$369 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

4 stars
View map of 2251 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New York Lover
Business
DC
Oct 2, 2013

Great staff

The room was clean, the staff was very polite and friendly. Great fine dining experience on the premises as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Red Salt

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VacayNParadise
Business
Menlo Park, CA
Jun 2, 2014

Amazing Staff & Great Location

This was one of my best hotel experiences. The rooms were clean & well-appointed. The staff was very friendly, always helpful & made great recommendations for restaurants & activities. The concierge even managed to get us a last minute reservation at the Beach House, which usually requires a 2-week advance reservation. The resort is right on the water. They must have sound-proofed the walls during the renovation because we could not hear anyone around us. The perfect romantic getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 3, 2010

Perfect Getaway

We had a wonderful time at the Koa Kea. The location was spectacular with a beautiful beach. The pool was very nice, as was the exercise room. There was no bathtub in our room--only a shower, but that was fine for us. The only downside was having next door neighbors with kids who were a bit loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mdbaumert
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 4, 2011

The best in Kaua'i

My wife and I recently returned from the beautiful island of Kauai for our Honeymoon and we were thrilled with our choice to stay at Ko'a Kea. We were told when we arrived on the island that it's "always sunny in Poipu" which turned out to be truth for the duration of our stay, especially compared with the rest of the island. Perfectly situated on the south shore, it has access to two beautiful beaches on either side of the resort separated by a 200 meter wide rocky shoreline with excellent access to surfing, snorkeling, or boogie-boarding.When we arrived, we were greeted with the friendly and prompt valet staff who provide complimentary service at each arrival and departure for the duration of the stay and who also provide the valuable service of transporting all luggage up to your room while you check-in. One unanticipated service that we were pleasantly surprised with was that a staff member personally guides new check-ins around the resort and up to the room to point out all of the individual amenities from explaining the two housekeeping services per day (clean-up and turn-down) to how to use the espresso machines (quite easy) conveniently located in each room. All staff from the front desk, to the valet and cabana, at the hotel were knowledgeable of the island and provided an excellent resource for our trip.Since we had booked our reservation through [...], we had breakfast included in our package which turned out to be one of the real gems of the resort! We were treated to our option of either having our complimentary breakfast delivered to our room each morning or the option of eating in the on-site restaurant, Red Salt. We split the options and found both to be appealing. When you choose to eat at the restaurant, they not only give access to their lavish continental breakfast line which included fresh fruit (the papaya was particularly amazing), cheeses and assorted meats, oatmeal, fresh juices, croissants, and our favorite, the blueberry toast, but they also allow you to choose one hot meal breakfast selection from items such as eggs benedict, steak and eggs, waffles, pancakes, etc. The only item which we were not particularly thrilled with were the pineapple soufflé pancakes - it's the only thing we do not recommend. Everything else was delicious and provided us with extremely generous portions to fuel our days exploring the island.As for the rooms, they were very relaxing and comfortable with down comforters and many pillows, and the rooms were extremely well-designed and attractive. The bathroom featured modern amenities and a spacious walk-in shower with over-head and wall-mount shower heads. We loved the view of the ocean and sound of crashing of waves each night from our private lanai.The grounds were well-manicured, and there were always ample lounge chairs either on the great lawn overlooking the ocean or at poolside. Compared with the resort hotels on either side of the Ko'a Kea, it did not feel like there was a mass of humanity to contend with and felt much more relaxed and couples-oriented. There were families there as well, but not nearly as many as at the neighboring hotel which seemed to be swarming with people on the hotel grounds.Overall, it was even better than expected and is now our preferred choice when we revisit the island. The service was consistent from the moment we arrived until we left and the staff went out of their way on numerous occasions to meet even the smallest requests. It's rare when you find a place you'd definitely re-visit without even considering other options, but for us, Ko'a Kea is that place. We hope you similarly enjoy your stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Red Salt features an incredible breakfast with buffet. When booking, have breakfast added... it's WELL worth it and can serve as your primary meal of the day for additional cost-savings!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston,tx
Feb 26, 2010

great place

Very friendly staff and great rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yungman
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Jul 22, 2010

