$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

2 stars
76-6246 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
94 reviews
Amazing Location and Family Friendly Amenities

Fantastic location right on a cove in the Kona shoreline near world class snorkeling beaches and... See full review

  • Rick n Kare
  • Aug 12, 2014
Recommendation for family time

We were greeted with warm hospitality and cordiality. Our unit was clean, comfortable and met our... See full review

  • Aunty Kamaka
  • Jul 1, 2014
Affordable Kailua condos with full kitchens and mountain or ocean views
Enjoy a value-priced stay by the sea at Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort, with fully-equipped mountain and ocean view condo units that feel like an Island home. This resort offers studios to 3-bedroom units with kitchens and private balconies. Guests in oceanfront units can fall asleep to the sound of waves lapping onto the shoreline below. High-speed Internet access is available (fees may apply).
Highlights
  • Pool and sundeck
  • Enjoy a location on Alii Drive, Kailua's prestigious waterfront road, leading to plentiful shopping and dining
  • Book an oceanfront room and enjoy uninterrupted Pacific views from a private balcony
Location
Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort units are on both the mountain side and the oceanfront side of Alii Drive, less than 3 miles south of Kailua-Kona's main shopping and dining district. Explore the Kona region -- a Big Island favorite -- for its big-game fishing, local-style charm and more.
Rooms
Castle Kona Bali Kai is a low-rise condominium with spacious studios and 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom units, many with partial ocean or full oceanfront views. All feature a full kitchen -- a great way to save on dining -- and casual island décor. Additional amenities include private balcony, TV, DVD player and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Air conditioning and ceiling fans keep the heat at bay.
Features
Guests at Castle Kona Bali Kai enjoy a swimming pool, sundeck, jet spa and barbecue area. Just around the corner, a popular local stop Da Poke (pronounced po-kay) Shack is an affordable good choice. Plentiful dining options are available on Alii Drive and in downtown Kailua.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
Attractions
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Hulihee Palace (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (18.2 mi/29.2 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (91.8 mi/148 km)
Policies and fees
  • Castle Resorts will provide mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are 7 days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than 7 days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort Rooms

Studio Partial Ocean View
On floors 1 thru 3 across the street from the ocean, overlooking Alii Drive with partial view of the ocean from lanai; studios are like a hotel room with a full kitchen; pool, Jacuzzi, and laundry room across the street; air conditioning available in the unit; 1 king or 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting; 478 square feet.
One Bedroom Oceanfront
One Bedroom Oceanfront units are on the ocean side of the main street running along the Kona Coast they are cooled by ceiling fans and ocean breezes. Each room has a kitchen, room decor is island-style with light colors, floral fabrics, and rattan furniture.
One Bedroom Partial Ocean View
Room with 1 king or 1 queen bed and sofa bed. Each room has a kitchen, room decor is island-style with light colors, floral fabrics, and rattan furniture.
3 Bedroom / 2 Bath
On floors 3 and 4 oceanfront, overlooking palm trees and the Pacific Ocean; south end of the building with a great view of surfers riding waves at Banyans (a famous surf spot); 1 king, 1 queen, 2 twins, and a sofa sleeper; or 1 king, 1 queen, 1 futon sleeper, and a sofa sleeper; air conditioning; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting; 1,319 square feet.
Studio Mountain Side
On floors 1 thru 3 across the street from the ocean, overlooking Alii Drive or the garden; studios are like a hotel room with a full kitchen; pool, Jacuzzi, and laundry room across the street; air conditioning available in the unit; 1 king or 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting; 478 square feet.
One Bedroom Mountianside
One Bedroom Mountainside units are across the street. Mountainside units are air conditioned. Each room has a kitchen, room decor is island-style with light colors, floral fabrics, and rattan furniture.
2 Bedroom / 2 Bath
On floors 2 thru 4 oceanfront, overlooking palm trees and the Pacific Ocean; private lanai; ceiling fans throughout the suite; second bedroom has 1 king or 1 queen, 2 twins, and a sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting; 1,035 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (94)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hilo, HI
Jan 2, 2010

Nice and underated

We live on the Hilo Side of Big Island but decided to spend New Years on the Kona Side. The Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort is great place to stay. We requested an oceanfront room and we were NOT disappointed. The view was gorgeous from north to south and with the inclusion of a clear, sunny and slightly breezy day, the picturesque Hawaii that most dream of was on our lanai within a few steps from our gorgeously decorated room. The room was perfect for us (mid 20's couple, looking for nice amenities without breaking the bank) [...].Since this is actually a condo resort, each room is individually owned by different landlords. Our room (#302) was perfect: furniture was new, king size bed was comfy, had 2 bathrooms which were both very nice (though no bath tub) and a fully loaded kitchen with nice newer appliances.But...each room may vary. I've read other reviews that have spoken contrary to every thing that I have written. But overall our experience was great. We didn't walk anywhere but If you plan on walking to the restaurants, shops and nightlife, expect a 40 minute trek as Ali'i Dr.'s entertainment center is about 2 miles from this place. Taxi or Car recommended if you plan on consuming copious amounts of certain beverages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington State
Dec 28, 2009

