$178 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

3 stars
2253 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
181 reviews
Kauai dreaming

Great location to beach and the island in general. Condo had a great bed. No beach toys however so... See full review

  • Flyingnun
  • Mar 7, 2014
Fantastic Vacation spot!

Great place to stay, lots of nearby activities to do, great beach, facility, and staff too. See full review

  • Show me the wine
  • Jun 12, 2013
Low-rise condos with tranquil gardens and ponds in Poipu.
The former home of Hector Moir, manager of Koloa Sugar Plantation, and his wife, Alexandra, sits at the heart of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, a 33-acre condominium resort. Guests today are welcomed in the same setting where the Moirs welcomed guests, and the gracious home overlooking ponds, orchids and a cactus garden houses the Plantation Garden restaurant. Low-rise buildings with plantation-era details evoke the charm of old Hawaii. You can't get closer to the beach than this, but you may occasionally share it with a sea turtle or monk seal.
Highlights
  • Alexandra Moir's legacy, Moir Gardens
  • Complimentary wired Internet in condos for guests with laptops
  • Poipu Beach with surf breaks, water sport rentals
  • Book one-bedroom oceanfront units at least six months out
Location
  • On Poipu Beach, with easy access to restaurants and shopping
Rooms
There are 333 one- and two-bedroom condominiums on 33 acres. Ranging from 620 to 1,180 square feet, all condos at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation have complete kitchens, one or two lanais, and a pullout sofa. Maid service is available upon request for a fee.
Features
Guests share in several nice facilities nearby. Parents with children age 4-12 enjoy adult time while kids play next door at Sheraton's supervised children's program. Kiahuna Golf Club, a short drive away, offers Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation guests special rates and charging privileges at its restaurant and pro shop. Of course, beach lovers need only stroll a short way to get their fill of surf and sand.

Around 24 couples a year marry here, many under the spreading banyan tree. Those who want to say "I do -- again" can join a complimentary weekly vow renewal ceremony for up to six couples.
Dining
The on-site Plantation Garden serves up nostalgia and Pacific Rim cuisine. Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation guests are also welcomed at Joe's on the Green at Kiahuna Golf Course. Grills are available on the property and there is a well-stocked grocery store across the road. Groceries can be pre-ordered online for delivery.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Taxis and limousines at airport
Attractions
  • National Tropical Botanical Garden Visitor Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Spouting Horn (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (15 mi/24.1 km)

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Rooms

One bedroom royal garden
This unit is a spacious 880 square feet of living space. It features a fully equipped kitchen with one bathroom. The bedding is one queen or king bed in the master bedroom with a sofa sleeper in the living room. There is no air-conditioning but there are ceiling fans. You will enjoy a wider garden view in this unit than you do in the regular Garden View unit. Complimentary in room high speed internet service is also included.
One Bedroom Garden View
This unit is a spacious 880 square feet of living space. It features a fully equipped kitchen with one bathroom. The bedding is one queen or king bed in the master bedroom with a sofa sleeper in the living room. There is no air-conditioning but there are ceiling fans. Complimentary in room High Speed Interent Access is also included.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.8783 -159.4588
Area served
Poipu, Kauai, HI
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport-LIH
Area description
Kiahuna Plantation is located on Kauai's sunny south shore, 16 miles southwest of Lihue Airport, right on the beach at Poipu.

Dining

CasaBlanca
Mediterranen and traditional American fare, open every day for lunch and dinner, full bar. Located in our swim & tennis club.
Plantation Gardens
A Poipu tradition, located in the former plantation manager's home, the menu reflects the cuisine of old plantation Hawaii. Cocktails and dinner nightly.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (181)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Outnumbered 4 to 1
Bozeman, MT
Mar 22, 2011

