$178 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

3 stars
2253 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
181 reviews
Kauai dreaming

Great location to beach and the island in general. Condo had a great bed. No beach toys however so... See full review

  • Flyingnun
  • Mar 7, 2014
Fantastic Vacation spot!

Great place to stay, lots of nearby activities to do, great beach, facility, and staff too. See full review

  • Show me the wine
  • Jun 12, 2013
Low-rise condos with tranquil gardens and ponds in Poipu.
The former home of Hector Moir, manager of Koloa Sugar Plantation, and his wife, Alexandra, sits at the heart of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, a 33-acre condominium resort. Guests today are welcomed in the same setting where the Moirs welcomed guests, and the gracious home overlooking ponds, orchids and a cactus garden houses the Plantation Garden restaurant. Low-rise buildings with plantation-era details evoke the charm of old Hawaii. You can't get closer to the beach than this, but you may occasionally share it with a sea turtle or monk seal.
Highlights
  • Alexandra Moir's legacy, Moir Gardens
  • Complimentary wired Internet in condos for guests with laptops
  • Poipu Beach with surf breaks, water sport rentals
  • Book one-bedroom oceanfront units at least six months out
Location
  • On Poipu Beach, with easy access to restaurants and shopping
Rooms
There are 333 one- and two-bedroom condominiums on 33 acres. Ranging from 620 to 1,180 square feet, all condos at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation have complete kitchens, one or two lanais, and a pullout sofa. Maid service is available upon request for a fee.
Features
Guests share in several nice facilities nearby. Parents with children age 4-12 enjoy adult time while kids play next door at Sheraton's supervised children's program. Kiahuna Golf Club, a short drive away, offers Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation guests special rates and charging privileges at its restaurant and pro shop. Of course, beach lovers need only stroll a short way to get their fill of surf and sand.

Around 24 couples a year marry here, many under the spreading banyan tree. Those who want to say "I do -- again" can join a complimentary weekly vow renewal ceremony for up to six couples.
Dining
The on-site Plantation Garden serves up nostalgia and Pacific Rim cuisine. Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation guests are also welcomed at Joe's on the Green at Kiahuna Golf Course. Grills are available on the property and there is a well-stocked grocery store across the road. Groceries can be pre-ordered online for delivery.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Taxis and limousines at airport
Attractions
  • National Tropical Botanical Garden Visitor Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Spouting Horn (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (15 mi/24.1 km)

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Rooms

One bedroom royal garden
This unit is a spacious 880 square feet of living space. It features a fully equipped kitchen with one bathroom. The bedding is one queen or king bed in the master bedroom with a sofa sleeper in the living room. There is no air-conditioning but there are ceiling fans. You will enjoy a wider garden view in this unit than you do in the regular Garden View unit. Complimentary in room high speed internet service is also included.
One Bedroom Garden View
This unit is a spacious 880 square feet of living space. It features a fully equipped kitchen with one bathroom. The bedding is one queen or king bed in the master bedroom with a sofa sleeper in the living room. There is no air-conditioning but there are ceiling fans. Complimentary in room High Speed Interent Access is also included.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.8783 -159.4588
Area served
Poipu, Kauai, HI
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport-LIH
Area description
Kiahuna Plantation is located on Kauai's sunny south shore, 16 miles southwest of Lihue Airport, right on the beach at Poipu.

Dining

CasaBlanca
Mediterranen and traditional American fare, open every day for lunch and dinner, full bar. Located in our swim & tennis club.
Plantation Gardens
A Poipu tradition, located in the former plantation manager's home, the menu reflects the cuisine of old plantation Hawaii. Cocktails and dinner nightly.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (181)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flyingnun
Portland, Oregon
Mar 7, 2014

Kauai dreaming

Great location to beach and the island in general. Condo had a great bed. No beach toys however so I left them a boogey board and some tubes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Holo Holo boat cruise along the Napali coast, Great captain and crew.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Have2HaveUniqueNameFam4
silicon valley
Feb 24, 2014

Could be upgraded

We stayed at Kiahuna Plantation 14 years ago and my recollection was that is was quite nice. We had access to the pool at the Sheraton back then. Now, no pool access!!! Bathroom yucky after a few days. Smelled moldy, full of sand and water, hard to clean. They should really clean EVERY room mid week if you are staying more than 7 nights. Also disliked all shuttered interior and exterior doors. No privacy in unit (e.g. master bedroom and bathroom). Maybe because we had flash flood warnings coming in on our cell phones 2 of the days, but it was super humid/wet in the unit. Honestly, will stay at Marriott next door next time. Yes, beach location good. But we were in garden view, so super far from beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Salt was the best walk to place for dinner of the 4 places we tried.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Trina W
Billings, mt
Feb 15, 2014

