$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Seattle,WA
Jun 9, 2010

sleep on the pull out sofa

There are some great things about staying in a condo, and this ones no exception, unit was spotless, loved the art the owners selected for the wqalls, all the amenaties of home, cleaning guy came in twice during the week, the pool and hot tub were always clean, barbeque grills were fantastic and saved us some money on dining out. Downside: our unit was too close to the street and the AC didn't reach the bedroom so we either roasted with the windows and fan off, or were serenaded by passing traffic al night and an intermittant but wobbly ceiling fan. The last night we slept on the pull out couch with the sliding glass door open, heavenly nights sleep with surf in the background, but we couldn't move the next day due to little aches and pains that creeped up from the sofabed. Ask for a unit in the back of the complex that faces the beach, or bring ear plugs and open all the windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Locate the Ali'i market on the south end and find the woman who sells fish tacos and shave ice, ask her about fresh fish. It's pricey @ 10 bucks a lb and 2 lb minimum, but worth every cent once it hits the grill. Recommend buying teriyaki sauce at the grocery store to keep your fish nice and moist on the grill.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
kona hawaii
May 17, 2010

nice place

well the first night we got robbed, but all the persons took were are digital camaras. The people at the hotel night security came to the door at 3 am stating the seen someone out side our room on ground floor and when i went and looked the slider door was open a crack. someone lifted it and broke in. The security guard working that night was fired we were told so make sure you put a stick in the door way when you go to bed. but the hotel was nice. Its under going lots of renos by the pool. new fences but good location place is right on the strip and good surfing and nice ppl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mother/Animal lover
Family
Kohler, WI
May 3, 2010

Last Minute Vacation

I have stayed at this place several times before and have been relatively satisfied. This time was no exception. The office staff was very helpful and friendly. The cleaning staff was thorough. I had no complaints on this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many eating places very close to the Kona Reef. Also there is a grocery store not too far away if you perfer to eat at home.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ruboss
Family
central massachusetts
Apr 26, 2010

you get what you paid for

Overall we were OK with the place, great location, good pool. However, there was one negative moment: we get some discount on "garden view appartment". I expected it to be just that-appartment the same as all other,just with garden view instead of ocean view. Appartment was essentially in the basement and was clearly inferior in terms of furnishing to "ocean view" accomodations. While it was dissappointing, this was not a vacation killer. Appartment was quite livable. Just keep this in mind: in this resort "garden view" means accomodation inferior in more that just "view".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John from Alaska
Family
Anchorage, AK
Mar 18, 2010

Very enjoyable stay.

Very enjoyable stay. It would have been nice with more towels in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Terrific location.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J & I
Couples
Spokane, WA
Feb 24, 2010

Great Location

Easy Check in/out. Great location and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quad Mom
Couples
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Feb 8, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

The resort was close to all amenities. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Security staff patrolled the complex and made us feel safe at all times. Quiet times were kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The resort provided adequete brochures on all recreation, shopping and dining activities.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
PHX
Dec 7, 2009

Location is good

HOtel is good and a very nice location. In my room couch was not good and the bed was not king size it was queen. But the rooms are more sufficient and the amenities are good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
knoxville tn.
Nov 17, 2009

kona reef stay

good location for my morning walks to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DNA
Single
Houston, Texas
Oct 19, 2009

Good Location for the Price

The condominium resort was right on the edge of the Kona tourist center. My unit had washer/dryer, fully equipped kitchen, and could have easily accomodated 4 people (one bedroom with a pullout couch).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I didn't realize until the last day that it was located behind the beach with the best surfing waves in the immediate area.

Back to menu Return to top