$178 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

3 stars
2253 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
181 reviews
Kauai dreaming

Great location to beach and the island in general. Condo had a great bed. No beach toys however so... See full review

  • Flyingnun
  • Mar 7, 2014
Fantastic Vacation spot!

Great place to stay, lots of nearby activities to do, great beach, facility, and staff too. See full review

  • Show me the wine
  • Jun 12, 2013
Low-rise condos with tranquil gardens and ponds in Poipu.
The former home of Hector Moir, manager of Koloa Sugar Plantation, and his wife, Alexandra, sits at the heart of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, a 33-acre condominium resort. Guests today are welcomed in the same setting where the Moirs welcomed guests, and the gracious home overlooking ponds, orchids and a cactus garden houses the Plantation Garden restaurant. Low-rise buildings with plantation-era details evoke the charm of old Hawaii. You can't get closer to the beach than this, but you may occasionally share it with a sea turtle or monk seal.
Highlights
  • Alexandra Moir's legacy, Moir Gardens
  • Complimentary wired Internet in condos for guests with laptops
  • Poipu Beach with surf breaks, water sport rentals
  • Book one-bedroom oceanfront units at least six months out
Location
  • On Poipu Beach, with easy access to restaurants and shopping
Rooms
There are 333 one- and two-bedroom condominiums on 33 acres. Ranging from 620 to 1,180 square feet, all condos at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation have complete kitchens, one or two lanais, and a pullout sofa. Maid service is available upon request for a fee.
Features
Guests share in several nice facilities nearby. Parents with children age 4-12 enjoy adult time while kids play next door at Sheraton's supervised children's program. Kiahuna Golf Club, a short drive away, offers Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation guests special rates and charging privileges at its restaurant and pro shop. Of course, beach lovers need only stroll a short way to get their fill of surf and sand.

Around 24 couples a year marry here, many under the spreading banyan tree. Those who want to say "I do -- again" can join a complimentary weekly vow renewal ceremony for up to six couples.
Dining
The on-site Plantation Garden serves up nostalgia and Pacific Rim cuisine. Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation guests are also welcomed at Joe's on the Green at Kiahuna Golf Course. Grills are available on the property and there is a well-stocked grocery store across the road. Groceries can be pre-ordered online for delivery.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Taxis and limousines at airport
Attractions
  • National Tropical Botanical Garden Visitor Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Spouting Horn (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (15 mi/24.1 km)

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Rooms

One bedroom royal garden
This unit is a spacious 880 square feet of living space. It features a fully equipped kitchen with one bathroom. The bedding is one queen or king bed in the master bedroom with a sofa sleeper in the living room. There is no air-conditioning but there are ceiling fans. You will enjoy a wider garden view in this unit than you do in the regular Garden View unit. Complimentary in room high speed internet service is also included.
One Bedroom Garden View
This unit is a spacious 880 square feet of living space. It features a fully equipped kitchen with one bathroom. The bedding is one queen or king bed in the master bedroom with a sofa sleeper in the living room. There is no air-conditioning but there are ceiling fans. Complimentary in room High Speed Interent Access is also included.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.8783 -159.4588
Area served
Poipu, Kauai, HI
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport-LIH
Area description
Kiahuna Plantation is located on Kauai's sunny south shore, 16 miles southwest of Lihue Airport, right on the beach at Poipu.

Dining

CasaBlanca
Mediterranen and traditional American fare, open every day for lunch and dinner, full bar. Located in our swim & tennis club.
Plantation Gardens
A Poipu tradition, located in the former plantation manager's home, the menu reflects the cuisine of old plantation Hawaii. Cocktails and dinner nightly.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (181)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange, CA
Apr 26, 2011

Great!

Great room, ocean view, the staff was so wonderful and welcoming. I had an awesome vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Check out is at noon. If you have a late flight the front desk will offer you a complimentary room for an hour to freshen up before heading to the airport. Had a great last day hanging out on the beach and enjoying the sunshine. Take a surf lesson if you get a chance!

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange, CA
Apr 26, 2011

Great!

Great room, ocean view, the staff was so wonderful and welcoming. I had an awesome vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Check out is at noon. If you have a late flight the front desk will offer you a complimentary room for an hour to freshen up before heading to the airport. Had a great last day hanging out on the beach and enjoying the sunshine. Take a surf lesson if you get a chance!

