Overall a very good place

This was our first time staying at the Kona Reef. We checked in late and easily found our room by using the courtesy phone outside the office. They verified our identity and provided verbal and mapped directions to the unit where the keys were stored in a combination lock box. An extra set of keys was available from the office the next day. The unit was completely furnished with a washer/dryer that was very helpful since we arrived without our luggage. We were able to wash our newly purchased nightclothes and then our street clothes for the next day. We made arrangements for the missing luggage to be sent to the office the next day. The office closed at 5 p.m. but the counter staff told us to contact security to gain access to the office. We opted to return early to get our luggage but later realized that we could have just as easily gotten it from the friendly security staff in the evening. The outside maintenance was excellent. The staff washed the outside grounds during the morning. The poolside, outdoor grills and cabana were cleaned thoroughly by the friendly staff. Access to the oceanfront and the adjacent beach was easy and convenient. We enjoyed and the ocean view from the balcony. There was ample free parking just outside our unit and in the covered garage. The unit was very conveniently located - close to the Kona farmers market and the Alii market - but far away from the crowded strip on Alii drive to allow for peace and quiet in the evening. As mentioned above, the unit was fully furnished with just about everything you would need including a stove, refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, blender, two televisions, sound system, table games, books, pool and swimming gear. We used the dishwasher to clean the (older) dishes, glassware, knives and the (newer) cutlery before use. As the units are individually owned, some units may be better furnished and updated than others. What we had was adequate for our needs since we opted to take day trips around the Big Island during our stay. The unit could have been dusted better. There was some dust in the corners of the bathroom and flecks on the bedspread. Everything else was clean. We were pleasantly surprised by the location and convenience of the place and the friendliness of the staff. We would definitely stay here again and would alternate day trips with lounging time in the complex in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The Kona farmers market (Wednesday to Sunday) had a good variety of fresh fruit and handicraft. The Alii market was also close by but did not have as many vendors during the "slow" season in August. The Hilo farmers market (Wednesday and Saturday) is generally cheaper and had more variety for fruits and prepared ethnic food but is a whole day trip's drive away.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno, California
Aug 10, 2010

Wonderful escape

Really loved the location of this hotel....a short walk to downtown & the pier. Room was clean & staff very helpful. We upgraded when we got there from an ocean view to a ocean front room. Excellent choice....I wanna go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had an excellent dinner at Huggos on the Rocks. Lobster Bisque, with Sliders....so yummy. You cannot beat the view....everything about the evening was excellent.

Back to menu Return to top