$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

3 stars
2253 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
109 reviews
Kauai dreaming

Great location to beach and the island in general. Condo had a great bed. No beach toys however so... See full review

  • Flyingnun
  • Mar 7, 2014
Fantastic Vacation spot!

Great place to stay, lots of nearby activities to do, great beach, facility, and staff too. See full review

  • Show me the wine
  • Jun 12, 2013
Low-rise condos with tranquil gardens and ponds in Poipu.
The former home of Hector Moir, manager of Koloa Sugar Plantation, and his wife, Alexandra, sits at the heart of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, a 33-acre condominium resort. Guests today are welcomed in the same setting where the Moirs welcomed guests, and the gracious home overlooking ponds, orchids and a cactus garden houses the Plantation Garden restaurant. Low-rise buildings with plantation-era details evoke the charm of old Hawaii. You can't get closer to the beach than this, but you may occasionally share it with a sea turtle or monk seal.
Highlights
  • Alexandra Moir's legacy, Moir Gardens
  • Complimentary wired Internet in condos for guests with laptops
  • Poipu Beach with surf breaks, water sport rentals
  • Book one-bedroom oceanfront units at least six months out
Location
  • On Poipu Beach, with easy access to restaurants and shopping
Rooms
There are 333 one- and two-bedroom condominiums on 33 acres. Ranging from 620 to 1,180 square feet, all condos at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation have complete kitchens, one or two lanais, and a pullout sofa. Maid service is available upon request for a fee.
Features
Guests share in several nice facilities nearby. Parents with children age 4-12 enjoy adult time while kids play next door at Sheraton's supervised children's program. Kiahuna Golf Club, a short drive away, offers Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation guests special rates and charging privileges at its restaurant and pro shop. Of course, beach lovers need only stroll a short way to get their fill of surf and sand.

Around 24 couples a year marry here, many under the spreading banyan tree. Those who want to say "I do -- again" can join a complimentary weekly vow renewal ceremony for up to six couples.
Dining
The on-site Plantation Garden serves up nostalgia and Pacific Rim cuisine. Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation guests are also welcomed at Joe's on the Green at Kiahuna Golf Course. Grills are available on the property and there is a well-stocked grocery store across the road. Groceries can be pre-ordered online for delivery.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Taxis and limousines at airport
Attractions
  • National Tropical Botanical Garden Visitor Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Spouting Horn (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (15 mi/24.1 km)

Hotel Map

21.8783 -159.4588
Area served
Poipu, Kauai, HI
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport-LIH
Area description
Kiahuna Plantation is located on Kauai's sunny south shore, 16 miles southwest of Lihue Airport, right on the beach at Poipu.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Rooms

One bedroom royal garden
This unit is a spacious 880 square feet of living space. It features a fully equipped kitchen with one bathroom. The bedding is one queen or king bed in the master bedroom with a sofa sleeper in the living room. There is no air-conditioning but there are ceiling fans. You will enjoy a wider garden view in this unit than you do in the regular Garden View unit. Complimentary in room high speed internet service is also included.
One Bedroom Garden View
This unit is a spacious 880 square feet of living space. It features a fully equipped kitchen with one bathroom. The bedding is one queen or king bed in the master bedroom with a sofa sleeper in the living room. There is no air-conditioning but there are ceiling fans. Complimentary in room High Speed Interent Access is also included.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

CasaBlanca
Mediterranen and traditional American fare, open every day for lunch and dinner, full bar. Located in our swim & tennis club.
Plantation Gardens
A Poipu tradition, located in the former plantation manager's home, the menu reflects the cuisine of old plantation Hawaii. Cocktails and dinner nightly.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Luis Obispo, CA
May 22, 2007

My review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Room was very traditional. My particular room had a terrible view. If your gonna stay here make sure you get an Ocean view room. Pool was very far from the hotel. A few nights were hot as the room does not have A\C. Overall pretty enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A few resturants across the street.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Casper, WY
Jan 20, 2010

Winter relaxation

We have made many trips to Kauai and have stayed at the Kiahuna Plantation many times. We like the location, the beach, and the grounds. Our only disappoinment with the stay is the pool. It is small and disconnected from the resort. The water temperature is also very cold. The hot tub does not allow anyone under the age of 16.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Show me the wine
Sacramento, CA
Jun 12, 2013

Fantastic Vacation spot!

Great place to stay, lots of nearby activities to do, great beach, facility, and staff too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puka Dog - best hot dogs on the island :)

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KauaiKimJim
AZ
Oct 24, 2011

Another great stay at the Kiahuna Plantation

Stayed for 10 days this time and enjoyed every moment. Cooked most of our own food after local shopping at Costco and Big Save/Times market, fruit stands too which saved TONS of money. Barbeque was close and clean, breakfast easy to cook in fully equipped condo. Beach hut chairs, towels, and staff were great. Kids loved the beach all day! Waimea canyon hikes, shave ice, Brick Oven Pizza da best! Breezes and ceiling fans kept us cool. Kauai is the place to be!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Costco for food, local groceries for butter,produce etc. Farmers markets for fruit or local fruit stands on honor system..yummy papayas.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Madglen
Sebastopol, CA
Apr 25, 2010

Great location

good location - room needed updating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kikoe's across the street is a 4Star resturant

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Terrace, CA
Oct 21, 2010

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Nice, clean condo. Knew there was no a/c, but it would have been nice to have as it was hot and humid during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just me Tina
San Clemente, CA
Oct 11, 2012

1st trip to Kauai

My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights. Beautiful grounds, great beach and attentive staff. Rooms problems were delt with timely. Wish we didn't have to walk across the street to go to pool, but the beach here is good and the state beach, with good snorkling, is just a short walk away. VERY expensive to eat out here, so stop and fill up fridge!! Enjoyed our stay but probably our only trip to Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mir.
Vancouver
Oct 20, 2013

Reviw

Room was farawey from ocean, too close to street and night traffic. For money we paid I expected more. Otherwise staff was very frendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Have2HaveUniqueNameFam4
silicon valley
Feb 24, 2014

Could be upgraded

We stayed at Kiahuna Plantation 14 years ago and my recollection was that is was quite nice. We had access to the pool at the Sheraton back then. Now, no pool access!!! Bathroom yucky after a few days. Smelled moldy, full of sand and water, hard to clean. They should really clean EVERY room mid week if you are staying more than 7 nights. Also disliked all shuttered interior and exterior doors. No privacy in unit (e.g. master bedroom and bathroom). Maybe because we had flash flood warnings coming in on our cell phones 2 of the days, but it was super humid/wet in the unit. Honestly, will stay at Marriott next door next time. Yes, beach location good. But we were in garden view, so super far from beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Salt was the best walk to place for dinner of the 4 places we tried.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dandee
Roy, WA
Sep 14, 2011

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Our first time to this island, peole warned us we'd run out of stuff to do early on. We stayed 10 days and still have a long list of hikes and snorkel dives to do. The hotel was nice, the grounds beautiful. The kitchen was stocked with all the utensils you needed, however, didn't have even salt and pepper. They have a Big Save pretty close to the hotel, so we spent lots of time and money there. Go to Costo in Lihue on the way to the room and stock up on groceries for your stay. Much less expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search