$391 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

The Point at Poipu

3 stars
1613 Pee Road, Koloa, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
30 reviews
Excellent Experience!

I couldn't have been happier with staying at the Point At Poipu. The location was perfect, right on... See full review

  • Mai Tai conquerer
  • Sep 1, 2014
Amazing Time at Poipu!

We stayed at The Point at Poipu in May 2014 with my parents and my fiancé and we had an amazing... See full review

  • Mili57
  • Sep 7, 2014
Upscale vacation condominiums on the sunny south shore at Poipu
The Point at Poipu is a luxury condominium resort on 22 acres overlooking Keoneloa Bay. At its heart is a half-acre free-form pool edged on one end by lava rocks and a sandy beach, so it feels like a natural lagoon. Elegant palms, koi ponds and low-rise buildings recall the plantation era of Kauai, but condominiums are island upscale and contemporary, bright and airy with tropical prints and luxury touches, including elevator access. A path leads from The Point at Poipu to the Hyatt and Shipwreck Beach, while Poipu Beach Park is a three-minute drive.
Highlights
  • Half-acre pool
  • Poolside grill for light dining
  • Walking and hiking trails
  • Activity program
Location
Set on a point at the southern end of Poipu, The Point at Poipu is both a peaceful retreat and near to the multitude of activities, restaurants and shopping that Poipu offers.
Rooms
Almost all of the 219 units at The Point at Poipu are two-bedroom/two-bath and especially good for families as the second room has twin beds. A pullout sofa in the living room provides extra sleeping space in these roomy 1,150-square-foot vacation homes. Every unit has a full kitchen, spacious lanai, washer/dryer and air conditioning in the bedrooms.  There is also wired Internet access (fee applies).
Features
The Point at Poipu is an excellent choice for couples and families, hikers and golfers. Walking trails run behind the resort and along the ocean from Shipwreck Beach, and Poipu Bay Golf Course is just a mile away. For those who want to include indulgent spa treatments in their vacation activities, Anara Spa at the Hyatt is just a short walk. On-site fun includes cultural activities, from ukulele and hula lessons to basket making, as well as morning walks. There are plenty of barbecue grills for guest use and kitchens are fully equipped, but if grabbing a quick bite by the pool sounds good, the Poolside Bar & Grill is open daily and there is a Breakfast Cafe with coffee and more to go.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (14.7 mi/23.7 km)
  • Taxis available
Attractions
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Kiahuna Golf Club (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (19 mi/30.6 km)
  • Kokee State Park (37 mi/60 km)
Policies and fees
  • Please note that the Point at Poipu will have ongoing construction until 2015. Work will be conducted in daylight hours. Every effort will be taken to reduce any inconvenience to our guest.
  • Beginning January 1, 2012, a $25.00 per night resort fee for all rental and exchange reservations will be charged. The resort fee will cover Internet access, fitness centre access, parking and local calls.
  • Major credit cards or debit cards with the Visa or Master Card logo will be accepted as deposit for all guests upon check-in. No cash allowed. The deposit will be $250.00 US and shall be returned when the rooms have been inspected and no damage has been done or items are not missing. If there is damage or items missing, the guest will be charged.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Point at Poipu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

The Point at Poipu Rooms

One Bedroom Garden View includes free parking
One bedroom sleeps 4, 2 private (approx.967-1,100 square feet) All units have: Private Lanais Ceiling fans Fully equipped gourmet kitchen with full size refrigerator with ice maker. Washer & dryer Remote control televisions (1-master bedroom, 1-living room) Entertainment Center with CD player, DVD player, am/fm radio, in-room safe
Two Bedroom Garden View includes free parking
Two bedrooms sleeps 6 4 private (approx. 1,300-1,450 square feet) All units have: Private Lanais Ceiling fans Fully equipped gourmet kitchen with full size refrigerator with ice maker. Washer & dryer Remote control televisions (1-master bedroom, 1-living room) Entertainment Center with CD player, DVD player, am/fm radio. In-room safe

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Poolside Bar & Grill
Offers daily special and open from 9am to 8pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for The Point at Poipu

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matias
NoHo, CA
Oct 24, 2011

Awesome

Loved it, could not have been better. Right on beach where you can see turtles. Pool is beach like and has nuberous of new shinny grills to BBQ

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mili57
Business
San Francisco, California
Sep 7, 2014

Amazing Time at Poipu!

