$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
133 reviews
Perfect Hotel

Very clean rooms, nice view and good location. Beach parasol, chairs and board are usefull. Washing... See full review

  • Sea Lover Mom
  • Jun 2, 2014
Perfect affordable stay

We were delighted by our time at this oceanfront condo, would stay again. See full review

  • Clownbaby
  • Jun 2, 2014
Condos with full kitchen and private balcony on the Kailua oceanfront
An "under the radar" condo along Kailua-Kona's sunny beachfront, Castle Kona Reef makes Island living affordable for families and couples. With only 57 rooms on four floors, guests enjoy peace and privacy at the oceanfront swimming pool and around the property. Each condo includes a fully equipped kitchen and some have views of the ocean. Sandy beach mixes with a rocky black lava shoreline in front of the hotel, and a full sand beach -- one of only a few in the Kailua area -- is just next door.
Highlights
  • Multi-bedroom units are ideal for friends and family vacations and cooking in the kitchen
  • Walk from the condo into charming downtown Kailua to shop, dine and explore
  • Enjoy one of the coastline's few sandy beaches, next door to the property
Location
Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort is located right on the oceanfront and less than a mile south of Kailua-Kona's main shopping and dining district. Explore the Kona region, popular for its coffee and macadamia nut farms and snorkeling sites.
Rooms
The 4-story Castle Kona Reef features 1-, 2- or 3-bedroom, individually decorated condo suites. These air conditioned units are homey with fully equipped kitchens, washer/dryers, TVs and VCR/DVD players, and private balconies may offer views of the pool, garden or ocean. Oceanfront units offer remarkable Pacific views, with the possibility of whale sightings in winter. Local calls are free.
Features
Castle Kona Reef offers guests an oceanfront swimming pool, sundeck, jet spa and barbecue area. Restaurants and cafes are available along Alii Drive and throughout Kailua-Kona.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.5 mi/15.2 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.3 mi/31.1 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)
Policies and fees
Castle Resorts will provide mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are 7 days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than 7 days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Front
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
Two Bedroom 2 Bath Oceanfront
Spectacular view overlooking the Pacific Ocean; 1 king, 2 twins, and 1 sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
Standard One Bedroom
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.
One Bedroom Ocean View
Rooms include a queen size bed and a sofa bed, air conditioning, washer/dryer, ceiling fan, private balcony, color cable TV, shower/tub, radio/alarm clock, telephone with free local calls, non-smoking rooms available, microwave in some rooms, full kitchens with cooking/eating utensils for up to 6.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.6302 -155.9884
Area served
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kona Airport-KOA

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ontario, CA
Mar 11, 2008

Can't wait to go back

The Kona reef was an excellant choice, The room was clean and comfy and the views were awesome. We plan on going back to the Big Island next year and will definetly stay at the Kona reef. We had condo A35, the location for watching the whales, dolphins, turtles as well as the boats was ideal, not to mention being within walking distance of anything you may need or desire. These condos had gotten some neg reviews in the past by others for noise, but during our stay it was quiet. I highly recommend this hotel, and let me tell you I can be picky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Crescent City, CA
Jun 24, 2009

superb view!

We stayed in D-35, oceanfront. It as very clean and felt very private. We never heard the guests next to us. All we could hear were the breaking waves. Parking was covered and free. Kitchen had everything we needed to cook meals and the BBQs were nice and clean. The breeze from the ocean made the air conditioning only neccesary at night. We enjoyed the close location to town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy fresh fruit local fruit at the Farmer's Markets.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
USPS
Newark Delaware
Jul 15, 2009

great place to stay. One of the best

the location was great and very easy to get around in a car. It was a nice peaceful condo. We had ocean front and a ground condo. No more then 10 steps and you were at water edge. The condo had everything you needed for your stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

travel at your own pace or take the tours. There is plenty to do on the Big Island.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio
Jun 27, 2008

Great location

I was very satisfied with the room and it was GREAT because it is a NON-SMOKING property. The grounds are very pretty and well taken care of. A big Plus is that they do not charge for parking you car. The location was excellent within a short walk to shopping, dining, and other activities. I would stay at the Castle Kona Reef Condominium agian on next visit to the Islands.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to shopping, dining and other activities.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Feb 1, 2008

Helpful hotel staff

We were treated very nicely the whole stay. There was prompt service for maintanence of a burned outlightbulb and to fix the patio screen door (which was found on the ground upon arrival). Our beachfront room had a spectacular view! We did find another couple seated on the rock wall in front of our patio having wine and watching the sunset(blocking our view)... It was far from shopping and restaurants but the peaceful surrounding made it worth it! We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Not a far drive to shopping, dining and entertainment.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seal Beach, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Beautiful Views

Everything was wonderful. I would definitely recommend an ocean front room. We saw spinning dolphins, turtles, and had fabulous views everyday!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit the Farmers Market for fruit and vegetables. Food prices are high in Hawaii, so shop wisely!

