$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Sheraton Kauai Resort

4 stars
2440 Hoonani Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
527 reviews
Travel Getaway

For the past five years, we've been travelling to Kauai. Only once did we not stay at the Sheraton... See full review

  • Justin 628
  • Oct 10, 2014
Wonderful hotel

The hotel was amazing. Great pool & beach. Staff was professional & friendly. 3 choices of... See full review

  • Lamw18
  • Sep 2, 2014
Low-rise resort for beach lovers on Kauai's sunny south coast

Sheraton Kauai Resort is the ultimate gathering place boasting magnificent oceanfront views of Poipu Beach, a convenient distance from the famous First Break Surf Spot and trendy on-site restaurants like Rumfire Poipu Beach Kauai and Lava's at Poipu Beach offering surf and turf cuisines that satisy the cost-conscious food lover. Sheraton Kauai Resort offers a perfect setting to relax, unwind and enjoy a casual or an intimate dining experience. Guests may also enjoy a light "pupu" appetizer coupled with a refreshing cocktail as they are serenaded by live local Hawaiian music amdist mango - colored skies. The Sheraton Kauai Resort offers adventure, fun-filled memories, romance and relaxation all in one place; satisfying every travel personality and providing the ultimate vacation experience.  

Highlights
  • Poipu Beach location, with gorgeous sunsets
  • Broad choice of activities included in daily resort fee
  • Fitness center open 24 hours
Location
The sunny south shore has what may be Kauai's most perfect vacation weather, plus shopping and an array of dining options. It also has one of the famous Kauai landmarks, Spouting Horn, Kauai's answer to Old Faithful. Families can walk to Poipu Beach Park where a protected ocean lagoon is safe enough for young children.
Rooms

The Sheraton Kauai Resort is the South Shore's iconic gem. Spanning over 20 acres and offering 394 rooms, that span across pristine Poipu Beach, a playground for those who embrace sun and waves, ocean front pools, and tropical gardens flowing with winding waterways and romantic bridges that create a sense of serenity. All rooms have a fresh and airy feel and offer air-conditioning, television, telephone, bath, shower, coffee making facilities, fridge and balcony or terrace. Garden view and Partial ocean view rooms are set back from the beach – with views as their respective names suggest. Deluxe oceanfront rooms are beachfront with full views of the Pacific.

Features
The Hawaiian Cultural Center at the Sheraton Kauai Resort is part gallery displaying the work of local artists, part classroom where guests learn Hawaiian arts and crafts (artist demonstrations, lei-making and hula classes included in daily resort fee). The resort supports local entertainers with its Flavors of Island Music initiative. Guests can sync with Kauai's natural side and rhythms in yoga classes on the beach several mornings each week (included in daily resort fee) and spa treatments utilizing Hawaiian techniques (fees apply). The on-site Lava's on Poipu Beach serves a selection of cocktails, local and imported wines and appetizers.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Taxis and limousines at airport
Attractions
  • Koloa Heritage Trail (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • National Tropical Botanical Garden Visitor Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Spouting Horn (2.5 mi/4 km)
Business
  • Sheraton Kauai Resort offers 9,900 square feet of flexible function space
  • Four thousand square feet of outdoor function space
  • Wi-Fi throughout resort (included in daily resort fee)

Hotel Map

21.8767 -159.461
Area served
Kauai, Poipu Beach, Lihue
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Airport, Kauai
Area description
Sightseeing on Kauai is a must, not only to experience the spectacular scenic beauty, but also for the adventure and fun in traveling to each wonder - on horseback, by catamaran or raft, by kayak or helicopter, bicycle or on foot to name just a few. Poipu Shopping Village - 1.0 mi/1.6 km Kiahuna Golf Course - 1.0 mi/1.6 km Spouting Horn - 2.0 mi/3.2 km Historic Old Koloa Town - 2.0 mi/3.2 km Poipu Bay Resort Golf Course - 3.0 Waimea Canyon-25.0 mi/40.2 km

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Kauai Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sheraton Kauai Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View
Our spacious 510-square feet deluxe garden view rooms overlook lushly landscaped tropical gardens. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Garden View
The 410-square-feet garden rooms offer views of lushly landscaped tropical gardens. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Deluxe Ocean Front
Our spacious 510-square feet oceanfront rooms offer magnificent views of the ocean. All rooms are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.
Partial Ocean View
Located in the Garden Wing, our partial ocean view rooms (410 square feet) are furnished with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Bedding choices are either one King or two double (based on availability). Room amenities include air-condition, cable channels, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, television, telephone with voicemail and international direct dialing, lanai (balcony), in-room safe, wake-up service, maid service, room service, in-room movies, and video games. Some of these amenities may be subject to additional charges. Handicap accessible room requests may be made prior to check-in.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Lava's
Boasting magnificent oceanfront views, of Poipu Beach and the famous First Break Surf Spot. A perfect setting to relax, unwind, and enjoy grilled selections and refreshing specialty drinks. Catch stunning sunsets and tropical breezes as you celebrate a relaxing afternoon or early evening with refreshing cocktails and delectable cuisine. Open daily for lunch, dinner and happy hour alongside evening entertainment. Hours 10:30 am - 5:00 pm.
Room Service
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
The Link Cafe
6:30 am - 11:00 am
Rumfire
Rumfire at Poipu Beach will take you on a Hawaiian rooted journey with global influences and 180 degrees of unmatched views of the Pacific Ocean. Our chef's prepare distinctive cuisine with local island flair. With its sensible menu selections, Rumfire's cuisine resonates with the eclectic yet contemporary food lovers. Whether your palate desires seafood, flatbreads, or beef or you are looking for a celebratory destination, Rumfire will certainly satisfy with worldly flavor coupled with a Hawaiian twist. Breakfast Buffet: 6:30 - 11:00 am Dinner Service: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm Bar Service: 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Indoor facilities include the 5,900-square feet Poipu Ballroom, the adjacent open-air foyer, and the newly opened 2,200-square feet Koloa Junior Ballroom and adjoining terrace. Both ballrooms are divisible into three separate rooms. Additionally, we offer the Lawai Room, which opened in 2000, and the Executive Board Room, both of which are divisible into two separate rooms. A total of 15,000 square feet of outdoor function space, ranging from a Luau Lawn to two beachfront lawns and popular wedding sites, are also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (527)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kauai Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
527 out of 527
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gonzalo Raider fan
Business
Fresno, California
Nov 16, 2014

