Koa Kea Hotel and Resort ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$389
avg/night
Rate based on
Check-in: Mar 8, 2016 Check-out: Mar 10, 2016
4.7 /5
Overall score
97%
Would recommend
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Ocean View
  • Size: 364 sqft
  • Occupancy: 3
Show Prices King - Garden View
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Garden View Double Double
  • Occupancy: 3
Show Prices King - Garden View
  • Size: 365 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Garden View Double Double
  • Size: 365 sqft
  • Occupancy: 3
Show Prices Sea View Double Double
  • Size: 365 sqft
  • Occupancy: 3
Show Prices King - Sea View
  • Size: 365 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Double - Oceanfront
  • Size: 364 sqft
  • Occupancy: 3
Show Prices King - Oceanfront - Near ocean
  • Size: 364 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

Situated on the Pacific Ocean at Poipu Beach, Koa Kea Hotel and Resort in Koloa, Hawaii, provides all of the amenities and comforts travelers expect from a luxury resort, along with oceanfront sights and sounds on the southern shores of Kaua'i island. Its architecture and decor is inspired by Hawaii's beautiful natural landscape. The non-smoking boutique resort offers romantic, picturesque accommodations and has consistently ranked among the top hotels in the United States. Traveler's Choice named Koa Kea one of its top hotels for romance in 2014. If you're on your honeymoon, consider the Tropical Desire package, which includes mimosas at breakfast, dinner for two and a couples massage or outdoor adventure.

Highlights

Key facts

The Spa at Koa Kea Hotel and Resort offers a number of distinct types of massages, facials and wraps. Treatments make use of natural local ingredients like Awapuhi root, pineapple and coconut. Also located on the resort property is Red Salt restaurant, whose full breakfast, lunch and dinner menus celebrate local seafood and produce. Red Salt offers ocean and pool views via large picture windows in the open design dining area. Guests of the resort can take advantage of the swimming pool, whirlpool, fitness center and business center. There is also a shop for sundries and gifts in case you forgot something at home or you'd like to take something home with you.

Fees

Effective immediately, valet parking fee will increase from $25 USD to $30 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Dining

Red Salt
Red Salt at the Koa Kea Hotel & Resort on Kauai combines the ideal elements for dining in Hawaii. The beautiful oceanfront setting is enhanced by a contemporary open design, and the large picture windows showcase the ocean and pool views. The diverse menu celebrates the fresh seafood and produce available in Hawaii, while the casual yet sophisticated atmosphere ensures that dining at Red Salt will be a memorable experience. Red Salt offers an ideal setting regardless of time of day. A daily Breakfast Buffet combines traditional American fare with fresh tropical fruit, breakfast bakery selections, assorted juices and an omelet station. The Dinner menu offers contemporary upscale cuisine. Lunch is served poolside and we also offer guest room dining 24 hours a day. Hours Breakfast 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM Lunch Pool 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Dinner 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM Lounge 5:00 PM - 12:00 Midnight Pool Bar 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Guest Room Dining 24 Hours

Recommendations for you

Guest score 4.7 / 5
$449
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$289
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$274
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$381
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$314

Amenities

Featured

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool

General

  • Concierge

Activities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness Center
  • Spa

Dining

  • Restaurant
  • Room service

Services

  • Business center
  • Conference facilities

Internet

  • WiFi

Parking

  • Parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Reviews

4.7 /5 Overall score

97% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 4.4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.9/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.9/5
  • Comfort: 4.7/5
  • Location: 4.7/5
  • Value: 4.2/5

Love this place

Would recommend Tue, Sep 15, 2015
This was the best experience I've ever had at any hotel. The staff was so incredibly kind and helpful throughout the entire trip. When I wanted to ship a few items I purchased to my home instead of carrying them on the flight, they helped facilitate everything and ensured my things were safe. The hotel room was spotless, spacious and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Great view of the ocean and easy access to the beach. I'll come back here many, many more times.

| N/A Singles

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great place for a relaxing stay

Would recommend Thu, May 21, 2015
Other than spotty wi-fi, this hotel/resort was perfect.

| Los Angeles Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Quiet, romantic, service oriented!!

Would recommend Sat, Jan 24, 2015
Hotel restaurant was fabulous! The hotel service was top notch. Very romantic and quiet. My husband and I our counting the days until our next visit!!

