$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2014 Check-out: Sep 9, 2014

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

3 stars
2253 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
110 reviews
Kauai dreaming

Great location to beach and the island in general. Condo had a great bed. No beach toys however so... See full review

  • Flyingnun
  • Mar 7, 2014
Fantastic Vacation spot!

Great place to stay, lots of nearby activities to do, great beach, facility, and staff too. See full review

  • Show me the wine
  • Jun 12, 2013
Low-rise condos with tranquil gardens and ponds in Poipu.
The former home of Hector Moir, manager of Koloa Sugar Plantation, and his wife, Alexandra, sits at the heart of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, a 33-acre condominium resort. Guests today are welcomed in the same setting where the Moirs welcomed guests, and the gracious home overlooking ponds, orchids and a cactus garden houses the Plantation Garden restaurant. Low-rise buildings with plantation-era details evoke the charm of old Hawaii. You can't get closer to the beach than this, but you may occasionally share it with a sea turtle or monk seal.
Highlights
  • Alexandra Moir's legacy, Moir Gardens
  • Complimentary wired Internet in condos for guests with laptops
  • Poipu Beach with surf breaks, water sport rentals
  • Book one-bedroom oceanfront units at least six months out
Location
  • On Poipu Beach, with easy access to restaurants and shopping
Rooms
There are 333 one- and two-bedroom condominiums on 33 acres. Ranging from 620 to 1,180 square feet, all condos at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation have complete kitchens, one or two lanais, and a pullout sofa. Maid service is available upon request for a fee.
Features
Guests share in several nice facilities nearby. Parents with children age 4-12 enjoy adult time while kids play next door at Sheraton's supervised children's program. Kiahuna Golf Club, a short drive away, offers Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation guests special rates and charging privileges at its restaurant and pro shop. Of course, beach lovers need only stroll a short way to get their fill of surf and sand.

Around 24 couples a year marry here, many under the spreading banyan tree. Those who want to say "I do -- again" can join a complimentary weekly vow renewal ceremony for up to six couples.
Dining
The on-site Plantation Garden serves up nostalgia and Pacific Rim cuisine. Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation guests are also welcomed at Joe's on the Green at Kiahuna Golf Course. Grills are available on the property and there is a well-stocked grocery store across the road. Groceries can be pre-ordered online for delivery.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Taxis and limousines at airport
Attractions
  • National Tropical Botanical Garden Visitor Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Spouting Horn (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (15 mi/24.1 km)

Hotel Map

21.8783 -159.4588
Area served
Poipu, Kauai, HI
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport-LIH
Area description
Kiahuna Plantation is located on Kauai's sunny south shore, 16 miles southwest of Lihue Airport, right on the beach at Poipu.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Rooms

One bedroom royal garden
This unit is a spacious 880 square feet of living space. It features a fully equipped kitchen with one bathroom. The bedding is one queen or king bed in the master bedroom with a sofa sleeper in the living room. There is no air-conditioning but there are ceiling fans. You will enjoy a wider garden view in this unit than you do in the regular Garden View unit. Complimentary in room high speed internet service is also included.
One Bedroom Garden View
This unit is a spacious 880 square feet of living space. It features a fully equipped kitchen with one bathroom. The bedding is one queen or king bed in the master bedroom with a sofa sleeper in the living room. There is no air-conditioning but there are ceiling fans. Complimentary in room High Speed Interent Access is also included.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

CasaBlanca
Mediterranen and traditional American fare, open every day for lunch and dinner, full bar. Located in our swim & tennis club.
Plantation Gardens
A Poipu tradition, located in the former plantation manager's home, the menu reflects the cuisine of old plantation Hawaii. Cocktails and dinner nightly.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hemper Fi
Seattle, WA
Mar 22, 2011

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation in Poipu

The room and lanai were spacious and comfortable for us. Though not air conditioned, we never felt hot as the condo had two large ceiling fans and was well ventilated. The check in and maid service were excellent. The facility is well-maintained, but the pool is across the highway from the residences and frankly we never visited it. The beach fronting the hotel was very nice and we spent a lot of time there. The condominium is very conveniently located in Poipu. It's not far to Spouting Horn and very near to the Poipu Beach State Park. The hike eastward from Shipwreck Beach was interesting and we were able to spot many sea turtles from the bluffs along that hike. It's walking distance to Keoki's Paradise which featured an excellent meal including salad for a decent price for Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The sunset sailing of the Na Pali coast provided by Captain Andy's Sailing Adventures (in Port Allen) was one highlight of the trip. We saw dolphins and whales, had a well narrated cruise of the beautiful coast and enjoyed a very delicious meal.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tracy, CA
Jun 13, 2010

beautiful condo

We loved the location, and our own beach was actually less windy and more sandy than the famous Po'ipu one right next to it. Truly a postcard perfect view, and very friendly and helpful staff. Our one complaint would be that the bedroom had plantation shutters, not real walls. There is VERY little privacy between the bedroom and the living area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bonita,ca
Apr 24, 2009

Kauai in April

The weather was a still a little cool in April. The gardens were beautiful. The birds are great to wake up to.The staff was great with the info about different activities to do on the island. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Brenneckes, just down the street, great place to dine

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kalamazoo Michigan
Apr 1, 2010

NIce place to stay

Nice condo, friendly staff, we used the kitchen a lot. The south shore location is close to a lot of places we went: National Botanical Gardens, Waimea Canyon, Catamaran trip out of Port Allen. Plenty of restaurans and shopping nearby. The on-site gardens were a plus. Beach is nice, but rocky a little way out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you have any interest in gardens, don't miss the Allerton Gardens. We took the sunset tour, and it was wonderful.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas NV
Jul 13, 2009

Great Location

Staff was very nice. Rooms were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
SoCAL
Jul 20, 2011

Family surf trip

We had a wonderful time in Poipu. We had a nice condo at Kiahuna Plantation. The grounds are beautiful and it is a perfect beach. My son and husband surfed right out in front and I enjoyed reading a book on the sand. The ocean is crystal clear. We enjoyed morning walks. The only thing missing was a bar on the beach. We walked next door to enjoy a maitai on the beach. If we stayed there again, we woould get an ocean front or view condo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for a cool hip nice restaurant on the beach, I would go to the Red Salt. It's more for couples or family with teens. It was our favorite place. In their lounge they had an amazing sushi chef there too on Fri and Sat from 5:30 to 6:30.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Jul 8, 2010

Beachfront Getaway

The hotel was great at getting people information about activities around the island. Very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. Grounds were beautiful, our room was nice and clean though a little outdated decoration wise. Beach was within walking distance as was the Sheraton Hotel. Pool was only accessed across the street although you're really going for the ocean views. Built in gas BBQs around the site (we went to Costco in Lihue) were nice to use since restaurants were very expensive in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Hanapepe on Friday nights for an Art Walk. Small town but there are local vendors that sell items such as home made pies! Also local foods to try from a taco truck to island favorites. Stop by Grinds Cafe along the way to pick up our favorite find: Ginger Cookies.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Three Amigos
pittsburgh, PA
May 15, 2010

Good location and great facility

Great location and layout, but the carpets (in particular) and the interior (in general) were not very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Des Moines WA
May 22, 2011

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Condo was clean, great location close to beach, dining and shopping a short walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
cinnaminson nj
Apr 13, 2011

Great place to stay

Very nice complex and enjoyed the pool with a slide. They even had beach toys for my daughter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

We signed up for the movie tour at the hotel which was very fun. In addition it also turned into a guided tour of the island.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search