$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

2 stars
76-6246 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
93 reviews
Amazing Location and Family Friendly Amenities

Fantastic location right on a cove in the Kona shoreline near world class snorkeling beaches and... See full review

  • Rick n Kare
  • Aug 12, 2014
Recommendation for family time

We were greeted with warm hospitality and cordiality. Our unit was clean, comfortable and met our... See full review

  • Aunty Kamaka
  • Jul 1, 2014
Affordable Kailua condos with full kitchens and mountain or ocean views
Enjoy a value-priced stay by the sea at Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort, with fully-equipped mountain and ocean view condo units that feel like an Island home. This resort offers studios to 3-bedroom units with kitchens and private balconies. Guests in oceanfront units can fall asleep to the sound of waves lapping onto the shoreline below. High-speed Internet access is available (fees may apply).
Highlights
  • Pool and sundeck
  • Enjoy a location on Alii Drive, Kailua's prestigious waterfront road, leading to plentiful shopping and dining
  • Book an oceanfront room and enjoy uninterrupted Pacific views from a private balcony
Location
Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort units are on both the mountain side and the oceanfront side of Alii Drive, less than 3 miles south of Kailua-Kona's main shopping and dining district. Explore the Kona region -- a Big Island favorite -- for its big-game fishing, local-style charm and more.
Rooms
Castle Kona Bali Kai is a low-rise condominium with spacious studios and 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom units, many with partial ocean or full oceanfront views. All feature a full kitchen -- a great way to save on dining -- and casual island décor. Additional amenities include private balcony, TV, DVD player and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Air conditioning and ceiling fans keep the heat at bay.
Features
Guests at Castle Kona Bali Kai enjoy a swimming pool, sundeck, jet spa and barbecue area. Just around the corner, a popular local stop Da Poke (pronounced po-kay) Shack is an affordable good choice. Plentiful dining options are available on Alii Drive and in downtown Kailua.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
Attractions
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Hulihee Palace (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (18.2 mi/29.2 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (91.8 mi/148 km)
Policies and fees
  • Castle Resorts will provide mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are 7 days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than 7 days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.608 -155.977
Area served
Kailua Kona, HI
Nearby airports
Keahole-Kona International Airport (KOA)
Area description
Located Oceanfront & Mountainside, 3 miles south of historic Kailua Village on Alii Drive midway to Kona Country Club Golf Course. 12 miles south of Keahole Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort Rooms

Studio Partial Ocean View
On floors 1 thru 3 across the street from the ocean, overlooking Alii Drive with partial view of the ocean from lanai; studios are like a hotel room with a full kitchen; pool, Jacuzzi, and laundry room across the street; air conditioning available in the unit; 1 king or 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting; 478 square feet.
One Bedroom Oceanfront
One Bedroom Oceanfront units are on the ocean side of the main street running along the Kona Coast they are cooled by ceiling fans and ocean breezes. Each room has a kitchen, room decor is island-style with light colors, floral fabrics, and rattan furniture.
One Bedroom Partial Ocean View
Room with 1 king or 1 queen bed and sofa bed. Each room has a kitchen, room decor is island-style with light colors, floral fabrics, and rattan furniture.
3 Bedroom / 2 Bath
On floors 3 and 4 oceanfront, overlooking palm trees and the Pacific Ocean; south end of the building with a great view of surfers riding waves at Banyans (a famous surf spot); 1 king, 1 queen, 2 twins, and a sofa sleeper; or 1 king, 1 queen, 1 futon sleeper, and a sofa sleeper; air conditioning; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting; 1,319 square feet.
Studio Mountain Side
On floors 1 thru 3 across the street from the ocean, overlooking Alii Drive or the garden; studios are like a hotel room with a full kitchen; pool, Jacuzzi, and laundry room across the street; air conditioning available in the unit; 1 king or 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting; 478 square feet.
One Bedroom Mountianside
One Bedroom Mountainside units are across the street. Mountainside units are air conditioned. Each room has a kitchen, room decor is island-style with light colors, floral fabrics, and rattan furniture.
2 Bedroom / 2 Bath
On floors 2 thru 4 oceanfront, overlooking palm trees and the Pacific Ocean; private lanai; ceiling fans throughout the suite; second bedroom has 1 king or 1 queen, 2 twins, and a sofa bed; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting; 1,035 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael in Motion
Business
Santa Clarita, CA
Nov 15, 2012

Kona condo vacation

Kona is naturally a great location for a vacation. Kona Bali Kai condos offer marvelous lodging to suit those vacation needs since it is right on the ocean front, with its own pool and the snorkel shop right there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shpspp
Business
Unervisity Place, Wahsington
Nov 8, 2012

kona trip

First impression was not good. The carpet when we walked in was all stained. Found an empty bottle of tequila in the bedroom closet. Water heater and toliet kept making banging sounds. Dryer did not work. Kitchen faucet was installed backwards. Bath towels were clean and nice. The living area was clean. Lucky we had family there so we weren"t in the room much. The view made it worth the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Goober
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 5, 2012

