$178 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

3 stars
2253 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
181 reviews
Kauai dreaming

Great location to beach and the island in general. Condo had a great bed. No beach toys however so... See full review

  • Flyingnun
  • Mar 7, 2014
Fantastic Vacation spot!

Great place to stay, lots of nearby activities to do, great beach, facility, and staff too. See full review

  • Show me the wine
  • Jun 12, 2013
Low-rise condos with tranquil gardens and ponds in Poipu.
The former home of Hector Moir, manager of Koloa Sugar Plantation, and his wife, Alexandra, sits at the heart of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, a 33-acre condominium resort. Guests today are welcomed in the same setting where the Moirs welcomed guests, and the gracious home overlooking ponds, orchids and a cactus garden houses the Plantation Garden restaurant. Low-rise buildings with plantation-era details evoke the charm of old Hawaii. You can't get closer to the beach than this, but you may occasionally share it with a sea turtle or monk seal.
Highlights
  • Alexandra Moir's legacy, Moir Gardens
  • Complimentary wired Internet in condos for guests with laptops
  • Poipu Beach with surf breaks, water sport rentals
  • Book one-bedroom oceanfront units at least six months out
Location
  • On Poipu Beach, with easy access to restaurants and shopping
Rooms
There are 333 one- and two-bedroom condominiums on 33 acres. Ranging from 620 to 1,180 square feet, all condos at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation have complete kitchens, one or two lanais, and a pullout sofa. Maid service is available upon request for a fee.
Features
Guests share in several nice facilities nearby. Parents with children age 4-12 enjoy adult time while kids play next door at Sheraton's supervised children's program. Kiahuna Golf Club, a short drive away, offers Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation guests special rates and charging privileges at its restaurant and pro shop. Of course, beach lovers need only stroll a short way to get their fill of surf and sand.

Around 24 couples a year marry here, many under the spreading banyan tree. Those who want to say "I do -- again" can join a complimentary weekly vow renewal ceremony for up to six couples.
Dining
The on-site Plantation Garden serves up nostalgia and Pacific Rim cuisine. Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation guests are also welcomed at Joe's on the Green at Kiahuna Golf Course. Grills are available on the property and there is a well-stocked grocery store across the road. Groceries can be pre-ordered online for delivery.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Taxis and limousines at airport
Attractions
  • National Tropical Botanical Garden Visitor Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Spouting Horn (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (15 mi/24.1 km)

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Rooms

One bedroom royal garden
This unit is a spacious 880 square feet of living space. It features a fully equipped kitchen with one bathroom. The bedding is one queen or king bed in the master bedroom with a sofa sleeper in the living room. There is no air-conditioning but there are ceiling fans. You will enjoy a wider garden view in this unit than you do in the regular Garden View unit. Complimentary in room high speed internet service is also included.
One Bedroom Garden View
This unit is a spacious 880 square feet of living space. It features a fully equipped kitchen with one bathroom. The bedding is one queen or king bed in the master bedroom with a sofa sleeper in the living room. There is no air-conditioning but there are ceiling fans. Complimentary in room High Speed Interent Access is also included.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.8783 -159.4588
Area served
Poipu, Kauai, HI
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport-LIH
Area description
Kiahuna Plantation is located on Kauai's sunny south shore, 16 miles southwest of Lihue Airport, right on the beach at Poipu.

Dining

CasaBlanca
Mediterranen and traditional American fare, open every day for lunch and dinner, full bar. Located in our swim & tennis club.
Plantation Gardens
A Poipu tradition, located in the former plantation manager's home, the menu reflects the cuisine of old plantation Hawaii. Cocktails and dinner nightly.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (181)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matt and Ash Honeymooners :)
Tucson, AZ
Mar 20, 2011

AMAZING HONEYMOON!

