$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 28, 2015 Check-out: Mar 29, 2015

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seatte,wa
Nov 11, 2010

Average lodging well situated

Best thing is the waterfront location with good surf sounds. Also walking distance to town is a plus. The place is dated though, and the slamming of heavy screen doors was a negative. Also my WiFi connection was poor apparently varies room to room according to staff. There are other hotels in the very immediate area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huggos for sunset dining right on the water with live music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Will, Hawaiian Getaway Addict
Business
Salt Lake City
Oct 25, 2010

A Great "Under the Radar" Option

Great condo unit with full/nice kitchen, flat screen TV in living room, and amazing view from balcony. I realize that units likely differ based on ownership, but our unit was much nicer in person than on generic internet photos (usually you find the opposite!). Nice pool and hot tub area. Gorgeous sunsets every night from the grounds. Just a short walk to the main Kona strip. The only things keeping this from 5 Stars were the check-in and the noise at night. While the staff there were incredibly nice, they botched our check-in big time--leaving us sitting on a couch outside the closed leasing office for 45+ minutes at sunset after we had spent the whole day traveling. The noise was an issue because to avoid using the AC, we kept the windows in our bedroom open, which meant we could hear traffic all night on Alii. If I stayed there again, I would avoid booking in building F for this reason, despite its amazing views from balcony. Of interest, it turns out this is a place that many locals stay when they have events around Kona. We met some very generous Hawaiians around the pool and grilling area during our stay. Highly recommended, and would rate it 4-4.5 Stars with only the issues above keeping it from a 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

My wife and I had a wonderfully romantic dinner our last sunset at Lava Java's. They have a great outdoor patio, and while prices were mid-range (we usually ate in at condo), the view is amazing, the food was great, and the staff were very friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay, WI
Oct 6, 2010

Hawaii's Big Island

Kona Reef was a perfect place to spent our 46th anniversary. The hotel is well-mainained, and kept very clean. Even the grills in the patio area were cleaned regularly, as well as the pool and the rooms. The weather was perfect - 70's at night and 80's during the day. Downtown Kona is walking distance, and there are beautiful flowers all along the walk. The cruise ships dock within sight of the condo, and there were often surfers that could be seen from our lanai, too. We had an ocean view condo, overlooking the pool and the ocean, and it was very pleasant. Our unit had many extras, including an ice chest to take along on our day trips, and lawn chairs that we could put in the car for sitting on the beach or by Kealakekua Bay. I would definitely recommend Kona Reef.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within a short walk of Kona Reef are some good restaurants - Lulu's, Lava Java,Tantes, UTopit, Fish Hpper and others.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hari Om
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 24, 2010

Mediocre property

We were there for three days for vacation. The location of the property is generally nice, and is by the oceanfront. The Kailua downtown is nearby and has much to offer. WWe had rented a one-bedroom unit. However, the condo unit assigned to us the first night was very bad ... it stank as if with mold, the floor was dirty, the furniture was old and broken. The office had closed at 5 pm, so there was no one to serve/help us when we arrived at the property at 5:15 pm. The key was in a lockbox and we had to sleep in a stinking condo. The next morning we asked for a change in unit. They gave a better unit by middle of the day, but did not in any way even attempt to make up for our wasted time and inconvenience of the previous night. There was no help available to move our baggage from one unit to the other; there is very limited service overall. The A/C unit did not work in the second unit. There are better properties in the neighborhood at better prices, so I would recommend to a visitor to look around for options. thanks for reading.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Jet skiing is nearby. Many beaches are nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Middle aged traveler
Business
South Chicago suburbs, Illinois
Aug 21, 2010

Overall a very good place

This was our first time staying at the Kona Reef. We checked in late and easily found our room by using the courtesy phone outside the office. They verified our identity and provided verbal and mapped directions to the unit where the keys were stored in a combination lock box. An extra set of keys was available from the office the next day. The unit was completely furnished with a washer/dryer that was very helpful since we arrived without our luggage. We were able to wash our newly purchased nightclothes and then our street clothes for the next day. We made arrangements for the missing luggage to be sent to the office the next day. The office closed at 5 p.m. but the counter staff told us to contact security to gain access to the office. We opted to return early to get our luggage but later realized that we could have just as easily gotten it from the friendly security staff in the evening. The outside maintenance was excellent. The staff washed the outside grounds during the morning. The poolside, outdoor grills and cabana were cleaned thoroughly by the friendly staff. Access to the oceanfront and the adjacent beach was easy and convenient. We enjoyed and the ocean view from the balcony. There was ample free parking just outside our unit and in the covered garage. The unit was very conveniently located - close to the Kona farmers market and the Alii market - but far away from the crowded strip on Alii drive to allow for peace and quiet in the evening. As mentioned above, the unit was fully furnished with just about everything you would need including a stove, refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, blender, two televisions, sound system, table games, books, pool and swimming gear. We used the dishwasher to clean the (older) dishes, glassware, knives and the (newer) cutlery before use. As the units are individually owned, some units may be better furnished and updated than others. What we had was adequate for our needs since we opted to take day trips around the Big Island during our stay. The unit could have been dusted better. There was some dust in the corners of the bathroom and flecks on the bedspread. Everything else was clean. We were pleasantly surprised by the location and convenience of the place and the friendliness of the staff. We would definitely stay here again and would alternate day trips with lounging time in the complex in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The Kona farmers market (Wednesday to Sunday) had a good variety of fresh fruit and handicraft. The Alii market was also close by but did not have as many vendors during the "slow" season in August. The Hilo farmers market (Wednesday and Saturday) is generally cheaper and had more variety for fruits and prepared ethnic food but is a whole day trip's drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, California
Aug 10, 2010

Wonderful escape

Really loved the location of this hotel....a short walk to downtown & the pier. Room was clean & staff very helpful. We upgraded when we got there from an ocean view to a ocean front room. Excellent choice....I wanna go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had an excellent dinner at Huggos on the Rocks. Lobster Bisque, with Sliders....so yummy. You cannot beat the view....everything about the evening was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandpa Ed
Business
Palo Alto
Aug 7, 2010

Good location and close to town.

Went there to join daughter family on vacation. Had a wonderful time at pool and room was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slingster
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 22, 2010

Nice place with good value

Great location, very close to Kona shopping centers and beaches. Stayed on 3rd floor so it was very quiet. Carpet needs cleaning but every thing else was clean. Have all the kitchen amenities such as fridge, microwave, coffee maker, dishes, forks, oven range, etc. No extra fees such as parking of cleaning fee like other places. Will certainly come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

For good hawaiian food with great prices, go to LL BBQ. It's a restaurant chain on the Island where locals eat. You'll get lots of food for a very decent price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Beach, California
Jul 21, 2010

Fantastic Location Walk to Downtown Kona

Great condo complex right on the beach in front of local surfing break. Easy walk to downtown and farmers market. One door south of Royal Kona Resort. Stayed in condo F26, top floor, one bedroom ocean view, in the back. Spectacular! Full ocean view and sunsets every night. Highly recommended unit. Best units are oceanfront D31-D38 or A31-A37. Would not recommed the garden view units. They look out to the ground floor and are very public, no privacy. Complex is well mantained, pool was immaculate. Great place to bring the whole family. Four outdoor barbeque grills that were cleaned daily. Would stay again! Loved the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Local farmers market is a short oceanfront walk, great place to purchase all your fruit, vegetables and flowers!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T&S
Business
Ca.
Jul 9, 2010

Great Location

The ocean front rooms are great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top