$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oahu girl
Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii
Aug 1, 2012

Wonderful stay

Our stay at this hotel was just wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our dishwasher wouldn't turn on, within 10min of telling the front desk about it, maiteance was in our room working on the problem. We loved our stay here. The hotel was close to everything in Kona! Will definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xenia2
Business
Texas
Aug 22, 2011

Very nice accomodations on a budget

Nice amenities, the condo had all imaginable kitchen gadgets and other things - very comfortable. Friendly staff, efficient check in and check out. Great location in downtown Kona. Overall, a great experience. Not a fancy hotel but very comfortable and a good value for the price. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seal Beach, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Beautiful Views

Everything was wonderful. I would definitely recommend an ocean front room. We saw spinning dolphins, turtles, and had fabulous views everyday!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit the Farmers Market for fruit and vegetables. Food prices are high in Hawaii, so shop wisely!

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bank of Grandpa
Business
Chicago, IL (suburban)
Jun 15, 2011

Some good, some not so good

I took my family and my son's toddler to Kona at the beginning of June. I booked two 1BR condos with ocean view at the Kona Reef. Both rooms were clean and the views were wonderful. One of the rooms was sorely in need of maintenance, while the other was obviously recently updated. The keys given to us were not electronic and included separate keys for the room and for the pool. They are small traditional metal keys that are quite easy to lose and quite expensive to replace ($75 per key). Kona Reef is a short walk from Kailua Town, and that was a real nice feature as lu'au, restaurants and bars are all convenient. The pool was small but very nice and clean. There is no real beach since it is almost covered with lava rock, but there is a beach nearby and we did enjoy watching the surfers every day. They start around 5:30AM and go all day long. Kona Reef has no restaurant, gym or any other facility that you may find at a hotel, but we knew that in advance and we were not troubled by it. I have seen other reviews of the Kona Reef and can only say that for the most part they are accurate. It is a fine place to stay for budget concious families who don't require luxury accomodations, and I would certainly stay there again. While in Kona, we ate at Bianelli's Pizza at the Keahou Shopping Center (excellent); Quinn's (not very good); Bongo Ben's (good); LuLu's (OK), Huggos on the Rocks for breakfast (wouldn't reccomend); Bite Me at the Honokohau Marina (good); and Pacific Keniche at the Keahou Center (ridiculously expensive,but good food). My sons and I also went scba diving with Big Island Divers and I highly recommend them. All in all we had a wonderful vacation and I look forward to going back some day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Bianelli's Pizza. You will not be disappointed.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jim&Della
Business
tolleson,AZ
Jun 5, 2011

kona Big Island

First we stocked the fridge with groceries. And then settled in and rested. We hit the beach for half the day and walked about 1/8 mile to downtown Kona. Had a rental car so we drove to the volcano and Hilo.We also took in a Lu'au at the Marriott Hotel. Drove to a nice state park beach {Hapuna} and had a time. On the last day we laid and overed from our sun burns. We took a short Dinner Cruise that wasvery romantic! Had a good time1

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mother/Animal lover
Business
Wisconsin
May 7, 2011

Convenient Comfort

We enjoyed our time at Kona Reef, but the traffic noise was a bit much. Also, I believe there was garbage pick at aorund 5:00 in the morning. I do believe the construction crew would start early around 6:00. I do wish that there would be a better cleaning of condos as we had someone come in only once to collect garbage and change linen. there was no other cleaning available and no decent cleaning supplies available. I did not like this as I did not feel that our unit was as clean as it could have been kept. We had much better service in the past.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining and shopping were only a short walk away. Grocery shopping and walking trail only a short dive away.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
California Geoscience Nerds
Business
Turlock, CA
Apr 30, 2011

