$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Sheraton Kauai Resort

4 stars
View map of 2440 Hoonani Road, Koloa, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kauai Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
537 out of 537
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
White Wizard
Business
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
May 27, 2013

30th Anniversary

The hotel and staff exceeded our expectations on our first visit to Kauai. The staff was very courteous and the hotel was well maintained. Our 30th year anniversary has been our most memorable trip thus far. Michael & Julie - Michigan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Visit the Canyon

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wyoming Bound
Business
Jackson, WY
May 27, 2013

Hawaii 2013

While the Sheraton may have nice properties, this is not one of them...and, they treat you as if you are a hapless first time visitor to the islands, oh, probably because only a first time visitor would ever stay in this resort...take my advice, stay up the road at the Hyatt...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Beach House or Red Salt

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MayaNYC
Business
New York, NY
May 13, 2013

Good place to stay on the south shore

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Sheraton Kauai Resort. We were very pleased with the hotel. Great location, beautiful beach and well maintained grounds. Rooms could use some TLC but overall it was a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SilverstarGay
Business
Denver, Colorado
May 10, 2013

Customer service re-defined

I had hand picked this resort because of it was gay friendly, perfect location, great reviews as the place to stay for a surprise birthday trip for my bf who I was going to propose to. I wanted ocean view but because I had booked activities and a really expensive dinner at the resort, I went with a partial ocean view to not overextend myself (based on the pictures on the website). If you book on this website, make sure to request a king bed if that's important to you. We got a room with two double beds for our honeymoon. Buzzkill. Hope the wordy write-up was convincing. I never write reviews and not easily impressed. This one was earned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant dining was unimpressive at the resort (except for the Hanelani dinner which was spectacular). Instead, I'd suggest taking a 2 minute walk across the street to a little shopping area with amazing restaurants (cheap to mid range).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wahidjon
Business
OC
May 7, 2013

Over-rated money sucking hotel

Good location, clean rooms, bad service at the front desk. Thin walls where you hear all the peeps an squeaks of your neighbors. Waiters at lava restaurant are rude. No accommodations for special diets. No shuttle service to and from airport. $30 a day for wifi and 2 bottled waters. For the price it is a 1 star. 2 star for location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SFmotherof3
Business
San Francisco
Apr 27, 2013

Sheraton Kauai Resort

I was greeted by a super helpful member of the Bell Staff. He gave me great ideas for the island and informed me of ways to stay safe as hikes can be slippery. The concierge and activity staff desk was very helpful. The person who checked me in was not great but other customer service, check in staff employees were fantastic. The location is fantastic. A wonderful beach with surfers, boogie boarders, snorkeling guests and great views. Lots of great restaurants within walking distance or a short drive from the hotel. I never ate at the hotel as I was hiking and swimming and kayaking and snorkeling all over the island and took food to go on my adventures. I wish I would have been in the newly remodeled section that overlooks the beach. I also did not know if you book through this site you don't get Hotel Loyalty Points. That totally bummed me out as I had a 5 night stay and would have loved the points added to my loyalty program. I would have booked through the hotel if I knew that. That was a bummer. But I love sitting out by the pool and walking the beach and enjoying the view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tortilla Republic, Living Food and the gluten free and regular bakery and fresh juice stores inside the market in Kaloa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joanna traveler
Business
Naperville, IL
Apr 23, 2013

Loved it!

The location is perfect with the swimmable beach steps from the hotel. Shopping and many good restaurants in all price ranges are nearby. Rooms are a little small, but we were only there to sleep. Overall very lovely hotel. Loved the bar and restaurant looking out over the ocean. Great snorkeling at the hotel beach and others within walking distance. Would definitely stay here rather than the pricier, fancier hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Enjoyed Poipu
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 21, 2013

Completely enjoyed our trip

The Sheraton is nice. The location is great. The staff w Is welcoming, but nothing special. Our room was back away from the beach. It was fine, nothing special - we did not spend extra to be on the water. It does feel like the back half of the hotel is a bit disconnected from the happenings. Overall value was excellent. It was great being on the sunny side of the island. And there is so much to do with golf, hiking, shopping and seeing the sights!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We really enjoyed the Plantation restaurant right next to the Sheraton.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bodawg44
Business
St. Louis, MO
Apr 12, 2013

Great Resort and Beautiful area

This was our first time going to Hawaii and have to say that we absolutely loved Kauai and the resort. The grounds are very well maintained and it has a great feel to the place. We booked an ocean front room with 2 queen sized beds. It was me and my wife and 2 kids ages 9 and 12. The room was nothing special but the beds were comfortable and the maid service was excellent and always met our needs. I would not come here and book anything but an ocean front room as it is well worth any extra expense. My only complaint is that we didn't have a screen on our door so we could not leave the door open at night to hear the ocean. The food at the resort was above average and a bit pricey but it is like that everywhere in Hawaii so just enjoy the food and expect to pay a bit more. We ate at RumFire's twice for dinner and it was the best place to eat anywhere on the Island and we ate at several places. We loved the beach here as well and our kids had a blast playing in the waves every day. Overall, it was a great vacation and I would come back without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We did a 6.5 hour boat ride up the Nepali Coast with Blue Dolphin and they were amazing. It was $500 for the 4 of us but well worth it and the crew of the boat was so friendly and accomodating. We saw several wales, lots of dolphins and they had a great spot to snorkel and scuba.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joanna traveler
Business
Naperville, IL
Apr 3, 2013

Great location, Great hotel!

This hotel was perfect for our vacation - me, my husband and teenage daughter. It's located right on the beach in Poipu, the sunnier part of Kauai; has a great beach for swimming and snorkeling steps away. Great open air bar, smaller pool, but who needs it when the ocean is right there. Nice restaurant w/good food and beautiful view. Lots of snorkeling, restaurants and activities close by to choose from. If I were to go again, I'd stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

To save a little cash, don't rent snorkel gear from the hotel, go to Kimos on Poipu Rd or Kauai Outfitters north of the roundabout.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top