$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 31, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

Sheraton Kauai Resort

4 stars
2440 Hoonani Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
529 reviews
Sheratons always a safe bet!

We go to Hawaii very year, sometimes twice, and have for 25 years. When we were younger we always... See full review

  • Jeffrey w.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Awesome location and great staff

Definitely one of the best locations on Poipu Beach -- highly recommend this place. See full review

  • The B0ST0N1AN
  • Dec 19, 2014
Low-rise resort for beach lovers on Kauai's sunny south coast

Sheraton Kauai Resort is the ultimate gathering place boasting magnificent oceanfront views of Poipu Beach, a convenient distance from the famous First Break Surf Spot and trendy on-site restaurants like Rumfire Poipu Beach Kauai and Lava's at Poipu Beach offering surf and turf cuisines that satisy the cost-conscious food lover. Sheraton Kauai Resort offers a perfect setting to relax, unwind and enjoy a casual or an intimate dining experience. Guests may also enjoy a light "pupu" appetizer coupled with a refreshing cocktail as they are serenaded by live local Hawaiian music amdist mango - colored skies. The Sheraton Kauai Resort offers adventure, fun-filled memories, romance and relaxation all in one place; satisfying every travel personality and providing the ultimate vacation experience.  

Highlights
  • Poipu Beach location, with gorgeous sunsets
  • Broad choice of activities included in daily resort fee
  • Fitness center open 24 hours
Location
The sunny south shore has what may be Kauai's most perfect vacation weather, plus shopping and an array of dining options. It also has one of the famous Kauai landmarks, Spouting Horn, Kauai's answer to Old Faithful. Families can walk to Poipu Beach Park where a protected ocean lagoon is safe enough for young children.
Rooms

The Sheraton Kauai Resort is the South Shore's iconic gem. Spanning over 20 acres and offering 394 rooms, that span across pristine Poipu Beach, a playground for those who embrace sun and waves, ocean front pools, and tropical gardens flowing with winding waterways and romantic bridges that create a sense of serenity. All rooms have a fresh and airy feel and offer air-conditioning, television, telephone, bath, shower, coffee making facilities, fridge and balcony or terrace. Garden view and Partial ocean view rooms are set back from the beach – with views as their respective names suggest. Deluxe oceanfront rooms are beachfront with full views of the Pacific.

Features
The Hawaiian Cultural Center at the Sheraton Kauai Resort is part gallery displaying the work of local artists, part classroom where guests learn Hawaiian arts and crafts (artist demonstrations, lei-making and hula classes included in daily resort fee). The resort supports local entertainers with its Flavors of Island Music initiative. Guests can sync with Kauai's natural side and rhythms in yoga classes on the beach several mornings each week (included in daily resort fee) and spa treatments utilizing Hawaiian techniques (fees apply). The on-site Lava's on Poipu Beach serves a selection of cocktails, local and imported wines and appetizers.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Taxis and limousines at airport
Attractions
  • Koloa Heritage Trail (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Tropical Botanical Garden Visitor Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Spouting Horn (2.5 mi/4 km)
Business
  • Sheraton Kauai Resort offers 9,900 square feet of flexible function space
  • Four thousand square feet of outdoor function space
  • Wi-Fi throughout resort (included in daily resort fee)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Kauai Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sheraton Kauai Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View
Our spacious 510-square feet deluxe garden view rooms overlook lushly landscaped tropical gardens. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Garden View
The 410-square-feet garden rooms offer views of lushly landscaped tropical gardens. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Deluxe Ocean Front
Our spacious 510-square feet oceanfront rooms offer magnificent views of the ocean. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Partial Ocean View
Located in the Garden Wing, our partial ocean view rooms (410 square feet) are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Indoor facilities include the 5,900-square feet Poipu Ballroom, the adjacent open-air foyer, and the newly opened 2,200-square feet Koloa Junior Ballroom and adjoining terrace. Both ballrooms are divisible into three separate rooms. Additionally, we offer the Lawai Room, which opened in 2000, and the Executive Board Room, both of which are divisible into two separate rooms. A total of 15,000 square feet of outdoor function space, ranging from a Luau Lawn to two beachfront lawns and popular wedding sites, are also available.

Dining

Lava's
Boasting magnificent oceanfront views, of Poipu Beach and the famous First Break Surf Spot. A perfect setting to relax, unwind, and enjoy grilled selections and refreshing specialty drinks. Catch stunning sunsets and tropical breezes as you celebrate a relaxing afternoon or early evening with refreshing cocktails and delectable cuisine. Open daily for lunch, dinner and happy hour alongside evening entertainment. Hours 10:30 am - 5:00 pm.
Room Service
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
The Link Cafe
6:30 am - 11:00 am
Rumfire
Rumfire at Poipu Beach will take you on a Hawaiian rooted journey with global influences and 180 degrees of unmatched views of the Pacific Ocean. Our chef's prepare distinctive cuisine with local island flair. With its sensible menu selections, Rumfire's cuisine resonates with the eclectic yet contemporary food lovers. Whether your palate desires seafood, flatbreads, or beef or you are looking for a celebratory destination, Rumfire will certainly satisfy with worldly flavor coupled with a Hawaiian twist. Breakfast Buffet: 6:30 - 11:00 am Dinner Service: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm Bar Service: 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (529)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kauai Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
529 out of 529
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 24, 2008

