$265 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Point at Poipu

3 stars
View map of 1613 Pee Road, Koloa, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Point at Poipu

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snorkal Mike
Business
Carol Stream, IL
Sep 14, 2012

Kauai vacation

Very nice place to stay, especially for adults. Located on rocky coastline. It has no beach but shares sand beach with adjacent Hyatt. Its not a swimming beach as water is rough there but there are nearby very nice public beaches. Our second stay and would return. Lot of space available. All units are actually two bedroom as it is a timeshare facility. Only problem was king bed was too hard and sagged terribly, in both directions ! . Queen bed in quest room was fine and what we used. Grounds are beautiful and property well kept. Nice zero depth pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Brennickes Beach restaurant excellent place to dine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shania
Business
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Nov 10, 2011

Great location and amenities

The Point at Poipu was like a home away from home. The condo included all necessities with large rooms and had a great ocean view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Lawaii beach has great snorkeling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matias
Business
NoHo, CA
Oct 24, 2011

Awesome

Loved it, could not have been better. Right on beach where you can see turtles. Pool is beach like and has nuberous of new shinny grills to BBQ

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hulagirl
Business
Campbell, CA, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Awsome Resort

My boyfriend and I had an Awesome vacation. The Point at Poipu had gorgeous scenery. It was located a short walk to Shipwrecks Beach. No complaints at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Savage Shrimp restaurant if you love shrimp.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CRP1
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Oct 18, 2011

Autumn Relaxation

Overall, we were very pleased with the entire condo complex. Our room was very clean, well equipped and comfortable. We had noisy people above, but that is not an issue with the hotel. The staff was very accommodating. We had to wait until 4:PM for our room on our arrival day and that was an inconvenience. Another conventional style swimming pool might be a nice addition, since the single "lagoon style" pool can get busy and filled with kids. Overall, an excellent value and we will return for another visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of restaurants are in close proximity, offering a variety of menus at reasonable price points. For an special night out - Roy's is hard to beat. We had a very well prepared seafood dinner with great service.The Boathouse is also exceptional offering a fantastic view and fine dining and service. Both are very expensive, so really not for families.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chezloco
Business
Kamuela, HI, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Nice place, great pool, nice staff

Check in was quick and easy, staff very friendly. The room was close to the front desk, which made things easier and could take advantage of the free wi-fi that was only available there. Parking was close to the room. I attended a conference at a property next door, and was only a ten minute walk. Condo unit had everything I needed, including a full kitchen, washer and dryer, huge bathroom with jumbo tub and shower, great view, lots of space, 3 large screen tv's. BBQs all over the property and utensils available at the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Sueoka's was a good little market with decent prices in Koloa. Good fish and meats for grilling at the BBQs near the pool.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southlake, texas
Jun 22, 2011

perfect family beach getaway

exceptional location. nice property with very nice pool. spacious rooms. walk to sandy beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

walk to shipwreck beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Mar 27, 2011

Nice large condo - some issues.

Staff excellent and helpful. Distance to parking too long and uphill from unit to parking. Pool too crowded at times need a second one with lap lanes. All two bedrooms or larger so more than enough room for two or four. Windy location with long walk or short ride to beaches. Grounds with coy fish ponds were beautiful. Overall three and 1/2 star resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping not too close and really need a car for this island to enjoy and easy to get around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shruti
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Mar 16, 2011

Well maintained, great condos

Very well designed spacious condos, the living room and both bedrooms opened to a common patio with a view of the ocean. Fully equipped kitchen - get your own condiments because the pantry is absolutely empty. I did find a few miniature cockroaches in the dishwasher, but it didn't bother me. The house keeping was excellent. The property is very well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Mar 15, 2011

Excellent location

The resort is a bit tired but the units are spacious and easy to access. Landscaping is attractive and the shoreline walk and broad views make it easy to enjoy the beauty of the ocean. We were initially assigned to a unit that faced many others and were moved to the only other one available near the spa which was an improvement only in being farther from neighbors but still without a view. It was noisier. There are several options for views when reserving and you cannot change from that option if it is a busy time. Only "ocean front" is unobstructed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top