$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 29, 2015 Check-out: Jan 31, 2015

Sheraton Kauai Resort

4 stars
2440 Hoonani Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
529 reviews
Sheratons always a safe bet!

We go to Hawaii very year, sometimes twice, and have for 25 years. When we were younger we always... See full review

  • Jeffrey w.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Awesome location and great staff

Definitely one of the best locations on Poipu Beach -- highly recommend this place. See full review

  • The B0ST0N1AN
  • Dec 19, 2014
Low-rise resort for beach lovers on Kauai's sunny south coast

Sheraton Kauai Resort is the ultimate gathering place boasting magnificent oceanfront views of Poipu Beach, a convenient distance from the famous First Break Surf Spot and trendy on-site restaurants like Rumfire Poipu Beach Kauai and Lava's at Poipu Beach offering surf and turf cuisines that satisy the cost-conscious food lover. Sheraton Kauai Resort offers a perfect setting to relax, unwind and enjoy a casual or an intimate dining experience. Guests may also enjoy a light "pupu" appetizer coupled with a refreshing cocktail as they are serenaded by live local Hawaiian music amdist mango - colored skies. The Sheraton Kauai Resort offers adventure, fun-filled memories, romance and relaxation all in one place; satisfying every travel personality and providing the ultimate vacation experience.  

Highlights
  • Poipu Beach location, with gorgeous sunsets
  • Broad choice of activities included in daily resort fee
  • Fitness center open 24 hours
Location
The sunny south shore has what may be Kauai's most perfect vacation weather, plus shopping and an array of dining options. It also has one of the famous Kauai landmarks, Spouting Horn, Kauai's answer to Old Faithful. Families can walk to Poipu Beach Park where a protected ocean lagoon is safe enough for young children.
Rooms

The Sheraton Kauai Resort is the South Shore's iconic gem. Spanning over 20 acres and offering 394 rooms, that span across pristine Poipu Beach, a playground for those who embrace sun and waves, ocean front pools, and tropical gardens flowing with winding waterways and romantic bridges that create a sense of serenity. All rooms have a fresh and airy feel and offer air-conditioning, television, telephone, bath, shower, coffee making facilities, fridge and balcony or terrace. Garden view and Partial ocean view rooms are set back from the beach – with views as their respective names suggest. Deluxe oceanfront rooms are beachfront with full views of the Pacific.

Features
The Hawaiian Cultural Center at the Sheraton Kauai Resort is part gallery displaying the work of local artists, part classroom where guests learn Hawaiian arts and crafts (artist demonstrations, lei-making and hula classes included in daily resort fee). The resort supports local entertainers with its Flavors of Island Music initiative. Guests can sync with Kauai's natural side and rhythms in yoga classes on the beach several mornings each week (included in daily resort fee) and spa treatments utilizing Hawaiian techniques (fees apply). The on-site Lava's on Poipu Beach serves a selection of cocktails, local and imported wines and appetizers.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Taxis and limousines at airport
Attractions
  • Koloa Heritage Trail (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Tropical Botanical Garden Visitor Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Spouting Horn (2.5 mi/4 km)
Business
  • Sheraton Kauai Resort offers 9,900 square feet of flexible function space
  • Four thousand square feet of outdoor function space
  • Wi-Fi throughout resort (included in daily resort fee)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Kauai Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sheraton Kauai Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View
Our spacious 510-square feet deluxe garden view rooms overlook lushly landscaped tropical gardens. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Garden View
The 410-square-feet garden rooms offer views of lushly landscaped tropical gardens. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Deluxe Ocean Front
Our spacious 510-square feet oceanfront rooms offer magnificent views of the ocean. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Partial Ocean View
Located in the Garden Wing, our partial ocean view rooms (410 square feet) are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Lava's
Boasting magnificent oceanfront views, of Poipu Beach and the famous First Break Surf Spot. A perfect setting to relax, unwind, and enjoy grilled selections and refreshing specialty drinks. Catch stunning sunsets and tropical breezes as you celebrate a relaxing afternoon or early evening with refreshing cocktails and delectable cuisine. Open daily for lunch, dinner and happy hour alongside evening entertainment. Hours 10:30 am - 5:00 pm.
Room Service
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
The Link Cafe
6:30 am - 11:00 am
Rumfire
Rumfire at Poipu Beach will take you on a Hawaiian rooted journey with global influences and 180 degrees of unmatched views of the Pacific Ocean. Our chef's prepare distinctive cuisine with local island flair. With its sensible menu selections, Rumfire's cuisine resonates with the eclectic yet contemporary food lovers. Whether your palate desires seafood, flatbreads, or beef or you are looking for a celebratory destination, Rumfire will certainly satisfy with worldly flavor coupled with a Hawaiian twist. Breakfast Buffet: 6:30 - 11:00 am Dinner Service: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm Bar Service: 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Indoor facilities include the 5,900-square feet Poipu Ballroom, the adjacent open-air foyer, and the newly opened 2,200-square feet Koloa Junior Ballroom and adjoining terrace. Both ballrooms are divisible into three separate rooms. Additionally, we offer the Lawai Room, which opened in 2000, and the Executive Board Room, both of which are divisible into two separate rooms. A total of 15,000 square feet of outdoor function space, ranging from a Luau Lawn to two beachfront lawns and popular wedding sites, are also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (529)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kauai Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
529 out of 529
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bodawg44
Business
St. Louis, MO
Apr 12, 2013

