$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

Sheraton Kauai Resort

4 stars
2440 Hoonani Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
528 reviews
Awesome location and great staff

Definitely one of the best locations on Poipu Beach -- highly recommend this place. See full review

  • The B0ST0N1AN
  • Dec 19, 2014
Travel Getaway

For the past five years, we've been travelling to Kauai. Only once did we not stay at the Sheraton... See full review

  • Justin 628
  • Oct 10, 2014
Low-rise resort for beach lovers on Kauai's sunny south coast

Sheraton Kauai Resort is the ultimate gathering place boasting magnificent oceanfront views of Poipu Beach, a convenient distance from the famous First Break Surf Spot and trendy on-site restaurants like Rumfire Poipu Beach Kauai and Lava's at Poipu Beach offering surf and turf cuisines that satisy the cost-conscious food lover. Sheraton Kauai Resort offers a perfect setting to relax, unwind and enjoy a casual or an intimate dining experience. Guests may also enjoy a light "pupu" appetizer coupled with a refreshing cocktail as they are serenaded by live local Hawaiian music amdist mango - colored skies. The Sheraton Kauai Resort offers adventure, fun-filled memories, romance and relaxation all in one place; satisfying every travel personality and providing the ultimate vacation experience.  

Highlights
  • Poipu Beach location, with gorgeous sunsets
  • Broad choice of activities included in daily resort fee
  • Fitness center open 24 hours
Location
The sunny south shore has what may be Kauai's most perfect vacation weather, plus shopping and an array of dining options. It also has one of the famous Kauai landmarks, Spouting Horn, Kauai's answer to Old Faithful. Families can walk to Poipu Beach Park where a protected ocean lagoon is safe enough for young children.
Rooms

The Sheraton Kauai Resort is the South Shore's iconic gem. Spanning over 20 acres and offering 394 rooms, that span across pristine Poipu Beach, a playground for those who embrace sun and waves, ocean front pools, and tropical gardens flowing with winding waterways and romantic bridges that create a sense of serenity. All rooms have a fresh and airy feel and offer air-conditioning, television, telephone, bath, shower, coffee making facilities, fridge and balcony or terrace. Garden view and Partial ocean view rooms are set back from the beach – with views as their respective names suggest. Deluxe oceanfront rooms are beachfront with full views of the Pacific.

Features
The Hawaiian Cultural Center at the Sheraton Kauai Resort is part gallery displaying the work of local artists, part classroom where guests learn Hawaiian arts and crafts (artist demonstrations, lei-making and hula classes included in daily resort fee). The resort supports local entertainers with its Flavors of Island Music initiative. Guests can sync with Kauai's natural side and rhythms in yoga classes on the beach several mornings each week (included in daily resort fee) and spa treatments utilizing Hawaiian techniques (fees apply). The on-site Lava's on Poipu Beach serves a selection of cocktails, local and imported wines and appetizers.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Taxis and limousines at airport
Attractions
  • Koloa Heritage Trail (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Tropical Botanical Garden Visitor Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Spouting Horn (2.5 mi/4 km)
Business
  • Sheraton Kauai Resort offers 9,900 square feet of flexible function space
  • Four thousand square feet of outdoor function space
  • Wi-Fi throughout resort (included in daily resort fee)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Kauai Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sheraton Kauai Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View
Our spacious 510-square feet deluxe garden view rooms overlook lushly landscaped tropical gardens. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Garden View
The 410-square-feet garden rooms offer views of lushly landscaped tropical gardens. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Deluxe Ocean Front
Our spacious 510-square feet oceanfront rooms offer magnificent views of the ocean. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Partial Ocean View
Located in the Garden Wing, our partial ocean view rooms (410 square feet) are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Lava's
Boasting magnificent oceanfront views, of Poipu Beach and the famous First Break Surf Spot. A perfect setting to relax, unwind, and enjoy grilled selections and refreshing specialty drinks. Catch stunning sunsets and tropical breezes as you celebrate a relaxing afternoon or early evening with refreshing cocktails and delectable cuisine. Open daily for lunch, dinner and happy hour alongside evening entertainment. Hours 10:30 am - 5:00 pm.
Room Service
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
The Link Cafe
6:30 am - 11:00 am
Rumfire
Rumfire at Poipu Beach will take you on a Hawaiian rooted journey with global influences and 180 degrees of unmatched views of the Pacific Ocean. Our chef's prepare distinctive cuisine with local island flair. With its sensible menu selections, Rumfire's cuisine resonates with the eclectic yet contemporary food lovers. Whether your palate desires seafood, flatbreads, or beef or you are looking for a celebratory destination, Rumfire will certainly satisfy with worldly flavor coupled with a Hawaiian twist. Breakfast Buffet: 6:30 - 11:00 am Dinner Service: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm Bar Service: 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Indoor facilities include the 5,900-square feet Poipu Ballroom, the adjacent open-air foyer, and the newly opened 2,200-square feet Koloa Junior Ballroom and adjoining terrace. Both ballrooms are divisible into three separate rooms. Additionally, we offer the Lawai Room, which opened in 2000, and the Executive Board Room, both of which are divisible into two separate rooms. A total of 15,000 square feet of outdoor function space, ranging from a Luau Lawn to two beachfront lawns and popular wedding sites, are also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (528)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kauai Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 528
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gonzalo Raider fan
Business
Fresno, California
Nov 16, 2014

