$355 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

4 stars
View map of 2251 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Nov 30, 2009

Great Experience

Beautiful property. Great rooms. Lovely ambience. The people were really nice and always helpful. Totally low key.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Active ones!
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Feb 20, 2011

Great stay in Kauai

The Ko'a Kea hotel was the perfect destination for us as it provided wonderful amenities while offering privacy and seclusion. We enjoyed the views, the staff and the on site dining. We were very active during our trip, hiking biking, diving and sight seeing. The hotel was a great retreat at the end of each amazing day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you walk to Lappert's for dessert and coffee!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Veronica the Explorer
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 21, 2010

Awesome honeymoon getaway

My husband and I stayed at the Koa Kea for our belated honeymoon and received the best service we've had ever! From the time we arrived to the Koa Kea where they walked us to our room and explained all of their services to the time we left where they helped us take a picture of us and provided directions to where we needed to go, we were treated very well. They made our stay so much more enjoyable. The valle guys always asked where we were going, provided us with towels, directions, etc.... It was like they had read our minds. Very helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend doing the hike/kayaking/swimming at the falls through the Walua River. Awesome experience! I would also recommend taking the catamaran ride over to the Na Pali coast and Ni 'ihue. Very beautiful view and some good snorkeling. If you like sea turtles, there are a lot at Lawai beach very close to the Koa Kea Resort. I would not recommend mountain biking through the homsteads. It was rough terrain (slippery clay rock) uphill mostly. We had to walk our bikes most of the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carol and Mac
Business
Snohomish, Washington
Jan 2, 2010

An extradordinary experience

From the moment we walked into the lobby of the Ko'a Kea until we reluctantly said goodbye, we felt special. The concierage showed us to our room, and spent several minutes pointing out all the amenenties and answering our queries as if there was no such thing as a stupid question. The valet brought up our bags and made a point of commending me for my backpack. He liked it, he said, "because it's been used!Our partial ocean view, which I had expected to be marginal at best, was quite lovely. We didn't have to crane our necks to see it, but were able to comfortably enjoy the expansive view from our balcony.The next morning, when we went down to breakfast, our waitress, [...], told us where we needed to go, and clued us in to the best cheap eats on the island, the local places, that we might have otherwise missed. Throughout the week she gave us tips on what to go. She is an all-timer in our book, friendly in a genuine way, with none of the slick artifice that is sometimes the stock in trade of waiters. [...], one of the valets, also gave us hints about what to see and where to eat each morning as we headed out. Everyone on the staff seemed truly interested in seeing that our stay was memorable. The Mai Tais were absolutely the best and Carol and I enjoyed them at sunset luxuriating on our deck chairs, ah heaven!Carol and I were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary, our first real trip away from our daughters. and our first trip to Hawaii. The staff knew none of this and yet it seemed like they did. We came away enchanted with Kau'ai and eager to return. We are singing the praises of the Ko'a Kea Resort and will continue to.Absolutely unforgettable.Malcolm Bates and Carol Roorbach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you are on a budget, look for the local spots. A number of places have box lunches and they are quite reasonable. We had big breakfasts, late lunches and the kicked back with Mai Tais, cheese, crackers and vegetables in the evening. You will have to time your eating to coincide with your daily travels, because there isn't much that's cheap around the Poi Pu area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Covington, WA
Nov 21, 2010

Wonderful vacation

We picked the hotel thanks to travelers' reviews and it definitely was a wonderful place to stay. The location in Poipu put us close to great restaurants and beaches. Our favorite restaurants were the Beach House and Casa de Amici. We would recommend booking a room with breakfast included. The food was very good and the wait staff delightful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The helicopter ride with Blue Hawaiian was fantastic and a highlight of our trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
millermd4
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 25, 2009

Great stay

While we didn't get a free upgrade, paying for an oceanview was definitely worth our investment: a perfect sunset view from our balcony every night! Reasonable snorkling/surfing steps away. The room was fantastic: very comfortable bed, very nice bathroom. The details add up quickly, and we didn't feel like we paid for amenities we didn't use (with the exception of the valet parking which seemed a little overkill to us).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Red Salt is delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Georgetown, TX
Oct 17, 2009

Fantastic modern hotel....

This hotel was beyond our expectations....on the beach, DELICIOUS food and drinks, modern design, staff was friendly and accomodating. We can't wait to return....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Blue Hawaiian Helicopter tour....10-15 minute drive from hotel. Ke'e Beach (north) great for snorkeling but you need an entire day here--take hiking shoes/clothes if you want to get a better view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 8, 2010

A true gem!

The hotel was impeccable, beautiful, convenient and well-appointed; however, the thing that sets Koa Kea apart is the service. There are plenty of Hawaiian hotels that treat guests like credit card cattle with bad expensive food and mediocre service. I know because I go every year. I would recommend this hotel for couples, not families, who want superior service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Romance
Business
Regina, SK
Nov 22, 2010

20th anniverary

The staff was a huge plus. Everyone was accommodating and very friendly. In talking to you, it felt like the staff enjoyed chatting instead of being obligated to do so. The hotel was clean and quiet. The room was always clean. The beds were comfortable. It would have been nice to have a light blanket or sheet as well as the comforter. I was generally too hot or too cold when trying to sleep. Easily accessible swimming beaches Reef with plenty of fish for snorkling Amazing sunsets over the ocean from the main lawn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cropp
Business
Jordan, Ontario
Oct 28, 2010

Firstclass

Beautiful rooms, nicely appointed. Staff very helpful ,and accomodating. Red Salt restaurant for breakfast is delicious and a hidden gem in Poipu for excellent dinners. Location location location, perfectlly situated on Poipu beach , beautiful pool area that's quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Red Salt restaurant in Hotel has some of the finest meals on the island. Don't waste your time at the Beach House restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top