$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 9, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, California
Aug 10, 2010

Wonderful escape

Really loved the location of this hotel....a short walk to downtown & the pier. Room was clean & staff very helpful. We upgraded when we got there from an ocean view to a ocean front room. Excellent choice....I wanna go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had an excellent dinner at Huggos on the Rocks. Lobster Bisque, with Sliders....so yummy. You cannot beat the view....everything about the evening was excellent.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BfromO
Business
Ontario
Feb 6, 2012

We'll come back

Excellent, quiet and safe place to be. Location could not be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack and Jeanne
Business
Monroe, Iowa
Apr 16, 2012

Good to be back in Kona!

Very nice place to stay. We would stay there again. It was clean and comfortable. Nice ocean view and the ocean breeze was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice walk to town to enjoy food, shopping and just to sit and enjoy the shoreline and watch the outriggers.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Searching for paradise
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Apr 27, 2012

A taste of paradise!

Our unit was ground floor, newly remodeled and beautiful. Can't beat the sound of the ocean waves when you open your patio door!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan the Electric Man
Business
near Louisville, KY
Sep 3, 2012

Comfortable room, great view and location

We had a late check-in, so no staff was available should something be wrong with the room, etc. We shouldn't have worried! The room was clean and the view out the lanai looked directly over the pool / cabana area right out to the ocean (it couldn't have been better!#. It is within easy walking distance along the main road in Kona, where several restaurants, bars, and shops are located. Rooms are individually owned, but ours #in F building# had micro, full size refrigerator, washer and dryer, stove and all utensils, including for the grills in the cabana. #This building is closest to street and has some traffic noise, but nothing too bad.) Getting to sandy beaches requires short drive, as do most hotels / condos in this area. Already planning return trip....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bebacksoon
Business
NM
Apr 10, 2013

Super Deal

Units are individually owned, so amenities may vary, but had a great experience here, esp. for the price. Pros: got a one bedroom condo (+ sleeper sofa) in April for ~$150/night. Included in our unit were a zillion movies and games, a boogie board, golf clubs, snorkel gear, cooking spices, 2 coolers and a beach chair, and on and on. Also included- soap/shampoo/lotion, starter pack of coffee, dish and laundry detergent, and in-unit washer/dryer for no cost. We got plush pool towels from the office to use during our stay and we had an amazing ocean/beach view for only $10 extra per night. Downsides: very dated decorating/furniture, non-fitted sheets on bed, the one A/C unit is in the living room, so you really need to sleep w the bedroom door open. That said, we easily overlooked all of those for the many benefits at this amazing price for HI. Stayed at the large hotel next door years ago-- so glad we chose a condo at the KRR this time instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aureate
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 20, 2013

The condos are pretty good

The place was clean and had all the amenities expected. We had a partial ocean-front view and the condo was on the ground floor so we could walk out to the ocean. The A/C was in the living room and it took longer to cool the bedroom. It was extremely hard to get hold of anyone at the front office - they have very limited hours. The phone check-in almost didn't work. They gave me an incorrect code and then kept trying to tell me that I didn't know how to work a combination lock before eventually giving the correct code. The resident manager when asked a question about wi-fi said that I need to ask that at the front office that was again closed for lunch. Ended up checking-in when checking out. All in all a nice place but very bad management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clownbaby
Business
Kailua Kona
Jun 2, 2014

Perfect affordable stay

We were delighted by our time at this oceanfront condo, would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Spinners Dolphin quest, amazing.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Jul 6, 2010

Fantastic family getaway

A great vaction place to stay for a family with kids. We felt at home in staying in the one bedroom condo. This is the first time we stayed so close to the ocean. We had a Oceanfront view and were about 10 feet away from the ocean. Also, the location the hotel is situated is great. Just minutes walking to great sea side restaurants and shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lively place and just minutes walk to the restaurant and shops.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T&S
Business
Ca.
Jul 9, 2010

Great Location

The ocean front rooms are great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top