$391 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

The Point at Poipu

3 stars
1613 Pee Road, Koloa, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
30 reviews
Excellent Experience!

I couldn't have been happier with staying at the Point At Poipu. The location was perfect, right on... See full review

  • Mai Tai conquerer
  • Sep 1, 2014
Amazing Time at Poipu!

We stayed at The Point at Poipu in May 2014 with my parents and my fiancé and we had an amazing... See full review

  • Mili57
  • Sep 7, 2014
Upscale vacation condominiums on the sunny south shore at Poipu
The Point at Poipu is a luxury condominium resort on 22 acres overlooking Keoneloa Bay. At its heart is a half-acre free-form pool edged on one end by lava rocks and a sandy beach, so it feels like a natural lagoon. Elegant palms, koi ponds and low-rise buildings recall the plantation era of Kauai, but condominiums are island upscale and contemporary, bright and airy with tropical prints and luxury touches, including elevator access. A path leads from The Point at Poipu to the Hyatt and Shipwreck Beach, while Poipu Beach Park is a three-minute drive.
Highlights
  • Half-acre pool
  • Poolside grill for light dining
  • Walking and hiking trails
  • Activity program
Location
Set on a point at the southern end of Poipu, The Point at Poipu is both a peaceful retreat and near to the multitude of activities, restaurants and shopping that Poipu offers.
Rooms
Almost all of the 219 units at The Point at Poipu are two-bedroom/two-bath and especially good for families as the second room has twin beds. A pullout sofa in the living room provides extra sleeping space in these roomy 1,150-square-foot vacation homes. Every unit has a full kitchen, spacious lanai, washer/dryer and air conditioning in the bedrooms.  There is also wired Internet access (fee applies).
Features
The Point at Poipu is an excellent choice for couples and families, hikers and golfers. Walking trails run behind the resort and along the ocean from Shipwreck Beach, and Poipu Bay Golf Course is just a mile away. For those who want to include indulgent spa treatments in their vacation activities, Anara Spa at the Hyatt is just a short walk. On-site fun includes cultural activities, from ukulele and hula lessons to basket making, as well as morning walks. There are plenty of barbecue grills for guest use and kitchens are fully equipped, but if grabbing a quick bite by the pool sounds good, the Poolside Bar & Grill is open daily and there is a Breakfast Cafe with coffee and more to go.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (14.7 mi/23.7 km)
  • Taxis available
Attractions
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Kiahuna Golf Club (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (19 mi/30.6 km)
  • Kokee State Park (37 mi/60 km)
Policies and fees
  • Please note that the Point at Poipu will have ongoing construction until 2015. Work will be conducted in daylight hours. Every effort will be taken to reduce any inconvenience to our guest.
  • Beginning January 1, 2012, a $25.00 per night resort fee for all rental and exchange reservations will be charged. The resort fee will cover Internet access, fitness centre access, parking and local calls.
  • Major credit cards or debit cards with the Visa or Master Card logo will be accepted as deposit for all guests upon check-in. No cash allowed. The deposit will be $250.00 US and shall be returned when the rooms have been inspected and no damage has been done or items are not missing. If there is damage or items missing, the guest will be charged.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Point at Poipu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

The Point at Poipu Rooms

One Bedroom Garden View includes free parking
One bedroom sleeps 4, 2 private (approx.967-1,100 square feet) All units have: Private Lanais Ceiling fans Fully equipped gourmet kitchen with full size refrigerator with ice maker. Washer & dryer Remote control televisions (1-master bedroom, 1-living room) Entertainment Center with CD player, DVD player, am/fm radio, in-room safe
Two Bedroom Garden View includes free parking
Two bedrooms sleeps 6 4 private (approx. 1,300-1,450 square feet) All units have: Private Lanais Ceiling fans Fully equipped gourmet kitchen with full size refrigerator with ice maker. Washer & dryer Remote control televisions (1-master bedroom, 1-living room) Entertainment Center with CD player, DVD player, am/fm radio. In-room safe

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Poolside Bar & Grill
Offers daily special and open from 9am to 8pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for The Point at Poipu

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hulagirl
Business
Campbell, CA, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Awsome Resort