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
cinnaminson nj
Apr 13, 2011

Great place to stay

Very nice complex and enjoyed the pool with a slide. They even had beach toys for my daughter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

We signed up for the movie tour at the hotel which was very fun. In addition it also turned into a guided tour of the island.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
cinnaminson nj
Apr 13, 2011

Great place to stay

Very nice complex and enjoyed the pool with a slide. They even had beach toys for my daughter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

We signed up for the movie tour at the hotel which was very fun. In addition it also turned into a guided tour of the island.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Outnumbered 4 to 1
Bozeman, MT
Mar 22, 2011

Kiahuna Plantation is FANTASTIC

We went to Kauai with our son,(age 23), his wife (age 25), and our other son (age 18). This is the 3rd time we have stayed at the Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation. We have been to Kauai 4 times. The 3rd time there we tried another condo property and were extremely disappointed comparing it to our stays at Kiahuna Plantation so we went back again this time. The property was just as lovely, comfortable, and friendly. Being right on one of the best beaches on the island was great and being within walking distance to even more beaches was fantastic. I like sitting quietly on the beach and reading in the sun (Kiahuna Beach). We all love snorkeling (Poipu Beach), and the kids had a blast boogie boarding (Brennecke Beach). We could walk from our condo to a whole range of wonderful restaurants. We drive to anywhere on the island, do lots of fun things, see lots of fascinating, beautiful scenery, and be back to our condo to see a gorgeous sunset on the beach and a leisurely walk to dinner. The condos on Kiahuna Plantation are not air-conditioned (they have very efficient ceiling fans) but don't let that scare you. With the moderate average temperature in Kauai, the location so close to the beach, and the condos being arranged in small groups in many buildings leads to wonderful breezes. I would not recommend staying here with very young children however as much of the condo is screened with louvered shutters but no windows so a crying baby can be a bit of a problem. We have stayed in partial ocean view condos twice and this time stayed in a garden view condo. All of them were wonderful. The view of the ocean was nice but the view of the beautifully maintained gardens was nearly as pleasant. I cannot say enough good things about the Kiahuna Plantation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brennecke's - Fresh Fish

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hemper Fi
Seattle, WA
Mar 22, 2011

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation in Poipu

The room and lanai were spacious and comfortable for us. Though not air conditioned, we never felt hot as the condo had two large ceiling fans and was well ventilated. The check in and maid service were excellent. The facility is well-maintained, but the pool is across the highway from the residences and frankly we never visited it. The beach fronting the hotel was very nice and we spent a lot of time there. The condominium is very conveniently located in Poipu. It's not far to Spouting Horn and very near to the Poipu Beach State Park. The hike eastward from Shipwreck Beach was interesting and we were able to spot many sea turtles from the bluffs along that hike. It's walking distance to Keoki's Paradise which featured an excellent meal including salad for a decent price for Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The sunset sailing of the Na Pali coast provided by Captain Andy's Sailing Adventures (in Port Allen) was one highlight of the trip. We saw dolphins and whales, had a well narrated cruise of the beautiful coast and enjoyed a very delicious meal.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hemper Fi
Seattle, WA
Mar 22, 2011

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation in Poipu

The room and lanai were spacious and comfortable for us. Though not air conditioned, we never felt hot as the condo had two large ceiling fans and was well ventilated. The check in and maid service were excellent. The facility is well-maintained, but the pool is across the highway from the residences and frankly we never visited it. The beach fronting the hotel was very nice and we spent a lot of time there. The condominium is very conveniently located in Poipu. It's not far to Spouting Horn and very near to the Poipu Beach State Park. The hike eastward from Shipwreck Beach was interesting and we were able to spot many sea turtles from the bluffs along that hike. It's walking distance to Keoki's Paradise which featured an excellent meal including salad for a decent price for Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The sunset sailing of the Na Pali coast provided by Captain Andy's Sailing Adventures (in Port Allen) was one highlight of the trip. We saw dolphins and whales, had a well narrated cruise of the beautiful coast and enjoyed a very delicious meal.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Outnumbered 4 to 1
Bozeman, MT
Mar 22, 2011