Our honeymoon staying at the outriggers condos was amazing!!!! The area around the resort was so vibrant green and lush! We had a one bedroom condo for the 2 of us which was plenty of space. No air conditioning was absolutely NO problem with a great breeze constantly coming through it never seemed too warm.. The patio was huge (2 lawnchairs, and a table and chairs to eat outside as well) with french style sliding doors that opened up the whole condo to the outdoors that we always kept open when we were there. The kitchen was great to cook in with alll the equipment needed and grills all over the facility to bbq. A nice walk in the evening across the street to Casa Blanca for happyhour or dinner is a must while your there. Great open air eating and live music almost every night. Area had little shops, other restaurants and coffee shops as well! The beach in front of the outriggers was beautiful and you can just walk down to.. another great one we loved was a 2 minute drive to the other side of poipu beach (other side of the little bay) which had a little bar/grill,deli, and shaved ice right there. Kuaui was absolutely breathtaking and where we stayed was more than we could have asked for! Became our little home for the week! We didnt want to leave... BEST VACATION EVER.. My husband and I would recommend it to anyone of all ages and and already have. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We were told that your best bet is to find a larger grocery store to get your groceries.. this is a good idea for your initial shopping for condiments, basics..etc... but the market a couple of minutes away was great as well.. not too over priced and had everything in it! we went there many times for food,drinks, things to make dinners in the condo.. Along there is more little great shops as well!

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aree Travel Enthusiast
Hoboken, NJ
Jan 5, 2011

Awesome Trip!

The Hotel's location was fantastic! Beautiful grounds, other places to dine were easily accessible, great that it has a kitchen. One of the best trips ever!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant and Shopping, behind hotel..easy!

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento
Feb 10, 2010

Wonderful birthday celebration

My daughter and I enjoyed a 7 day stay celebrating my 76th BD. The condo was beautiful, the view from our balcony was awesome, the mood so relaxing. Best vacation in years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great restaurants within a short walk and short drive.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Parker, Co
Jun 23, 2011

Exceeded expectations

The facilities and staf were excellent at Outrigger. However, the breakfast and lunch restrarant across the street and affiliated with the Outriggter refused to charge the meal to our room. The hostice said that "It was too much work to fill out all of the paperwork". Daily maid service was appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try "Dukes" in Lahui

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Prescott, AZ
Mar 16, 2011

Title Is Fine

Nice facility; very nice people at all levels; clean; impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SFvacationer
San Francisco, CA
Jul 28, 2010

great stay!

We loved our stay at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation! Great one bedroom condo with garden view - well stocked kitchen, great lanai, and beautiful hotel grounds with a sandy beach directly in front of hotel. Fun lawn areas for lounging and communal bbq areas. It is a very family friendly place so not the quietest or most romantic but we had a fantastic time (late 20's couple on vacation).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drengco
Pasadena, CA
Jun 24, 2009

Still the best place for the money.

For the past 35 years we keep returning to the Kiahuna Plantation Resort. It's still one of the best places to stay in all of Kauai. This vacation was the first with our 14 month old grandchild and we had great time together. The least expensive rooms at the Outrigger are located behind the more expensive Marriott Vacation Club Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lumahai Beach is heaven on earth.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
SoCAL
Jul 20, 2011

Family surf trip

We had a wonderful time in Poipu. We had a nice condo at Kiahuna Plantation. The grounds are beautiful and it is a perfect beach. My son and husband surfed right out in front and I enjoyed reading a book on the sand. The ocean is crystal clear. We enjoyed morning walks. The only thing missing was a bar on the beach. We walked next door to enjoy a maitai on the beach. If we stayed there again, we woould get an ocean front or view condo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for a cool hip nice restaurant on the beach, I would go to the Red Salt. It's more for couples or family with teens. It was our favorite place. In their lounge they had an amazing sushi chef there too on Fri and Sat from 5:30 to 6:30.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Jul 8, 2010

Beachfront Getaway

The hotel was great at getting people information about activities around the island. Very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. Grounds were beautiful, our room was nice and clean though a little outdated decoration wise. Beach was within walking distance as was the Sheraton Hotel. Pool was only accessed across the street although you're really going for the ocean views. Built in gas BBQs around the site (we went to Costco in Lihue) were nice to use since restaurants were very expensive in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Hanapepe on Friday nights for an Art Walk. Small town but there are local vendors that sell items such as home made pies! Also local foods to try from a taco truck to island favorites. Stop by Grinds Cafe along the way to pick up our favorite find: Ginger Cookies.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas NV
Jul 13, 2009

Great Location

Staff was very nice. Rooms were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top