Just What We Needed

As geologists and teachers we were looking for a place that would be a great base camp to explore the Big Island for the first time. Castle Kona Reef turned out to be a great choice. We had an upper level condo with a slanted view of the ocean that provided us with several wonderful sunsets, spinner dolphin sightings and the occasional cruise ship mooring off the coast. We chose Kona Reef because the condos provided a full kitchen and patio dining table which we knew would help offset food costs. We bought breakfast and lunch supplies at Safeway and Costco that lasted us nearly the entire week. By eating breakfast in-house everyday and creating a picnic lunch we were able to save over four-hundred dollars in meals. (There are also gas grills for use next to the pool if you feel the urge to BBQ). Our specific condo (C32) was a little dated in terms of decor, but that was the individual owner's taste and the overall layout was nice. The bedroom was in the back of the condo away from the ocean and was very small (barely fitting the king-bed). However, the high window vents in the room opened into the atrium which allowed us to have many pleasant mornings waking up to the sounds of birds and rain showers. We ended up using the living room as a staging area for our suitcases because we chose not to unpack our cases into the closets and dressers. In terms of beach-access, the Kona Reef has awesome tide-pooling areas with a 10'-wide strip of grass that runs between the complex and tide-pools. The old pahoehoe lava flows are teeming with life and there are usually sea turtles eating breakfast there in the mornings. There are no sandy areas to speak of, presumably washed away by the March tsunami. Dinning options were abundant about 600 yards down Ali'i drive. The Kona Reef is a perfect distance for a pre and post-dinner stroll which we took advantage of nearly every night. Lastly, several units of the condo were still under renovations after the March tsunami from the Japan earthquake. There were constant construction noises from 8am to 3pm but it didn't bother us because we were always headed out to explore the Big Island. Besides, noise is a necessity when bouncing back from a large natural disaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a Jeep if you have experience driving rough-roads, love exploring and want to maximize your time on the Big Island. The Jeep got us to places normal folks would have to pay big bucks to get to using a tour operator. We drove to the Green Sand Beach (you must have extensive 4X4 driving experience), down to Waipio Canyon and up to the Mauna Kea Observatories.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Jct CO
Mar 12, 2011

Great condo for the price,view& comfort

The location was close to the main attractions of the city. The view was great with the surf right there to be heard any time the door was open.Everything(rm,pool,hottub barbecue& grounds) were clean and well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking is hard to find in town. The trolley is easy and the walks are short

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shu
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 23, 2011

Kona Reef Review

The condo was clean and well appointed. The pool and grill area were very nice. Location is excellent- walking distance to downtown Kona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seatte,wa
Nov 11, 2010

Average lodging well situated

Best thing is the waterfront location with good surf sounds. Also walking distance to town is a plus. The place is dated though, and the slamming of heavy screen doors was a negative. Also my WiFi connection was poor apparently varies room to room according to staff. There are other hotels in the very immediate area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huggos for sunset dining right on the water with live music.

Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Will, Hawaiian Getaway Addict
Business
Salt Lake City
Oct 25, 2010

A Great "Under the Radar" Option

Great condo unit with full/nice kitchen, flat screen TV in living room, and amazing view from balcony. I realize that units likely differ based on ownership, but our unit was much nicer in person than on generic internet photos (usually you find the opposite!). Nice pool and hot tub area. Gorgeous sunsets every night from the grounds. Just a short walk to the main Kona strip. The only things keeping this from 5 Stars were the check-in and the noise at night. While the staff there were incredibly nice, they botched our check-in big time--leaving us sitting on a couch outside the closed leasing office for 45+ minutes at sunset after we had spent the whole day traveling. The noise was an issue because to avoid using the AC, we kept the windows in our bedroom open, which meant we could hear traffic all night on Alii. If I stayed there again, I would avoid booking in building F for this reason, despite its amazing views from balcony. Of interest, it turns out this is a place that many locals stay when they have events around Kona. We met some very generous Hawaiians around the pool and grilling area during our stay. Highly recommended, and would rate it 4-4.5 Stars with only the issues above keeping it from a 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

My wife and I had a wonderfully romantic dinner our last sunset at Lava Java's. They have a great outdoor patio, and while prices were mid-range (we usually ate in at condo), the view is amazing, the food was great, and the staff were very friendly.

Back to menu Return to top