Dining

Red salt the hotel restaurant was fantastic!! The $49 dollar hamburger was worth every penny and more!

| N/A Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Much more Intimate and Personal Than Big Resort

Would recommend Fri, Sep 12, 2014
I spent my anniversary at the Koa Kea and I am glad I did. When comparing to the other hotel and resorts in Poipu, the Koa Kea is smaller and it didn't have the huge pools with slides and waterfalls with rows of umbrellas. The grounds are small and well maintained with little frills, but that is the charm of the hotel. There are no crowds or fighting for good chairs. It is incredibly quite and relaxing I think I could hear the waves anywhere on the grounds which is another plus over the huge resorts, you are right next to the ocean from any room. The staff is great, especially the valet.

| Salt Lake Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Comfortable and Romantic Getaway

Would recommend Sun, Sep 7, 2014
Hands-down the best hotel I've ever stayed at. This hotel is luxurious without being overboard. The beds are incredibly comfortable and the rooms are very clean and stylish. We were right by the pool and I was worried about the noise at first, but it was completely quiet in our room! The staff is really friendly and helpful, and they don't charge extra for valet parking like so many other hotels in the area. The pool bar made the best mai tai I had while in Kauai, and the pool itself is saltwater (which I definitely like better than chlorine). It was pricey, but it's definitely worth it if you're looking for somewhere nice!

| Austin, TX Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Wonderful 10-Year Anniversary Getaway

Would recommend Sun, Aug 31, 2014
Koa Kea is a great location for a Kauai getaway. Although it's located on the south shore at Poipu, it's pretty much centrally located for many of the things we wanted to experience, since you have to go all the way around the island to get to the north side (no access cutting through the island or from the west). Plus the Poipu beach is fantastic! I loved that the resort was small and felt intimate. And although we saw kids, we never felt like we were surrounded by a bunch of rowdy kids splashing and running around. No complaints there :-). The room itself was fine ~ nothing spectacular but clean and well-designed. The only drawback was that the bed was too soft (hence the 4 stars rather than 5), but I'm used to sleeping on a very hard bed. The staff was wonderful ~ knowledgable, friendly, personable and very attentive. They really made us feel welcome! I also loved that they had printed cards with directions to pretty much all the places we wanted to visit. What a nice touch!

Dining

Definitely have drinks or dinner at the Beach House Restaurant. The food was just so-so, but the view was fantastic. The restaurant is right next to the beach, and you get a pretty wonderful view of the sun setting. They have a photographer on site who will take your pictures for sale. A little cheesy, but what the heck, we bought 2 since it was our anniversary.

| Oakland, CA Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

First trip to Kauai

Would recommend Sun, Aug 31, 2014
We started our trip at the St Regis Princeville on the Northside which we decided has the best location on the island so initially we were so disappointed with Koa Koe. After a couple of days and after hiking over to the Hyatt we decided we were thankful to be at Koa Koe. (However Hyatt has beautiful beach area but water was too rough to swim at their beach week we were there. Hyatt was so crowded with people and felt touristy.) If you are going to the southeast part of the island definitely stay at Koa Koe. It has everything you need and you won't have the crowds like at the other resorts. The restaurant is very good. Continental breakfast was only $12 and had meat, cheese, fresh fruit, etc... Plus, eat at the numerous restaurants just down the street. We actually preferred the North side of island. Keep in mind that the ocean is calmer on the North in the summer and rougher in the winter. No Matter where you stay make sure you visit both sides of the island. There is good hiking on both sides. It was cooler on the Northside and it did rain more but the rain was never a problem.

Dining

Eat at the Dolphin.

| Rogers, Arkansas Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Small scale upscale

Would recommend Tue, Aug 19, 2014
Our 5 night stay began during the recent "hurricanes", So things got off to a slow start. When the pool at the center of this small resort hotel opened after the storm the place came to life....nice lounges , plenty of fluffy white towels , cool pool bar and beautiful views. The restaurant here is expensive, but service was great and the Ono fish was awesome. The hotel caters to couples it's a serene luxurious atmosphere.

Dining

La Spezia in KoOla town was great for breakfast and dinner.

| Westport,CT Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Clean and staff very helpful

Would recommend Sun, Jun 22, 2014
In a very good location. Free parking a plus. Close proximity to attractions

| Los Angeles, CA Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Amazing Staff & Great Location

Would recommend Mon, Jun 2, 2014
This was one of my best hotel experiences. The rooms were clean & well-appointed. The staff was very friendly, always helpful & made great recommendations for restaurants & activities. The concierge even managed to get us a last minute reservation at the Beach House, which usually requires a 2-week advance reservation. The resort is right on the water. They must have sound-proofed the walls during the renovation because we could not hear anyone around us. The perfect romantic getaway.

| Menlo Park, CA Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Top hotels

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$389
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2016 Check-out: Mar 10, 2016