$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

3 stars
2253 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
109 reviews
Kauai dreaming

Great location to beach and the island in general. Condo had a great bed. No beach toys however so... See full review

  • Flyingnun
  • Mar 7, 2014
Fantastic Vacation spot!

Great place to stay, lots of nearby activities to do, great beach, facility, and staff too. See full review

  • Show me the wine
  • Jun 12, 2013
Low-rise condos with tranquil gardens and ponds in Poipu.
The former home of Hector Moir, manager of Koloa Sugar Plantation, and his wife, Alexandra, sits at the heart of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, a 33-acre condominium resort. Guests today are welcomed in the same setting where the Moirs welcomed guests, and the gracious home overlooking ponds, orchids and a cactus garden houses the Plantation Garden restaurant. Low-rise buildings with plantation-era details evoke the charm of old Hawaii. You can't get closer to the beach than this, but you may occasionally share it with a sea turtle or monk seal.
Highlights
  • Alexandra Moir's legacy, Moir Gardens
  • Complimentary wired Internet in condos for guests with laptops
  • Poipu Beach with surf breaks, water sport rentals
  • Book one-bedroom oceanfront units at least six months out
Location
  • On Poipu Beach, with easy access to restaurants and shopping
Rooms
There are 333 one- and two-bedroom condominiums on 33 acres. Ranging from 620 to 1,180 square feet, all condos at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation have complete kitchens, one or two lanais, and a pullout sofa. Maid service is available upon request for a fee.
Features
Guests share in several nice facilities nearby. Parents with children age 4-12 enjoy adult time while kids play next door at Sheraton's supervised children's program. Kiahuna Golf Club, a short drive away, offers Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation guests special rates and charging privileges at its restaurant and pro shop. Of course, beach lovers need only stroll a short way to get their fill of surf and sand.

Around 24 couples a year marry here, many under the spreading banyan tree. Those who want to say "I do -- again" can join a complimentary weekly vow renewal ceremony for up to six couples.
Dining
The on-site Plantation Garden serves up nostalgia and Pacific Rim cuisine. Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation guests are also welcomed at Joe's on the Green at Kiahuna Golf Course. Grills are available on the property and there is a well-stocked grocery store across the road. Groceries can be pre-ordered online for delivery.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Taxis and limousines at airport
Attractions
  • National Tropical Botanical Garden Visitor Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Spouting Horn (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (15 mi/24.1 km)

Hotel Map

21.8783 -159.4588
Area served
Poipu, Kauai, HI
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport-LIH
Area description
Kiahuna Plantation is located on Kauai's sunny south shore, 16 miles southwest of Lihue Airport, right on the beach at Poipu.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Rooms

One bedroom royal garden
This unit is a spacious 880 square feet of living space. It features a fully equipped kitchen with one bathroom. The bedding is one queen or king bed in the master bedroom with a sofa sleeper in the living room. There is no air-conditioning but there are ceiling fans. You will enjoy a wider garden view in this unit than you do in the regular Garden View unit. Complimentary in room high speed internet service is also included.
One Bedroom Garden View
This unit is a spacious 880 square feet of living space. It features a fully equipped kitchen with one bathroom. The bedding is one queen or king bed in the master bedroom with a sofa sleeper in the living room. There is no air-conditioning but there are ceiling fans. Complimentary in room High Speed Interent Access is also included.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

CasaBlanca
Mediterranen and traditional American fare, open every day for lunch and dinner, full bar. Located in our swim & tennis club.
Plantation Gardens
A Poipu tradition, located in the former plantation manager's home, the menu reflects the cuisine of old plantation Hawaii. Cocktails and dinner nightly.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CK's Mom
Bellingham, Washington
Jul 6, 2012

Great family vacation spot

We had a wonderful time staying at Kiahuna Plantation. The grounds were lovely, the room clean and the beach close and great for playing and swimming in. It is close to all Poipu has to offer. We are already planning to come back. Only issue we had was with our stove and maintenance was there to fix it within 10 minutes. Be sure to make a trip up north to Tunnels beach if you like snorkeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brittany girl
Wisconsin
Feb 7, 2011

Great time in Kauai

Beach is great at this hotel!! Be sure to rent snorkeling. A lot of reviews comment that the walk is too far- we were by the road, had to walk through gardens to get to the beach (5 minutes) and loved our condo!!! We would stay here again!!! Don't eat at plantation gardens and be prepared for hard bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkel right off the beach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Switzerland
Nov 25, 2010

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Good located -with rent a car not to far from the beautyfull wailea valley.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Good for Shopping, Tennis, Snorkling

