$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 15, 2015 Check-out: Apr 16, 2015

Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

2 stars
View map of 76-6246 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Diver Don
Business
Olympia, Washington
Aug 1, 2009

Kona Condo

I was on a family trip wih my 19 year old daughter and 16 year old son. We were diving and snorkeling in the Kona area. The room was a first floor unit in one of the buildings across the street from the ocean. We did not expect an ocean view and there was not one. A mountain view turned out to mostly be a view of some trees. The place had a nice pool, easy parking and outside water for washinging your dive gear. The room was nice and had a full kichen which helped us save a lot of money on dining. We were only a couple of minues or 3 miles from town and there were some great snorkeling beaches just a couple miles south of us. Kapalu'u Park was awesome for snorkeling. The room had a small AC unit but was mostly cooled by slated windows, consequently we were hot in the evening and the ceiling fan made too much noise to use while sleeping. An Available floor fan helped. The local bird populations started singing at around 5:15 in the morning. I am an early riser and mostly enjoyed this, but my son did not. Other noise problems were hearing people walking in the upstairs unit and cars starting just outside our room. The sleeping arragement was a bit akward for us with only two beds so my daughter took the pullout bed in the living room and my son an I shared the queen size bed in the bedroom. I asked about a role away bed, but decided against it based on the $25 per night additional charge. As advertised the unit only had one cleaning and change of towels during the week we were there. My teenagers loved the full cable and multiple TV's. We had a great trip and considered the acccomadation adequate for what we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Puppies and Kittens
Business
Hilo, HI
Jul 19, 2009

Great deal and a lot of extras!

The staff was okay, no special treatment but they weren't rude. The price was great with a nice location and the rooms were super! They come with A LOT of extras: cooking supplies, lots of bedding, even body boards! The only downside is that they're quite strict with their towels and your room will only come with however they have deemed necessary. The room was spotless and very comfortable (including the furniture). We didn't use the pool considering the beach is right there but it looked inviting enough. Overall a fantastic deal especially if you're staying for a few days or longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The walk to downtown Kailua-Kona is worth it and is entertaining. Also, there is a small farmers market on the way that is worth stopping at.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pues
Business
Washington, MO
Jul 14, 2009

Wonderful Honeymoon getaway!

We traveled all over the island and it didn't seem to take long to get back to this hotel from any place. I liked the fact that you never got bothered by the hotel workers very private! It had a full size kitchen if you didn't want to go out you could my any kind of meal at the condo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kingsland, GA
Jun 23, 2009

Its Alright

Partial Ocean view was not view. And the rooms don't get cleaned except after the 5th day the give you 2 towels and 2 washclothes and expect you to laundry them everyday When we asked for clean ones the lady got a attitude with us. Also the hotel was just about empty and they ran out of pool towels. I was disappointed with the hotel But my trip was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at the Fish Hopper the food is great and the employee's very friendly Also check out Adventures in Paradise Snorkle experience resonable and great fun the guides are great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 12, 2009

Our summer vacation

We only stayed one night, the bed was hard and it took a little effort to find the hotel, glad we didn't stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots to do near the hotels, whole island has things to do during the day and night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Snorkel Jean
Business
Rancho Plaos Verdes, CA
Jun 8, 2009

Must Have the Ocean View

This was close to a great snorkeling location and very close to "downtown" Kona. The lanai was large and we fell asleep out there listening to the waves. The view was awesome and the condo was large.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Always consult the "Blue Book" for good activities and good restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pui
Business
Dallas, Tx
Jun 8, 2009

Good for a price

good to stay at an affordable price, but staffs were not nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler 1
Business
Spokane, WA
May 4, 2009

Partial Ocean / Not really

We booked a room that said partial ocean view. What they ment to say is if you lean over the Balcony you can kind of see the ocean. We where put in a room across the street from the main resort and the room was awful. After the first night and fighiting with the staff, we upgraded to the main resort and the accomodations where beautfil. I would suggest the main resort, but I would rather stay at a motel 6 than the rooms across the street. So if you book at this resort make sure you are in the main building.. Bottom line if your going to Hawaii, your spending the money, you expect to get what you pay for and the rooms across the street where the worst rooms I have ever seen and we take big vactions to areas like Hawaii twice a year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We took a time share tour and saved over $500.00 with the discount card they gave us on different activities. It was well worth the 90 mins.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rick and carolann
Business
nyc
May 4, 2009

clean and comfortable great value..!!!!

We had a studio, which was plenty of room for my wife and myself. The condo is on the main road and can be a little noisy during 'rush hour' but after 9 pm its quiet and you can hear the waves. p. s. all the other condo's I saw are on the main road too.....this is a great value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

go to the KEAHOUU shopping center; there you can find KTA (super market) and LONGS DRUG STORE(great for gifts) It's south on ALII (main road) about 3 miles

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yakima WA
Apr 22, 2009

Worked really well for us.

This was a nice quiet and roomy condominium. We had the mountain view and were delighted with it and the garden on the other side. We were on the go and didn't miss the ocean view at all. The third floor in our unit across the street from the main building didn't have an elevator and sometimes was a long way up. If your have stair problems be sure and reserve accordingly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

It's quite a way to much of anything. Either have strong legs or have a car. Very little is within reasonable walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top