$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

2 stars
76-6246 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
141 reviews
Recommendation for family time

We were greeted with warm hospitality and cordiality. Our unit was clean, comfortable and met our... See full review

  • Aunty Kamaka
  • Jul 1, 2014
Hawaii Honeymoon

wonderful ocean view, double sliding doors to the patio, large patio, very nice; had all we needed See full review

  • Jojp
  • May 4, 2014
Affordable Kailua condos with full kitchens and mountain or ocean views
Enjoy a value-priced stay by the sea at Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort, with fully-equipped mountain and ocean view condo units that feel like an Island home. This resort offers studios to 3-bedroom units with kitchens and private balconies. Guests in oceanfront units can fall asleep to the sound of waves lapping onto the shoreline below. High-speed Internet access is available (fees may apply).
Highlights
  • Pool and sundeck
  • Enjoy a location on Alii Drive, Kailua's prestigious waterfront road, leading to plentiful shopping and dining
  • Book an oceanfront room and enjoy uninterrupted Pacific views from a private balcony
Location
Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort units are on both the mountain side and the oceanfront side of Alii Drive, less than 3 miles south of Kailua-Kona's main shopping and dining district. Explore the Kona region -- a Big Island favorite -- for its big-game fishing, local-style charm and more.
Rooms
Castle Kona Bali Kai is a low-rise condominium with spacious studios and 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom units, many with partial ocean or full oceanfront views. All feature a full kitchen -- a great way to save on dining -- and casual island décor. Additional amenities include private balcony, TV, DVD player and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Air conditioning and ceiling fans keep the heat at bay.
Features
Guests at Castle Kona Bali Kai enjoy a swimming pool, sundeck, jet spa and barbecue area. Just around the corner, a popular local stop Da Poke (pronounced po-kay) Shack is an affordable good choice. Plentiful dining options are available on Alii Drive and in downtown Kailua.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
Attractions
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Hulihee Palace (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (18.2 mi/29.2 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (91.8 mi/148 km)
Policies and fees
  • Castle Resorts will provide mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are 7 days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than 7 days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort Rooms

Studio Partial Ocean View
On floors 1 thru 3 across the street from the ocean, overlooking Alii Drive with partial view of the ocean from lanai; studios are like a hotel room with a full kitchen; pool, Jacuzzi, and laundry room across the street; air conditioning available in the unit; 1 king or 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting; 478 square feet.
One Bedroom Oceanfront
One Bedroom Oceanfront units are on the ocean side of the main street running along the Kona Coast they are cooled by ceiling fans and ocean breezes. Each room has a kitchen, room decor is island-style with light colors, floral fabrics, and rattan furniture.
One Bedroom Partial Ocean View
Room with 1 king or 1 queen bed and sofa bed. Each room has a kitchen, room decor is island-style with light colors, floral fabrics, and rattan furniture.
3 Bedroom / 2 Bath
On floors 3 and 4 oceanfront, overlooking palm trees and the Pacific Ocean; south end of the building with a great view of surfers riding waves at Banyans (a famous surf spot); 1 king, 1 queen, 2 twins, and a sofa sleeper; or 1 king, 1 queen, 1 futon sleeper, and a sofa sleeper; air conditioning; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting; 1,319 square feet.
Studio Mountain Side
On floors 1 thru 3 across the street from the ocean, overlooking Alii Drive or the garden; studios are like a hotel room with a full kitchen; pool, Jacuzzi, and laundry room across the street; air conditioning available in the unit; 1 king or 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting; 478 square feet.
One Bedroom Mountianside
One Bedroom Mountainside units are across the street. Mountainside units are air conditioned. Each room has a kitchen, room decor is island-style with light colors, floral fabrics, and rattan furniture.
2 Bedroom / 2 Bath
On floors 2 thru 4 oceanfront, overlooking palm trees and the Pacific Ocean; private lanai; ceiling fans throughout the suite; second bedroom has 1 king or 1 queen, 2 twins, and a sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting; 1,035 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.608 -155.977
Area served
Kailua Kona, HI
Nearby airports
Keahole-Kona International Airport (KOA)
Area description
Located Oceanfront & Mountainside, 3 miles south of historic Kailua Village on Alii Drive midway to Kona Country Club Golf Course. 12 miles south of Keahole Airport.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fpo
Jun 30, 2008

Misleading name

The Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), Hawaii is far from a castle and even more further from being a condo resort. The place was disgustingly in need of some attention. I slept with the lights on for fear of being over taken with bugs. Never, ever gain will I stay at this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great place to rent snorkel gear right next door to the hotel. There are a few places nearby to enjoy underwater adventures.

Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
canada
Mar 19, 2011

not inpressed

would never stay there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Irish Rovers
Michigan, USA
Mar 20, 2012

NOT SAFE !

