$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oahu girl
Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii
Aug 1, 2012

Wonderful stay

Our stay at this hotel was just wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our dishwasher wouldn't turn on, within 10min of telling the front desk about it, maiteance was in our room working on the problem. We loved our stay here. The hotel was close to everything in Kona! Will definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Jul 6, 2010

Fantastic family getaway

A great vaction place to stay for a family with kids. We felt at home in staying in the one bedroom condo. This is the first time we stayed so close to the ocean. We had a Oceanfront view and were about 10 feet away from the ocean. Also, the location the hotel is situated is great. Just minutes walking to great sea side restaurants and shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lively place and just minutes walk to the restaurant and shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside, Ca
Jul 2, 2010

Well run, super convenient...

This is a condo project that has a centralized sevice that rents out units for their owners. It is right on the ocean, walking distance from the central business district/bay at Kailua-Kona. The grounds are kept scrupulously clean. The units surround a central swimming pool/barbeque terrace/courtyard also looking over the ocean. We had a great time: the courtyard is a social gathering point. The office was responsive. Room cleaning is every 3 days, unless you pay extra. We found that just about right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay away from Bubba Gumps. You think you've ordered a beverage, but no: you've ordered the beverage in a souvenier glass for $11.50. Place is a tourist trap. Other than that, we found the food establishments ressonable and fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle,WA
Jun 9, 2010

sleep on the pull out sofa

There are some great things about staying in a condo, and this ones no exception, unit was spotless, loved the art the owners selected for the wqalls, all the amenaties of home, cleaning guy came in twice during the week, the pool and hot tub were always clean, barbeque grills were fantastic and saved us some money on dining out. Downside: our unit was too close to the street and the AC didn't reach the bedroom so we either roasted with the windows and fan off, or were serenaded by passing traffic al night and an intermittant but wobbly ceiling fan. The last night we slept on the pull out couch with the sliding glass door open, heavenly nights sleep with surf in the background, but we couldn't move the next day due to little aches and pains that creeped up from the sofabed. Ask for a unit in the back of the complex that faces the beach, or bring ear plugs and open all the windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Locate the Ali'i market on the south end and find the woman who sells fish tacos and shave ice, ask her about fresh fish. It's pricey @ 10 bucks a lb and 2 lb minimum, but worth every cent once it hits the grill. Recommend buying teriyaki sauce at the grocery store to keep your fish nice and moist on the grill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kona hawaii
May 17, 2010

nice place

well the first night we got robbed, but all the persons took were are digital camaras. The people at the hotel night security came to the door at 3 am stating the seen someone out side our room on ground floor and when i went and looked the slider door was open a crack. someone lifted it and broke in. The security guard working that night was fired we were told so make sure you put a stick in the door way when you go to bed. but the hotel was nice. Its under going lots of renos by the pool. new fences but good location place is right on the strip and good surfing and nice ppl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mother/Animal lover
Business
Kohler, WI
May 3, 2010

Last Minute Vacation

I have stayed at this place several times before and have been relatively satisfied. This time was no exception. The office staff was very helpful and friendly. The cleaning staff was thorough. I had no complaints on this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many eating places very close to the Kona Reef. Also there is a grocery store not too far away if you perfer to eat at home.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ruboss
Business
central massachusetts
Apr 26, 2010

you get what you paid for

Overall we were OK with the place, great location, good pool. However, there was one negative moment: we get some discount on "garden view appartment". I expected it to be just that-appartment the same as all other,just with garden view instead of ocean view. Appartment was essentially in the basement and was clearly inferior in terms of furnishing to "ocean view" accomodations. While it was dissappointing, this was not a vacation killer. Appartment was quite livable. Just keep this in mind: in this resort "garden view" means accomodation inferior in more that just "view".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John from Alaska
Business
Anchorage, AK
Mar 18, 2010

Very enjoyable stay.

Very enjoyable stay. It would have been nice with more towels in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Terrific location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J & I
Business
Spokane, WA
Feb 24, 2010

Great Location

Easy Check in/out. Great location and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quad Mom
Business
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Feb 8, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

The resort was close to all amenities. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Security staff patrolled the complex and made us feel safe at all times. Quiet times were kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The resort provided adequete brochures on all recreation, shopping and dining activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PHX
Dec 7, 2009

Location is good

HOtel is good and a very nice location. In my room couch was not good and the bed was not king size it was queen. But the rooms are more sufficient and the amenities are good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top