$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

2 stars
76-6246 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
141 reviews
Recommendation for family time

We were greeted with warm hospitality and cordiality. Our unit was clean, comfortable and met our... See full review

  • Aunty Kamaka
  • Jul 1, 2014
Hawaii Honeymoon

wonderful ocean view, double sliding doors to the patio, large patio, very nice; had all we needed See full review

  • Jojp
  • May 4, 2014
Affordable Kailua condos with full kitchens and mountain or ocean views
Enjoy a value-priced stay by the sea at Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort, with fully-equipped mountain and ocean view condo units that feel like an Island home. This resort offers studios to 3-bedroom units with kitchens and private balconies. Guests in oceanfront units can fall asleep to the sound of waves lapping onto the shoreline below. High-speed Internet access is available (fees may apply).
Highlights
  • Pool and sundeck
  • Enjoy a location on Alii Drive, Kailua's prestigious waterfront road, leading to plentiful shopping and dining
  • Book an oceanfront room and enjoy uninterrupted Pacific views from a private balcony
Location
Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort units are on both the mountain side and the oceanfront side of Alii Drive, less than 3 miles south of Kailua-Kona's main shopping and dining district. Explore the Kona region -- a Big Island favorite -- for its big-game fishing, local-style charm and more.
Rooms
Castle Kona Bali Kai is a low-rise condominium with spacious studios and 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom units, many with partial ocean or full oceanfront views. All feature a full kitchen -- a great way to save on dining -- and casual island décor. Additional amenities include private balcony, TV, DVD player and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Air conditioning and ceiling fans keep the heat at bay.
Features
Guests at Castle Kona Bali Kai enjoy a swimming pool, sundeck, jet spa and barbecue area. Just around the corner, a popular local stop Da Poke (pronounced po-kay) Shack is an affordable good choice. Plentiful dining options are available on Alii Drive and in downtown Kailua.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
Attractions
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Hulihee Palace (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (18.2 mi/29.2 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (91.8 mi/148 km)
Policies and fees
  • Castle Resorts will provide mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are 7 days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than 7 days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort Rooms

Studio Partial Ocean View
On floors 1 thru 3 across the street from the ocean, overlooking Alii Drive with partial view of the ocean from lanai; studios are like a hotel room with a full kitchen; pool, Jacuzzi, and laundry room across the street; air conditioning available in the unit; 1 king or 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting; 478 square feet.
One Bedroom Oceanfront
One Bedroom Oceanfront units are on the ocean side of the main street running along the Kona Coast they are cooled by ceiling fans and ocean breezes. Each room has a kitchen, room decor is island-style with light colors, floral fabrics, and rattan furniture.
One Bedroom Partial Ocean View
Room with 1 king or 1 queen bed and sofa bed. Each room has a kitchen, room decor is island-style with light colors, floral fabrics, and rattan furniture.
3 Bedroom / 2 Bath
On floors 3 and 4 oceanfront, overlooking palm trees and the Pacific Ocean; south end of the building with a great view of surfers riding waves at Banyans (a famous surf spot); 1 king, 1 queen, 2 twins, and a sofa sleeper; or 1 king, 1 queen, 1 futon sleeper, and a sofa sleeper; air conditioning; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting; 1,319 square feet.
Studio Mountain Side
On floors 1 thru 3 across the street from the ocean, overlooking Alii Drive or the garden; studios are like a hotel room with a full kitchen; pool, Jacuzzi, and laundry room across the street; air conditioning available in the unit; 1 king or 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting; 478 square feet.
One Bedroom Mountianside
One Bedroom Mountainside units are across the street. Mountainside units are air conditioned. Each room has a kitchen, room decor is island-style with light colors, floral fabrics, and rattan furniture.
2 Bedroom / 2 Bath
On floors 2 thru 4 oceanfront, overlooking palm trees and the Pacific Ocean; private lanai; ceiling fans throughout the suite; second bedroom has 1 king or 1 queen, 2 twins, and a sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting; 1,035 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.608 -155.977
Area served
Kailua Kona, HI
Nearby airports
Keahole-Kona International Airport (KOA)
Area description
Located Oceanfront & Mountainside, 3 miles south of historic Kailua Village on Alii Drive midway to Kona Country Club Golf Course. 12 miles south of Keahole Airport.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 141
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fisherman qss
Santa Clara, CA, USA
Feb 17, 2012

Pleasant and peaceful w/ a fantastic location.