location

We were stuck at first across the street away from the rest of our group but after looking at there location and room we felt cheated. It was the same cost but smaller rooms. We spoke to the receptionist and they moved us across the street on the garden area but much closer to the pool and the ocean and friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rum Fire great dinning and location at the hotel. It was better then Roy stake house down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yola MizLiz
Business
San Jose, California
May 21, 2014

Kauai vacation

We had a great experience here! The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and the beds were amazingly comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
La Mexicana
Business
Idaho
Dec 21, 2013

Fabulous single getaway

Amazing, Lovely, quiet, the problem is this hotel has 2 sides. We like the side where they have the lobby, the other side crossing the street needs ALOT of upgrades, specially the hot water. Booking with mayor webs sites to save a little you dont know what you get until you arrived. :-( when we arrived we have to pay upgrade to stay at the lobby side, garden view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The best coffee, sushi, restaurants, snorkeling. JST. FABULOUS.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BitsBocker
Business
Fullerton
Apr 1, 2013

Sheraton Resort, Kauai, HI

For the price, it was good. However, for a guy like me, that has raised my two familys, I take vacations to relax, not be around a lot of little kids, screaming, crying, yelling, etc. I was always quite after 10PM, but next time I go to Hawaii, I am going to seek out a residence for rent, that isn't quite so kid friendly. This place is great if you want a kid friendly place, and to me, it seemed most of the people brought kids, and hey, thats great, they need a good time too! And it wasn't bad, but I only got to go in the Jacuzzi once in a week cause it was alway full, and mostly with kids. The ocean view room I had was nice, and the maid kept it clean. The trip was great, and I got to rest a lot. Got kids, like kids, this place is great. Want to be away from kids, go someplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best dinner I had was at Tidepools over at the Hyatt. Great Prime Rib, and the Fish was great too. Beachhouse, went twice, Over rated. The filet mignon was terrible, sent it back, acidic tasting. Cook oversalts everything. The fish wasabi crusted fish dish was good. Tidepools was great! I'll do that again and again!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chartruce
Business
Santa Cruz
Sep 16, 2012

Fantastic hotel with great service !

We had a great vacation on Kauiai. The staff was great and the room was VERY clean !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Bodyguard
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Aug 22, 2012

Perfect Place for the Summer

The staff, facilities and location are the best I have found in the entire state. Please keep it a secret!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Edina
Business
Utah, USA
Mar 26, 2012

One of my favorite places

I always stay at the Sheraton. The location and private beach are one of the main reasons. I have never been disapointed. It was still a good stay even though they are going through construction. I missed the resurants. Lava's was the only one open and it was only marginal. The food used to be better but again the resturants aren't open right now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Keoki's Paradise

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
love sun
Business
Redondo Beach, CA, USA
Mar 10, 2012

great location

Nice hotel but they were renovating while we were there. Upgrade to main building is a must. The basic rooms are small and too far from the beach. Gym needs more equipment; inadequate for the number of guests using it. Needs a nice spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Relaxed and Rejuvinated
Business
Rescue, CA
Jan 28, 2012

Almost Heaven

We were here from Jan 17-27. Overall the location won out over any complaints, but the construction was a major issue...noisy, smelly and intrusive. Also, paying extra for a "partial ocean view" was a complete waste of money. The beach, garden and pool areas are beautiful. During construction there is only one restaurant on site and no hotel shop in which to pick up needed items...it's a long long walk to the nearest store. Weather was great; snorkeling was moderate; hotel activities staff booked us on a wonderful 5-hr whale watching boat trip...saw lots of whales, dolphins and turtles. Mahalo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We booked the shuttle bus from the airport to hotel and back. Rented a car in the hotel after our arrival. It was much less hassle than dealing with luggage and returns at the airport and we had door to door service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Local girl
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Poipu beach area good location!

Beach and grounds at Sheraton Kauai were beautiful. Even though all of the employees and staff were friendly, front desk service was extremley slow the three times we had to use them. Perhaps due to the busy holiday season? (They only had 3 desk people working maximum each time). With the construction going on, there was an entire section of shops and anemities missing but luckily two small shopping malls were within fairly close walking distance. Lava bar by the pool was yummy! The worst part of our experience was the (building 5) units we stayed in had extremely poor insulation so the noise factor was an issue. With people taking baths and showers at all hours of the night and early morning and the opening and closing of the patio and front doors was jarring to wake up to. That was unfortunate but we made due since we were in paradise. Kauai island was gorgeous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top