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ontario, CA
Mar 11, 2008

Can't wait to go back

The Kona reef was an excellant choice, The room was clean and comfy and the views were awesome. We plan on going back to the Big Island next year and will definetly stay at the Kona reef. We had condo A35, the location for watching the whales, dolphins, turtles as well as the boats was ideal, not to mention being within walking distance of anything you may need or desire. These condos had gotten some neg reviews in the past by others for noise, but during our stay it was quiet. I highly recommend this hotel, and let me tell you I can be picky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Akron,Ohio
Sep 20, 2009

Fantastic place for anyone, any age!!!

We got in late on a Wed. Everything was right where they said it would be. The room was great. Stayed in E-21 oceanview. The place was clean, well equiped kitchen, the beds where great, and a wonderful view of the ocean. Great location to the town,very short walk to everything that you would need. The farmers market is a great place for value. Loved it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Do rent a car, you will want to travel north and south and maybe around the island. There is so much to see and do from this location.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
By
UT
Jul 21, 2009

An unexpected find

Our room, B24, had the perfect Hawaiian room decor and furniture for my wife and I to know that we were relaxing in paradise. All of the dishes had beautiful hawaiian print on them and the room was filled with 4 or 5 Hawaiian flower arrangements placed throughout the condo; very beautifully located. The room was quiet, and air-condiditioned, but the ocean breeze filled the room when the windows and balcony door was opened. The size was perfect for my wife and I even though there was a sofa with a queen sized bed in the living room with a TV, satelite, dvd and video player in it and another smaller TV mounted on the wall in the bedroom. This room provided all of the conveniences and much more; a medium size and a small hand size ice cooler, boogey board, hawaiian mat to go and sit on the beach, etc. Our room had a small washer and a dryer in it, with soap for the dishes and for washing clothes, an iron and ironing board. This room was listed in the category of ocean view rooms, not rooms with ocean fronts, but all of the rooms on the left side of this condo complex had a balcony that overlooked the beach. A treat fo us was that they were holding a boogeyboard contest for the youth with a lot of lessons about Hawaii taking place in between the meets. What a treat to watch all of this going on from our balcony on the second floor. I also loved cooling off in the pool at about 10 AM. There are also 2 barbecue pits at the pool also for guest to use. Simpy amazing condo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We are from Hawaii originally and love the local foods; the Hawaiian luau foods, and fruits of Hawaii which we purchased at the grocery stores in Kona and at Costco. Nothing like having cold sliced papayas or mangoes anytime, and at your finger tips chilled in your refrigerator, the advantage of a condo over a hotel. There were no parking fee of $10 per day like they have at many of the larger hotels in Kona. We also frequented the different Japanese, Chinese, and Hawaiian fast food shops. A lot of these shops are within walking distance and also within a short drive. You can tell that eating in Hawaii is one of our top priorities. Wal-Mart and Kmart are all within a short driving distance. Costcos and Wal- Mart both accepted our out of state Utah checks without any problems. Like in Utah, gas is the cheapest at Costcos which is located 1 mile from the Airport where all of the car rental businesses are located. Great place to top off the gas of your rental also. If you spend some time in Hilo on the other side of the island, gas in Hilo was significantly cheaper.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Green Bay, WI
Oct 6, 2010

Hawaii's Big Island

Kona Reef was a perfect place to spent our 46th anniversary. The hotel is well-mainained, and kept very clean. Even the grills in the patio area were cleaned regularly, as well as the pool and the rooms. The weather was perfect - 70's at night and 80's during the day. Downtown Kona is walking distance, and there are beautiful flowers all along the walk. The cruise ships dock within sight of the condo, and there were often surfers that could be seen from our lanai, too. We had an ocean view condo, overlooking the pool and the ocean, and it was very pleasant. Our unit had many extras, including an ice chest to take along on our day trips, and lawn chairs that we could put in the car for sitting on the beach or by Kealakekua Bay. I would definitely recommend Kona Reef.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within a short walk of Kona Reef are some good restaurants - Lulu's, Lava Java,Tantes, UTopit, Fish Hpper and others.

Back to menu Return to top