Kiahuna Plantation is FANTASTIC

We went to Kauai with our son,(age 23), his wife (age 25), and our other son (age 18). This is the 3rd time we have stayed at the Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation. We have been to Kauai 4 times. The 3rd time there we tried another condo property and were extremely disappointed comparing it to our stays at Kiahuna Plantation so we went back again this time. The property was just as lovely, comfortable, and friendly. Being right on one of the best beaches on the island was great and being within walking distance to even more beaches was fantastic. I like sitting quietly on the beach and reading in the sun (Kiahuna Beach). We all love snorkeling (Poipu Beach), and the kids had a blast boogie boarding (Brennecke Beach). We could walk from our condo to a whole range of wonderful restaurants. We drive to anywhere on the island, do lots of fun things, see lots of fascinating, beautiful scenery, and be back to our condo to see a gorgeous sunset on the beach and a leisurely walk to dinner. The condos on Kiahuna Plantation are not air-conditioned (they have very efficient ceiling fans) but don't let that scare you. With the moderate average temperature in Kauai, the location so close to the beach, and the condos being arranged in small groups in many buildings leads to wonderful breezes. I would not recommend staying here with very young children however as much of the condo is screened with louvered shutters but no windows so a crying baby can be a bit of a problem. We have stayed in partial ocean view condos twice and this time stayed in a garden view condo. All of them were wonderful. The view of the ocean was nice but the view of the beautifully maintained gardens was nearly as pleasant. I cannot say enough good things about the Kiahuna Plantation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brennecke's - Fresh Fish

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Truckee, CA.
Jul 22, 2011

Perfect Location in Poipu

The Plantaion has a very comfortable feel to it. We loved the shuttered windows(no AC)as it gave it rustic island feel. The trade winds in that area are great. Beatiful mature landscpe with amazing gardens. Great sandy shore break beach with begginer surf breaks right out front. We'll be going back for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Josselin's Tapas Bar is a must. Check the menu online.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kauainewlyweds
Graham, WA, USA
Nov 20, 2011

Perfect beach location will be returning!

We recently stayed at Kiahuna Plantation while we got married and honeymooned on Kauai. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. They even sent us a little gift on our wedding day. The location was perfect right on the beach so we could walk down right from our condo. They even have an activities desk where you can book pretty much anything you want. The entire location was beautifully manicured and landscaped and really made it your own little piece of paradise. We couldn't have stayed at a better place for such a special time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Reseda
Jun 7, 2008

Friendly and nice

The staff was friendly and nice. The condo was large and just perfect for fixing breakfast and lunches in, and there were nice restaurants close by for dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything is within a short drive as the island is small. That said, there is lots to do and enjoy on this small island.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
P&R
Kauai
Mar 11, 2011

excellent, great vacation getaway.

The weather could have been better but we still had a great time. Great location, great service. Kiahuna Plantation provided anything you could want or need in a home away from home. We were unable to have a late check out due to another party arriving. Outrigger provided another condo for us to shower and clean up before leaving for the airport. We definitely plan on going back but not during the rainy season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Littleton, CO
Oct 27, 2009

Fabulous getaway

My husband & I came here for a week-long vacation. The plantation grounds were impecibly clean and well maintained. The rooms were adequately sized, with all the amenities one could ask for. It was like our own furnished condo on the beach. Convenient location across from several restrants and other attractions on the south side of the island. We will definitely be back here on our next trip to Kauai!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AKS
Utah
Feb 21, 2010

Great Vacation for this couple

The place is beautiful, very nice beach, easy to get to....everything is available at beach access that you need. During winter months bring jackets, sweats for evening and night time...it does get cool after 5. Even locals bundle up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring your wallet....things in this State are expensive. We always under-estimate food costs, even when we eat-in and buy at Super Market. Everything is close, stores, food locations, etc. Would have been nice if hotel restaurant was a full service....but it is very nice and somewhat pricey.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 7, 2008

Family friendly, good location

The Kiahuna Plantation: Good location, walking distance to beach and great restaurants, roomy units with nice amenities. This is a good place to stay if you have a child or children. The drawbacks: The pool is quite a walk- across a fairly busy road. Some units (such as ours) are close to the road and you hear more traffic noise than ocean sounds. People on this island seem to be fascinated by peeling out here at the Poipu shopping center crossroads which is very annoying. For some people, the lack of an AC would be a drawback but we didn't feel it was needed. We were nice and cool day and night. I liked the fresh air.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
junko
New York, NY, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Ultimate Relaxation

the beautiful poipu beach in front. close to great restaurants, and shops. the hotel is quiet and relaxing. we will be back again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

try the plantation restaurant on site. they serve fresh and quality dishes and delicious cocktails.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Truckee, CA.
Jul 22, 2011

Perfect Location in Poipu

The Plantaion has a very comfortable feel to it. We loved the shuttered windows(no AC)as it gave it rustic island feel. The trade winds in that area are great. Beatiful mature landscpe with amazing gardens. Great sandy shore break beach with begginer surf breaks right out front. We'll be going back for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Josselin's Tapas Bar is a must. Check the menu online.

Back to menu Return to top