$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

3 stars
2253 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
110 reviews
Wonderful place

Clean with great beach for swimming or snorkeling. Private, quiet and relaxing. Great value. See full review

  • tmvb
  • Sep 28, 2014
Kauai dreaming

Great location to beach and the island in general. Condo had a great bed. No beach toys however so... See full review

  • Flyingnun
  • Mar 7, 2014
Low-rise condos with tranquil gardens and ponds in Poipu.
The former home of Hector Moir, manager of Koloa Sugar Plantation, and his wife, Alexandra, sits at the heart of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, a 33-acre condominium resort. Guests today are welcomed in the same setting where the Moirs welcomed guests, and the gracious home overlooking ponds, orchids and a cactus garden houses the Plantation Garden restaurant. Low-rise buildings with plantation-era details evoke the charm of old Hawaii. You can't get closer to the beach than this, but you may occasionally share it with a sea turtle or monk seal.
Highlights
  • Alexandra Moir's legacy, Moir Gardens
  • Complimentary wired Internet in condos for guests with laptops
  • Poipu Beach with surf breaks, water sport rentals
  • Book one-bedroom oceanfront units at least six months out
Location
  • On Poipu Beach, with easy access to restaurants and shopping
Rooms
There are 333 one- and two-bedroom condominiums on 33 acres. Ranging from 620 to 1,180 square feet, all condos at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation have complete kitchens, one or two lanais, and a pullout sofa. Maid service is available upon request for a fee.
Features
Guests share in several nice facilities nearby. Parents with children age 4-12 enjoy adult time while kids play next door at Sheraton's supervised children's program. Kiahuna Golf Club, a short drive away, offers Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation guests special rates and charging privileges at its restaurant and pro shop. Of course, beach lovers need only stroll a short way to get their fill of surf and sand.

Around 24 couples a year marry here, many under the spreading banyan tree. Those who want to say "I do -- again" can join a complimentary weekly vow renewal ceremony for up to six couples.
Dining
The on-site Plantation Garden serves up nostalgia and Pacific Rim cuisine. Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation guests are also welcomed at Joe's on the Green at Kiahuna Golf Course. Grills are available on the property and there is a well-stocked grocery store across the road. Groceries can be pre-ordered online for delivery.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Taxis and limousines at airport
Attractions
  • National Tropical Botanical Garden Visitor Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Spouting Horn (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (15 mi/24.1 km)
Policies and Fees
Guests have access to the pool, spa, fitness center and tennis courts at Poipu Beach Athletic Club.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.8783 -159.4588
Area served
Poipu, Kauai, HI
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport-LIH
Area description
Kiahuna Plantation is located on Kauai's sunny south shore, 16 miles southwest of Lihue Airport, right on the beach at Poipu.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Rooms

One bedroom royal garden
This unit is a spacious 880 square feet of living space. It features a fully equipped kitchen with one bathroom. The bedding is one queen or king bed in the master bedroom with a sofa sleeper in the living room. There is no air-conditioning but there are ceiling fans. You will enjoy a wider garden view in this unit than you do in the regular Garden View unit. Complimentary in room high speed internet service is also included.
One Bedroom Garden View
This unit is a spacious 880 square feet of living space. It features a fully equipped kitchen with one bathroom. The bedding is one queen or king bed in the master bedroom with a sofa sleeper in the living room. There is no air-conditioning but there are ceiling fans. Complimentary in room High Speed Interent Access is also included.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

CasaBlanca
Mediterranen and traditional American fare, open every day for lunch and dinner, full bar. Located in our swim & tennis club.
Plantation Gardens
A Poipu tradition, located in the former plantation manager's home, the menu reflects the cuisine of old plantation Hawaii. Cocktails and dinner nightly.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
atbklds
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Mar 28, 2012

Great Place to Stay

Very nice place to stay in Kauai. Grounds and garden were spectacular. Royal Garden view unit spacious and clean. A very very relaxing place to hang your hat. Minor downside is the pool is across the highway....a short walk or 2 minute drive. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dppp
Business
Fargo, ND, USA
Feb 27, 2012

A Nice Getaway

The staff was very friendly! They helped us plan sctivities on the island. It is in a great location ! Other then sleeping in our rooms we were quite active with seeing the island. The only down side to our room was that we could hear the people upstairs walking around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dppp
Business
Fargo, ND, USA
Feb 12, 2012

Kauai trip

The room was clean and the maid service was good. The staff that checked us in was very nice and the concierge, Karen was great. Decor is a little outdated, but we hardly spent any time in the room anyway, we were out enjoying the island

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dukes has an amazing atmosphere and great food, the Shrimp Shack was also delicious

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bonny L.
Business
Hong Kong
Jan 11, 2012

Excellent condo with great beach and services

We had an excellent stay in a 1-bedroom that was fully equipped with the exception of one item which the staff supplied within minutes. The one repair needed was also dealt with immediately. One inconvenience was the distance to the breakfast restaurant so it was a good thing we wanted to cook for ourselves in the condo. We must mention also the annoyance each morning of leaf blower and mower noise from the gardening work. Other than that, it was perfect for us -- the beach is large and just steps from the door; the gardens are lovely and expansive; the laundry is well-located (if a bit expensive); there is plenty of parking at the unit; the staff are friendly and efficient. We recommend the Kiahuna Plantation unreservedly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not miss the Waimea Canyon - it is breathtaking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kauainewlyweds
Business
Graham, WA, USA
Nov 20, 2011

Perfect beach location will be returning!