Kiahuna Plantation is FANTASTIC

We went to Kauai with our son,(age 23), his wife (age 25), and our other son (age 18). This is the 3rd time we have stayed at the Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation. We have been to Kauai 4 times. The 3rd time there we tried another condo property and were extremely disappointed comparing it to our stays at Kiahuna Plantation so we went back again this time. The property was just as lovely, comfortable, and friendly. Being right on one of the best beaches on the island was great and being within walking distance to even more beaches was fantastic. I like sitting quietly on the beach and reading in the sun (Kiahuna Beach). We all love snorkeling (Poipu Beach), and the kids had a blast boogie boarding (Brennecke Beach). We could walk from our condo to a whole range of wonderful restaurants. We drive to anywhere on the island, do lots of fun things, see lots of fascinating, beautiful scenery, and be back to our condo to see a gorgeous sunset on the beach and a leisurely walk to dinner. The condos on Kiahuna Plantation are not air-conditioned (they have very efficient ceiling fans) but don't let that scare you. With the moderate average temperature in Kauai, the location so close to the beach, and the condos being arranged in small groups in many buildings leads to wonderful breezes. I would not recommend staying here with very young children however as much of the condo is screened with louvered shutters but no windows so a crying baby can be a bit of a problem. We have stayed in partial ocean view condos twice and this time stayed in a garden view condo. All of them were wonderful. The view of the ocean was nice but the view of the beautifully maintained gardens was nearly as pleasant. I cannot say enough good things about the Kiahuna Plantation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brennecke's - Fresh Fish

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matt and Ash Honeymooners :)
Tucson, AZ
Mar 20, 2011

AMAZING HONEYMOON!

Our honeymoon staying at the outriggers condos was amazing!!!! The area around the resort was so vibrant green and lush! We had a one bedroom condo for the 2 of us which was plenty of space. No air conditioning was absolutely NO problem with a great breeze constantly coming through it never seemed too warm.. The patio was huge (2 lawnchairs, and a table and chairs to eat outside as well) with french style sliding doors that opened up the whole condo to the outdoors that we always kept open when we were there. The kitchen was great to cook in with alll the equipment needed and grills all over the facility to bbq. A nice walk in the evening across the street to Casa Blanca for happyhour or dinner is a must while your there. Great open air eating and live music almost every night. Area had little shops, other restaurants and coffee shops as well! The beach in front of the outriggers was beautiful and you can just walk down to.. another great one we loved was a 2 minute drive to the other side of poipu beach (other side of the little bay) which had a little bar/grill,deli, and shaved ice right there. Kuaui was absolutely breathtaking and where we stayed was more than we could have asked for! Became our little home for the week! We didnt want to leave... BEST VACATION EVER.. My husband and I would recommend it to anyone of all ages and and already have. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We were told that your best bet is to find a larger grocery store to get your groceries.. this is a good idea for your initial shopping for condiments, basics..etc... but the market a couple of minutes away was great as well.. not too over priced and had everything in it! we went there many times for food,drinks, things to make dinners in the condo.. Along there is more little great shops as well!

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matt and Ash Honeymooners :)
Tucson, AZ
Mar 20, 2011

AMAZING HONEYMOON!

Our honeymoon staying at the outriggers condos was amazing!!!! The area around the resort was so vibrant green and lush! We had a one bedroom condo for the 2 of us which was plenty of space. No air conditioning was absolutely NO problem with a great breeze constantly coming through it never seemed too warm.. The patio was huge (2 lawnchairs, and a table and chairs to eat outside as well) with french style sliding doors that opened up the whole condo to the outdoors that we always kept open when we were there. The kitchen was great to cook in with alll the equipment needed and grills all over the facility to bbq. A nice walk in the evening across the street to Casa Blanca for happyhour or dinner is a must while your there. Great open air eating and live music almost every night. Area had little shops, other restaurants and coffee shops as well! The beach in front of the outriggers was beautiful and you can just walk down to.. another great one we loved was a 2 minute drive to the other side of poipu beach (other side of the little bay) which had a little bar/grill,deli, and shaved ice right there. Kuaui was absolutely breathtaking and where we stayed was more than we could have asked for! Became our little home for the week! We didnt want to leave... BEST VACATION EVER.. My husband and I would recommend it to anyone of all ages and and already have. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We were told that your best bet is to find a larger grocery store to get your groceries.. this is a good idea for your initial shopping for condiments, basics..etc... but the market a couple of minutes away was great as well.. not too over priced and had everything in it! we went there many times for food,drinks, things to make dinners in the condo.. Along there is more little great shops as well!

Back to menu Return to top