$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Sheraton Kauai Resort

4 stars
2440 Hoonani Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
523 reviews
Wonderful hotel

The hotel was amazing. Great pool & beach. Staff was professional & friendly. 3 choices of... See full review

  • Lamw18
  • Sep 2, 2014
Good summer surf

Everything was perfect. The surf, dining , weather, shopping and environment . See full review

  • Devo
  • Sep 1, 2014
Low-rise resort for beach lovers on Kauai's sunny south coast

Sheraton Kauai Resort is the ultimate gathering place boasting magnificent oceanfront views of Poipu Beach, a convenient distance from the famous First Break Surf Spot and trendy on-site restaurants like Rumfire Poipu Beach Kauai and Lava's at Poipu Beach offering surf and turf cuisines that satisy the cost-conscious food lover. Sheraton Kauai Resort offers a perfect setting to relax, unwind and enjoy a casual or an intimate dining experience. Guests may also enjoy a light "pupu" appetizer coupled with a refreshing cocktail as they are serenaded by live local Hawaiian music amdist mango - colored skies. The Sheraton Kauai Resort offers adventure, fun-filled memories, romance and relaxation all in one place; satisfying every travel personality and providing the ultimate vacation experience.  

Highlights
  • Poipu Beach location, with gorgeous sunsets
  • Broad choice of activities included in daily resort fee
  • Fitness center open 24 hours
Location
The sunny south shore has what may be Kauai's most perfect vacation weather, plus shopping and an array of dining options. It also has one of the famous Kauai landmarks, Spouting Horn, Kauai's answer to Old Faithful. Families can walk to Poipu Beach Park where a protected ocean lagoon is safe enough for young children.
Rooms

The Sheraton Kauai Resort is the South Shore's iconic gem. Spanning over 20 acres and offering 394 rooms, that span across pristine Poipu Beach, a playground for those who embrace sun and waves, ocean front pools, and tropical gardens flowing with winding waterways and romantic bridges that create a sense of serenity. All rooms have a fresh and airy feel and offer air-conditioning, television, telephone, bath, shower, coffee making facilities, fridge and balcony or terrace. Garden view and Partial ocean view rooms are set back from the beach – with views as their respective names suggest. Deluxe oceanfront rooms are beachfront with full views of the Pacific.

Features
The Hawaiian Cultural Center at the Sheraton Kauai Resort is part gallery displaying the work of local artists, part classroom where guests learn Hawaiian arts and crafts (artist demonstrations, lei-making and hula classes included in daily resort fee). The resort supports local entertainers with its Flavors of Island Music initiative. Guests can sync with Kauai's natural side and rhythms in yoga classes on the beach several mornings each week (included in daily resort fee) and spa treatments utilizing Hawaiian techniques (fees apply). The on-site Lava's on Poipu Beach serves a selection of cocktails, local and imported wines and appetizers.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Taxis and limousines at airport
Attractions
  • Koloa Heritage Trail (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Tropical Botanical Garden Visitor Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Spouting Horn (2.5 mi/4 km)
Business
  • Sheraton Kauai Resort offers 9,900 square feet of flexible function space
  • Four thousand square feet of outdoor function space
  • Wi-Fi throughout resort (included in daily resort fee)

Hotel Map

21.8767 -159.461
Area served
Kauai, Poipu Beach, Lihue
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Airport, Kauai
Area description
Sightseeing on Kauai is a must, not only to experience the spectacular scenic beauty, but also for the adventure and fun in traveling to each wonder - on horseback, by catamaran or raft, by kayak or helicopter, bicycle or on foot to name just a few. Poipu Shopping Village - 1.0 mi/1.6 km Kiahuna Golf Course - 1.0 mi/1.6 km Spouting Horn - 2.0 mi/3.2 km Historic Old Koloa Town - 2.0 mi/3.2 km Poipu Bay Resort Golf Course - 3.0 Waimea Canyon-25.0 mi/40.2 km

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Kauai Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sheraton Kauai Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View
Our spacious 510-square feet deluxe garden view rooms overlook lushly landscaped tropical gardens. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Garden View
The 410-square-feet garden rooms offer views of lushly landscaped tropical gardens. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Deluxe Ocean Front
Our spacious 510-square feet oceanfront rooms offer magnificent views of the ocean. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Partial Ocean View
Located in the Garden Wing, our partial ocean view rooms (410 square feet) are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Indoor facilities include the 5,900-square feet Poipu Ballroom, the adjacent open-air foyer, and the newly opened 2,200-square feet Koloa Junior Ballroom and adjoining terrace. Both ballrooms are divisible into three separate rooms. Additionally, we offer the Lawai Room, which opened in 2000, and the Executive Board Room, both of which are divisible into two separate rooms. A total of 15,000 square feet of outdoor function space, ranging from a Luau Lawn to two beachfront lawns and popular wedding sites, are also available.

