$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

2 stars
76-6246 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
95 reviews
Amazing Location and Family Friendly Amenities

Fantastic location right on a cove in the Kona shoreline near world class snorkeling beaches and... See full review

  • Rick n Kare
  • Aug 12, 2014
Recommendation for family time

We were greeted with warm hospitality and cordiality. Our unit was clean, comfortable and met our... See full review

  • Aunty Kamaka
  • Jul 1, 2014
Affordable Kailua condos with full kitchens and mountain or ocean views
Enjoy a value-priced stay by the sea at Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort, with fully-equipped mountain and ocean view condo units that feel like an Island home. This resort offers studios to 3-bedroom units with kitchens and private balconies. Guests in oceanfront units can fall asleep to the sound of waves lapping onto the shoreline below. High-speed Internet access is available (fees may apply).
Highlights
  • Pool and sundeck
  • Enjoy a location on Alii Drive, Kailua's prestigious waterfront road, leading to plentiful shopping and dining
  • Book an oceanfront room and enjoy uninterrupted Pacific views from a private balcony
Location
Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort units are on both the mountain side and the oceanfront side of Alii Drive, less than 3 miles south of Kailua-Kona's main shopping and dining district. Explore the Kona region -- a Big Island favorite -- for its big-game fishing, local-style charm and more.
Rooms
Castle Kona Bali Kai is a low-rise condominium with spacious studios and 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom units, many with partial ocean or full oceanfront views. All feature a full kitchen -- a great way to save on dining -- and casual island décor. Additional amenities include private balcony, TV, DVD player and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Air conditioning and ceiling fans keep the heat at bay.
Features
Guests at Castle Kona Bali Kai enjoy a swimming pool, sundeck, jet spa and barbecue area. Just around the corner, a popular local stop Da Poke (pronounced po-kay) Shack is an affordable good choice. Plentiful dining options are available on Alii Drive and in downtown Kailua.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
Attractions
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Hulihee Palace (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (18.2 mi/29.2 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (91.8 mi/148 km)
Policies and fees
  • Castle Resorts will provide mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are 7 days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than 7 days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort Rooms

Studio Partial Ocean View
On floors 1 thru 3 across the street from the ocean, overlooking Alii Drive with partial view of the ocean from lanai; studios are like a hotel room with a full kitchen; pool, Jacuzzi, and laundry room across the street; air conditioning available in the unit; 1 king or 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting; 478 square feet.
One Bedroom Oceanfront
One Bedroom Oceanfront units are on the ocean side of the main street running along the Kona Coast they are cooled by ceiling fans and ocean breezes. Each room has a kitchen, room decor is island-style with light colors, floral fabrics, and rattan furniture.
One Bedroom Partial Ocean View
Room with 1 king or 1 queen bed and sofa bed. Each room has a kitchen, room decor is island-style with light colors, floral fabrics, and rattan furniture.
3 Bedroom / 2 Bath
On floors 3 and 4 oceanfront, overlooking palm trees and the Pacific Ocean; south end of the building with a great view of surfers riding waves at Banyans (a famous surf spot); 1 king, 1 queen, 2 twins, and a sofa sleeper; or 1 king, 1 queen, 1 futon sleeper, and a sofa sleeper; air conditioning; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting; 1,319 square feet.
Studio Mountain Side
On floors 1 thru 3 across the street from the ocean, overlooking Alii Drive or the garden; studios are like a hotel room with a full kitchen; pool, Jacuzzi, and laundry room across the street; air conditioning available in the unit; 1 king or 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting; 478 square feet.
One Bedroom Mountianside
One Bedroom Mountainside units are across the street. Mountainside units are air conditioned. Each room has a kitchen, room decor is island-style with light colors, floral fabrics, and rattan furniture.
2 Bedroom / 2 Bath
On floors 2 thru 4 oceanfront, overlooking palm trees and the Pacific Ocean; private lanai; ceiling fans throughout the suite; second bedroom has 1 king or 1 queen, 2 twins, and a sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting; 1,035 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Diver Don
Business
Olympia, Washington
Aug 1, 2009

