$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 6, 2014

Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

2 stars
76-6246 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
93 reviews
Amazing Location and Family Friendly Amenities

Fantastic location right on a cove in the Kona shoreline near world class snorkeling beaches and... See full review

  • Rick n Kare
  • Aug 12, 2014
Recommendation for family time

We were greeted with warm hospitality and cordiality. Our unit was clean, comfortable and met our... See full review

  • Aunty Kamaka
  • Jul 1, 2014
Affordable Kailua condos with full kitchens and mountain or ocean views
Enjoy a value-priced stay by the sea at Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort, with fully-equipped mountain and ocean view condo units that feel like an Island home. This resort offers studios to 3-bedroom units with kitchens and private balconies. Guests in oceanfront units can fall asleep to the sound of waves lapping onto the shoreline below. High-speed Internet access is available (fees may apply).
Highlights
  • Pool and sundeck
  • Enjoy a location on Alii Drive, Kailua's prestigious waterfront road, leading to plentiful shopping and dining
  • Book an oceanfront room and enjoy uninterrupted Pacific views from a private balcony
Location
Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort units are on both the mountain side and the oceanfront side of Alii Drive, less than 3 miles south of Kailua-Kona's main shopping and dining district. Explore the Kona region -- a Big Island favorite -- for its big-game fishing, local-style charm and more.
Rooms
Castle Kona Bali Kai is a low-rise condominium with spacious studios and 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom units, many with partial ocean or full oceanfront views. All feature a full kitchen -- a great way to save on dining -- and casual island décor. Additional amenities include private balcony, TV, DVD player and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Air conditioning and ceiling fans keep the heat at bay.
Features
Guests at Castle Kona Bali Kai enjoy a swimming pool, sundeck, jet spa and barbecue area. Just around the corner, a popular local stop Da Poke (pronounced po-kay) Shack is an affordable good choice. Plentiful dining options are available on Alii Drive and in downtown Kailua.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
Attractions
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Hulihee Palace (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (18.2 mi/29.2 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (91.8 mi/148 km)
Policies and fees
  • Castle Resorts will provide mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are 7 days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than 7 days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.608 -155.977
Area served
Kailua Kona, HI
Nearby airports
Keahole-Kona International Airport (KOA)
Area description
Located Oceanfront & Mountainside, 3 miles south of historic Kailua Village on Alii Drive midway to Kona Country Club Golf Course. 12 miles south of Keahole Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort Rooms

Studio Partial Ocean View
On floors 1 thru 3 across the street from the ocean, overlooking Alii Drive with partial view of the ocean from lanai; studios are like a hotel room with a full kitchen; pool, Jacuzzi, and laundry room across the street; air conditioning available in the unit; 1 king or 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting; 478 square feet.
One Bedroom Oceanfront
One Bedroom Oceanfront units are on the ocean side of the main street running along the Kona Coast they are cooled by ceiling fans and ocean breezes. Each room has a kitchen, room decor is island-style with light colors, floral fabrics, and rattan furniture.
One Bedroom Partial Ocean View
Room with 1 king or 1 queen bed and sofa bed. Each room has a kitchen, room decor is island-style with light colors, floral fabrics, and rattan furniture.
3 Bedroom / 2 Bath
On floors 3 and 4 oceanfront, overlooking palm trees and the Pacific Ocean; south end of the building with a great view of surfers riding waves at Banyans (a famous surf spot); 1 king, 1 queen, 2 twins, and a sofa sleeper; or 1 king, 1 queen, 1 futon sleeper, and a sofa sleeper; air conditioning; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting; 1,319 square feet.
Studio Mountain Side
On floors 1 thru 3 across the street from the ocean, overlooking Alii Drive or the garden; studios are like a hotel room with a full kitchen; pool, Jacuzzi, and laundry room across the street; air conditioning available in the unit; 1 king or 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting; 478 square feet.
One Bedroom Mountianside
One Bedroom Mountainside units are across the street. Mountainside units are air conditioned. Each room has a kitchen, room decor is island-style with light colors, floral fabrics, and rattan furniture.
2 Bedroom / 2 Bath
On floors 2 thru 4 oceanfront, overlooking palm trees and the Pacific Ocean; private lanai; ceiling fans throughout the suite; second bedroom has 1 king or 1 queen, 2 twins, and a sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting; 1,035 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 10, 2008