My boyfriend and I had an Awesome vacation. The Point at Poipu had gorgeous scenery. It was located a short walk to Shipwrecks Beach. No complaints at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Savage Shrimp restaurant if you love shrimp.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matias
Business
NoHo, CA
Oct 24, 2011

Awesome

Loved it, could not have been better. Right on beach where you can see turtles. Pool is beach like and has nuberous of new shinny grills to BBQ

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shania
Business
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Nov 10, 2011

Great location and amenities

The Point at Poipu was like a home away from home. The condo included all necessities with large rooms and had a great ocean view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Lawaii beach has great snorkeling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ojai Bud
Business
Ojai California
May 19, 2013

Beautiful scenery and relaxing time.

From the moment we arrived until we left, we had a relaxing time. Everyone was so friendly and took very good care of us. Our Condo was upgraded from an one bedroom to a two bedroom/ 2 bath. We were located close to the pool and nearby beach which made it nice for taking our walks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shipwreck point
Business
Redlands
May 27, 2013

Great vacation at the Point

Great reception, wonderful room with daily service, location great for walking on the beach, wonderful pool, simple but reasonable priced food at the hotel. Easy to walk or drive to good restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greek Goddess Athena
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 18, 2009

Awesome place!

The Point was great! Our suite was HUGE (2 bed/2bath, full kitchen, pots, pans, utensils, lanai, washer/dryer). Only one thing I wish we had got a better view than the front driveway area. The Koi ponds were gorgeous, the view from the top of the resort was spectacular. The pool was big, so lots of room for everyone. My almost 2 year old was happy and comfortable. She had her own room which was also nice for Mom and Dad! 10 min walking distance to the Hyatt and Shipwreck Beach; 20 mins to Poipu Beach (simply gorgeous)! Daily housekeeping even though we thought just one. Well kept grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The cabs are expensive here, so for a ride to and from the airport, take the Surf and Turf Shuttle. They charge $30 for 1-2 ppl, rather than $50+ for the taxi. Also getting food/groceries at a Walmart, Costco, or other grocery store is cheaper than dining out everyday. Besides, you can just stay in and cook in your kitchen.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shruti
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Mar 16, 2011

Well maintained, great condos

Very well designed spacious condos, the living room and both bedrooms opened to a common patio with a view of the ocean. Fully equipped kitchen - get your own condiments because the pantry is absolutely empty. I did find a few miniature cockroaches in the dishwasher, but it didn't bother me. The house keeping was excellent. The property is very well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hendersonville, TN
May 12, 2010

The Point at Poipu

Late check in went perfect. It was brief and accurate. Our Ocean view was good and the accomodations both spacious and first class. Plenty of towels, soap and supplies. Everything we had remembered and were expecting. This was our third time back, and although more pricey than some, it was still a bargain compared to the Hyatt just down the road and much more room. Will definitely return there in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Best meal and price combination in the Poipu area is Keoki's Paradise. Fresh fish options are reasonable ($25-$30 range and definitely try the Hula Pie! We always have several meals there each trip, and the experience is part of the reason we come back often.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mai Tai conquerer
Business
Oahu
Sep 1, 2014

Excellent Experience!

I couldn't have been happier with staying at the Point At Poipu. The location was perfect, right on the water and walking distance to the beach. The room was just what my friends and I needed. It had a patio with a view of the ocean, and the room had a full kitchen and two bathrooms. Also, the pool was huge! And the bar and grill had really good food and drinks too. I'll definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CRP1
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Oct 18, 2011

Autumn Relaxation

Overall, we were very pleased with the entire condo complex. Our room was very clean, well equipped and comfortable. We had noisy people above, but that is not an issue with the hotel. The staff was very accommodating. We had to wait until 4:PM for our room on our arrival day and that was an inconvenience. Another conventional style swimming pool might be a nice addition, since the single "lagoon style" pool can get busy and filled with kids. Overall, an excellent value and we will return for another visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of restaurants are in close proximity, offering a variety of menus at reasonable price points. For an special night out - Roy's is hard to beat. We had a very well prepared seafood dinner with great service.The Boathouse is also exceptional offering a fantastic view and fine dining and service. Both are very expensive, so really not for families.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top