We recently stayed at Kiahuna Plantation while we got married and honeymooned on Kauai. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. They even sent us a little gift on our wedding day. The location was perfect right on the beach so we could walk down right from our condo. They even have an activities desk where you can book pretty much anything you want. The entire location was beautifully manicured and landscaped and really made it your own little piece of paradise. We couldn't have stayed at a better place for such a special time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pedsgirl
Business
SC
Nov 17, 2011

family friendly stay

Overall we had an excellent family stay here. It's located on a gorgeous beach with a park beach down the road that has a reefed-in area perfect for kids. As for the hotel, the staff were helpful and nice, and though we had just a garden view room, it was a gorgeous view and within walking distance of the beach. Next time I will request a room far away from the road, as the road noise was disturbing to our baby; and the restaurant just across the way was noisy into the night. The condo itself was breezy and adequate; the housekeeping could have been better in the details, such as dust accumulated under furniture and a bit of a grimy-feeling old shower/tub. A couple nights we were too warm, but the fans were helpful although AC would have been welcomed. We did enjoy the lanai balcony which was safe for our toddler, with very high and close rails. The travel desk/concierge staff were very helpful to help us plan excursions and couldn't have been nicer. We enjoyed especially the sunset sail but a word of caution...take an anti-nausea med beforehand! I'm prone to motion-sickness and forgot that detail which kind of ruined the ambiance for me! I would stay here again, just in a unit further from the road and closer to the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The luau was fun at Smith Family Garden however the food was not stellar. I would probably choose another one next time. Also the sunset cruise was definitely worth the money as we saw dolphins and a whale; however the fern grotto boat tour was a rip-off in my opinion and not worth the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Siftnsand
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Nov 9, 2011

A Beautiful Place

We loved our second floor, garden view condo. The grounds are beautiful and we enjoyed walking through them on the way to the beach. The beach is perfect for swimming, snorkeling and boogie boarding. There were a few minor maintenance issues with the rooms, but nothing that affected our stay. The rooms were nicely decorated and comfortable. The pool is across the street, but close by and very pretty. We hope to stay at the Outrigger again at another time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KauaiKimJim
Business
AZ
Oct 24, 2011

Another great stay at the Kiahuna Plantation

Stayed for 10 days this time and enjoyed every moment. Cooked most of our own food after local shopping at Costco and Big Save/Times market, fruit stands too which saved TONS of money. Barbeque was close and clean, breakfast easy to cook in fully equipped condo. Beach hut chairs, towels, and staff were great. Kids loved the beach all day! Waimea canyon hikes, shave ice, Brick Oven Pizza da best! Breezes and ceiling fans kept us cool. Kauai is the place to be!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Costco for food, local groceries for butter,produce etc. Farmers markets for fruit or local fruit stands on honor system..yummy papayas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Randy2800
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Perfect Location

This hotel was extremely underrated, it comes with some dated furniture which circa 1980's but that aside all the other modern conveniences TV, Fridge and cooking facilities were great. The only slight annoyance was the tap water which had a bad taste and was nasty surprise after a big night. Buy some bottle water to avoid that issue. Aside from that I would be happy to stay at all the outriggers as long as the price stays competitive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Poipu is a great spot, I would definitely hire a car though to see as much of this little island as possible. Check out the Waimea Canyons and Hanalei Bay naturally beautiful landscapes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John son
Business
Redding, CA, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Good hotel for the price

We chose this hotel because of four star ratings by Orbitz customers. Didn't feel it deserved four stars. It was a good stay with a really nice beach front. There is a nice grassy area that leads right up to the very nice sand beach. The beach has a sandy area that leads into the water for approx. 20 feet then turns to rock where the snorkeling is as good as anywhere else on the island. For the most part, the ocean is calm enough for any age. The rooms were clean, but during our stay, the only thing attended to was the trash, bed, and exchange of towels. Great hotel for a family if cooking is in your plans as there was a nice kitchen area. The only other complaint would be that the pool was across the street and was less than inviting. If you like a nice pool, not your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Better to get supplies at Costco or another big store on your way to the hotel. There is a small convenience store in the shopping village across the street, but the prices reflect the convenience...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top