$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

3 stars
2253 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
109 reviews
Kauai dreaming

Great location to beach and the island in general. Condo had a great bed. No beach toys however so... See full review

  • Flyingnun
  • Mar 7, 2014
Fantastic Vacation spot!

Great place to stay, lots of nearby activities to do, great beach, facility, and staff too. See full review

  • Show me the wine
  • Jun 12, 2013
Low-rise condos with tranquil gardens and ponds in Poipu.
The former home of Hector Moir, manager of Koloa Sugar Plantation, and his wife, Alexandra, sits at the heart of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, a 33-acre condominium resort. Guests today are welcomed in the same setting where the Moirs welcomed guests, and the gracious home overlooking ponds, orchids and a cactus garden houses the Plantation Garden restaurant. Low-rise buildings with plantation-era details evoke the charm of old Hawaii. You can't get closer to the beach than this, but you may occasionally share it with a sea turtle or monk seal.
Highlights
  • Alexandra Moir's legacy, Moir Gardens
  • Complimentary wired Internet in condos for guests with laptops
  • Poipu Beach with surf breaks, water sport rentals
  • Book one-bedroom oceanfront units at least six months out
Location
  • On Poipu Beach, with easy access to restaurants and shopping
Rooms
There are 333 one- and two-bedroom condominiums on 33 acres. Ranging from 620 to 1,180 square feet, all condos at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation have complete kitchens, one or two lanais, and a pullout sofa. Maid service is available upon request for a fee.
Features
Guests share in several nice facilities nearby. Parents with children age 4-12 enjoy adult time while kids play next door at Sheraton's supervised children's program. Kiahuna Golf Club, a short drive away, offers Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation guests special rates and charging privileges at its restaurant and pro shop. Of course, beach lovers need only stroll a short way to get their fill of surf and sand.

Around 24 couples a year marry here, many under the spreading banyan tree. Those who want to say "I do -- again" can join a complimentary weekly vow renewal ceremony for up to six couples.
Dining
The on-site Plantation Garden serves up nostalgia and Pacific Rim cuisine. Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation guests are also welcomed at Joe's on the Green at Kiahuna Golf Course. Grills are available on the property and there is a well-stocked grocery store across the road. Groceries can be pre-ordered online for delivery.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Taxis and limousines at airport
Attractions
  • National Tropical Botanical Garden Visitor Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Spouting Horn (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (15 mi/24.1 km)

Hotel Map

21.8783 -159.4588
Area served
Poipu, Kauai, HI
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport-LIH
Area description
Kiahuna Plantation is located on Kauai's sunny south shore, 16 miles southwest of Lihue Airport, right on the beach at Poipu.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Rooms

One bedroom royal garden
This unit is a spacious 880 square feet of living space. It features a fully equipped kitchen with one bathroom. The bedding is one queen or king bed in the master bedroom with a sofa sleeper in the living room. There is no air-conditioning but there are ceiling fans. You will enjoy a wider garden view in this unit than you do in the regular Garden View unit. Complimentary in room high speed internet service is also included.
One Bedroom Garden View
This unit is a spacious 880 square feet of living space. It features a fully equipped kitchen with one bathroom. The bedding is one queen or king bed in the master bedroom with a sofa sleeper in the living room. There is no air-conditioning but there are ceiling fans. Complimentary in room High Speed Interent Access is also included.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

CasaBlanca
Mediterranen and traditional American fare, open every day for lunch and dinner, full bar. Located in our swim & tennis club.
Plantation Gardens
A Poipu tradition, located in the former plantation manager's home, the menu reflects the cuisine of old plantation Hawaii. Cocktails and dinner nightly.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CherS
Utah
Feb 13, 2013

Great spot. Great value.

Really great value for the price. We walked over to the other chain hotels and they were newer, fancier but not enough to be worth the extra price. Plus Kiahuna has free parking and free internet which the big chains did not. Kiahuna is older but very comfortable and clean. Yes there is no A/C but we went in February and did not have a need for it. Yes you can hear noise (cars, roosters) but we read other reviews about this and took ear plugs and it didn't bother us at all. Having a kitchen saved us about $20 per day as we were able to have breakfast in the room. Never saw the pool. Its across the street but we didn't need it. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KauaiKimJim
AZ
Feb 7, 2013

Great place to stay close to Poipu Beach!