Kona Condo

I was on a family trip wih my 19 year old daughter and 16 year old son. We were diving and snorkeling in the Kona area. The room was a first floor unit in one of the buildings across the street from the ocean. We did not expect an ocean view and there was not one. A mountain view turned out to mostly be a view of some trees. The place had a nice pool, easy parking and outside water for washinging your dive gear. The room was nice and had a full kichen which helped us save a lot of money on dining. We were only a couple of minues or 3 miles from town and there were some great snorkeling beaches just a couple miles south of us. Kapalu'u Park was awesome for snorkeling. The room had a small AC unit but was mostly cooled by slated windows, consequently we were hot in the evening and the ceiling fan made too much noise to use while sleeping. An Available floor fan helped. The local bird populations started singing at around 5:15 in the morning. I am an early riser and mostly enjoyed this, but my son did not. Other noise problems were hearing people walking in the upstairs unit and cars starting just outside our room. The sleeping arragement was a bit akward for us with only two beds so my daughter took the pullout bed in the living room and my son an I shared the queen size bed in the bedroom. I asked about a role away bed, but decided against it based on the $25 per night additional charge. As advertised the unit only had one cleaning and change of towels during the week we were there. My teenagers loved the full cable and multiple TV's. We had a great trip and considered the acccomadation adequate for what we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Puppies and Kittens
Business
Hilo, HI
Jul 19, 2009

Great deal and a lot of extras!

The staff was okay, no special treatment but they weren't rude. The price was great with a nice location and the rooms were super! They come with A LOT of extras: cooking supplies, lots of bedding, even body boards! The only downside is that they're quite strict with their towels and your room will only come with however they have deemed necessary. The room was spotless and very comfortable (including the furniture). We didn't use the pool considering the beach is right there but it looked inviting enough. Overall a fantastic deal especially if you're staying for a few days or longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The walk to downtown Kailua-Kona is worth it and is entertaining. Also, there is a small farmers market on the way that is worth stopping at.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pues
Business
Washington, MO
Jul 14, 2009

Wonderful Honeymoon getaway!

We traveled all over the island and it didn't seem to take long to get back to this hotel from any place. I liked the fact that you never got bothered by the hotel workers very private! It had a full size kitchen if you didn't want to go out you could my any kind of meal at the condo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kingsland, GA
Jun 23, 2009

Its Alright

Partial Ocean view was not view. And the rooms don't get cleaned except after the 5th day the give you 2 towels and 2 washclothes and expect you to laundry them everyday When we asked for clean ones the lady got a attitude with us. Also the hotel was just about empty and they ran out of pool towels. I was disappointed with the hotel But my trip was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at the Fish Hopper the food is great and the employee's very friendly Also check out Adventures in Paradise Snorkle experience resonable and great fun the guides are great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 12, 2009

Our summer vacation

We only stayed one night, the bed was hard and it took a little effort to find the hotel, glad we didn't stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots to do near the hotels, whole island has things to do during the day and night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Snorkel Jean
Business
Rancho Plaos Verdes, CA
Jun 8, 2009

Must Have the Ocean View

This was close to a great snorkeling location and very close to "downtown" Kona. The lanai was large and we fell asleep out there listening to the waves. The view was awesome and the condo was large.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Always consult the "Blue Book" for good activities and good restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pui
Business
Dallas, Tx
Jun 8, 2009

Good for a price

good to stay at an affordable price, but staffs were not nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler 1
Business
Spokane, WA
May 4, 2009

Partial Ocean / Not really

We booked a room that said partial ocean view. What they ment to say is if you lean over the Balcony you can kind of see the ocean. We where put in a room across the street from the main resort and the room was awful. After the first night and fighiting with the staff, we upgraded to the main resort and the accomodations where beautfil. I would suggest the main resort, but I would rather stay at a motel 6 than the rooms across the street. So if you book at this resort make sure you are in the main building.. Bottom line if your going to Hawaii, your spending the money, you expect to get what you pay for and the rooms across the street where the worst rooms I have ever seen and we take big vactions to areas like Hawaii twice a year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We took a time share tour and saved over $500.00 with the discount card they gave us on different activities. It was well worth the 90 mins.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rick and carolann
Business
nyc
May 4, 2009

clean and comfortable great value..!!!!

We had a studio, which was plenty of room for my wife and myself. The condo is on the main road and can be a little noisy during 'rush hour' but after 9 pm its quiet and you can hear the waves. p. s. all the other condo's I saw are on the main road too.....this is a great value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

go to the KEAHOUU shopping center; there you can find KTA (super market) and LONGS DRUG STORE(great for gifts) It's south on ALII (main road) about 3 miles

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yakima WA
Apr 22, 2009

Worked really well for us.

This was a nice quiet and roomy condominium. We had the mountain view and were delighted with it and the garden on the other side. We were on the go and didn't miss the ocean view at all. The third floor in our unit across the street from the main building didn't have an elevator and sometimes was a long way up. If your have stair problems be sure and reserve accordingly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

It's quite a way to much of anything. Either have strong legs or have a car. Very little is within reasonable walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top