Great Get-a-Way Hotel

I was warmly greeted, shown to my room by a very couteous bellstaff and found check-out very easy. I definately would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rasonably priced local market in Koloa. Rental cars are a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland Oregon
Oct 28, 2010

Honua Kai

We had a wonderful time in Hawaii and this hotel helped make the trip amazing. Great place to stay and we are already planning to go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amazing
Business
Vancouver, BC
Dec 6, 2010

Amazing

Very modern, beautiful suites with full kitchen, washer/dryer, felt like we were at home. Very clean, friendly staff. Grounds/pools were beautiful. We will absolutely go back. We went on our honeymoon, so the only down side was there were a lot of families with young kids there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Times supermarket very close. We bought groceries and made many meals to save money. There is also a small gourmet supermarket in the hotel, but a bit expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marge
Business
Livermore, CA
Dec 12, 2010

Well worth the money!

We were at first apprehensive about staying there as there were some negative reviews about this hotel. Dispite that, the travel package we selected with the Deluxe Ocean Front room, turned out great. The room was spacious, the balcony view of the ocean beautiful, and we did't hear any loud noises or run into any crowds anywhere on the premises. The GO GREEN program involving reduced maid service was a real incentive to conserve. Only one incident occurred at the concierge desk that surprised me. Apparently, all incoming guests receive a welcome gift of a shoppig bag with the Sheraton logo on it. Unfortunately, my bag handle ripped so I went back to ask for a replacement. According to the hostess (Victoria),the policy is I have to bring back the damaged bag for an exchange. Additionally, it may or may not be replaced depending on if there are any extras - they are accountable items, one bag per guestroom. (I already threw the bag away at the shopping mall.) This type of policy is so out of line with an upscale hotel, unclassy, demeaning to the guest because it implies that the guest is either being untruthful about the damaged bag or trying to con the hotel into giving them a new bag...whatever...it was only a paper/cloth bag maybe costing the hotel $1. Sheraton should have been gracious and given me a replacement. I gave the hotel 5 stars anyway because my family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CTDT
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Sep 25, 2011

great place to stay for family or romantic getaway

Beautiful resort. concierge service excellent. my husband and I had a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

contact concierge for planning excursions ahead of time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HappyHawaiiTravelers
Business
Ellensburg, WA, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Wonderful Trip

My husband and I just got back from spending 5 days at the Sheraton Resort in Kauai and had a great time! The hotel is beautiful, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the location was perfect! The 2 pools are awesome, and we loved walking the grounds exploring the many koi ponds. We stayed in one of the Garden View rooms on the 3rd level. Although our room was not advertised as a "partial ocean view", we did have a little peek of the ocean! Construction is still underway for the new restraunt, but noise was always kept to a minimum, and besides seeing a few constructrion workers and a couple pieces of machenery, we were never bothered by the remodeling. All in all, we had a great first trip to Hawaii, and we can't wait to come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JJJMM
Business
Albuquerque, NM, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Perfect location *.*

You'll be suprised at how wonderful. The hotel itself, surrounding nature, and weather! Everything is waiting for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rtek
Business
Chilliwack, BC, Canada
Nov 16, 2011

Fantastic Hotel

Even with the construction (which was hardly noticeable) this is a fantastic hotel. Stayed here from Nov 6th-13th in an ocean view room and loved it. The pool, location, newly renovated property, staff was great. We were a little concerned by all the negative reviews due to the construction, but ignore them, you'll love this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hawaii4life
Business
Cedar Lake, IN, USA
Dec 3, 2011

wildlife hotel experience

This hotel experience was wonderful. What lacks in a basic room makes up for it on the outside. I will say we were upgraded to a partisl ocean view room right when we arrived. Some of the hotel is still under construction but you don't really notice. Other than that, our first full day there we woke up earlier and headed straight for the hotel beach. There we saw two seals and six sea turtles less than five feet from us!! The hotel grounds were nice and the staff was ever so welcoming. Mark at lava poolside bar was a friendly bartender. Mariko helped us book our excursions around the island and she was so funny, helpful, and honest. Truly our overall stay was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do the Na' pali coast tour by raft boat or as our attraction guide called it 'bouncy ride'. We chose Kauai sea tours and had the best guides Justin and Shawn. In this tour, although its like riding a bull at sometimes, you get to go inside the caves on the coast which is the most amazing thing you will ever lay eyes on. If you just to the catamaran you cannot go in these caves. So worth the money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bkbruce
Business
Texas
Dec 25, 2011

Loved this place!

My fiancé and I got engaged right on the beach in front of the hotel and it couldn't have been more perfect! Our room was right on the water away from the pool and bar. We left the door open every night and fell asleep to the sound of the ocean. The construction wasn't too bad but once it's all done this place will be AMAZING! We plan on going back for our honeymoon and anniversaries!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tomcats in Koloa is a great place to eat! It's laid back and the food and service was wonderful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top