Great Resort and Beautiful area

This was our first time going to Hawaii and have to say that we absolutely loved Kauai and the resort. The grounds are very well maintained and it has a great feel to the place. We booked an ocean front room with 2 queen sized beds. It was me and my wife and 2 kids ages 9 and 12. The room was nothing special but the beds were comfortable and the maid service was excellent and always met our needs. I would not come here and book anything but an ocean front room as it is well worth any extra expense. My only complaint is that we didn't have a screen on our door so we could not leave the door open at night to hear the ocean. The food at the resort was above average and a bit pricey but it is like that everywhere in Hawaii so just enjoy the food and expect to pay a bit more. We ate at RumFire's twice for dinner and it was the best place to eat anywhere on the Island and we ate at several places. We loved the beach here as well and our kids had a blast playing in the waves every day. Overall, it was a great vacation and I would come back without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We did a 6.5 hour boat ride up the Nepali Coast with Blue Dolphin and they were amazing. It was $500 for the 4 of us but well worth it and the crew of the boat was so friendly and accomodating. We saw several wales, lots of dolphins and they had a great spot to snorkel and scuba.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joanna traveler
Business
Naperville, IL
Apr 3, 2013

Great location, Great hotel!

This hotel was perfect for our vacation - me, my husband and teenage daughter. It's located right on the beach in Poipu, the sunnier part of Kauai; has a great beach for swimming and snorkeling steps away. Great open air bar, smaller pool, but who needs it when the ocean is right there. Nice restaurant w/good food and beautiful view. Lots of snorkeling, restaurants and activities close by to choose from. If I were to go again, I'd stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

To save a little cash, don't rent snorkel gear from the hotel, go to Kimos on Poipu Rd or Kauai Outfitters north of the roundabout.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nXtIak
Business
Redlands, CA
Apr 3, 2013

Great Beach Side Hotel

My first time to Hawaii, so I was obsessed with reading reviews about this hotel. Some of the reviews scared me after I booked. We stayed in the Garden View/Pool View in Building 7. It was a fantastic view. The short walk to the main lobby/building/Ocean Pool/Spa/Beach is no big deal. It's actually nice being away from the main building, more quiet. Our room was great. People said the old buildings across the street were rundown, dirty, moldy, etc. It was not. It was clean, no issues at all, lots of sunlight from the balcony, easy to dry our swimsuits. $30 resort fee kind of sucks, but I guess that's normal. Wifi really sucked inside our room, out in the balcony it was good. The business center is really nice, they have 5 computers for use. The internet is slow though, so bring your laptop and your own ethernet cable and plug it into the ports available and it's super fast! Staff is friendly, only 1 spa in the main pool, garden pool is nice and quiet. Beach towel policy is annoying, they give you a card and you exchange it for a towel, then return the towel and get your card back. Rum Fire Grill was great. They open for dinner at 5:30, we got there with no reservation and had to wait about 10 minutes. We drove a lot around the island and drove around the coast and looked at the other hotels. Sheraton Kauai Resort really does have the best beach area in all of Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BitsBocker
Business
Fullerton
Apr 1, 2013