We stayed at The Point at Poipu in May 2014 with my parents and my fiancé and we had an amazing time. The room was really big and clean, we had a balcony and we could eat outside every day. We really loved the hotel, the staff was great, when we arrived they offered chocolate and necklace to all of us. I definitely recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mai Tai conquerer
Business
Oahu
Sep 1, 2014

Excellent Experience!

I couldn't have been happier with staying at the Point At Poipu. The location was perfect, right on the water and walking distance to the beach. The room was just what my friends and I needed. It had a patio with a view of the ocean, and the room had a full kitchen and two bathrooms. Also, the pool was huge! And the bar and grill had really good food and drinks too. I'll definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I want out
Business
San Mateo, CA
Oct 30, 2013

Great getaway

Great room, right next to ocean, fully equipped kitchen so it is a great home away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shipwreck point
Business
Redlands
May 27, 2013

Great vacation at the Point

Great reception, wonderful room with daily service, location great for walking on the beach, wonderful pool, simple but reasonable priced food at the hotel. Easy to walk or drive to good restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ojai Bud
Business
Ojai California
May 19, 2013

Beautiful scenery and relaxing time.

From the moment we arrived until we left, we had a relaxing time. Everyone was so friendly and took very good care of us. Our Condo was upgraded from an one bedroom to a two bedroom/ 2 bath. We were located close to the pool and nearby beach which made it nice for taking our walks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cali Father
Business
San Jose, California
May 7, 2013

A little R&R

We got a deal for one of the 2 bedroom/2bath condos and it exceeded our expectations. The staff was extremely friendly and you could expect a hello from everyone. The concierges service was great with recommendations and helped set up some activities that were discounted if you attended one of the "house showing." This was the only downside to the trip and experience. It was over 90 minutes of horrible sales pitches in which they try to lock you in to becoming an owner. Even after we said no and they requested that we than meet with the Customer Service to fill out a feedback card on our experience of the sales team, but they continued to sell. We assumed we were just going to provide him with yes or no answers, which is how the conversation began but shortly it became another sales pitch and the guy throwing down point offering at a discounted rate which would have been great if we were at all interested. I don't know how many times we said no or no thank you but they kept digging. After I gave them my clear answer they than tries to go around me when I was sitting right there and offer a deal to my wife, which only irritated both of us more. The resort is great and we would go again but next time we will spend the extra money so we are not put through another two hour ordeal, wasting everyone's time for sales people that forgot how to listen to what the customer wanted or felt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JLRK
Business
Salem, Oregon
May 3, 2013

Delightful oceanside resort

Wonderful place, with beautiful location and grounds, spacious and well-equipped units, and helpful staff. Large swimming pool, lovely terraced pools filled with koi, and opportunities to walk along the coast and enjoy the ocean! They also offer the chance to use the facilities, even including locker room and shower, during the day after checking out - quite nice for those having late flights back home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flybri
Business
Elk Grove
May 1, 2013

The Point at Poipu

Excellent resort and location my only complaint is I wish the pool was a little bigger and deeper. It's great for kids though. The landscaping is amazing and the rooms are huge could easily hold four adults. I highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Hyatt Tidepools next door beutiful walk and amazing place to eat....amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
franklind
Business
Bearberry
Feb 24, 2013

Good Location

Beautiful location--on-going construction project on site detracts somewhat from enjoyment of facility

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Point at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I want out
Business
San Mateo, CA
Oct 21, 2012

Very relaxed

Our room was very nice. With two bedrooms and two baths it is a great place for a family or two couples sharing the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top