$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Sheraton Kauai Resort

4 stars
2440 Hoonani Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
527 reviews
Travel Getaway

For the past five years, we've been travelling to Kauai. Only once did we not stay at the Sheraton... See full review

  • Justin 628
  • Oct 10, 2014
Wonderful hotel

The hotel was amazing. Great pool & beach. Staff was professional & friendly. 3 choices of... See full review

  • Lamw18
  • Sep 2, 2014
Low-rise resort for beach lovers on Kauai's sunny south coast

Sheraton Kauai Resort is the ultimate gathering place boasting magnificent oceanfront views of Poipu Beach, a convenient distance from the famous First Break Surf Spot and trendy on-site restaurants like Rumfire Poipu Beach Kauai and Lava's at Poipu Beach offering surf and turf cuisines that satisy the cost-conscious food lover. Sheraton Kauai Resort offers a perfect setting to relax, unwind and enjoy a casual or an intimate dining experience. Guests may also enjoy a light "pupu" appetizer coupled with a refreshing cocktail as they are serenaded by live local Hawaiian music amdist mango - colored skies. The Sheraton Kauai Resort offers adventure, fun-filled memories, romance and relaxation all in one place; satisfying every travel personality and providing the ultimate vacation experience.  

Highlights
  • Poipu Beach location, with gorgeous sunsets
  • Broad choice of activities included in daily resort fee
  • Fitness center open 24 hours
Location
The sunny south shore has what may be Kauai's most perfect vacation weather, plus shopping and an array of dining options. It also has one of the famous Kauai landmarks, Spouting Horn, Kauai's answer to Old Faithful. Families can walk to Poipu Beach Park where a protected ocean lagoon is safe enough for young children.
Rooms

The Sheraton Kauai Resort is the South Shore's iconic gem. Spanning over 20 acres and offering 394 rooms, that span across pristine Poipu Beach, a playground for those who embrace sun and waves, ocean front pools, and tropical gardens flowing with winding waterways and romantic bridges that create a sense of serenity. All rooms have a fresh and airy feel and offer air-conditioning, television, telephone, bath, shower, coffee making facilities, fridge and balcony or terrace. Garden view and Partial ocean view rooms are set back from the beach – with views as their respective names suggest. Deluxe oceanfront rooms are beachfront with full views of the Pacific.

Features
The Hawaiian Cultural Center at the Sheraton Kauai Resort is part gallery displaying the work of local artists, part classroom where guests learn Hawaiian arts and crafts (artist demonstrations, lei-making and hula classes included in daily resort fee). The resort supports local entertainers with its Flavors of Island Music initiative. Guests can sync with Kauai's natural side and rhythms in yoga classes on the beach several mornings each week (included in daily resort fee) and spa treatments utilizing Hawaiian techniques (fees apply). The on-site Lava's on Poipu Beach serves a selection of cocktails, local and imported wines and appetizers.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Taxis and limousines at airport
Attractions
  • Koloa Heritage Trail (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Tropical Botanical Garden Visitor Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Spouting Horn (2.5 mi/4 km)
Business
  • Sheraton Kauai Resort offers 9,900 square feet of flexible function space
  • Four thousand square feet of outdoor function space
  • Wi-Fi throughout resort (included in daily resort fee)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Kauai Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sheraton Kauai Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View
Our spacious 510-square feet deluxe garden view rooms overlook lushly landscaped tropical gardens. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Garden View
The 410-square-feet garden rooms offer views of lushly landscaped tropical gardens. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Deluxe Ocean Front
Our spacious 510-square feet oceanfront rooms offer magnificent views of the ocean. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Partial Ocean View
Located in the Garden Wing, our partial ocean view rooms (410 square feet) are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Lava's
Boasting magnificent oceanfront views, of Poipu Beach and the famous First Break Surf Spot. A perfect setting to relax, unwind, and enjoy grilled selections and refreshing specialty drinks. Catch stunning sunsets and tropical breezes as you celebrate a relaxing afternoon or early evening with refreshing cocktails and delectable cuisine. Open daily for lunch, dinner and happy hour alongside evening entertainment. Hours 10:30 am - 5:00 pm.
Room Service
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
The Link Cafe
6:30 am - 11:00 am
Rumfire
Rumfire at Poipu Beach will take you on a Hawaiian rooted journey with global influences and 180 degrees of unmatched views of the Pacific Ocean. Our chef's prepare distinctive cuisine with local island flair. With its sensible menu selections, Rumfire's cuisine resonates with the eclectic yet contemporary food lovers. Whether your palate desires seafood, flatbreads, or beef or you are looking for a celebratory destination, Rumfire will certainly satisfy with worldly flavor coupled with a Hawaiian twist. Breakfast Buffet: 6:30 - 11:00 am Dinner Service: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm Bar Service: 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Indoor facilities include the 5,900-square feet Poipu Ballroom, the adjacent open-air foyer, and the newly opened 2,200-square feet Koloa Junior Ballroom and adjoining terrace. Both ballrooms are divisible into three separate rooms. Additionally, we offer the Lawai Room, which opened in 2000, and the Executive Board Room, both of which are divisible into two separate rooms. A total of 15,000 square feet of outdoor function space, ranging from a Luau Lawn to two beachfront lawns and popular wedding sites, are also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (527)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kauai Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
527 out of 527
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mike n Linda
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jan 11, 2011