Dining

Lava's
Boasting magnificent oceanfront views, of Poipu Beach and the famous First Break Surf Spot. A perfect setting to relax, unwind, and enjoy grilled selections and refreshing specialty drinks. Catch stunning sunsets and tropical breezes as you celebrate a relaxing afternoon or early evening with refreshing cocktails and delectable cuisine. Open daily for lunch, dinner and happy hour alongside evening entertainment. Hours 10:30 am - 5:00 pm.
Room Service
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
The Link Cafe
6:30 am - 11:00 am
Rumfire
Rumfire at Poipu Beach will take you on a Hawaiian rooted journey with global influences and 180 degrees of unmatched views of the Pacific Ocean. Our chef's prepare distinctive cuisine with local island flair. With its sensible menu selections, Rumfire's cuisine resonates with the eclectic yet contemporary food lovers. Whether your palate desires seafood, flatbreads, or beef or you are looking for a celebratory destination, Rumfire will certainly satisfy with worldly flavor coupled with a Hawaiian twist. Breakfast Buffet: 6:30 - 11:00 am Dinner Service: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm Bar Service: 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (523)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kauai Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
523 out of 523
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rock91
Hollister, Ca
Aug 5, 2013

Great vist

The Sheraton met all of our expectations. Great job to all the staff. Thank you .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequentvacationers
Orlando
Jun 28, 2013

Pretty good all round

Great location and very helpful staff. Rooms are housed in seven different blocks. Didn't get an ocean view room which would have been fantastic but all rooms in all blocks have a view of some kind, be it Garden or Mountain views. Property is very well looked after. Lovely beach location, and pretty good pool side hotel cafe/bar (Lava's), although it closes for full menu way too early (5pm), and thereafter offers a pretty restricted "snack" menu, I guess this is to force patrons into the more expensive full blown restaurant. On site Starbucks was a great benefit also. I went by to check out the Hyatt and the Marriott also, and much preferred the location and beach at the Sheraton. All in all a good place to stay, great grounds, nice pool area, great beach, good media room and PC access if needed, thoroughly enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Several great dinning options less than 1 mile from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cleo Wondercat
Sacramento, California
Jun 25, 2013

Wonderful short vacation

Time-wise, we could only afford a few days in Kauai. the Sheraton was perfect in every way: nice room, great restaurants, beautiful and immaculate grounds. The beach chaises are what we went for, and they couldn't have been better: plenty of them, all either by the pool or on the adjacent beach. There were frequent and smiling offers for refreshments that were not bothersome. The concierge, desk clerks and valets all helped us in some special way, to complete satisfaction. We very much enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you don't know Kauai, don't leave the airport without a good map, especially at night. We had some trouble finding the Sheraton from oral directions given us by the car rental clerk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Qarlik76
Palatine Il
Jun 20, 2013

Fantastic

Great location on Poipu beach. I'm not entirely sure, but I think it's the only hotel directly on the beach, but only if you book an ocean front room. The rest of the hotel options, garden view, ocean view are across the access road, and a short walk from the beach and other resort facilities. The rooms are large and very comfortable. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Good snorkeling right off the beach, and surfers galore just off the resort grounds. If you splurge on an ocean front ( highly recommended), request the far east wing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Food...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChattaDave
Chattanooga
Jun 17, 2013

Great Vacation

The hotel is beautiful and in a great location, close to great restaurants and lots to do. Its also on the south side if the island where the weather is the best and the beach is amazing. The main and really only complaint I have is the Internet WiFi is horrible... very slow and intermittent connection, even with our room being by the pool and ocean (not like we were at the far end of the hotel or anything). Anyway, I wouldn't let this deter you from staying there but hope the hotel sees this and does something about it.... I would have given 5 stars otherwise :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Upgrade to the pool area if possible! It's worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Simo556
Los Angeles, ca
May 29, 2013

Amazing!

Amazing experience! The beach is beautiful and quiet, very peaceful :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wyoming Bound
Jackson, WY
May 27, 2013

Hawaii 2013

While the Sheraton may have nice properties, this is not one of them...and, they treat you as if you are a hapless first time visitor to the islands, oh, probably because only a first time visitor would ever stay in this resort...take my advice, stay up the road at the Hyatt...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Beach House or Red Salt

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
White Wizard
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
May 27, 2013

30th Anniversary

The hotel and staff exceeded our expectations on our first visit to Kauai. The staff was very courteous and the hotel was well maintained. Our 30th year anniversary has been our most memorable trip thus far. Michael & Julie - Michigan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Visit the Canyon

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MayaNYC
New York, NY
May 13, 2013

Good place to stay on the south shore

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Sheraton Kauai Resort. We were very pleased with the hotel. Great location, beautiful beach and well maintained grounds. Rooms could use some TLC but overall it was a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SilverstarGay
Denver, Colorado
May 10, 2013

Customer service re-defined

I had hand picked this resort because of it was gay friendly, perfect location, great reviews as the place to stay for a surprise birthday trip for my bf who I was going to propose to. I wanted ocean view but because I had booked activities and a really expensive dinner at the resort, I went with a partial ocean view to not overextend myself (based on the pictures on the website). If you book on this website, make sure to request a king bed if that's important to you. We got a room with two double beds for our honeymoon. Buzzkill. Hope the wordy write-up was convincing. I never write reviews and not easily impressed. This one was earned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant dining was unimpressive at the resort (except for the Hanelani dinner which was spectacular). Instead, I'd suggest taking a 2 minute walk across the street to a little shopping area with amazing restaurants (cheap to mid range).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search