We had an 2bdrm/2bath ocean front condo on the third floor with a large balcony. 4 ceiling fans, w/d, dishwasher, a full size refrigerator/freezer, and deck dining table/w 4chairs and 2 chaises. The mstr bdrm had a glass slider to the deck w/ a sliding wall that opened to the living area which also had a glass slider to the deck. This made a large area opening to the view of the ocean through the glass sliders in both rooms. The tidal pools in the lava had fish and large turtles. a pleasant and peaceful stay. A lot for the price especially when comparing to accommodations on the other Islands.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rosas Cantina for dinner on Alii Rd. in Kailua-Kona and Sam Choy's for breakfast above the shopping Center at the end of Alii Road. Both restaurants have a great view, good food, excellent service and reasonable prices. There are several other restaurant to avoid in Kailua-Kona.

Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee
Jun 7, 2011

Great stay

Great service, friendly staff, overall a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The downtown farmers market in Kona on Ali'i drive had great deals!

Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee
Jun 7, 2011

Great stay

Great service, friendly staff, overall a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The downtown farmers market in Kona on Ali'i drive had great deals!

Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
QSS
Santa Clara
May 18, 2011

Better than expected

The reviews by previous guests scared us, but our ocean front 2 bedroom condo was more than satisfactory. It was clean, nicely furnished, no insects at all, outstanding view, excellent BBQ's good security and grounds maintenance. The swimming pool was unheated, so it was unusable. The hot tub was fine except for needing more frequent cleaning. I would stay there again. Enjoyed watching the turtles from our lanai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
QSS
Santa Clara
May 18, 2011

Better than expected

The reviews by previous guests scared us, but our ocean front 2 bedroom condo was more than satisfactory. It was clean, nicely furnished, no insects at all, outstanding view, excellent BBQ's good security and grounds maintenance. The swimming pool was unheated, so it was unusable. The hot tub was fine except for needing more frequent cleaning. I would stay there again. Enjoyed watching the turtles from our lanai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rocky traveler
Seattle, WA
Jan 4, 2011

The Last Resort

We got in at midnight and used the phone they told us to to get our room number. The lady on the phone wasn't very helpful, just that it was room 333 oceanside. After an hour of looking we found our room about half a block away and across the street from where the phone was-I don't know what was oceanside about it. The next morning we checked in and the lady at the desk gave us a map to find the room we had already found. They could use a big lesson on customer service, treated guests like adversaries. Bed was HARD, bought an eggcrate mattress pad for it. Room was okay. With so many hotels to choose from and vacancies, I would hesitate to choose this one again-only as a Last Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Drove down to park at old Kona Airport. Whales were jumping out of the water and not very far out from shore.

Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rocky traveler
Seattle, WA
Jan 4, 2011

The Last Resort

We got in at midnight and used the phone they told us to to get our room number. The lady on the phone wasn't very helpful, just that it was room 333 oceanside. After an hour of looking we found our room about half a block away and across the street from where the phone was-I don't know what was oceanside about it. The next morning we checked in and the lady at the desk gave us a map to find the room we had already found. They could use a big lesson on customer service, treated guests like adversaries. Bed was HARD, bought an eggcrate mattress pad for it. Room was okay. With so many hotels to choose from and vacancies, I would hesitate to choose this one again-only as a Last Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Drove down to park at old Kona Airport. Whales were jumping out of the water and not very far out from shore.

Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hawaii
Nov 7, 2010

The price was good but service lacked

I understand that I paid a discounted price and as such, it is not fair to expect a full spectrum of services but they didn't even change my towels. They said they would come on day three, or four, but they never provided that basic service. You get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bubba Gumps was excellent.

Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hawaii
Nov 7, 2010

The price was good but service lacked

I understand that I paid a discounted price and as such, it is not fair to expect a full spectrum of services but they didn't even change my towels. They said they would come on day three, or four, but they never provided that basic service. You get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bubba Gumps was excellent.

Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eelont
Ontario, Ca
Jan 12, 2010

very good

Pleasant. Checked in with no problem. And didn't have any problems while there. Nice pool and jacuzi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bongo Ben's on the southern end of Kailua. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Back to menu Return to top