Great place to stay

The Bali Kai was agreat experience for my wife and I. We had an ocean front room w/lanai, ceiling fans were MORE than suffient for us. The ocean breeze allowed no heat to gather in our room.Easy access to the beaches and eateries in Kona. I WILL stay there every time I visit! Washer, dryer stove, etc,. Everything you need to feel at home!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything was very close to our Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Charles
Jul 7, 2008

Think twice

The Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort location was somewhat mis-leading. Bed was hard and very uncomfortable, blankets had stains on them. Trash truck was very promptly making noise at 6:00 AM. A couple children were swimming in the pool without bathing suits. Needless to say the visit was not very pleasant. This may have been a one time situation, but I seriously doubt it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Some fast food places with a short drive. Or you can take a little longer drive for some shopping & resturants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fpo
Jun 30, 2008

Misleading name

The Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), Hawaii is far from a castle and even more further from being a condo resort. The place was disgustingly in need of some attention. I slept with the lights on for fear of being over taken with bugs. Never, ever gain will I stay at this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great place to rent snorkel gear right next door to the hotel. There are a few places nearby to enjoy underwater adventures.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jan 24, 2008

Great for Extended Stay

The studio apartment was great - nice to have a small kitchen complete with all necessities including blender, coffee pot, etc. The condo was large enough that you didn't get cabin fever. Nicely decorated, place to sit and eat, watch TV, etc., if & when you are there! We had a great time and the condo was centrally located to most everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything just a short drive along the coast road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 9, 2007

Beautiful room for the price!

I stayed here before in the past and knew that it was a nice hotel. The price was great! Check in was quick, check out was quick. We did not have to walk far from parking to our room. There were no parking problems, we always had a parking close to our room. The room was beautiful, with everything we would need and some. Great experience!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

a little down the road, there are road side beaches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 26, 2007

kona

good place for visiting kona on the cheap. If you are looking for something romantic or fancy, I'd look elsewhere. But if you are only looking for a clean place to sleep, and you'll be outside way more than you are inside, it's well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

ha! Nightlife in Kona hardly exists. But you'll be too exhausted from all the fun you had in the daytime, so no matter

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marnita
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 7, 2007

Very Nice Comfortable Hotel

The Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort was a very nice place for our vacation. The rooms were fantastic the view of the ocean was picture perfect. The Kitchenette had every untensil you could imagine just like home. The location was excellent and the shops for souviners were walking distance. The restaurants were excellent and the happy hours were the bomb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For the best dining its just 5 or 6 blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 17, 2007

Hit and Miss

The Kona Bali Kai Condos were well suited for longer stays since they were equipped with kitchens. The hotel had no ammenities (dining, convenience market, laundry) across the street where the condo buildings are located. Ice machines would be nice since there is no ice in the freezers upon arrival. Our condo looked like 1970's Puerto Vallarta, and our friends (booked at the same time, same price) was beautifully decorated and updated. The location on Alii drive seemed great until you realize that you are 3 miles from Kona Village, too far to walk, and calling taxi on the Big Island is often not gauranteed and the buses are free but invisible. I cannot honestly say this was a bad choice, but because of the location, it proved not to be the best choice. Why are some units updated, and other's not? Are they all individually owned? Better rooms should be rented at a higher premium to ensure quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach is walking distance, however, you will need a car to shop or dine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Aug 13, 2007

Very Family Friendly

This condo resort was just right for my husband, myself and our 9 y.o. daughter. You definitely want the ocean view room...sunsets, turtles, etc. Was great to hang out on the lanai and watch the ocean. The size of the condo for us was perfect and they had a lot of accessories to use that we thought we'd have to buy. Plus the maids come and make your bed and change the towels. The location was quite close to a white sand beach area that was our daughter's favorite place. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

White sand beach just a few minutes drive-great place for boogie boerding. It's about 5-8 min. drive to all the little shops and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scott Allin
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jul 21, 2007

Very Accomodating

The Kona Bali Kai was great for me because of its proximity to the shops and restaurants on Ali'i Drive. Their policies on guest parking were great as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top