$178 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

3 stars
2253 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
181 reviews
Kauai dreaming

Great location to beach and the island in general. Condo had a great bed. No beach toys however so... See full review

  • Flyingnun
  • Mar 7, 2014
Fantastic Vacation spot!

Great place to stay, lots of nearby activities to do, great beach, facility, and staff too. See full review

  • Show me the wine
  • Jun 12, 2013
Low-rise condos with tranquil gardens and ponds in Poipu.
The former home of Hector Moir, manager of Koloa Sugar Plantation, and his wife, Alexandra, sits at the heart of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, a 33-acre condominium resort. Guests today are welcomed in the same setting where the Moirs welcomed guests, and the gracious home overlooking ponds, orchids and a cactus garden houses the Plantation Garden restaurant. Low-rise buildings with plantation-era details evoke the charm of old Hawaii. You can't get closer to the beach than this, but you may occasionally share it with a sea turtle or monk seal.
Highlights
  • Alexandra Moir's legacy, Moir Gardens
  • Complimentary wired Internet in condos for guests with laptops
  • Poipu Beach with surf breaks, water sport rentals
  • Book one-bedroom oceanfront units at least six months out
Location
  • On Poipu Beach, with easy access to restaurants and shopping
Rooms
There are 333 one- and two-bedroom condominiums on 33 acres. Ranging from 620 to 1,180 square feet, all condos at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation have complete kitchens, one or two lanais, and a pullout sofa. Maid service is available upon request for a fee.
Features
Guests share in several nice facilities nearby. Parents with children age 4-12 enjoy adult time while kids play next door at Sheraton's supervised children's program. Kiahuna Golf Club, a short drive away, offers Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation guests special rates and charging privileges at its restaurant and pro shop. Of course, beach lovers need only stroll a short way to get their fill of surf and sand.

Around 24 couples a year marry here, many under the spreading banyan tree. Those who want to say "I do -- again" can join a complimentary weekly vow renewal ceremony for up to six couples.
Dining
The on-site Plantation Garden serves up nostalgia and Pacific Rim cuisine. Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation guests are also welcomed at Joe's on the Green at Kiahuna Golf Course. Grills are available on the property and there is a well-stocked grocery store across the road. Groceries can be pre-ordered online for delivery.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Taxis and limousines at airport
Attractions
  • National Tropical Botanical Garden Visitor Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Spouting Horn (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (15 mi/24.1 km)

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Rooms

One bedroom royal garden
This unit is a spacious 880 square feet of living space. It features a fully equipped kitchen with one bathroom. The bedding is one queen or king bed in the master bedroom with a sofa sleeper in the living room. There is no air-conditioning but there are ceiling fans. You will enjoy a wider garden view in this unit than you do in the regular Garden View unit. Complimentary in room high speed internet service is also included.
One Bedroom Garden View
This unit is a spacious 880 square feet of living space. It features a fully equipped kitchen with one bathroom. The bedding is one queen or king bed in the master bedroom with a sofa sleeper in the living room. There is no air-conditioning but there are ceiling fans. Complimentary in room High Speed Interent Access is also included.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.8783 -159.4588
Area served
Poipu, Kauai, HI
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport-LIH
Area description
Kiahuna Plantation is located on Kauai's sunny south shore, 16 miles southwest of Lihue Airport, right on the beach at Poipu.

Dining

CasaBlanca
Mediterranen and traditional American fare, open every day for lunch and dinner, full bar. Located in our swim & tennis club.
Plantation Gardens
A Poipu tradition, located in the former plantation manager's home, the menu reflects the cuisine of old plantation Hawaii. Cocktails and dinner nightly.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (181)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Truckee, CA.
Jul 22, 2011

Perfect Location in Poipu

The Plantaion has a very comfortable feel to it. We loved the shuttered windows(no AC)as it gave it rustic island feel. The trade winds in that area are great. Beatiful mature landscpe with amazing gardens. Great sandy shore break beach with begginer surf breaks right out front. We'll be going back for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Josselin's Tapas Bar is a must. Check the menu online.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Truckee, CA.
Jul 22, 2011

Perfect Location in Poipu

The Plantaion has a very comfortable feel to it. We loved the shuttered windows(no AC)as it gave it rustic island feel. The trade winds in that area are great. Beatiful mature landscpe with amazing gardens. Great sandy shore break beach with begginer surf breaks right out front. We'll be going back for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Josselin's Tapas Bar is a must. Check the menu online.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
SoCAL
Jul 20, 2011

