$369 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 14, 2015 Check-out: Feb 15, 2015

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

4 stars
2251 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
88 reviews
Quiet, romantic, service oriented!!

Hotel restaurant was fabulous! The hotel service was top notch. Very romantic and quiet. My husband... See full review

  • Angela H.
  • Jan 24, 2015
Comfortable and Romantic Getaway

Hands-down the best hotel I've ever stayed at. This hotel is luxurious without being overboard. The... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 7, 2014
Intimate resort on Poipu Beach evokes the pleasures of island romance
The antithesis of cookie cutter, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is an intimate, 121-room boutique hotel on 3 serene acres. It conjures up romance at every turn, offering services and amenities galore so guests can simply sit back and enjoy. Everything here says Hawaii. Spa treatments meld island therapies with native ingredients like Kauai red clay, and chefs at upscale Red Salt flavor fragrant dishes with coconut creme fraiche and lilikoi. Elegant yet utterly relaxed, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is quintessential island luxury.
Highlights
  • Steps from beach
  • Spa focuses on local ingredients
  • Fine-dining restaurant
Location
Intimate Koa Kea Hotel & Resort sits at the edge of Poipu Beach on the southern coast of Kauai. This is arguably the sunniest region of the island, and the coastline here harbors many of the best beaches on the island for swimming, snorkeling and young families.
Rooms
Accommodations at Koa Kea Hotel & Resort are sleek and elegant with accents that evoke the rich colors of Kauai, from vibrant coral reefs offshore to the deep blues, greens and earth tones of land and sky. Garden view or oceanfront, all rooms have a lanai and wall-to-wall sliding doors to bring the breezy tropics in. Niceties include iPod docking stations, Nespresso machines, air conditioning, mini refrigerators and flat-screen HD televisions. Service includes twice-daily housekeeping.
Features
This resort is about a personalized experience. While relaxing and enjoying the spa may be the choice for many guests, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is for active vacationers, too. A beach activity hut has snorkel gear and surf and boogie boards for rent, and surfing lessons are available. Workout buffs can maintain their routine in the well-equipped fitness center. Come evening, guests at the resort slip into custom beds for the ultimate in sleep comfort.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15.2 mi/24.5 km)
  • Taxis availabl
Attractions
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Allerton Garden Tours (2.6 mi/4.1km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Kayak Kauai Wailua River Paddle (20.4 mi/32.8 km)
  • Kokee State Park (32.1 mi/51.7 km)
Business
Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and all rooms have Internet access, which is included in the daily resort fee.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Koa Kea Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort Rooms

Garden View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Garden views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium beddingPartial Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Red Salt
Red Salt at the Koa Kea Hotel & Resort on Kauai combines the ideal elements for dining in Hawaii. The beautiful oceanfront setting is enhanced by a contemporary open design, and the large picture windows showcase the ocean and pool views. The diverse menu celebrates the fresh seafood and produce available in Hawaii, while the casual yet sophisticated atmosphere ensures that dining at Red Salt will be a memorable experience. Red Salt offers an ideal setting regardless of time of day. A daily Breakfast Buffet combines traditional American fare with fresh tropical fruit, breakfast bakery selections, assorted juices and an omelet station. The Dinner menu offers contemporary upscale cuisine. Lunch is served poolside and we also offer guest room dining 24 hours a day. Hours Breakfast 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM Lunch Pool 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Dinner 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM Lounge 5:00 PM - 12:00 Midnight Pool Bar 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Guest Room Dining 24 Hours

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hang ten
Business
Vancouver WA
Dec 1, 2012

Anniversary trip

This hotel lived up to our expectations. We decided to book our stay at this hotel after reading many positive reviews. The location is great for traveling to all parts of the island. It's on the ocean, which was important to us. It's also in walking distance to the mall. Since we were celebrating our anniversary, it was nice to have a great restaurant on the property, The Red Salt. We had breakfast there every couple of days. To alleviate high cost of drinks, we shopped at Costco in Lihue for wine, which we had on our balcony on a couple of occasions. Overall, we loved the resort, and the staff were super!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plantation Gardens was a great restaurant, and not overpriced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tcarriet
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 14, 2013

Great Location

The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The location is right in front of the beach which made it easy to go back and forth from the hotel to the beach. Everything was great! We had a wonderful time : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kekalu
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 27, 2010

Great Kauai trip for a couple

Koa Kea Hotel is a great place to stay while visiting the entire island! You cannot drive all the way around the island because there are no roads along the north west shore, known as the Na Pali Coast. Koa Kea Hotel is essentially located in the middle of the route you'll take to reach either end of the Na Pali Coast, so you can easily go hiking, kayaking, surfing, etc anywhere on the island. The hotel room was very clean and modern, and being on the 3rd (top) floor in the back we had a private balcony with a partial ocean view on which to enjoy breakfast in our room before heading out for the day. The food at the hotel restaurant was excellent, although the menu is small. No worry, since there are many very good restaurants in the area. The staff was all very nice, but being from a large city I sometimes found their casualness to rub me wrong--this wasn't really an issue, just a more casual interaction than what you would see at home. There weren't many kids, if any, at this hotel. It's a great place for couples. I wouldn't consider it an all inclusive hotel...you'll definitely want to get out and explore Kauai...but you could easily spend a day on the hotel grounds, and be comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bring hiking boots and a camelback! Take at least one day to visit the north coast and hike Kalalau Trail on a sunny day. This is a beautiful hike along a ridge looking out along the coast. Also take a day to visit Waimea Canyon and hike the Nu'alolo/Awa'awapuhi Trail loop, another beautiful hike. Go to Waimea Canyon early in the morning and drive to the end of the road to Pu'u o Kila Lookout for a great vista. Arrive early, before 10 am, because the clouds can roll in and you won't be able to see anything. Holo Holo Charters is a great outfit if you'd like to take a catamaran trip to see the Na Pali Coast and go snorkeling. The day we went, however, there were 10 foot swells, and I was quite a bit sea sick.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mandyloo
Business
Portland Oregon
Sep 7, 2010