Sheraton Resort, Kauai, HI

For the price, it was good. However, for a guy like me, that has raised my two familys, I take vacations to relax, not be around a lot of little kids, screaming, crying, yelling, etc. I was always quite after 10PM, but next time I go to Hawaii, I am going to seek out a residence for rent, that isn't quite so kid friendly. This place is great if you want a kid friendly place, and to me, it seemed most of the people brought kids, and hey, thats great, they need a good time too! And it wasn't bad, but I only got to go in the Jacuzzi once in a week cause it was alway full, and mostly with kids. The ocean view room I had was nice, and the maid kept it clean. The trip was great, and I got to rest a lot. Got kids, like kids, this place is great. Want to be away from kids, go someplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best dinner I had was at Tidepools over at the Hyatt. Great Prime Rib, and the Fish was great too. Beachhouse, went twice, Over rated. The filet mignon was terrible, sent it back, acidic tasting. Cook oversalts everything. The fish wasabi crusted fish dish was good. Tidepools was great! I'll do that again and again!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelingFun1
Business
Wisconsin
Mar 31, 2013

Very nice hotel

This hotel is located on the beautiful south shore. It has the feel of an all inclusive resort. It was the perfect hotel for our stay. The only downside was the limited dining options at the hotel. There were 2 restaurants located on the premise, but both were fairly expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the The Ultimate Kauai Guidebook: Kauai Revealed book

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
little family woman
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Mar 31, 2013

family gataway

Pretty friendly. Need more shops such as clothing stores, general stores, and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not again 2013
Business
Seattle
Mar 29, 2013

View rooms with no view

I booked what was called a partial ocean view room at a "beachfront" resort. For this I paid a premium over a non view room. I was shocked to find at check in that my room was actually ACROSS THE STREET from the main hotel, on the ground floor and the only view was if you stood at the sliding door and looked over the parked cars there was a peak-a-boo view of the ocean (if you were tall enough). When I complained I was told there were no other rooms available. They did lower the price to a non view room price however this was higher than the price that I could have gotten for this room at the time of actual booking. In addition I couldnt get a "refund" but only a resort credit as I had booked through this site--not the hotel directly .In addition the quality of the room was similar to what one would expect at a low end chain hotel. Tiny bathroom and shower, single sink, no door between sink and bed. The refrigerator was so loud we had to unplug it at night to sleep. Overall they did not come close to meeting my expectations of a this resort brand. The beach was nice, pool area and common areas were OK but nothing special. I would not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tortilla Factory--excellent menu and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
9 time visitor
Business
San Diego, California
Mar 20, 2013

Wonderful Spring Vacation

Hotel was lovely and staff was wonderful. Great location, on a nice beach. Stayed in a Garden View room and was very pleased that I didn't pay extra for beach front. We walked over to the beach to enjoy the sunsets but enjoyed the shade and plants of the Garden View room for our quiet time. Didn't spend a great deal of time in our room as the point of the vacation was to jump from beach to beach enjoying the island. Room was perfect for unwinding at the end of our day - No complaints what-so-ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent your snorkel gear from Nukumoi Surf Shop right across from Brennecke's Beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kentucky Boy
Business
Frankfort, Kentucky
Mar 19, 2013

great place in Poipu

The staff was very pleasant, we loved it here for our 5 year anniversarry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Fran Native
Business
Bay Area
Mar 18, 2013

First Class Service and Location but Rooms were Sub Par

Incredible location and the service we received from the staff was exceptional. Everyone we dealt with was extremely helpful and nice. Unfortunately the rooms were not that great. I would stay here again just because of the awesome location right on the beach. Other hotels claim they are beach front but the Sheraton is truly the only beach front hotel. An Ocean View Deluxe room is a must if you stay here or you will be disappointed with your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top