$369 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

4 stars
2251 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
88 reviews
Comfortable and Romantic Getaway

Hands-down the best hotel I've ever stayed at. This hotel is luxurious without being overboard. The... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 7, 2014
Wonderful 10-Year Anniversary Getaway

Koa Kea is a great location for a Kauai getaway. Although it's located on the south shore at Poipu,... See full review

  • eskimodesign
  • Aug 31, 2014
Intimate resort on Poipu Beach evokes the pleasures of island romance
The antithesis of cookie cutter, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is an intimate, 121-room boutique hotel on 3 serene acres. It conjures up romance at every turn, offering services and amenities galore so guests can simply sit back and enjoy. Everything here says Hawaii. Spa treatments meld island therapies with native ingredients like Kauai red clay, and chefs at upscale Red Salt flavor fragrant dishes with coconut creme fraiche and lilikoi. Elegant yet utterly relaxed, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is quintessential island luxury.
Highlights
  • Steps from beach
  • Spa focuses on local ingredients
  • Fine-dining restaurant
Location
Intimate Koa Kea Hotel & Resort sits at the edge of Poipu Beach on the southern coast of Kauai. This is arguably the sunniest region of the island, and the coastline here harbors many of the best beaches on the island for swimming, snorkeling and young families.
Rooms
Accommodations at Koa Kea Hotel & Resort are sleek and elegant with accents that evoke the rich colors of Kauai, from vibrant coral reefs offshore to the deep blues, greens and earth tones of land and sky. Garden view or oceanfront, all rooms have a lanai and wall-to-wall sliding doors to bring the breezy tropics in. Niceties include iPod docking stations, Nespresso machines, air conditioning, mini refrigerators and flat-screen HD televisions. Service includes twice-daily housekeeping.
Features
This resort is about a personalized experience. While relaxing and enjoying the spa may be the choice for many guests, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort is for active vacationers, too. A beach activity hut has snorkel gear and surf and boogie boards for rent, and surfing lessons are available. Workout buffs can maintain their routine in the well-equipped fitness center. Come evening, guests at the resort slip into custom beds for the ultimate in sleep comfort.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15.2 mi/24.5 km)
  • Taxis availabl
Attractions
  • Poipu Bay Golf Course (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Allerton Garden Tours (2.6 mi/4.1km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Kayak Kauai Wailua River Paddle (20.4 mi/32.8 km)
  • Kokee State Park (32.1 mi/51.7 km)
Business
Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and all rooms have Internet access, which is included in the daily resort fee.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Koa Kea Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort Rooms

Garden View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Garden views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium beddingPartial Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath
Ocean View
One king or two double beds with premium bedding. Ocean views. Furnished balcony. 42-inch high-definition flat-panel television. Internet access. Espresso Machine. L'Occitane Bath Products. Sony clock radio with IPod docking station. Air conditioning,Ceiling fans, Dual shower heads in bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Red Salt
Red Salt at the Koa Kea Hotel & Resort on Kauai combines the ideal elements for dining in Hawaii. The beautiful oceanfront setting is enhanced by a contemporary open design, and the large picture windows showcase the ocean and pool views. The diverse menu celebrates the fresh seafood and produce available in Hawaii, while the casual yet sophisticated atmosphere ensures that dining at Red Salt will be a memorable experience. Red Salt offers an ideal setting regardless of time of day. A daily Breakfast Buffet combines traditional American fare with fresh tropical fruit, breakfast bakery selections, assorted juices and an omelet station. The Dinner menu offers contemporary upscale cuisine. Lunch is served poolside and we also offer guest room dining 24 hours a day. Hours Breakfast 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM Lunch Pool 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Dinner 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM Lounge 5:00 PM - 12:00 Midnight Pool Bar 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM Guest Room Dining 24 Hours

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Watson Family
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Feb 14, 2010

Great Hotel!

I highly recommend this hotel. The staff was super friendly, and always went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect. Everything was new, clean, and well maintained. They even allowed us to have a late checkout (4pm) as our departing flight was in the evening. We will can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Nov 30, 2009

Great Experience

Beautiful property. Great rooms. Lovely ambience. The people were really nice and always helpful. Totally low key.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Active ones!
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Feb 20, 2011

Great stay in Kauai

The Ko'a Kea hotel was the perfect destination for us as it provided wonderful amenities while offering privacy and seclusion. We enjoyed the views, the staff and the on site dining. We were very active during our trip, hiking biking, diving and sight seeing. The hotel was a great retreat at the end of each amazing day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you walk to Lappert's for dessert and coffee!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Veronica the Explorer
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 21, 2010

