$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2015 Check-out: Aug 16, 2015

The Point at Poipu

3 stars
View map of 1613 Pee Road, Koloa, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
28 reviews
Excellent Experience!

I couldn't have been happier with staying at the Point At Poipu. The location was perfect, right on... See full review

  • Mai Tai conquerer
  • Sep 1, 2014
Amazing Time at Poipu!

We stayed at The Point at Poipu in May 2014 with my parents and my fiancé and we had an amazing... See full review

  • Mili57
  • Sep 7, 2014
The Point at Poipu is a luxury condominium resort on 22 acres overlooking Keoneloa Bay. At its heart is a half-acre free-form pool edged on one end by lava rocks and a sandy beach, so it feels like a natural lagoon. Elegant palms, koi ponds and low-rise buildings recall the plantation era of Kauai, but condominiums are island upscale and contemporary, bright and airy with tropical prints and luxury touches, including elevator access. A path leads from The Point at Poipu to the Hyatt and Shipwreck Beach, while Poipu Beach Park is a three-minute drive.
Location
Set on a point at the southern end of Poipu, The Point at Poipu is both a peaceful retreat and near to the multitude of activities, restaurants and shopping that Poipu offers.
Rooms
Almost all of the 219 units at The Point at Poipu are two-bedroom/two-bath and especially good for families as the second room has twin beds. A pullout sofa in the living room provides extra sleeping space in these roomy 1,150-square-foot vacation homes. Every unit has a full kitchen, spacious lanai, washer/dryer and air conditioning in the bedrooms.  There is also wired Internet access (fee applies).
Property features
The Point at Poipu is an excellent choice for couples and families, hikers and golfers. Walking trails run behind the resort and along the ocean from Shipwreck Beach, and Poipu Bay Golf Course is just a mile away. For those who want to include indulgent spa treatments in their vacation activities, Anara Spa at the Hyatt is just a short walk. On-site fun includes cultural activities, from ukulele and hula lessons to basket making, as well as morning walks. There are plenty of barbecue grills for guest use and kitchens are fully equipped, but if grabbing a quick bite by the pool sounds good, the Poolside Bar & Grill is open daily and there is a Breakfast Cafe with coffee and more to go.
Highlights
  • Half-acre pool
  • Poolside grill for light dining
  • Walking and hiking trails
  • Activity program
Nearby attractions
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Kiahuna Golf Club (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (19 mi/30.6 km)
  • Kokee State Park (37 mi/60 km)
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (14.7 mi/23.7 km)
  • Taxis available
Policies
  • Please note that the Point at Poipu will have ongoing construction until 2015. Work will be conducted in daylight hours. Every effort will be taken to reduce any inconvenience to our guest.
  • Beginning January 1, 2012, a $25.00 per night resort fee for all rental and exchange reservations will be charged. The resort fee will cover Internet access, fitness centre access, parking and local calls.
  • Major credit cards or debit cards with the Visa or Master Card logo will be accepted as deposit for all guests upon check-in. No cash allowed. The deposit will be $250.00 US and shall be returned when the rooms have been inspected and no damage has been done or items are not missing. If there is damage or items missing, the guest will be charged.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Point at Poipu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Point at Poipu Rooms

One Bedroom Garden View includes free parking
One bedroom sleeps 4, 2 private (approx.967-1,100 square feet) All units have: Private Lanais Ceiling fans Fully equipped gourmet kitchen with full size refrigerator with ice maker. Washer & dryer Remote control televisions (1-master bedroom, 1-living room) Entertainment Center with CD player, DVD player, am/fm radio, in-room safe
Two Bedroom Garden View includes free parking
Two bedrooms sleeps 6 4 private (approx. 1,300-1,450 square feet) All units have: Private Lanais Ceiling fans Fully equipped gourmet kitchen with full size refrigerator with ice maker. Washer & dryer Remote control televisions (1-master bedroom, 1-living room) Entertainment Center with CD player, DVD player, am/fm radio. In-room safe

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Poolside Bar & Grill
Offers daily special and open from 9am to 8pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Point at Poipu

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shania
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Nov 10, 2011

Great location and amenities

The Point at Poipu was like a home away from home. The condo included all necessities with large rooms and had a great ocean view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Lawaii beach has great snorkeling.

Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mili57
Business
San Francisco, California
Sep 7, 2014

Amazing Time at Poipu!

We stayed at The Point at Poipu in May 2014 with my parents and my fiancé and we had an amazing time. The room was really big and clean, we had a balcony and we could eat outside every day. We really loved the hotel, the staff was great, when we arrived they offered chocolate and necklace to all of us. I definitely recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mai Tai conquerer
Business
Oahu
Sep 1, 2014

Excellent Experience!

I couldn't have been happier with staying at the Point At Poipu. The location was perfect, right on the water and walking distance to the beach. The room was just what my friends and I needed. It had a patio with a view of the ocean, and the room had a full kitchen and two bathrooms. Also, the pool was huge! And the bar and grill had really good food and drinks too. I'll definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I want out
Business
San Mateo, CA
Oct 30, 2013

Great getaway

Great room, right next to ocean, fully equipped kitchen so it is a great home away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shipwreck point
Business
Redlands
May 27, 2013

Great vacation at the Point

Great reception, wonderful room with daily service, location great for walking on the beach, wonderful pool, simple but reasonable priced food at the hotel. Easy to walk or drive to good restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ojai Bud
Business
Ojai California
May 19, 2013

Beautiful scenery and relaxing time.

From the moment we arrived until we left, we had a relaxing time. Everyone was so friendly and took very good care of us. Our Condo was upgraded from an one bedroom to a two bedroom/ 2 bath. We were located close to the pool and nearby beach which made it nice for taking our walks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JLRK
Business
Salem, Oregon
May 3, 2013

Delightful oceanside resort

Wonderful place, with beautiful location and grounds, spacious and well-equipped units, and helpful staff. Large swimming pool, lovely terraced pools filled with koi, and opportunities to walk along the coast and enjoy the ocean! They also offer the chance to use the facilities, even including locker room and shower, during the day after checking out - quite nice for those having late flights back home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flybri
Business
Elk Grove
May 1, 2013

The Point at Poipu

Excellent resort and location my only complaint is I wish the pool was a little bigger and deeper. It's great for kids though. The landscaping is amazing and the rooms are huge could easily hold four adults. I highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Hyatt Tidepools next door beutiful walk and amazing place to eat....amazing!

Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
franklind
Business
Bearberry
Feb 24, 2013

Good Location

Beautiful location--on-going construction project on site detracts somewhat from enjoyment of facility

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I want out
Business
San Mateo, CA
Oct 21, 2012

Very relaxed

Our room was very nice. With two bedrooms and two baths it is a great place for a family or two couples sharing the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snorkal Mike
Business
Carol Stream, IL
Sep 14, 2012

Kauai vacation

Very nice place to stay, especially for adults. Located on rocky coastline. It has no beach but shares sand beach with adjacent Hyatt. Its not a swimming beach as water is rough there but there are nearby very nice public beaches. Our second stay and would return. Lot of space available. All units are actually two bedroom as it is a timeshare facility. Only problem was king bed was too hard and sagged terribly, in both directions ! . Queen bed in quest room was fine and what we used. Grounds are beautiful and property well kept. Nice zero depth pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Brennickes Beach restaurant excellent place to dine.

Back to menu Return to top