Not much to brag about

For facility and amenities, the property is overpriced. No daily housekeeping, (while on vacation I don't want to have to pick up and do the dishes. We didn't realize this and then spent 4 days dealing with sand. They will bring you fresh towels if you call and ask) Beach front hotel ?? (our room was a 3 block walk to the beach) No pool, no on-site breakfast or lunch facility. No air conditioning. This was huge for us, but I know a few folks who would have been uncomfortable. This is a owner/rented condo facility managed by the Outrigger Corp. On the plus side: The grounds are lovely and well cared for and situated on PoiPo road, it is a good location. Across from the shopping village and a few dining spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Golf course dining room for breakfast and lunch, moderate in cost but close by

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mir.
Vancouver
Oct 20, 2013

Reviw

Room was farawey from ocean, too close to street and night traffic. For money we paid I expected more. Otherwise staff was very frendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
R and D Alt
Stockton, Ca.
Oct 12, 2013

Convenient place to relax and visit with our Grandkids

We went to Kauai to visit our Grandkids, so we weren't looking for a luxurious place just a clean family place to relax on the beach. The grounds were pleasant, full of flowers and nice landscaping. Didn't use the restaurant at all so can't speak to that. Just a nice place to enjoy the Grandkids and take them zip lining, movies, shopping, eating out. Checking in and out went well so the staff were helpful and pleasant. We enjoyed our trip and would go back again. Thank you Donna and Ron Alt

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't buy so much food to fix in the kitchen, cause you end up not cooking it. Just easy stuff or barbecue. Costco has too big containers. We would be out North and were hungry, and that was often the case.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rexi
Sacramento,CA
Sep 26, 2013

Nothing Extra

We stayed a week here in Sept '13. The grounds are indeed beautiful and quite extensive.There are a number of 2 and 3 story "cottages" sprinklers about and location is everything. Pay for an ocean view otherwise you may end up at the edge of the property like we did and have the noisy parking lot and busy street to listen to all night. They don't give you much extra. Coffee is $1 a pack-only 2 packs are complimentary. They did not clean at all but did give us a towel exchange once during the week so conserve your towels! If you want shampoo , conditioner and soap that actually lathers then bring your own. The room itself was nice, large and airy and fully stocked but I was bothered by no A/C ,I know now that a humid climate is not my friend. The worst problem was the lack of a pool. I asked for a room upgrade as compensation and was denied. I will not stay in a place without a pool again. The beach was nice but the waves were a little rough-not calm at all. If it had A/C and a pool I would stay again but not until.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to Costco or Walmart when you get to Lihue and buy your food and souvenirs.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Show me the wine
Sacramento, CA
Jun 12, 2013

Fantastic Vacation spot!

Great place to stay, lots of nearby activities to do, great beach, facility, and staff too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puka Dog - best hot dogs on the island :)

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Willie63
Central Coast, CA
May 25, 2013

Relaxing week in Kauai

Beautiful hotel grounds with lots of plants and trees. Spacious room with kitchen, separate bedroom, balcony and lovely beach. Swimming pool was nicely landscape with a waterslide, but was quite a distance away, however it was never crowded. On a down side, the only problems we encountered were the roosters crowing from 3 AM till noon and nasty mosquitos (wear long pants and long sleeves in the evening)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the Big Save store for food shopping in Koloa.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SLevy
Portland, OR
Mar 25, 2013

Great Place to Stay

I loved this place. Great location, clean and friendly. Can't beat it for the price. I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beetle Berney
northern Minnesota
Mar 23, 2013

Home Away From Home

Loved our little spot..comfortable..great location, wonderful, helpful, friendly staff, ..would have preferred ocean views and a little quieter area..as ours was across from the staff maintenance area and some days quite noisy... Would definitely recommend Outrigger to friends and family for a lengthy stay, as ours was... One improvement would be not have shutters between living area and bedroom as noise carries..otherwise..all was good. Reception was extremely helpful and we would highly recommend Michael at the concierge desk..tall Michael from San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Napali Coast sea/snorkel tour.. Sunshine helicopter ride over the Napali coast and into Waimea Canyon Sunset at Shipwreck Beach..a short walk Visiting both lighthouses..drivable distances Allerton Botanical Gardens..walking distance

Back to menu Return to top