$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
133 reviews
Perfect Hotel

Very clean rooms, nice view and good location. Beach parasol, chairs and board are usefull. Washing... See full review

  • Sea Lover Mom
  • Jun 2, 2014
Perfect affordable stay

We were delighted by our time at this oceanfront condo, would stay again. See full review

  • Clownbaby
  • Jun 2, 2014
Condos with full kitchen and private balcony on the Kailua oceanfront
An "under the radar" condo along Kailua-Kona's sunny beachfront, Castle Kona Reef makes Island living affordable for families and couples. With only 57 rooms on four floors, guests enjoy peace and privacy at the oceanfront swimming pool and around the property. Each condo includes a fully equipped kitchen and some have views of the ocean. Sandy beach mixes with a rocky black lava shoreline in front of the hotel, and a full sand beach -- one of only a few in the Kailua area -- is just next door.
Highlights
  • Multi-bedroom units are ideal for friends and family vacations and cooking in the kitchen
  • Walk from the condo into charming downtown Kailua to shop, dine and explore
  • Enjoy one of the coastline's few sandy beaches, next door to the property
Location
Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort is located right on the oceanfront and less than a mile south of Kailua-Kona's main shopping and dining district. Explore the Kona region, popular for its coffee and macadamia nut farms and snorkeling sites.
Rooms
The 4-story Castle Kona Reef features 1-, 2- or 3-bedroom, individually decorated condo suites. These air conditioned units are homey with fully equipped kitchens, washer/dryers, TVs and VCR/DVD players, and private balconies may offer views of the pool, garden or ocean. Oceanfront units offer remarkable Pacific views, with the possibility of whale sightings in winter. Local calls are free.
Features
Castle Kona Reef offers guests an oceanfront swimming pool, sundeck, jet spa and barbecue area. Restaurants and cafes are available along Alii Drive and throughout Kailua-Kona.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.5 mi/15.2 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.3 mi/31.1 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)
Policies and fees
Castle Resorts will provide mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are 7 days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than 7 days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.6302 -155.9884
Area served
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kona Airport-KOA

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
Two Bedroom 2 Bath Oceanfront
Spectacular view overlooking the Pacific Ocean; 1 king, 2 twins, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
Standard One Bedroom
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
One Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Reno, NV
Jun 18, 2007

Great Get Away

The Castle Kona Reef Condo on the Big Island of Hawaii was great. My husband and I really enjoyed being in a condo rather than a hotel. Our condo was a one-bedroom, ocean front with all the amenties of home. It had an awesome view, very clean, comfortable and we didn't even hear our neighbors. We enjoyed being able to walk to town (about a mile) and enjoyed one of the better beaches at the south end of the condo property. We would diffently go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Only about a mile from town. We enjoyed the excercise of walking to town. A lot of nice restaurants, mostly casual, which we liked.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandpa Ed
Business
Palo Alto
Aug 7, 2010

Good location and close to town.

Went there to join daughter family on vacation. Had a wonderful time at pool and room was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Crescent City, CA
Jun 24, 2009

superb view!

We stayed in D-35, oceanfront. It as very clean and felt very private. We never heard the guests next to us. All we could hear were the breaking waves. Parking was covered and free. Kitchen had everything we needed to cook meals and the BBQs were nice and clean. The breeze from the ocean made the air conditioning only neccesary at night. We enjoyed the close location to town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy fresh fruit local fruit at the Farmer's Markets.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sea Lover Mom
Guam
Jun 2, 2014

Perfect Hotel

Very clean rooms, nice view and good location. Beach parasol, chairs and board are usefull. Washing machine in the room with free detergent are very nice. We could stay wonderful days in Kona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jaydeep
Los Angeles CA
Aug 4, 2009

Excellent Location for Family

This is a great place to spend a week or so with your family, Location is one of the best in Kona and staff is very friendly. I would go back next vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Farmners' Market, Best fruits and vegetables in the Kona

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
James T
Orange County, CA
Dec 29, 2011

Just Like Home!

What's not to like? A condo with all the amenities that allows you to vacation with all the comforts of home. A fully stocked kitchen, comfortable living room, a lanai with a beach view and free wi-fi made us want to stay forever. (Although our unit was designated "garden view" we had a fantastic view of the beach.) The only drawbacks were the street noise during the day and the general unfriendliness of the front office clerk. But a small price to pay for paradise. That all being said,as all units are individually owned any specific one may not be as nice as unit B35, so check out the reviews for bad units first. Also, they have a cool program where you leave any unused food behind and it is donated to local food kitchens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oahu girl
Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii
Aug 1, 2012

Wonderful stay

Our stay at this hotel was just wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our dishwasher wouldn't turn on, within 10min of telling the front desk about it, maiteance was in our room working on the problem. We loved our stay here. The hotel was close to everything in Kona! Will definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan the Electric Man
near Louisville, KY
Sep 3, 2012

Comfortable room, great view and location

We had a late check-in, so no staff was available should something be wrong with the room, etc. We shouldn't have worried! The room was clean and the view out the lanai looked directly over the pool / cabana area right out to the ocean (it couldn't have been better!#. It is within easy walking distance along the main road in Kona, where several restaurants, bars, and shops are located. Rooms are individually owned, but ours #in F building# had micro, full size refrigerator, washer and dryer, stove and all utensils, including for the grills in the cabana. #This building is closest to street and has some traffic noise, but nothing too bad.) Getting to sandy beaches requires short drive, as do most hotels / condos in this area. Already planning return trip....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alaska Jim
Palmer, Alaska
Apr 26, 2014

A Good Value in Kailua Kona

Everything was there, from dishes to towels to en suite washer and dryer to the salt and pepper. Nice, modern kitchen, great layout, and the first comfortable hide-a-bed couch ever experienced. The master bedroom was a little far away from the wall mounted air conditioner, and the bed a little "mature," A new bed and a room a little farther from the street (ours was at the very end of the unit, closest to the street) would have made it five-star all the way. Still, we had a great view of the beach and park just next door. Pool and deck/BBQ facilities were outstanding. The full kitchen made living a bit cheaper in a rather un-cheap place. We cooked a lot of our meals rather than eating out all the time, so had more bucks for beer. Far enough away from tourist trap area, close to locals' hangout. Next time, we'll get Ocean View, 2-bedroom. That should just about make it perfect. We'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Jct CO
Mar 12, 2011

Great condo for the price,view& comfort

The location was close to the main attractions of the city. The view was great with the surf right there to be heard any time the door was open.Everything(rm,pool,hottub barbecue& grounds) were clean and well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking is hard to find in town. The trolley is easy and the walks are short

Back to menu Return to top