Better than any 2 star I've seen

We were only here for 3 nights but I really enjoyed my stay. The place was very outdated and still uses actual keys for the rooms with a charge for extra towels. BUT the room was pretty clean, bed was comfortable, the kitchen was well stocked and the washer and dryer in the room was awesome. Outdoor patio was nice even though we didn't spend anytime there. Location was good except the drive to the Volcanoe National Park was 96 miles! And definitely DO NOT drive to Mauna Kea from the Kona side :( Now I am rambling, it was a fabulous trip and the hotel left me wanting nothing except a longer stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kolohe2
Business
Honolulu
Sep 4, 2012

Weekend Stay

We were there for a horseshoe tournament. It was a really great quite place to relax before and after the tournament. Its a little ways from the town but in a very good way. It'll only take you about 5 mins driving time to get to the town. We would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gmo happy father
Business
Yorba Linda, CA
Jul 2, 2012

Great location

Location is great, saw turtles everyday! Condo's furnishings are older but they are remodeling them. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Farmers market in down town Kona has great fruit and gifts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Irish Rovers
Business
Michigan, USA
Mar 20, 2012

NOT SAFE !

Our first clue should have come when they handed us 3 very large keys ... yes KEYS (not key cards) to the room. Upon entering the room we found the front door locked, BUT the street/sidewalk side, with glass sliding door, WIDE OPEN. The curtains, that were suppose to cover the window, were partially missing, and the bed was right next to the window in this condo. That meant my husband had to stand in front of the open area every time I wanted to get up or go to bed. But the worse and UNSAFE condition was the fact there was NO SMOKE DETECTOR in the room!!! It appeared that it had been missing for some time. I do not know Hawaiian state & local regulations, but I'm guessing they require SMOKE DETECTORS in all public buildings. I would have also thought, since this was a condo with kitchen, there would have been a small fire extinguisher, which was also among the missing. The shower had LONG BLACK hair on the walls, and we both have short grey hair...could have been cleaner. When we went to check out at 7:30 a.m. there was no one there....sigh....we had to wait until 8:00 a.m. for someone to come on duty. We also paid a little extra for "partial view of the ocean". Let me just say, that from this first floor condo, if you went to the far right of the lanai, looked through traffic and between two trees, you could make out the ocean. They also claimed to have free wifi, which did not exist. The pool, was small, and across the street, and did not look inviting. WAY over priced & NOT SAFE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you come to the Big Island, and you want to visit the Volcano, stay in the Hilo area, as it is much closer to the National Park (about 45min.). This, I would hope, would go to everyones top of the list of things to do on this island. I would say plan at least two full days to visit, and is not that far from Hilo, but about 2 1/2 hours from Kona area. Be sure to visit the Volcano at night, it is great! If you are in the Kona area, a great place to have dinner and enjoy a brew is the Kona Brewery and they have very good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Honu2
Business
Calgary, Canda
Mar 12, 2012

Basic, but clean and good value

Stayed here for 1 week. The room was simple, but since most of our time was spent on adventures outside, it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fisherman qss
Business
Santa Clara, CA, USA
Feb 17, 2012

Pleasant and peaceful w/ a fantastic location.

We had an 2bdrm/2bath ocean front condo on the third floor with a large balcony. 4 ceiling fans, w/d, dishwasher, a full size refrigerator/freezer, and deck dining table/w 4chairs and 2 chaises. The mstr bdrm had a glass slider to the deck w/ a sliding wall that opened to the living area which also had a glass slider to the deck. This made a large area opening to the view of the ocean through the glass sliders in both rooms. The tidal pools in the lava had fish and large turtles. a pleasant and peaceful stay. A lot for the price especially when comparing to accommodations on the other Islands.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rosas Cantina for dinner on Alii Rd. in Kailua-Kona and Sam Choy's for breakfast above the shopping Center at the end of Alii Road. Both restaurants have a great view, good food, excellent service and reasonable prices. There are several other restaurant to avoid in Kailua-Kona.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mags1
Business
Virginia, USA
Jan 31, 2012

Repeat guest

I've stayed at the condo unit three times in the past month. The first unit was ok but nothing special and you had to use the condo's shared washer and dryer. This unit had a partial ocean view. The next unit I stayed in was lovely, it was a suite, but no view except of the parking lot. The suite had it's own washer/dryer unit. The last unit I stayed in was lovely too, and had it's own washer/dryer unit. It was cheaper to book through an online service but that also didn't afford you the opportunity to inquire about extras like the washer/dryer unit. Still compared to other places I looked into, it was the most economical in comparison.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Costco to get your gas if your a member.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sally Mae Gordon
Business
Long beach, cA
Jan 15, 2012

RUDE staff, full kitchen & laundry GREAT

the main front desk employee was horribly mannered, short and cold. There for 8 days & housekeeping never made it to our room- said staff member was unhelpful when approached about the issue. Good location & it's hard to beat laundry and full kitchen in room. Good for a family (for the price) avoid front desk & don't expect to have your room cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Costco! Plenty of room to cook costco food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top