Awesome honeymoon getaway

My husband and I stayed at the Koa Kea for our belated honeymoon and received the best service we've had ever! From the time we arrived to the Koa Kea where they walked us to our room and explained all of their services to the time we left where they helped us take a picture of us and provided directions to where we needed to go, we were treated very well. They made our stay so much more enjoyable. The valle guys always asked where we were going, provided us with towels, directions, etc.... It was like they had read our minds. Very helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend doing the hike/kayaking/swimming at the falls through the Walua River. Awesome experience! I would also recommend taking the catamaran ride over to the Na Pali coast and Ni 'ihue. Very beautiful view and some good snorkeling. If you like sea turtles, there are a lot at Lawai beach very close to the Koa Kea Resort. I would not recommend mountain biking through the homsteads. It was rough terrain (slippery clay rock) uphill mostly. We had to walk our bikes most of the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carol and Mac
Business
Snohomish, Washington
Jan 2, 2010

An extradordinary experience

From the moment we walked into the lobby of the Ko'a Kea until we reluctantly said goodbye, we felt special. The concierage showed us to our room, and spent several minutes pointing out all the amenenties and answering our queries as if there was no such thing as a stupid question. The valet brought up our bags and made a point of commending me for my backpack. He liked it, he said, "because it's been used!Our partial ocean view, which I had expected to be marginal at best, was quite lovely. We didn't have to crane our necks to see it, but were able to comfortably enjoy the expansive view from our balcony.The next morning, when we went down to breakfast, our waitress, [...], told us where we needed to go, and clued us in to the best cheap eats on the island, the local places, that we might have otherwise missed. Throughout the week she gave us tips on what to go. She is an all-timer in our book, friendly in a genuine way, with none of the slick artifice that is sometimes the stock in trade of waiters. [...], one of the valets, also gave us hints about what to see and where to eat each morning as we headed out. Everyone on the staff seemed truly interested in seeing that our stay was memorable. The Mai Tais were absolutely the best and Carol and I enjoyed them at sunset luxuriating on our deck chairs, ah heaven!Carol and I were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary, our first real trip away from our daughters. and our first trip to Hawaii. The staff knew none of this and yet it seemed like they did. We came away enchanted with Kau'ai and eager to return. We are singing the praises of the Ko'a Kea Resort and will continue to.Absolutely unforgettable.Malcolm Bates and Carol Roorbach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you are on a budget, look for the local spots. A number of places have box lunches and they are quite reasonable. We had big breakfasts, late lunches and the kicked back with Mai Tais, cheese, crackers and vegetables in the evening. You will have to time your eating to coincide with your daily travels, because there isn't much that's cheap around the Poi Pu area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Covington, WA
Nov 21, 2010

Wonderful vacation

We picked the hotel thanks to travelers' reviews and it definitely was a wonderful place to stay. The location in Poipu put us close to great restaurants and beaches. Our favorite restaurants were the Beach House and Casa de Amici. We would recommend booking a room with breakfast included. The food was very good and the wait staff delightful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The helicopter ride with Blue Hawaiian was fantastic and a highlight of our trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
millermd4
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 25, 2009

Great stay

While we didn't get a free upgrade, paying for an oceanview was definitely worth our investment: a perfect sunset view from our balcony every night! Reasonable snorkling/surfing steps away. The room was fantastic: very comfortable bed, very nice bathroom. The details add up quickly, and we didn't feel like we paid for amenities we didn't use (with the exception of the valet parking which seemed a little overkill to us).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Red Salt is delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Georgetown, TX
Oct 17, 2009

Fantastic modern hotel....

This hotel was beyond our expectations....on the beach, DELICIOUS food and drinks, modern design, staff was friendly and accomodating. We can't wait to return....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Blue Hawaiian Helicopter tour....10-15 minute drive from hotel. Ke'e Beach (north) great for snorkeling but you need an entire day here--take hiking shoes/clothes if you want to get a better view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 8, 2010

A true gem!

The hotel was impeccable, beautiful, convenient and well-appointed; however, the thing that sets Koa Kea apart is the service. There are plenty of Hawaiian hotels that treat guests like credit card cattle with bad expensive food and mediocre service. I know because I go every year. I would recommend this hotel for couples, not families, who want superior service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Romance
Business
Regina, SK
Nov 22, 2010

20th anniverary

The staff was a huge plus. Everyone was accommodating and very friendly. In talking to you, it felt like the staff enjoyed chatting instead of being obligated to do so. The hotel was clean and quiet. The room was always clean. The beds were comfortable. It would have been nice to have a light blanket or sheet as well as the comforter. I was generally too hot or too cold when trying to sleep. Easily accessible swimming beaches Reef with plenty of fish for snorkling Amazing sunsets over the ocean from the main lawn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top