$369 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

4 stars
View map of 2251 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HDM
Business
Concord, NH
Mar 14, 2011

Wonderful Hotel

Lovely boutique hotel, with a 25' walk to the beach. Rooms were SO comfortable, restaurant was really good, but pricy. Staff was terrific - always friendly and quick to help. Valet parking is included! This is a nice treat. Would go back in a minute. It's small and quiet/romantic. Lots of couples and not a party scene.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A 500 foot walk to a small plaza with shops and other restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ewa Beach , HI
Aug 3, 2010

We LOVED the Koa Kea!

We absolutely loved our 6 day trip from Oahu to Kauai. The Island was gorgeous! Koa Kea Hotel was amazing! The valet service was great, and the rest of the staff did anything and everything to keep us happy. The twice-a-day cleaning service was very good and the showers are insane! Also, for those of you looking for peace and quie, this is the hotel for you! We saw/heard hardly any children, whic we very much liked! We would stay here time and time again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
eskimodesign
Business
Oakland, CA
Aug 31, 2014

Wonderful 10-Year Anniversary Getaway

Koa Kea is a great location for a Kauai getaway. Although it's located on the south shore at Poipu, it's pretty much centrally located for many of the things we wanted to experience, since you have to go all the way around the island to get to the north side (no access cutting through the island or from the west). Plus the Poipu beach is fantastic! I loved that the resort was small and felt intimate. And although we saw kids, we never felt like we were surrounded by a bunch of rowdy kids splashing and running around. No complaints there :-). The room itself was fine ~ nothing spectacular but clean and well-designed. The only drawback was that the bed was too soft (hence the 4 stars rather than 5), but I'm used to sleeping on a very hard bed. The staff was wonderful ~ knowledgable, friendly, personable and very attentive. They really made us feel welcome! I also loved that they had printed cards with directions to pretty much all the places we wanted to visit. What a nice touch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely have drinks or dinner at the Beach House Restaurant. The food was just so-so, but the view was fantastic. The restaurant is right next to the beach, and you get a pretty wonderful view of the sun setting. They have a photographer on site who will take your pictures for sale. A little cheesy, but what the heck, we bought 2 since it was our anniversary.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 7, 2014

Comfortable and Romantic Getaway

Hands-down the best hotel I've ever stayed at. This hotel is luxurious without being overboard. The beds are incredibly comfortable and the rooms are very clean and stylish. We were right by the pool and I was worried about the noise at first, but it was completely quiet in our room! The staff is really friendly and helpful, and they don't charge extra for valet parking like so many other hotels in the area. The pool bar made the best mai tai I had while in Kauai, and the pool itself is saltwater (which I definitely like better than chlorine). It was pricey, but it's definitely worth it if you're looking for somewhere nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Angela H.
Business
N/A
Jan 24, 2015

Quiet, romantic, service oriented!!

Hotel restaurant was fabulous! The hotel service was top notch. Very romantic and quiet. My husband and I our counting the days until our next visit!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Red salt the hotel restaurant was fantastic!! The $49 dollar hamburger was worth every penny and more!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mander1234
Business
Salt Lake
Sep 12, 2014

Much more Intimate and Personal Than Big Resort

I spent my anniversary at the Koa Kea and I am glad I did. When comparing to the other hotel and resorts in Poipu, the Koa Kea is smaller and it didn't have the huge pools with slides and waterfalls with rows of umbrellas. The grounds are small and well maintained with little frills, but that is the charm of the hotel. There are no crowds or fighting for good chairs. It is incredibly quite and relaxing I think I could hear the waves anywhere on the grounds which is another plus over the huge resorts, you are right next to the ocean from any room. The staff is great, especially the valet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mhiz
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 22, 2014

Clean and staff very helpful

In a very good location. Free parking a plus. Close proximity to attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
native Kiwi
Business
Mountain View, Ca
Apr 8, 2010

Peaceful Escape

The Koa Kea is a pristine, new resort. Rooms and service were immaculate. Our "ocean view" room afforded wonderful views of the ocean just 50 feet away and also very attractive views of the courtyard lit with tiki torches at night. We slept in a second floor room with the door open at night so we could enjoy the sounds of the ocean and the palm trees. The resort has only about 120 rooms which gives it a more intimate feeling than the large chain hotels. For us, this was a perfect stay-put vacation and we did not see a better option as we traveled about Kauai. I'd go back again in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Would recommend breakfast at the Koa Kea. Good dinner options also at the Kiahuna Planatation, Beach House and Brennecke's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Papa Wolfio
Business
Fort Collins, CO
Feb 28, 2011

No Better Honeymoon

Ko'a Kea was beautiful and romantic. Upon arrival, the resort upgraded our room from a garden view to a partial ocean view, free of charge! And that was before they knew it was our honeymoon. The resort itself sits right on the beach and has its own little cove. The modern decor of the rooms is wonderful, yet the beach and the Hawaiian shirts worn by the valets keep the atmosphere laid back. Everyone working at the hotel is incredibly friendly. All in all, Be prepared for a relaxing stay - bring flip flops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the National Tropical Botanical Gardens!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel Dogs
Business
Scottsdale, Arizona
Apr 21, 2011

Adventure vaca

I travel a lot, mainly with my dogs, but decided to take a short trip to Kauai by myself for my birthday. The Koa Kea was ideal for singles and couples. It was quiet and upscale. The restaurant, The Red Salt, was amazing, and I enjoyed every part of my stay. The bed was super comfy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The little town of Koloa was ideal for shopping or grabbing a bottle of wine. If you want adventure try ziplining with Just Live, it was truly an exciting adventure or Hiking with Eric, if you enjoy hiking and sightseeing. Also, the spa at the Koa Kea had great services.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top