$369 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

4 stars
View map of 2251 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 15, 2010

Love Supreme

For our first trip to Kauai, we picked Koa Kea for its reputation for quality service and boutique chic on the South shore resort belt. The reviews are right: this tidy hotel is hard to beat. It never felt crowded or hurried, and the staff was engaging and helpful. Rooms were quiet and even the roosters next door at the Marriott were respectful in the AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

For a real walk on the gustatory wild side head 1 mile west to Josselin's in the new shopping center at the traffic circle. The Pacific Rim tapas are on a global scale, but the restaurant is casual and informal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HDM
Business
Concord, NH
Mar 14, 2011

Wonderful Hotel

Lovely boutique hotel, with a 25' walk to the beach. Rooms were SO comfortable, restaurant was really good, but pricy. Staff was terrific - always friendly and quick to help. Valet parking is included! This is a nice treat. Would go back in a minute. It's small and quiet/romantic. Lots of couples and not a party scene.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A 500 foot walk to a small plaza with shops and other restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
eskimodesign
Business
Oakland, CA
Aug 31, 2014

Wonderful 10-Year Anniversary Getaway

Koa Kea is a great location for a Kauai getaway. Although it's located on the south shore at Poipu, it's pretty much centrally located for many of the things we wanted to experience, since you have to go all the way around the island to get to the north side (no access cutting through the island or from the west). Plus the Poipu beach is fantastic! I loved that the resort was small and felt intimate. And although we saw kids, we never felt like we were surrounded by a bunch of rowdy kids splashing and running around. No complaints there :-). The room itself was fine ~ nothing spectacular but clean and well-designed. The only drawback was that the bed was too soft (hence the 4 stars rather than 5), but I'm used to sleeping on a very hard bed. The staff was wonderful ~ knowledgable, friendly, personable and very attentive. They really made us feel welcome! I also loved that they had printed cards with directions to pretty much all the places we wanted to visit. What a nice touch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely have drinks or dinner at the Beach House Restaurant. The food was just so-so, but the view was fantastic. The restaurant is right next to the beach, and you get a pretty wonderful view of the sun setting. They have a photographer on site who will take your pictures for sale. A little cheesy, but what the heck, we bought 2 since it was our anniversary.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 7, 2014

Comfortable and Romantic Getaway

Hands-down the best hotel I've ever stayed at. This hotel is luxurious without being overboard. The beds are incredibly comfortable and the rooms are very clean and stylish. We were right by the pool and I was worried about the noise at first, but it was completely quiet in our room! The staff is really friendly and helpful, and they don't charge extra for valet parking like so many other hotels in the area. The pool bar made the best mai tai I had while in Kauai, and the pool itself is saltwater (which I definitely like better than chlorine). It was pricey, but it's definitely worth it if you're looking for somewhere nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Angela H.
Business
N/A
Jan 24, 2015

Quiet, romantic, service oriented!!

Hotel restaurant was fabulous! The hotel service was top notch. Very romantic and quiet. My husband and I our counting the days until our next visit!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Red salt the hotel restaurant was fantastic!! The $49 dollar hamburger was worth every penny and more!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Aug 31, 2009

Review

Wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Casablanca is lovely

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toolatetomatter
Business
Newman, CA 95360, USA
Oct 11, 2011

LATE CHECK-IN

The 1600 check-in was very inconvenient, I arrived at 11 am and had to wait until 4pm to get into my room to rest. This would have me look else where for future accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was possible to walk to a number of minor attractions, but was necessary to take a taxi for any real shopping or attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Radar F.
Business
Kensington CA
Nov 5, 2011

Great with an asterisk

Wonderful place. Great location. Perfect size (not a huge resort, not a tiny boutique. Just right.) One caution is if you book the garden view rooms. The lanais are not in any way private--no barriers between rooms on the ground floor. We unfortunately were between two rooms that knew each other and they thought it was totally okay to walk across our lanai, stand in front of our sliding glass doors as if we were not in the room and talk loudly to one another. So we're in Hawaii and have to keep the blinds closed. Yeah, they were clueless guests, but for $300 a night, I expected more built-in privacy: it's not too hard to grow tall plants in Hawaii. The other issue is that the walls are paper thin and the flat-screens huge. So if you're unlucky enough to be next to clueless guests (see above) you're hearing their tv a lot. For such a lovely hotel with such a high priority on quiet relaxation, it was a small bummer that the garden view rooms weren't optimized to meet the standards of the rest of the hotel. Sure, the garden views are the low tier, but hey, $300 is still pretty pricey. I expected better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Zodiac Z -boat tour. Within 10 minutes of leaving the dock we were at our snorkel site, swimming with sea turtles. Amazing. Guides Matt and Chris were terrific. Based right in Koloa (just a few miles north of the roundabout that is close to the hotel.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joshbo
Business
New York
Aug 26, 2012

Great hotel. Solid.

The staff was very friendly, extremely helpful. My girlfriend and I got massages at the on-site spa - they were some of the best we've ever had. The food at Red Salt (in-house restaurant) was good. Our one complaint was location - the hotel sits on Poipu beach, not a great beach, but its no biggie compared to the amenities, great hot tub, pool and pool bar drinks, above everything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Savage Shrimp and Living Foods Market. Great island food and grocery/booze shopping respectively.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HneMooney
Business
Mobile, AL
Sep 16, 2012

Nice but pricey

This hotel was really nice, and the staff was warm and friendly. We were on our honeymoon (clearly not the only ones) if I had to do it over again I would have gotten a suite at a less expensive hotel. Our room was nice, but not special enough to justify the price. Amenities were good and service was quick and accurate. No kids, so you can feel like an adult without having to censor yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The koloa deli made for a great alternative to the Poipu area's expensive fare. Puka dog is a must go, Papalani Gelato next door for desert.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top