Great Honeymoon Destination

Very peaceful and gorgeous hotel perfect for a honeymooning couple. From the time we checked in to the time we left, we absolutely loved our 8 day, 7 night stay at Koa Kea. We received personalized service from the check-in staff that explained every amenity and personally walked us up to our hotel room. We had booked a garden view but were upgraded to a partial ocean view which was great. We loved the location despite getting lost the first time driving to the hotel. Hint: Koa Kea shares the same entrance as the Marriott Vacation Villas and is next to Plantation Villas. We loved every aspect of the hotel from the room to the pool to the location. We were able to walk to nearby restaurants off-site within 15 minutes along the beach and couldn't have asked for a more relaxing atmosphere to spend our honeymoon. We dined at Red Salt one night for dinner and while the food was delicious and very nicely prepared, you would probably spend less money dining elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Before you need to get your call, call down and give them your valet ticket number, and by the time you walk down to the entrance of the hotel, your car will be waiting for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christina Webb
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 27, 2010

Great Boutique Hotel!

We loved this hotel. The staff was genuine and friendly. The pool was nice and the property is right on the beach. Great amenities-refrigerator, L'Occitane toiletries, towels for the beach and pool, and comfortable beds. Pack light because the hotel has self-service laundry, which is a huge plus in my book-no more sending shorts out for dry cleaning. Two negatives: (1) This hotel is not great for children. Try the Hyatt. (2) The local surf spots are not good for beginners. The area is rocky. Sandy shores are nearby in Hanalei, but the drive took just over an hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Save money by visiting the Kalaheo Cafe for breakfast and lunch. The Cafe also has dinner Wednesday through Saturday.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
finn909
Business
Los Gatos
Sep 26, 2011

Extrordinary Service!

From the moment we arrived until we drove off to the airport to return home we were treated better than any other hotel I have ever stayed in. On top of that the hotel design is beautiful and welcoming as well. The rooms are appointed with the most comfortable linens. We even wanted to get the brand name so I can sleep on them at home. The restaurant Red Salt is wonderful and finally Jim the bartender is a pro who know how to make a visitor feel at home. this was the perfect spot to spend our honeymoon. In a word: WOW!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Kauai Outfitters Zip Line Safari

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kelly8181
Business
los angeles, ca
Jul 16, 2011

ahhh-mazing

best hotel we have ever stayed at (& my husband worked for years at a 4 star hotel in beverly hills). valet parking all the time at no additional cost for guests-complete with attendants who know kauai well & can offer you directions ANYwhere. they are also there smiling with a warm aloha each time you arrive back "home" at the hotel. all desk agents double as concierge & that makes a huge difference in the level of service they are able to provide. very available/friendly and quick to help and offer suggestions as to where to go and what to do. the property is GORGEOUS, cannot be captured, must see in person. breathtakingly beautiful beach only a few steps from the sliding glass doors to each room. serene immaculately manicured lawn with lounge chairs and teak tables, tiki bar serving up tropical drinks and clean pool/hot tub. sushi night on friday and saturday in the restaurant, beautifully done fresh fresh fresh fish, a lot for the price you pay, very worthwhile. rooms are VERY comfy, we almost couldn't leave ours. huge stonewalled shower and extra large king size bed with luxury linens/down comforter, lovely decor. coming from los angeles where an hour massage costs less than $40, we couldn't bring ourselves to pay the $160/hour plus taxes and tips that their on site spa offers, so we missed out on that sadly. no other downsides that i can think of...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

josselins tapas restaurant was our best "food find" in the area. it was hands down the best service and the best eats we experienced on kauai.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Koa Kea Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Watson Family
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Feb 14, 2010

Great Hotel!

I highly recommend this hotel. The staff was super friendly, and always went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect. Everything was new, clean, and well maintained. They even allowed us to have a late checkout (4pm) as our departing flight was in the evening. We will can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top