Our first clue should have come when they handed us 3 very large keys ... yes KEYS (not key cards) to the room. Upon entering the room we found the front door locked, BUT the street/sidewalk side, with glass sliding door, WIDE OPEN. The curtains, that were suppose to cover the window, were partially missing, and the bed was right next to the window in this condo. That meant my husband had to stand in front of the open area every time I wanted to get up or go to bed. But the worse and UNSAFE condition was the fact there was NO SMOKE DETECTOR in the room!!! It appeared that it had been missing for some time. I do not know Hawaiian state & local regulations, but I'm guessing they require SMOKE DETECTORS in all public buildings. I would have also thought, since this was a condo with kitchen, there would have been a small fire extinguisher, which was also among the missing. The shower had LONG BLACK hair on the walls, and we both have short grey hair...could have been cleaner. When we went to check out at 7:30 a.m. there was no one there....sigh....we had to wait until 8:00 a.m. for someone to come on duty. We also paid a little extra for "partial view of the ocean". Let me just say, that from this first floor condo, if you went to the far right of the lanai, looked through traffic and between two trees, you could make out the ocean. They also claimed to have free wifi, which did not exist. The pool, was small, and across the street, and did not look inviting. WAY over priced & NOT SAFE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you come to the Big Island, and you want to visit the Volcano, stay in the Hilo area, as it is much closer to the National Park (about 45min.). This, I would hope, would go to everyones top of the list of things to do on this island. I would say plan at least two full days to visit, and is not that far from Hilo, but about 2 1/2 hours from Kona area. Be sure to visit the Volcano at night, it is great! If you are in the Kona area, a great place to have dinner and enjoy a brew is the Kona Brewery and they have very good food.

Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CKSH
Texas
Jan 1, 2012

A total disappointment

We had disappointing experience from the moment we checked in. The fan didn't work and the maintenance guy didn't fix it. A table fan was provided which was very dirty. Using the sofa sleeper was like a major punishment. Couldn't sleep at all. Bed sheets were very dirty and didn't feel like using them. When we complained to front desk clerk, she didn't care that we were not happy with the facility. Only good thing was the picture perfect ocean view which are available at other hotels in the area as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ralnan3
Mercersburg, PA
Mar 7, 2010

Good, Bad and Buggy!!

We spent two nights at the Castle Kona Bali Kai before moving into a time share unit which we were to use for a week. The location was great because of its proximity to the activities that we needed to participate in, namely our daughter's wedding. Our condo was not clean, however and most upsetting was the fact that there were hundreds of bugs. We cannot name all of the critters that scurried all over the place but among them were roaches and other hard shelled bugs. They were on the floors, walls and countertops. We were happy to be able to move out of there after two nights and hope that we do not transport those bugs home with us. Our time share unit is also in Hawaii but we find no bugs in it. We would not recommend the Castle Kona Bali Kai to our friends and will not plan on staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bongo Ben's, and Huggo's are great dining spots with beautiful views!

Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
canada
Mar 19, 2011

not inpressed

would never stay there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ralnan3
Mercersburg, PA
Mar 7, 2010

Good, Bad and Buggy!!

We spent two nights at the Castle Kona Bali Kai before moving into a time share unit which we were to use for a week. The location was great because of its proximity to the activities that we needed to participate in, namely our daughter's wedding. Our condo was not clean, however and most upsetting was the fact that there were hundreds of bugs. We cannot name all of the critters that scurried all over the place but among them were roaches and other hard shelled bugs. They were on the floors, walls and countertops. We were happy to be able to move out of there after two nights and hope that we do not transport those bugs home with us. Our time share unit is also in Hawaii but we find no bugs in it. We would not recommend the Castle Kona Bali Kai to our friends and will not plan on staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bongo Ben's, and Huggo's are great dining spots with beautiful views!

Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
isaacnjess
Tracy ca
Dec 5, 2013

totally 80's

This is a condo complex, I guess some of the rooms have been updated but ours was all original. I know you don't go to Hawaii to stay in the room but this one was pretty embarrassing. Our room over looked a locals favorite surfing spot, it was pretty cool to sit on the balcony and watch the islands best surfers do their thing, but it wasn't cool having them drinking and smoking weed just outside our hotel room every day and night. The place had a functional kitchen and washer and drier, having your own laundry was a must though, you only got maid service once if you stayed for 7 days, we were there 6 and got none. We also had to wash the rough and too few towels every 2 days because they wanted to charge for dry towels. Overall it was nice to have washer and dried and kitchen because we had a 1 year old with us, but next time we are going somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Night snorkeling with the manta rays was awesome!

Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fpo
Jun 30, 2008

Misleading name

The Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), Hawaii is far from a castle and even more further from being a condo resort. The place was disgustingly in need of some attention. I slept with the lights on for fear of being over taken with bugs. Never, ever gain will I stay at this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great place to rent snorkel gear right next door to the hotel. There are a few places nearby to enjoy underwater adventures.

Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bruce the builder
Hilo, Hawai'i
Jul 24, 2013

Not worth the price

Definitely not worth the price (Sad to say). We had a long day at the beach and decided to rent a hotel just for the night, because the drive home would have been too long. The bed squeaked and felt like a cheap sofa bed. The staff was not helpful nor servicable. The next morning at check out it was a different woman who was not working the previous night, and it was as if gossip was going around about me and my wife due to the problems we had with the first lady. Both women blamed the traveling company for not sending the paper work, but I clearly had confirmation after calling them twice. I would never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are some really nice "great for your money" local restaurants on Ali'i drive. The food is to die for! Everyone is very kind & attentive (:

Back to menu Return to top