$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2015 Check-out: Oct 1, 2015

Sheraton Kauai Resort

4 stars
View map of 2440 Hoonani Road, Koloa, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kauai Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
517 out of 517
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I love Kauai
Couples
Bozeman, MT
Nov 12, 2009

Great place to stay, for a getaway!

The consierge, [...], was very helpful in planning activities for us. We had an awesome room on the 4th floor, facing the pool & ocean, with vaulted ceiling. Overall, clean and nice. Bathtub kinda gross, and bathroom vent. We did upgrade from a garden room, for a hefty price (over $100/night), but well worth it, since the garden wing is across the street. We really enjoyed the Sheraton. All the staff was friendly, except the guys at reception (valet). Didn't feel like they really greeted you (when first arriving, in the dark, just off the plane) and made you feel welcome. After a long flight/day, it would be nice to be really welcomed, etc. Sheraton has a great beach!! We would come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plantation Gardens is an excellent choice for dinner, if you are staying at the Sheraton. It is a short walk across the street. Very beautiful gardens, and the food was great! One of our most enjoyable nights.

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
deemag21
Couples
Pasadena, CA
Oct 28, 2009

Great Location!

This is a wonderful hotel. It is in a prime location with beautiful beaches. The property was maintained very well, and I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. & Mrs. K
Couples
Seattle, WA
Oct 21, 2009

Kauai newlyweds

We got married at Plantation Gardens which was right next door to this hotel. Very convenient and gorgeous location, but we had difficulty finding our room. You had to use two different elevators/stairs to get to the top floor from the lobby. The breakfast was delicious and staff very courteous (good aloha spirit). I'm glad we took advantage of the sunrise hour as we played on the hotel property and beach in our wedding attire the morning after.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Commercial RE brokers
Couples
Riverside
Oct 20, 2009

Sheraton Kauai Revie

Great location and staff was SO helpful in arranging activities and recommending restaurants. It was a great hotel. We will be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Joe's on the Green is a great breakfast and cheap!

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hula Babe
Couples
Lebanon, OH
Oct 12, 2009

Wonderful and Relaxing Stay

This was my first trip to Kauai and I enjoyed the whole trip. The Sheridan staff were helpful and friendly. The food offered at hotel was good, but very expensive. We only ate breakfast there since the hotel gave a discount coupon for breakfast if you did not have the room cleaned that day. Good deal... The room was clean (except the carpet could have been cleaner). It was nicely decorated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dinning in Hawaii can be very expensive, but there were a couple of restarants in the Poipu Shopping Center that were reasonable in price. Tropical Burger and Keokis Paradise.

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Lancaster, MA
Oct 11, 2009

Great location, rooms not that great

The location is great. The basic garden view rooms are really in need of work. The one we had for our first night had plumbing issues, broken AC, and the bathroom was not clean. We ended up paying to get an ocean front room which was MUCH better. If you get a basic garden view room, don't expect it to be too nice. Grounds are the hotel are beautiful, but not nearly as nice as the Hyatt down the road. Stay away from the breakfast buffet - $28 for a horrible meal. Don't miss the mai tai hour - great drinks and they're free. Held every other day at 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady from Denver
Single
Denver
Oct 2, 2009

Good Value

Great hotel, very friendly, helpful people. Wonderful views for oceanfront. The bathrooms weren't configured well for a woman; no mirrors to see side or back of the head, no shower cap, but if you know to expect that you can plan for it. Even at the end of September, I was glad I chose a place with A/C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spa goer
Family
Phoenix,AZ
Sep 28, 2009

A little disappointed

We stayed here 2 years ago and it seems the hotel is a bit run down since then. There was garbage not picked up for days in the hall, a chicken bone on the floor that stayed there for a couple of days and I saw cockroach. There were big chunks of the pool floor missing, a lot of chipped paint around the property and broken outdoor lights just laying in the bush. It was tough to rate this place because it has such awesome views and wonderful service. But the food at the breakfast buffet is not worth the $22 and room service food (we had it twice) was sub par for the price. [...] Next time I think we'll stay some place else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Sunday brunch at the Hyatt!! Sit by the waterfall, watch the koi fish and the swans and pig out!

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Seattle, WA
Sep 28, 2009

Very nice place

The hotel was very nice and our room was spectacular (ocean view). We arrived in kauai at night and drove to the hotel, we were very surprised at how nice the ocean view room was. We woke up around 6am due to the excitement of being just married and went out onto our lanai to find a beautiful view of the ocean/beach/pool. The beach in front of the hotel was very nice for swimming and snorkling. The food was expensive but we only did dinner there the first night and did breakfast every other morning because we skipped our room cleaning every other day to get free breakfast tickets. The only complaint i have about our stay was that the parking was minimal at least for the ocean view rooms. There were multiple time where we either had to come back from activities early to get a decent spot otherwise you were parking a ways away and walking, fine when you dont have luggage but with luggage not fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are into outdoor adventures you have to check out Outfitters Kauai (Kipu zipline safari)[@] Outfitters is just up the street from the hotel and they transport you to were you start the fun by kayaking up a river (easy paddle) then take a short hike to a covered wagon where you are transported up to the zip lines (2). They have an 1800ft zipline that is the longest in kauai. Then you get to cool of in a nature made swimming hole that has a hand zip line that you can take and drop into the water or jump off the deck. Then another short hike and a powered boat ride back. Supper fun and worth the money, we went on alot of adveture stuff and this was by far the best. Also you absolutely have to take the drive to Waimea and have JO JO'S SHAVE ICE!!!!! it is the most wonderfull thing you have ever tasted. We must have gone there 3 times during our trip. P.S. dont be discouraged by the line or wait time it is well worth it.

Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Diego, CA
Sep 24, 2009

Kaua'i trip 2009

helicopter ride, kayaking & hiking trip, luau, snorkel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top