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Siftnsand
Seattle, WA, USA
Nov 9, 2011

A Beautiful Place

We loved our second floor, garden view condo. The grounds are beautiful and we enjoyed walking through them on the way to the beach. The beach is perfect for swimming, snorkeling and boogie boarding. There were a few minor maintenance issues with the rooms, but nothing that affected our stay. The rooms were nicely decorated and comfortable. The pool is across the street, but close by and very pretty. We hope to stay at the Outrigger again at another time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu, HI
Mar 28, 2010

Spring break trip to Kauai, Hawaii

The staff in front desk is good. When we find some problem about the kitchen, they came to help us very quickly. Rent movies in front desk is also a good service but it cost $6/per movie, and movies are old and limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

There are many entertainment like ziplin, tubing and kayaking on kauai island. And hotel has all the information about these activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pedsgirl
SC
Nov 17, 2011

family friendly stay

Overall we had an excellent family stay here. It's located on a gorgeous beach with a park beach down the road that has a reefed-in area perfect for kids. As for the hotel, the staff were helpful and nice, and though we had just a garden view room, it was a gorgeous view and within walking distance of the beach. Next time I will request a room far away from the road, as the road noise was disturbing to our baby; and the restaurant just across the way was noisy into the night. The condo itself was breezy and adequate; the housekeeping could have been better in the details, such as dust accumulated under furniture and a bit of a grimy-feeling old shower/tub. A couple nights we were too warm, but the fans were helpful although AC would have been welcomed. We did enjoy the lanai balcony which was safe for our toddler, with very high and close rails. The travel desk/concierge staff were very helpful to help us plan excursions and couldn't have been nicer. We enjoyed especially the sunset sail but a word of caution...take an anti-nausea med beforehand! I'm prone to motion-sickness and forgot that detail which kind of ruined the ambiance for me! I would stay here again, just in a unit further from the road and closer to the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The luau was fun at Smith Family Garden however the food was not stellar. I would probably choose another one next time. Also the sunset cruise was definitely worth the money as we saw dolphins and a whale; however the fern grotto boat tour was a rip-off in my opinion and not worth the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill the golfer
Prescott Az
Nov 7, 2010

Ideal location close to restaurants

Staff was great, setting up activities. Condo was clean and user-friendly. Took some tours and went to luau at Hyatt. Loved tour of Waimea Canyon/Wailua River cruise. Wish hotel had on-site pool and a lite-fare restaurant (ex: lunch/breakfast). Also, being from Arizona would have liked air-conditioning. We felt sticky and damp the whole time. The trip was great for the price [...]!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat early-restaurants get crowded and parking at minimum after 6 pm

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jatdv
Sacramento, CA
Jul 2, 2011

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

We were placed in the easternmost of the condo buildings. The room was very nice and spacious, with a full kitchen - which we used. Although we were booked with a "garden view" room, our building has only a limited "garden" and overlooks a bit of another hotel's buildings. We were also close to Poipu Rd. and could hear some traffic. Although the room and location were still very nice, without getting a beach view there are many more "garden view" buildings that appear to offer a nicer location than ours. We also had one of the farthest walks to the beach and the office/restaurant, but we were closer to the laundry. The on-site Moir Gardens and the beach are very beautiful. The beach is very clean and has great surf but you can swim. Poipu/Koloa are very nice - not too busy, close to the airport, and fairly centrally located on the island in that it is a roughly equal driving distance to either of the end-of-the-road locations. We went to both ends of the island (Koke'e and Ha'ena State Parks) for all-day hikes - spectacular!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Talk to Sherri (or anyone) down at nearby Brennecke's Beach Center. They are very nice and give you honest info about available activities! Check out their restaurant upstairs, too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beetle Berney
northern Minnesota
Mar 23, 2013

Home Away From Home

Loved our little spot..comfortable..great location, wonderful, helpful, friendly staff, ..would have preferred ocean views and a little quieter area..as ours was across from the staff maintenance area and some days quite noisy... Would definitely recommend Outrigger to friends and family for a lengthy stay, as ours was... One improvement would be not have shutters between living area and bedroom as noise carries..otherwise..all was good. Reception was extremely helpful and we would highly recommend Michael at the concierge desk..tall Michael from San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Napali Coast sea/snorkel tour.. Sunshine helicopter ride over the Napali coast and into Waimea Canyon Sunset at Shipwreck Beach..a short walk Visiting both lighthouses..drivable distances Allerton Botanical Gardens..walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SLevy
Portland, OR
Mar 25, 2013

Great Place to Stay

I loved this place. Great location, clean and friendly. Can't beat it for the price. I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search