Hotel Review

Hotel staff very friendly and professional, rooms very nice and comfortable and clean. Did not like the valet parking since everytime an access to the car involved getting the staff involved too. Food availability was low and pricey and had to go next door to the Marriott for some great choices. The outside bar hours were too short and again low snack/food choices. For a Boutique Hotel it was very nice and quiet, great beach access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Next door to the Koa Kea was the Marriott and it has a very nice Market with great choices for snacks and treats, too bad this resort does not have one. Overall it is very expensive to eat on the island so be prepared to pay up a good amount of $.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scoobymike
Business
switzerland
Jun 11, 2011

Nice and Small retreat

The Hotel was at a good Location for those who look for Time to relax. The Room was freshly refurned, spacious and quiet. Breakfast was good vfm, nearby are some good Restaurants like the Beach House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Beach House, Top location at the Beach, superb seafood and nice selection of wines.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nathan the main man
Business
singapore
Oct 19, 2009

nice boutique "resort"

Lovely boutique "resort" -- really, a nice Hotel with amenities, providing a dignified change of pace from the giant resorts along the south coast. It's closer to the water than those because it was grandfathered in on the old "resort"'s footprint. Friendly staff, and all the basic big hotel amenities (24 hr roomservice, concierge, valet parking, etc etc). But of course fewer of the hassles of the giant resorts that are so impersonal. A little pricey perhaps, but it's all quality here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant is not very vegetarian friendly. Avoid it if you are vegetarian.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dahale
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 13, 2014

Beautiful and Relaxing!

Koa Kea is a beautiful Hotel. Smaller in scale than many of the other options on the Island and that is just perfect! The property is lovely and the staff are very accommodating and friendly. The valet/bell staff are outstanding in their capacity to be helpful! A few tweeks here and there would make the physical Hotel feel just perfect, but nothing that would keep me from coming back again and again. We loved our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We timed our stay right to participate in a once Monthly tour called "A Culinary Romp Through Paradise" hosted by Taste Kauai! It was great fun and took us to places we might not have experienced. Check it out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boise, ID
Aug 4, 2010

Friendly Boutique

We have stayed at the Grand Hyatt several times and a condo with our toddler last time, but this time we came without kids and decided to try a new place. Location: The Koa Kea is a great location and RIGHT on the beach. It is also right by the little Poipu Mall where Roy's is located and many little shops. There is a great surf break right there for either surfing or boogie boarding. There is also a small inner break for beginner surfers/kids. Staff: All the staff was exceptionally friendly, no matter who you talked to. They aim to please and go out of their way for you. Food: We ate breakfast and lunch at the restaurant at least once (never had dinner only b/c we had other plans and weren't there long enough to fit it all in). Food was definitely good (probably a little overpriced, but it's Hawaii). Cool looking bar both poolside and in the lobby. Rooms: a bit small and the low ceiling on the first floor made it feel even smaller. The modern style is nice and the big (46 inch?) flat screen actually has HD channels. There is a weird frosted window between the shower and the bedroom which lets in light whenever someone is in the bathroom (no getting up early while the other sleeps). The shower is big and has two shower heads and a bench, but there is no bathtub if you prefer one in the basic room. Spa: There is an actual spa area on the second floor of the main builing with nice spa rooms (not just using empty guest rooms). We had a couples massage. I thought my masseuse was a bit amateur, but my wife who gets them more frequently than me thought hers was great. We prefer the spa at the Hyatt though. Activities: There is a little activities desk with surfboards, boogie boards, and snorkel gear for rent. Overall, I think this is a nice little boutique hotel. I did see a couple small kids here, but most of the guests did not have kids. I would not stay here with my kids as the rooms are small and there aren't really kid friendly activities/pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a little general store in the Marriott next door and you can keep things in the mini-fridge in your room. There's also a larger store across the highway in the Poipu Villange shopping mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
August in Hawaii
Business
NY
Aug 19, 2010

kauai week

Clean and elegant property, friendly staff. Made our stay pleasant and relaxed. However, they haven't updated some of their price lists, so there was some confusion on room service charges and not great clarification on the bill. Also, though they advertise outdoor massages, they actually aren't set up for outdoor services yet. We wish we were told that when we booked the massage instead of when we arrived for the appointment. Regardless, the massage was wonderful. I would definitely come again and recommend this place to couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Moorpark, CA
Jun 28, 2010

Quiet location for couples

Good location for touring the island. Good snorkeling right off the beach by the hotel. We forgot our iPod in the room - their staff called us and mailed it back to us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive to the nearby Grand Hyatt for great meals at Tidepools or Dondero restaurants! Much better than Koa, but just as expensive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top