location

We were stuck at first across the street away from the rest of our group but after looking at there location and room we felt cheated. It was the same cost but smaller rooms. We spoke to the receptionist and they moved us across the street on the garden area but much closer to the pool and the ocean and friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rum Fire great dinning and location at the hotel. It was better then Roy stake house down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Savedhero
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Nov 14, 2014

Good stay...

Nice stay... Enjoyed the resort... will return again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Austin Kissinger
Business
Encinitas, Ca
Oct 23, 2014

Not what we were hoping for

Arrived to two twin beds after conforming one king side bed prior to our arrival. Hardship was blamed on the major online travel provider we booked threw. Luckily the staff gave us a $3 chocolate box to make up for our misfortune. Initially we were told we would not receive a king size bed until day seven of our nine night vacation. After multiple phone calls to front desk and vigilance pressure to the hotel staff we were told after two days that we had a king size bed available. We moved our own luggage to our car "To clear the room" waiting on our new room hours later. Valet vandalized our rental car a few days later for parking in the valet lot after being instructed by the hotel staff to park there if self parking was full. Self parking was full most nights after 9:00pm. Called hotel staff to conform it was ok to park there from room. Woke up to find my wiper blades pulled up, mirrors pushed in, gas cap removed, ok understand should have paid the couple dollar tip to have staff park the car but they went to far when they unlatch the hood and pulled the safety restraint of our Jeep rental car. Luckily I was only driving 100 feet and I drive a jeep personally that I recognized the hood was loose and bouncing up and down. If I wasn't driving 100 feet and pulled onto the main road the hood would have flown up obstructing my view and also causing major damage to the rental car possible major harm to myself, wife, and other vehicles on the road. After a complaint hotel manager asked them to watch the security footage the management "Insured us they made corrective actions and took care of the situation." Towards the end of our trip my wife and myself were interested in a helicopter tour of the island. We contacted the Consear asking if they had any information for helicopter tours and they rudely told us "Check the internet, any thing else we can help you with." Final straw!! My impression of the concierge job description is to help hotel guest with any needs they might in counter. Location on Poipu beach is beautiful and location to the reef is prime if your a surfer especially if your wife wants to relax by the pool. By the way doesn't represent the pictures on the Internet. Out of our whole stay two people deserve a shot out for there excellent service and positive attitude. Gabby one of the pool side servers and Paulie the pool bartender. Every single other staff member we encountered was rude and had no intent of showing hospitality. My wife and myself are world travelers not ignorant tourist and have have been to Kauai many times including multiple trips to the other islands. This was the most disappointing resort we have ever stayed at. After our complaint about the rental car and review by management of the security footage we were presented with a free upgrade to a ocean front view room if we stayed at the hotel again. Unfortunately we will never be able to except that offer because the service was so poor we can never stay here again. STAY AWAY FROM THIS LOCATION!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Justin 628
Business
Fremont Ca
Oct 10, 2014

Travel Getaway

For the past five years, we've been travelling to Kauai. Only once did we not stay at the Sheraton and regretted it. Location and service is excellent here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alexk
Business
Bellevue, WA, USA
Sep 9, 2014

A good hotel (if you get ocean view room).

An ok hotel (if you get ocean view room). The beach is so-so. Be careful!! Very noisy at night. They have something that looks like a big generator that makes a lot of noise. Rooms are old, A lot of scratches here and there. Sometimes it looks like a motel but not as a 4* resort. You pay $31 resort fee per night and two bottles of water are supposed to be included there but you have to call them and ask them and then wait for 15 minutes to get them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Davidenewell
Business
Corona
Sep 8, 2014

Sheraton poipu

The hotel was very nice and located near the state beach which is one of the better swiming beaches. The dining at RumFire was excellent with great sunset views. The rooms were clean and modern decor For the price I would say it's great value mid would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hooo
Business
Pasadena, CA
Sep 6, 2014

Beautiful getaway

Beautiful hotel right on the beach. great welcoming staff !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lamw18
Business
Cherry Hill NJ
Sep 2, 2014

Wonderful hotel

The hotel was amazing. Great pool & beach. Staff was professional & friendly. 3 choices of restaurants from inexpensive, moderate to expensive. So peaceful & quiet. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel provides free shuttle to area shopping & dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Honu's Mommy
Business
Oahu, Hawaii
Sep 1, 2014

Nice, Standard Hotel

We stayed at this hotel since it was close to the start and finish lines of the Kauai Marathon. Beach and pool were nice, but not a whole lot of seats.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La Spezia was a fantastic restaurant for dinner and brunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Devo
Business
San Diego
Sep 1, 2014

Good summer surf

Everything was perfect. The surf, dining , weather, shopping and environment .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kukui'ula shopplng center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top