We repeatedly stay at the Kiahuna Plantation due to the great location, friendly staff, and economical value. Stop by Costco and the local supermarket for food and drinks. Then go to the farmers market for veggies and fruit. You save TONS of money cooking breakfast, lunch, and dinner as the condo has everything you need to prepare food. We bring our own spices and dry goods and eat like royalty! We also go to dinner or lunch when we dont feel like cookin. We bring our own drinks to the beach too...so much fun. Take the money you save and take a Na Pali coast tour or whateva you like!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Brick Oven Pizza in Kalaheo, Shrimp Station in Waimea, Shave Ice in Waimea, Keoki's across the street, Joes on the Green for breakfast, and Duke's in Lihue (in bar below) for the best fish with Lilikoi sauce..yum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Home again and happy
Seattle, WA
Jan 20, 2013

I'd recommend to anyone I know

This is a relaxed and comfortable home away from home. My husband and I stayed for eight blissful days. Perfect location, gorgeous grounds, the beach is right there. Young, old and in between were all having a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do your research on Kauai befoe you arrive! There is so much to see and do that there we found we didn't have time for everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rate this trip
Chesterfield, mo
Oct 27, 2012

Not worth it!

We have been on many vacations and this vacation was not one of the better ones, mainly due to the stay at the Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation. The place was hot, no air conditioning, and noisy. The walls are paper thin and could hear everything from other units next to us and above us. The swimming pool is not at the same location as any of the rooms or buildings we stayed at. The swimming is located quite a distance away, old, isolated and not what one would expect from a resort. Do yourself a favor and go to a real resort, it will be worth the extra money. A beautiful island with lots to do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paneka
Denver
Oct 22, 2012

Great getaway

The setting was beautiful and so convient to the beach. The grounds were really well taken care of and the staff was wonderful. The pool across the street is strange and not that great, but who needs that when the Pacific is a few steps away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lex and Dina
East Bay, Ca.
Oct 16, 2012

Condo is good on winter months!

Stayed here 10/2 - 10/8.. I was expecting a better than 3 stars like what the rating shows but was disappointed. There is no A/C. It was my fault I did not check properly when I was looking for acommodations, I was blindsided by the rating. The ceiling fans (bedroom and living room and 1 portable fan) were not adequate to cool off the hot and muggy night up to 3 am in the morning even the Lanai screen door (need fixing since January, per comments book in the room) is open. This is our 5th time in Kauai and this is the only time I did not enjoy our trip, for sleep deprivation. ...Now the good stuff... The front desk are more than fantastic helping us. Housekeeping was more than happy to make our stay more comfortable, giving us fresh towels almost everyday. Kitchen is fully equipt for a small meal, although we only cooked twice, wifey refused to cook dinner, (per her) it is too hot to cook! .. Summary: Condo is good on winter months.. If you can tolerate muggy and hot nights without aircon on spring/fall especially summer, this is for you. I know, I will not come back here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just me Tina
San Clemente, CA
Oct 11, 2012

1st trip to Kauai

My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights. Beautiful grounds, great beach and attentive staff. Rooms problems were delt with timely. Wish we didn't have to walk across the street to go to pool, but the beach here is good and the state beach, with good snorkling, is just a short walk away. VERY expensive to eat out here, so stop and fill up fridge!! Enjoyed our stay but probably our only trip to Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CK's Mom
Bellingham, Washington
Jul 6, 2012

Great family vacation spot

We had a wonderful time staying at Kiahuna Plantation. The grounds were lovely, the room clean and the beach close and great for playing and swimming in. It is close to all Poipu has to offer. We are already planning to come back. Only issue we had was with our stove and maintenance was there to fix it within 10 minutes. Be sure to make a trip up north to Tunnels beach if you like snorkeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
atbklds
Vancouver, Canada
Mar 28, 2012

Great Place to Stay

Very nice place to stay in Kauai. Grounds and garden were spectacular. Royal Garden view unit spacious and clean. A very very relaxing place to hang your hat. Minor downside is the pool is across the highway....a short walk or 2 minute drive. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RMOAYT
Monterey, CA, USA
Mar 28, 2012

BETTER THAN EXPECTED

I WAS PLEASANTLY SURPRISED WITH THIS CONDO. THE GROUNDS ARE BEAUTIFUL, ON THE OCEAN, A WALK ACROSS THE STREET TO RESTAURANTS AND SHOPS. I WOULD DEFINITELY STAY HERE AGAIN! I WAS CONCERNED WITH THE COMMENTS IN OTHER REVIEWS ABOUT ROAD NOISE FROM A NEARBY ROAD. IT IS A SECONDARY ROAD AND THE CARS GOING BY SOUND MORE LIKE A PASSING BREEZE. I LEFT THE WINDOWS OPEN ALL DAY AND NIGHT AND WAS NEVER BOTHERED BY ANY ROAD NOISE. ON-SITE RESTAURANT IS PHENOMENAL. GREAT PLACE TO STAY THAT IS CENTRAL TO EVERYTHING. GREAT FOR COUPLES, FAMILIES, AND FRIENDS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

CHECK OUT SNORKELING IN FRONT OF THE LAWAI HOTEL ON POIPU ROAD- BEST SNORKELING I ENCOUNTERED OUT OF ABOUT 6 SPOTS TESTED.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search