Kona Bali Kai unit 418

KBK ocean front is great. Kitchen, lanai and rooms were furnished well. Loved the views. Saved a lot of $ by doing our own cooking. Some of the best views of the trip were from our lanai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Public access at the resorts on North Kona. There are about 30 parking spots available for first come first served at each. Just ask for public access at the security gate at each resort entrance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 28, 2009

Good price for the location

Good location across the street from the shore. It is a reasonable living condition for the price we paid. Nice garden and lawn. Condo is getting old but clear. What annoy us are the geckos get into the condo. It is irritate initially but understandable since we're living in a rural area. After you get used to it, it is just like the Gecko in the GEICO commerical, interesting!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ca.
Dec 15, 2009

Kona Bali Kai Resort

Nice place very relaxing. Unit was dusty from lack of use. Not many people staying there. Great sunset location. Close to activities in Kona

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Rafael, CA
Dec 11, 2009

Nice location

The best thing was the balcony/lanai which looked out onto the surf. The condo had a boogie board, snorkle and mask, 2 beach towels and a tote bag. Real handy for the beach. The rooms had fans, which was all we needed. The kitchen had everything. We fell asleep to the sound of the surf, but we woke to the sound of the traffic on the road. Our condo did not have cockroaches, but our friends' condo directly below us, did. You don't know how the dice will land, and we got the better condo, but I felt bad for them

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Nov 30, 2009

A week in paradise

The location was great in terms of Kona activities.The surf was literally at our feet but so was traffic on the other end of the apartment. (If the owners installed some double pane windows on the street side it would help a lot). The parking was good. The staff did what they could to deal with a slight cockroach problem(They thrive in such climates so it wasn't unexpected). [...]We snorkeled with washtub sized sea turtles just a few blocks from the apartment which was wonderful. We visited the volcano which was amazing.(the wind was blowing potentially harmful gases so some roads were blocked off). We saw the lava flowing into the sea as new land was being spectacularly formed. The triathlon was going on, The ultra man swimming portion (6.2 miles of 320 total miles!!), went right in front of our deck!(as did the Alii surf contest a couple days earlier).We watched cruise ships come and go in the distance with the beautiful sunsets. The Waipio Valley, Hilo and, to top it off, a sumptuous Thanksgiving Buffet and open bar in Wiamia. (Just one of the excellent culinary discoveries.) On balance, we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Costco near the airport has the cheapest gasoline. Safeway,Borders and Walmart are a block apart a short distance up Henry St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Springs
Nov 4, 2009

Mahalo Staff

The front desk staff was more then helpful on a couple of occassions. Altho older, it is maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The DeRaimos
Business
Washington
Oct 7, 2009

Great place!

This was my first trip to Hawaii and it was fabulous to have a nice place to rest and relax in at the end of the day. We had a one bedroom mountain view (beautiful trees, sunrises & birds singing) and it worked out perfect for us! The place is older, but who cares when you have all the basics you need and should be out enjoying the fabulous island anyways! We opted to eat in the condo to save $ (food is so expensive in Hawaii!) and the kitchen had all the tools. I wish it was stocked with spices and such but otherwise was great. The room was just across the street from the beach and we saw great sunsets and surfers riding the waves. I recommend a car for the shops and snorkeling beaches just a few minutes down the road. My ONLY gripe with the condo we were in (and it really wasn't that big of a deal) was the furniture in the living room had a curved metal base that my husband and I kept stubbing our toes on... no serious wounds, just annoying. So, all-in-all the Kona Bali Kai was great! We are already planning a trip to bring the kids next year, and we plan staying again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Plan on hitting the grocery store and eating in. Food is very expensive and eating out is even more expensive! I highly recommend a car too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
honolulu
Aug 23, 2009

Great time in Kona

it was fine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
Aug 6, 2009

Location was awesome

First time in the Big Island... Visiting from Honolulu...We came to Kona to Run the Kona Marathon,the Hotel was five to ten minutes away from the start,the start was at 5:30am, very convenient.The room was clean had a small kitchen,good Air condition (Kona Is hot)the beach is across the street...stores are near people are friendly.However you have to pay extra for housekeeping or you can make your own bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want to see Lava you need to drive nearly 100 miles...It's a long drive so bring some music reception isn't great...also expect delays it's a one lane freeway...Aa & pahoe everywhere...(Google it.)The Big Island has a lot of History...awesome place to visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top