$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

2 stars
View map of 76-6246 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nature guy
Business
Sacramento, California
Jan 25, 2013

Depends what building you're in...

Average Condo...depends what building you're in. We had a 'partial ocean view' whuch meant LOTS of road noise from Ali'i drive. Older facility...needs some improvement but staff was efficient and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're shopping for groceries KTA better deal....prices and produce.

Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Captain Swedish
Business
Hilo, Hawaii
Dec 4, 2012

Amazing for the price!

Pros: -Lots of extras (full size fridge, stove, dishes, washing machine, etc.) -Close to the water and lots of awesome beaches -One of the cheapest hotels and way better than Seaside or Uncle Billys (which are both really dirty and gross) -Very clean -Stray cats to feed in the parking lots (seriously, bring some cat food and help a critter out) Cons: -Will have to drive to reach most things farther up Ali'i drive -Staff were neutral but could be friendlier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael in Motion
Business
Santa Clarita, CA
Nov 15, 2012

Kona condo vacation

Kona is naturally a great location for a vacation. Kona Bali Kai condos offer marvelous lodging to suit those vacation needs since it is right on the ocean front, with its own pool and the snorkel shop right there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shpspp
Business
Unervisity Place, Wahsington
Nov 8, 2012

kona trip

First impression was not good. The carpet when we walked in was all stained. Found an empty bottle of tequila in the bedroom closet. Water heater and toliet kept making banging sounds. Dryer did not work. Kitchen faucet was installed backwards. Bath towels were clean and nice. The living area was clean. Lucky we had family there so we weren"t in the room much. The view made it worth the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kolohe2
Business
Honolulu
Sep 4, 2012

Weekend Stay

We were there for a horseshoe tournament. It was a really great quite place to relax before and after the tournament. Its a little ways from the town but in a very good way. It'll only take you about 5 mins driving time to get to the town. We would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gmo happy father
Business
Yorba Linda, CA
Jul 2, 2012

Great location

Location is great, saw turtles everyday! Condo's furnishings are older but they are remodeling them. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Farmers market in down town Kona has great fruit and gifts.

Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Irish Rovers
Business
Michigan, USA
Mar 20, 2012

NOT SAFE !

Our first clue should have come when they handed us 3 very large keys ... yes KEYS (not key cards) to the room. Upon entering the room we found the front door locked, BUT the street/sidewalk side, with glass sliding door, WIDE OPEN. The curtains, that were suppose to cover the window, were partially missing, and the bed was right next to the window in this condo. That meant my husband had to stand in front of the open area every time I wanted to get up or go to bed. But the worse and UNSAFE condition was the fact there was NO SMOKE DETECTOR in the room!!! It appeared that it had been missing for some time. I do not know Hawaiian state & local regulations, but I'm guessing they require SMOKE DETECTORS in all public buildings. I would have also thought, since this was a condo with kitchen, there would have been a small fire extinguisher, which was also among the missing. The shower had LONG BLACK hair on the walls, and we both have short grey hair...could have been cleaner. When we went to check out at 7:30 a.m. there was no one there....sigh....we had to wait until 8:00 a.m. for someone to come on duty. We also paid a little extra for "partial view of the ocean". Let me just say, that from this first floor condo, if you went to the far right of the lanai, looked through traffic and between two trees, you could make out the ocean. They also claimed to have free wifi, which did not exist. The pool, was small, and across the street, and did not look inviting. WAY over priced & NOT SAFE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you come to the Big Island, and you want to visit the Volcano, stay in the Hilo area, as it is much closer to the National Park (about 45min.). This, I would hope, would go to everyones top of the list of things to do on this island. I would say plan at least two full days to visit, and is not that far from Hilo, but about 2 1/2 hours from Kona area. Be sure to visit the Volcano at night, it is great! If you are in the Kona area, a great place to have dinner and enjoy a brew is the Kona Brewery and they have very good food.

Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Honu2
Business
Calgary, Canda
Mar 12, 2012

Basic, but clean and good value

Stayed here for 1 week. The room was simple, but since most of our time was spent on adventures outside, it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fisherman qss
Business
Santa Clara, CA, USA
Feb 17, 2012

Pleasant and peaceful w/ a fantastic location.

We had an 2bdrm/2bath ocean front condo on the third floor with a large balcony. 4 ceiling fans, w/d, dishwasher, a full size refrigerator/freezer, and deck dining table/w 4chairs and 2 chaises. The mstr bdrm had a glass slider to the deck w/ a sliding wall that opened to the living area which also had a glass slider to the deck. This made a large area opening to the view of the ocean through the glass sliders in both rooms. The tidal pools in the lava had fish and large turtles. a pleasant and peaceful stay. A lot for the price especially when comparing to accommodations on the other Islands.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rosas Cantina for dinner on Alii Rd. in Kailua-Kona and Sam Choy's for breakfast above the shopping Center at the end of Alii Road. Both restaurants have a great view, good food, excellent service and reasonable prices. There are several other restaurant to avoid in Kailua-Kona.

Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Roberto2
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Jan 12, 2012

Pay Extra for Housekeeping?

Dear CKBK Management, I'm dissatisfied with your housekeeping policy, housekeeping service, and room maintenance. When we arrived your front desk, tired after a long day of travel, the clerk informed us that you didn't do daily cleaning and that cleaning would only be provided once during our 9 night stay, or we would have to pay extra from a "menu" of housekeeping services. This is not industry standard and was not disclosed at the time I booked the trip, only upon arrival. You got us there then disclosed this non-industry-standard policy. Very tricky. Can you possibly expect your customers to like this business practice? Shame on you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Not much going on at Kona Bali Kai except surfing. If you are a surfer its a good location (Banyan beach). Otherwise, it's more than 2 1/2 miles from Kailua and there's nothing going on here. The snorkeling is poor here.

Back to menu Return to top