Property In Very Poor Condition

This Hotel property is in VERY POOR condition. The room has strong odor of damp mold. Bath has black mold stains on tile in tub area. The pool is literally falling apart with dangerous cracks in tile around perimeter. The pool was so filthy dirty we wouldn't even go in the water. The Hot Tub is so filthy you cannot even see to the shallow bottom! Very dissappointed in the condition of this resort. If this is any indication of the quality at Sheraton Resorts we will avoid them at all costs in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the "doors off" Helicopter tour from Port Allen airport! Island Helicopters. The BEST activity we did during our weeklong stay on Kauai!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Place
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Jan 26, 2012

Do not book garden view room

We stayed for a week in the garden view room. We Might as well have stayed at a different hotel. The rooms were TINY, in desperate need of a remodel, and across the road from the rest of the hotel, and dirty. The staff was unhelpful in local areas, they were more intersted in nickle and diming you on everything. There are rental fees for everyhing to do with the hotel, even though you are paying a 25 dollar resort fee. Oh and the remodeling in the garden view area is constant. The location of the hotel is nice as it is right on the beach, but the beach is so crowded we ended up going to Other beaches anyway. Restaurants around the hotel were very expensive too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not again 2013
Business
Seattle
Mar 29, 2013

View rooms with no view

I booked what was called a partial ocean view room at a "beachfront" resort. For this I paid a premium over a non view room. I was shocked to find at check in that my room was actually ACROSS THE STREET from the main hotel, on the ground floor and the only view was if you stood at the sliding door and looked over the parked cars there was a peak-a-boo view of the ocean (if you were tall enough). When I complained I was told there were no other rooms available. They did lower the price to a non view room price however this was higher than the price that I could have gotten for this room at the time of actual booking. In addition I couldnt get a "refund" but only a resort credit as I had booked through this site--not the hotel directly .In addition the quality of the room was similar to what one would expect at a low end chain hotel. Tiny bathroom and shower, single sink, no door between sink and bed. The refrigerator was so loud we had to unplug it at night to sleep. Overall they did not come close to meeting my expectations of a this resort brand. The beach was nice, pool area and common areas were OK but nothing special. I would not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tortilla Factory--excellent menu and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HonestJoey
Business
Hawaii
Feb 10, 2014

Rental Camaro got KEYED!