Family surf trip

We had a wonderful time in Poipu. We had a nice condo at Kiahuna Plantation. The grounds are beautiful and it is a perfect beach. My son and husband surfed right out in front and I enjoyed reading a book on the sand. The ocean is crystal clear. We enjoyed morning walks. The only thing missing was a bar on the beach. We walked next door to enjoy a maitai on the beach. If we stayed there again, we woould get an ocean front or view condo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for a cool hip nice restaurant on the beach, I would go to the Red Salt. It's more for couples or family with teens. It was our favorite place. In their lounge they had an amazing sushi chef there too on Fri and Sat from 5:30 to 6:30.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
SoCAL
Jul 20, 2011

Family surf trip

We had a wonderful time in Poipu. We had a nice condo at Kiahuna Plantation. The grounds are beautiful and it is a perfect beach. My son and husband surfed right out in front and I enjoyed reading a book on the sand. The ocean is crystal clear. We enjoyed morning walks. The only thing missing was a bar on the beach. We walked next door to enjoy a maitai on the beach. If we stayed there again, we woould get an ocean front or view condo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for a cool hip nice restaurant on the beach, I would go to the Red Salt. It's more for couples or family with teens. It was our favorite place. In their lounge they had an amazing sushi chef there too on Fri and Sat from 5:30 to 6:30.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jordan's mom
Petaluma, CA
Jul 17, 2011

Awesome summer breezes

Very enjoyable. LOVE the beach area!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bakersfield, CA
Jul 10, 2011

Excellence in Paradise

Excellent property with plenty of splendor during morning walks... take your camera! Close to excellent beach with plenty of friendly! Trump that with free lawn chairs and towels... Food at onsite restaurant is pricey (what isn't on the island?), but exceptional and the staff is friendly and fast! Appreciated the first-morning "just the facts" activities talk without the stress of a timeshare armtwist!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip Roy's... do happy hour and eat the mahi-mahi fish and chips at Keoke's across the street!

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bakersfield, CA
Jul 10, 2011

Excellence in Paradise

Excellent property with plenty of splendor during morning walks... take your camera! Close to excellent beach with plenty of friendly! Trump that with free lawn chairs and towels... Food at onsite restaurant is pricey (what isn't on the island?), but exceptional and the staff is friendly and fast! Appreciated the first-morning "just the facts" activities talk without the stress of a timeshare armtwist!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip Roy's... do happy hour and eat the mahi-mahi fish and chips at Keoke's across the street!

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Ramon, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Very nice place for the family and kids!

This place is perfect. The one bedroom we stayed at has a bedroom and living room plus a full kitchen. It is very close to the private hotel beach / pool as well as the Poipu public beach - all within short walking distance (we go there twice a day in swimming suits). They have a plantation garden that's beautiful with koi. There are plenty of pretty birds around. Service was great too. Highly recommended. We will definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Old town Kola is very close by. We did a lot of food shopping there and cooked in our kitchen. The hotel has barbeque stands everywhere. You can cook outside, enjoy the beautiful sunset and bring back the food to eat in your own dinning table at the comfort of your hotel.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Ramon, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Very nice place for the family and kids!

This place is perfect. The one bedroom we stayed at has a bedroom and living room plus a full kitchen. It is very close to the private hotel beach / pool as well as the Poipu public beach - all within short walking distance (we go there twice a day in swimming suits). They have a plantation garden that's beautiful with koi. There are plenty of pretty birds around. Service was great too. Highly recommended. We will definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Old town Kola is very close by. We did a lot of food shopping there and cooked in our kitchen. The hotel has barbeque stands everywhere. You can cook outside, enjoy the beautiful sunset and bring back the food to eat in your own dinning table at the comfort of your hotel.

Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jatdv
Sacramento, CA
Jul 2, 2011

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

We were placed in the easternmost of the condo buildings. The room was very nice and spacious, with a full kitchen - which we used. Although we were booked with a "garden view" room, our building has only a limited "garden" and overlooks a bit of another hotel's buildings. We were also close to Poipu Rd. and could hear some traffic. Although the room and location were still very nice, without getting a beach view there are many more "garden view" buildings that appear to offer a nicer location than ours. We also had one of the farthest walks to the beach and the office/restaurant, but we were closer to the laundry. The on-site Moir Gardens and the beach are very beautiful. The beach is very clean and has great surf but you can swim. Poipu/Koloa are very nice - not too busy, close to the airport, and fairly centrally located on the island in that it is a roughly equal driving distance to either of the end-of-the-road locations. We went to both ends of the island (Koke'e and Ha'ena State Parks) for all-day hikes - spectacular!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Talk to Sherri (or anyone) down at nearby Brennecke's Beach Center. They are very nice and give you honest info about available activities! Check out their restaurant upstairs, too.

Back to menu Return to top