$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 9, 2015 Check-out: Apr 12, 2015

Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5888 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oahu girl
Business
Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii
Aug 1, 2012

Wonderful stay

Our stay at this hotel was just wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our dishwasher wouldn't turn on, within 10min of telling the front desk about it, maiteance was in our room working on the problem. We loved our stay here. The hotel was close to everything in Kona! Will definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oahu girl
Business
Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii
Jul 20, 2012

Wonderful place to stay

This hotel was GREAT! The staff were very friendly and helpful! Our dishwasher wouldn't work, and within 10min of telling the front desk, maiteance was there to fix the problem! There were washer and dryers in our room too which was great! We had a great view of the ocean, the room was very clean, a few bugs here and there, but its HAWAI'I, so that is expected. I originally am from Oahu, and we fight bugs there all the time too, best thing to remember if you are from the mainland, keep dirty dishes in the dishwasher and cover your food if you leave it laying out, that will help tremendously with the bugs (ants and cockraoches). The condos were within walking distance to everything in downtown Kona! Our only issue with the place was that everytime the office would go on lunch break, they always came back late, other than that we had no complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huggos on the rocks! They have live music every night, happy hour, the best kalua pork nachos and they have the best view of the sunset!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ian stop being so fussy
Business
Melbourne, Australia
Jul 12, 2012

Kona Holiday

The automatic watering system came on at 4am and woke us up. I would have preferred that it waited until say 6am. In Room B14 the sprinkler seemed to be just above my head. Maybe you could alter the timing, please. Everything else was perfectly acceptable. Ian Cayzer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tri Family
Business
Southwest Florida
Jun 6, 2012

Excellent Location, Tired Decor

When we first arrived it was late, so we could not get a good look around. It was hard to find the room, confusing layout when you have been traveling for 20 hours! The condo was clean, but the furnishings have seen better days. We were disappointed, but exhausted. In the morning we walked on to the balcony and it was like looking at paradise!!! The view was incredible, just what you imagine when you think of Hawai'i! It made up for the tired and shabby decor. Added pluses were great washer dryer in unit and free parking. Walking distance to Kailua

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great fresh market with delicious fruit from locals just down the road!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jwhite
Business
Az
May 10, 2012

On the ocean

This hotel was better then the one in Hilo. We could see the ocean, getting the room was not easy. Hotel staff does not deviate from there check in time whether the rooms are ready or not. Will not even consider it. Hotel is noisy, because of its proximity to the road and the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Searching for paradise
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Apr 27, 2012

A taste of paradise!

Our unit was ground floor, newly remodeled and beautiful. Can't beat the sound of the ocean waves when you open your patio door!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kelapa
Business
Thousand Oaks, CA, USA
Apr 19, 2012

Great Location--Poor Property

The location was excellent. The Castle Kona Reef is on the ocean and near enough to walk into Kona. Unfortunately, the unit and staff did not live up to the setting. The unit was fairly newly painted, but the very large brown stain on the ceiling over the sink was unattractive. The rugs were not clean, and there was mould growing in the shower. The airconditioner was on, but made no appreciable difference in the room temperature. The ceiling fans worked well, but the unit became stuffy at night when the lanai door was closed. The bathroom was so small the toilet paper roll extended ovet the toilet seat. Boith of the receptions were indiffernt and uninterested in helping. I would not stay at Castle Kona Reef again. In fact the property was so poor, I would not stay at a Castle propery in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lemongrass Cafe was very pleasant and great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack and Jeanne
Business
Monroe, Iowa
Apr 16, 2012

Good to be back in Kona!

Very nice place to stay. We would stay there again. It was clean and comfortable. Nice ocean view and the ocean breeze was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice walk to town to enjoy food, shopping and just to sit and enjoy the shoreline and watch the outriggers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BfromO
Business
Ontario
Feb 6, 2012

We'll come back

Excellent, quiet and safe place to be. Location could not be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Reef Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
James T
Business
Orange County, CA
Dec 29, 2011

Just Like Home!

What's not to like? A condo with all the amenities that allows you to vacation with all the comforts of home. A fully stocked kitchen, comfortable living room, a lanai with a beach view and free wi-fi made us want to stay forever. (Although our unit was designated "garden view" we had a fantastic view of the beach.) The only drawbacks were the street noise during the day and the general unfriendliness of the front office clerk. But a small price to pay for paradise. That all being said,as all units are individually owned any specific one may not be as nice as unit B35, so check out the reviews for bad units first. Also, they have a cool program where you leave any unused food behind and it is donated to local food kitchens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top