Unless you spend a lot of money and UPGRADE to BEACH FRONT or VALET EVERYNIGHT. Expect to be stuffed in the back ~200 yards away from everything where you CANT see the beach or even the parking lot! If you choose free parking, you have to park on the street, where cars get KEYED and vandalized. My rental CAMARO got KEYED, nice way to ruin a morning. Security and hotel staff said they can do nothing because I did not valet the car. THEY HAVE NO FREE PARKING LOTS that are managed or maintained by them, everything may seem like it is on there property, but the road on between the hotel that they say is "free parking" is city and county property. I DO NOT recommend this hotel unless you like spending 32$ a day resort fee and an additional 10$ a day for valet - parking in the mud/dirt. AND don't forget to upgrade to beach front just to be comfortably.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
super shahab
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 5, 2014

this should be a 2 star hotel rating

So from the moment we got there the lady was rude and unhelpful. She had a nasty attitude and told us that our reservation was for 2 beds and she couldnt do anything about it because it was booked online. Next our room was an upgrade to a partial ocean view but it was on the first floor and the only thing you can see is the garden and parking lot. Furthermore, there were alot of spiders in the room. My leg is full of bug bites. It was probably because we were on the first floor because my friends didnt have that issue. Next you have to cross a street between your rooms and the main lobby if your not ocean view deluxe. It was a weird set up. Beach is very mediocre and pool is nothing special. ( 2 steps above a motel people). If ever come back to Kaui I would go there…...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

a number of grood restaurants within walking distance + grandhyatt has some nice restaurants as well..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SF
Oct 12, 2010

Rude & unhelpful

I booked this hotel as a starting point for my honeymoon & was unpleasantly surprised by the staff. We asked for a different room as the resort view we'd paid for had been replaced by a car park & a building site; both backing onto the main highway. I mentioned this to the front desk, complaining I'd imagined having a peaceful dinner out on our balcony and that this wouldn't be possible. She responded with "wait until it gets dark & you won't be able to see the building site". They made very little effort to accommodate us & I got the distinct impression that we weren't on their priority list. I won't be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chico, CA
Sep 7, 2010

Worst resort ever!

Almost everything we wanted to see and most restaurants were several miles away. The rooms were small for the price, and not user friendly and convenient. We had to park 3 or 4 blocks away, as we did not want to pay for valet parking. The elevator didn't work at first, and when they got it fixed, it was still very noisy and very, very slow, as if it was still not working correctly. The laundry area was outside, and half of the machines were out of order. My husband asked for help with our bags, and no one responded. The room was in need of some updating repairs and not terribly clean. The price to get breakfast included was way out of line with the upper class hotels on Waikiki, for instance. And someone else's wine or champagne trash sat in front of the door of our room for 5 days. Some staff person could have easily picked it up and disposed of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Entertainment was only available for diners in their high end restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nothereagain
Business
Fort Myers, Florida
Dec 6, 2010

I would not stay here ever

This is a dump. It may have been nice 30 years ago, but it does not appear to have been updated since it was built. I stayed one night and left the next morning and stayed at a different hotel. Sheraton advertises this as a 4 star. I would rate it a two star minus. It is better than a motel 6, but for the money it was a DUMP!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westlake Village
Jun 26, 2009

This Sheraton Stinks

Unfortunately, NOTHING was good about this hotel. 1. They put us up in a building across the street and down the road from the main building. 2. The room was unlocked when we walked in. I called the front desk to let them know -- they could care less (and wondered why I bothered to call!) 3. The "new" beds were far from what eas advertised as the best night's sleep. Very soft, saggy in the middle. 4. The air conditioner, despite a brand new wall mounted thermostat, still operated through a unit sitting on the floor -- right next to my bed. I had two choices: boil from the heat, or let the A/C unit blow right on me. 5. The walls were paper thin -- you could everything in the rooms next door and out in the corridor. 6. The phone would disconnect mid-call. 7. The TV was new, but we didn't use it. 8. The pool closed at 9 PM. Why so early? They provided pool towels, but after 8 PM you had to trek way back to the front desk bellman to get them. God forbid they'd tell us that before we got to the pool. 9. They charged a $17 "Resort" charge over and above what they billed me on Orbitz. I was told about this in advance, but expected I'd get SOMETHING for it. Other than a bill. 10. OK, some positives (but these would be givens anywhere else): they had a dedicated PC for airline check-in; the check-in desk people were friendly and thorough (of course, I was so friendly that the line wasn't budging...).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Save your money and go to a different hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 23, 2010

Honua Kai Resort, Maui HI

Hotel is great, services and staff are horrendous. No room service on multiple days even after requesting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Maui brewing company is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top